We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Carrer de la Mar d´Aral, 07610 Playa de Palma, Majorca Spain
Hotels.com
Priceline
StayForLong
Agoda.com
Trip.com
Algotels
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (64)
Pool & Beach (15)
Dining (14)

About

#73 of 84 hotels in Playa de Palma
Location
3.9
Cleanliness
3.9
Service
3.8
Value
3.3
The hotel is located in a quiet residential part of the Playa de Palma area. Around the hotel you will find a wide variety of complementary leisure activities among which are restaurants, shops,discos and beaches. We have a total 106 rooms, set on 5 floors, all of which are fitted with satellite TV, Wifi, air conditioning (warm and cold) , telephone, balcony, safety box (on charge) and full bathroom services including bath and hairdryer. There is a bicycle storage and luggage room. Swimming pool surrounded by sunbeds, sunshades and poolbar. The sports club is located next to the hotel. We have 5 paddle tennis courts, 2 tennis courts, 2 artificial football pitches (extra charge) We recommend for hotel clients from 12 a.m. - 9 p.m. in the restaurant “PLAZA” an discount of 20%.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Wifi
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Mini golf
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Paid wifi
Hot tub
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Vending machine
Tennis court
Billiards
Table tennis
Car hire
Business Center with Internet Access
Meeting rooms
Solarium
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Sun terrace
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Safe
Telephone
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, Catalan and 1 more
84Reviews9Q+A2Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 14
  • 23
  • 31
  • 4
  • 12
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
Skye S wrote a review Nov 2022
1 contribution
+1
When we arrived the hotel main reception was being refurbished and looked like a mess, not the best first impressions! When we checked in the man on reception didn’t understand us and did not speak English which i appreciate as it is in Spain but working in a hotel first hand we bilingual which should be standard for a hotel. The room was okay and a nice size but we booked a double room and got 2 single beds pushed together which was a disappointment. The TV was in every other language apart from English and when we phoned the reception about this they hung up on us. Our room was not cleaned once during our 5 nights stay even though we asked the reception team numerous times. The bed sheets were dirty, had blood stains on, brown marks and cigarette ash marks on too which is disgusting. We didn’t receive any clean towels during our stay, which we also requested with the reception team and they promised this would be done. The standard of cleanliness at the hotel was disgusting and the bed even had a bug in! Working in a hotel first hand this is appalling and no one should have to stay in a hotel like this. The website advertises a hotel and bar which is not open and when we asked reception they hung up on us again! I would not recommend this hotel to anyone and i don’t think we should have to pay for this stay at all! The hotel advertises a 24 hour reception which wasn’t the case at all they went home by 9pm!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Avoid this hotel at all costs unless you want to be sleeping in dirty sheets and stay in a hotel...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Kirsty wrote a review Apr 2022
3 contributions2 helpful votes
Do not bother booking this hotel. The staff are rude and don’t want to help you, we booked a room with a pool view but was chucked into one facing the road and all the loud noise kept us awake all night, I told the staff members and they wasn’t bothered the slightest. The breakfast was rank, bare in mind it opened at 8am we went in at 8am and it was cold and slimy!! The room is so small you can’t swing a cat and we expected a bath, however it was so small you couldn’t have one! The whole hotel is dated. The staff members and the guests give you dirty looks and constantly stare at you as 99.9% of them aren’t English so when you have your legs out (we are on holiday) you feel embarrassed. We actually booked a different hotel the day after arriving abs moved as I didn’t want to spend my holiday in that hell hole!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Gäste Service, Otros at Hotel Metropolitan Playa
Responded Apr 17, 2022
Dear Kirsty, we are very sorry that you did not feel well! At Playa de Palma, 80 percent of the guests are from Germany. In Palmanova and Magaluf in the west of the island there are 90% english guests. Since you have booked a best price room, don't expect a poolside room. All rooms have a shower tray but no bathtub. Kind regards from Mallorca
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Idalina O wrote a review Aug 2020
4 contributions
We stayed in an apartment and had a lovely time. Kitchen has everything if you want to cook and not eat out. Staff are friendly and helpful and everything was clean. We were there during covid time so was very calm which suited us perfect. Would recommend for families with kids. Pool is great and has a small pool for kids as well. Beach is about 10min walk.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Gäste Service, Sonstige at Hotel Metropolitan Playa
Responded Aug 24, 2020
Dear guests, we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Despite the extraordinary time of the pandemic. The entire team at the Hotel Metropolitan Playa wish you all the best and, above all, health. We will see each other again soon on our beautiful island of Mallorca. Until then, we remain with warm regards!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Agata wrote a review Feb 2020
24 contributions3 helpful votes
The hotel is okey, breakfasts are good but dinners are horrible... The room was very small but clean, the Location is really good, bus stop is close to the hotel and it takes about 10-15 minutes to Palma. The receptionist was really helpful.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from publicrelations2017, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Metropolitan Playa
Responded Feb 16, 2020
Dear guests, thanks for your review. Unfortunately, you didn't like the dinner. We offer a buffet with fish, meat, vegetables and various side dishes. As well as dessert with fruits, cake and ice cream. We always try to offer a selection for everybody. Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Best regards Hotel Metropolitan Playa
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
jurgita l wrote a review Feb 2019
2 contributions1 helpful vote
Brilliant Staff such a nice people! I think we suppose to have simple room but we got very lucky - They gave us apartments!!!! Wonderful experience. I would come back here. Tourist mainly German people which is good coz they all were nice ! Food very tasty!!! Thank you !!!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2019Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from publicrelations2017, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Hotel Metropolitan Playa
Responded Feb 19, 2019
Dear guests, thank you very much for your positive comment in Tripadvisor. We are very glad to hear that you spent nice holidays in our hotel. In this area of the Playa de Palma are the most of the guest from Germany. In Palmanova and Magaluf are many hotels from english tour operators. Hopefully see you son again! Sincerely Team Don Miguel Playa
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Amy G wrote a review Jan 2019
Peacehaven, United Kingdom88 contributions12 helpful votes
+1
I booked the hotel and after reading some reviews I was a bit concerned but didn't need to be. We were welcomed at our arrival and the man on the reception desk was pleasant and let us in to our room although it was only 10am. The room was clean and fairly compact but adequate for the 2 of us. We worked out the heating easily ans needed this at 1st as the hotel had only reopened that day. The hotels own website states that there is an indoor pool but there isn't! The man on reception didn't seem too concerned when I pointed out to him that the Web site was wrong! We had lunch on our 1st day and not a huge selection of food but OK. Only down side was it was luke warm. Dinner was very similar choice but again was luke warm. We worked out that you needed to be 1st in to the dining room to get hot food. Breakfast was better apart from the scrambled egg! It looked more like a mountain of over cooked egg!!! The staff were all very friendly and initially spoke to us in German but as soon as we said we were English they spoke English to us. The hotel was clean and tidy and the bar area was very well looked after and the staff were constantly tidying up. We paid £105 for 3 nights all inclusive and it was very good value for money. Only negative points are the lukewarm food, the majority of notices were in German only and the hallway carpet on floor 5 wasn't hoovered the whole time we were there!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2019Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from publicrelations2017, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Hotel Metropolitan Playa
Responded Mar 4, 2019
Dear Amy, thanks for your review. We are very happy that they liked our hotel generally, except for a few little things. Our staff are accustomed to speak in german since 90% of the guests are from Germany. Playa de Palma is the "German área " in Mallorca. There are more english guests in Palmanova and Magalluf. The responsable department for our website changed it already. Thank you very much to visit us, hopefully we will see us soon again. All the best, Greetings from the Metropolitan Playa Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
HullJSA wrote a review Jul 2018
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom2 contributions2 helpful votes
This hotel is lovely ... nice room and great food ... but it all changes on a night .. when the teenagers go out and come back in at 3am and making a lot of noise and knocking on doors shouting and partying in the rooms .. i hope they go home soon .... its not the hotels fault... but they need to nip it in the bud. They also took over the pool area today and soaked one of the waiters. I feel sorry for the couple with the 2 children who are staying here at the moment. I thought there was rules about letting large groups of young people book hotels. !!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2018Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from publicrelations2017, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Hotel Metropolitan Playa
Responded Jul 7, 2018
Dear Ladies, we feel very sorry for you and also for the hotel. But in June, July and August are travelling the young people for vacation. The Playa de Palma is famous to make party for the young people. The travel agency should know that in this time the whole área is busy with Party people. Like the english young groups in Magaluf and Palmanova. Playa de Palma is the "German area" . In September and October is this area very quiet. Thank you for your visit and hopefully you will come back in September, Kind regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
TravelCat1012 wrote a review Apr 2017
Manchester, United Kingdom111 contributions103 helpful votes
We stayed here for 3 nights. The receptionist wanted to keep our passports overnight which we refused. She ended up registering us with the police immediately. It didn't take long so I am not sure why she needed to keep them. Overall she was really nice and provided us with some useful information - she advised where the beach was, and parking - when parking, blue lines mean you have to pay, however it is free after 8 pm, white lines mean it is free, and yellow lines mean do not park, however we saw several people parking where they were. You are quite close to the beach which was absolutely amazing! It's approximately 10 minute walk there. There is no parking, however there is a lot of street parking. It wasn't difficult to find spaces in front of the hotel. The hotel rooms have very thin walls so you will hear everything. Although it wasn't loud during the night, at about 6:30 am we could hear people talking in other rooms. The beds were awful! I can't stress how terrible they were. They only change the towels every two days, which isn't the worst, however there is only one hook over the toilet to hang towels on. This was useless if there is more than one person staying in the room. This hotel caters to Germans only. Some signs were only in German and no other languages. The staff member overseeing the dinners only spoke German. It was a bit bizarre considering we were in Spain. The Breakfast selection was okay - bread, fruit (apples and pears), eggs, sausages, cheese, deli meats. The Dinner buffet is only two hours long, which starts at 7 pm. We arrived at 7:05; it was packed, and people were saving tables etc. There was a wait list which meant you had to wait in the bar area to be called. This was quite frustrating as the man handling it only spoke German and didn't understand our room number in English so I had to write it down for him. There wasn't any systematic system, merely a bunch of hotel room numbers randomly on the paper. It was ridiculous. We didn't eat at the hotel for dinner because of the above. There is a charge for Wifi - 5 Euros per device for a 24 hour period. Along the beach there is free, unlimited Wifi. There are several restaurants and bars that also have free wifi.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2017
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from publicrelations2017, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Hotel Metropolitan Playa
Responded Apr 6, 2017
Dear guests, we are very sorry, that you didn´t like our facilities. The receptionist did everything correctly. We have to keep the passport for the registration. You have in your room an information brochure in 3 languages. Also in english. The Playa de Palma is the area of German tourists but our staff speak also english. We change the mattresses in the rooms every year. We offer Wifi in our hotel for one week = 20€; 24h=5€, 3h=3€. Kind Regards Hotel Metropolitan Playa
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
PF1988 wrote a review Nov 2016
Liverpool, United Kingdom23 contributions26 helpful votes
Stayed at this hotel for its last weekend of the 2016 season. The hotel was packing everything away, closing the restaurant 2 days early (despite us paying for all inclusive) Hard to write a fair review due to it closing down, however the exterior part of the hotel looks very nice. Lobby, reception, bar and restaurant very nice. Hotel rooms are very old and and need updating. Would not recommend visiting this hotel as late as we did. The whole town was shut down.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2016Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from publicrelations2017, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Hotel Metropolitan Playa
Responded May 5, 2017
Dear Sirs, thank you for your comment. The season ended on 31 of October. The Playa de Palma is empty and the shops are closed. The hotel was open with all facilities included bar to the 8th of November 2016. We feel very sorry that you didn´t feel comfortable the last days. Kind Regards Hotel Metropolitan Playa
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Deborah C wrote a review Nov 2016
1 contribution2 helpful votes
My husband and I enjoyed our stay. Staff were lovely , spotlessly clean and food and drink good value for money! The only disappointing things were the arrogant mature barman who refused me a drink because I hadn't completely finished one I had on the table. This was humiliating as even the receptionist was dispicable in handling the situation. I have worked In a school kitchen and the hot plates could definitely do to be changed breakfast was cold , especially fried eggs. The lady frying them told me off like a naughty child when I took a hot one that she had just fried.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2016Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from HotelMetropolitan1, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Metropolitan Playa
Responded Nov 4, 2016
Dear Deborah, thank you very much for your comment. We apreciate the opinion of our clients and it always helps to make the services better. Thank you for visit us! We would be delighted to have the pleasure of you company again soon. Greetings from the team Metropolitan Playa
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
12
PRICE RANGE
$64 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
metropolitan playa hotel playa de palma, metropolitan playa de palma
LOCATION
SpainBalearic IslandsMajorcaPlaya de Palma
NUMBER OF ROOMS
106
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HOTEL METROPOLITAN PLAYA - Prices & Reviews (Playa de Palma, Spain)

Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Metropolitan Playa
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Metropolitan Playa?
Nearby attractions include Iglesia La Porciuncula (la Iglesia de Cristal) (0.3 miles), Tirolinas Go! (0.4 miles), and Platja de Palma (0.4 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Metropolitan Playa?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Metropolitan Playa?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Metropolitan Playa?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Metropolitan Playa?
Conveniently located restaurants include Emege, Al Faro Beach, and VERBANO.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hotel Metropolitan Playa?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness center during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hotel Metropolitan Playa?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Hotel Metropolitan Playa?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Hotel Metropolitan Playa offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to a business center and meeting rooms during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hotel Metropolitan Playa?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, German, and Catalan.
Are there any historical sites close to Hotel Metropolitan Playa?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Santuari de Cura (9.1 miles), Sa Llotja (6.3 miles), and Palau de l'Almudaina (6.1 miles).