We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Best Western Plus West Retford Hotel

Traveler (151)
Room & Suite (237)
Dining (19)
Certificate of Excellence

About

#1 of 2 hotels in Retford
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
A superb 18th Century manor house set in over 5 acres of professionally landscaped gardens. Located in the historic market town of Retford, this traditional 63 bedroomed hotel is one of the best in the area.Relax in the comforts of The West Retford Hotel by enjoying a drink in the Chatsworth Bar before dining in the luxurious Orangery Restaurant, with a menu featuring traditional favourites and exciting new dishes.The hotel is ideally situated for business travellers or leisure guests with the A1 and M1 only a short drive away making it perfectly located to explore the local area or further afield.With a newly refurbished ballroom dating back to 1851, with patio doors opening on to a large seating area and six other meeing rooms this hotel is the only choice.Whether it be for a business stay, conference, wedding, function or a leisurely break let us welcome you!
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Room service
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Banquet Room
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference Facilities
Dry Cleaning
Laundry Service
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
Wheelchair access
Show more
Room features
Family Rooms
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS

Location

Full view
75Somewhat walkable
Grade: 75 out of 100
60Restaurantswithin 0.75 miles
18Attractionswithin 0.75 miles
753Reviews
4Q+A
100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 399
  • 222
  • 85
  • 29
  • 18
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More languages
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
I stayed here last year and was very disappointed, however having just stayed for four nights I am impressed at the improvement. I really enjoyed my stay and particular thanks to the reception staff who were polite and helpful ( unlike my last visit). Rooms were clean, spacious
Read more
Lovely hotel with beautiful grounds nice and clean comply bed nice fresh decor Friendly staff nice food good value for the money, Breakfast was lovely and served to you!! Plenty to eat.great location for what we wanted Nice and quiet
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Response from CustServices, General Manager at Best Western Plus West Retford Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for your 5 star review and nice comments, I'm pleased we met with your expectations and we look forward to seeing you return very soon. Regards, Andrew.
Read more
My partner and I attended the recent ‘Comedy Night’ held at this hotel. Surprisingly, the very talented Tom Binns, who has had his own TV sitcom and plays many roles, (including Clinton Baptiste in Phoenix Nights), arrived at this function as himself, and finally as his best
Read more
Response from CustServices, General Manager at Best Western Plus West Retford Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for your comments and I can appreciate your frustration, controlling other guests that have consumed too much alcohol is never an easy task. The Duty Manager has been spoken to regarding this but ultimately comments made by the staff can be easily ignored by customers. I am sorry if this tarnished your night somewhat but I hope you enjoyed other aspects of the evening. We have also received a complaint from the couple that were asked to leave. It seems comedy nights always leads to issues we have therefore decided not to hold any more in the future. Regards, Andrew.
Read more
The hotel is good, quiet, with plenty of private parking, and in easy walking distance to Retford Town Centre. Excellent fast Fibre Broadband wifi connection included in the room rate. We've stayed here several times, however, this time we were in room 5 of the cottage, and it
Read more
Response from CustServices, General Manager at Best Western Plus West Retford Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Denis, thank you for your review and positive comments. We recognise how important a fast stable internet connection is and that's why we have our own leased line for customers to use. Room 5 is located in an original building adjacent to the hotel which has 10 rooms, this building dates back to when the original manor house was built and does have the odd creak if guests are above but this should not have impacted your stay too much, never the less this will be investigated along with your other comments. Should you stay with us again please ask to be located in the Georgian accommodation where you have stayed previously. regards, Andrew
Read more
This looks a beautiful hotel as you drive in. Unfortunately when I checked in I had to ask to move rooms twice due to the cleanliness. One room had clearly not been vacuumed, and the second room had not had the toilet cleaned properly. The rooms are ok in general but I would
Read more
Response from CustServices, General Manager at Best Western Plus West Retford Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you for your review and feedback. I'm very surprised that you had to move rooms, our housekeeping staff normally do a superb job and we pride ourselves on our cleanliness which scores highly in the majority of our feedback. I hope this relatively small oversight does not deter you from staying with us again. regards, Andrew.
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$74 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
best western retfordworksop best westernbest western worksop
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandRetford
NUMBER OF ROOMS
63
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing