We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Wild Horses Lodge

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Wild Horses Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

124 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 118: English reviews
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Don't let the long dirt road fool you , at the end of the 20 min drive from the asphalt is the most beautifully positioned lodge with smiling staff and lovely rooms . This is a small lodge with only 4 rooms thus we made friends with the other couples there ( well.....we chatted to them over meals ) If... More 

Helpful?
Thank ty s
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

What an awesome experience our weekend in the Honeymoon suite was. The staff were very friendly and accommodating, Vuyo you are an excellent cook, when my Italian fiance heard you were cooking Rissotto he didn't expect he'd be asking for seconds, and the Pollenta sent him into another universe. Micke your level of service and customer happiness is outstanding, from... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Gayle M
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

After coming back from our intense but amazing experiences in Lesotho, we arrived in a very peaceful place called Wild horses. The drive up to the lodge is incredible although a 4x4 is needed. The place is privately owned in a nature park which is very rare. The lodge architecture is incredibly beautiful. Our last days of the holiday were... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jennifer C
Pretoria
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

•The service rating overall is Very Good! •The room (Sunrise) was excellent and catered for our every need •The road to the lodge was fine with our SUV (Be careful if you travel by Sedan) •The best for us was the personal touch and exclusivity of the lodge •The food quality was good but not to the standard we expected... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank roospp
WildHorsesLodge, Owner at Wild Horses Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Phillippus, Firstly, an apology for disappointing you when you were at my lodge. However, I thank you for your criticism as this is one way of improving our service levels and, in this case, our food. We have very recently employed a new chef and we are in the process of guiding her towards our normal 5 star standards... More 

Nottingham Road, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Myself and my husband booked at Wild Horses to celebrate our 20th Wedding Anniversary July 2016. We were welcomed upon arrival by attentive and organised staff who helped us check in and assisted with luggage to our room. We booked the Sunset room for 2 nights and loved every aspect of the warm and inviting decor and quaint slipper bath... More 

Helpful?
Thank debfis77
WildHorsesLodge, Manager at Wild Horses Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Debby! Thank you so very much for your kind review, I loved how you highlighted the different aspects of staying here at Wild Horses. We are very appreciative and hope that you and Michael return for the many anniversaries I am sure there will be in the future :) Kind regards, Micke & the Team at Wild Horses More 

UK
Level Contributor
155 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 267 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2016

We started our tour of the Drakensberg area here in Free State having flown in to Johannesburg. The drive takes about four hours on fast roads so is easy. Then you turn onto the unmade road that leads to Wild Horses. The scenery is gorgeous along the way but a 4WD vehicle is a very good idea to be honest.... More 

Helpful?
Thank voa
WildHorsesLodge, Manager at Wild Horses Lodge, responded to this review

Hello! Thank you so much for your lovely review of our lodge, we are extremely pleased that you find it suitable and that you enjoyed your food and time here :) Thank you for pointing out that we are close to both National Parks, they do have some lovely hikes and scenes to see and we hope to be a... More 

canterbury, kent
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2016

Wild Horses is definitely the place to stay for that special treat. Breathtaking views, gorgeous accommodation and all the staff team are so lovely. The food was fabulous- thank you to chef Peter! We arrived feeling pretty tired and worn out and left after 3 days feeling so relaxed and pampered. A special thank you also to Patrus for letting... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 514peterv
WildHorsesLodge, Manager at Wild Horses Lodge, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you so much for your kind review! We endeavour to make sure all of our guests leave Wild Horses feeling rested, relaxed and thoroughly pampered and I am so glad that we succeeded! Please do return, the horses will be waiting! :) Kind regards, Micke & the Team at Wild Horses More 

Durban, South Africa
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2016

Staff was friendly and very helpful. The limited view was beautiful and have comfortable beds. We found the shower to be small with terrible shower head. Food was just standard. It's a good hideaway. The road requires a van it's quiet bad for +30km and we were driving a small car.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Nonyameko M
WildHorsesLodge, Manager at Wild Horses Lodge, responded to this review

Hello Nonyameko, Thank you for your helpful review and I have made sure that that terrible shower head is sorted out! We are in the happy position of having to welcome a new chef soon and as such maybe you could give our dining a second go around, we would look forward to hosting you again. Kind regards, Micke &... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2016 via mobile

We went there for a post baby breakaway and to celebrate my birthday. we had such a romantic and great stay in this lodge from a jecuzzi bath to private romantic dinner in the wine cellar, boat cruise on the spectacular sterkfonteindam, flowers in the room with candles everywhere, worth every cent!!!!

Helpful?
Thank Angelica J
WildHorsesLodge, Manager at Wild Horses Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Angelica, Thank you so much for your lovely review - we enjoyed having you here and we look forward to seeing you return! I'm glad that you feel you got what you paid for here at Wild Horses, we love to take care of our guests and we especially love when it's for special occasions like a birthday! Kind... More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2016

The room was amazing the good was sooo good. Peter you are a genius. Cannot fault the service or the staff had a wonderful stay and would go back in a heartbeat. Surrounding area is stunning and the view from the patio at sunset is to die for.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Wadzanai M
WildHorsesLodge, Manager at Wild Horses Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Wadzi, Thanks so much for your great review - I will be sure to tell Peter his cooking is missed! Can't wait to welcome you back to Wild Horses! Your patio will be awaiting you :) Warm regards, Micke & the team at WHL. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

62 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (61)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harrismith
11.3 mi away
Mont Aux Sources Hotel
Mont Aux Sources Hotel
#3 of 3 in Bergville
3.5 of 5 stars 191 reviews
24.4 mi away
Sandford Park Country Hotel
10.7 mi away
Alpine Heath Resort
Alpine Heath Resort
#1 of 1 in Jagersrust
4.0 of 5 stars 353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Drakensberg Mountain Retreat
1.1 mi away
Qwantani Berg and Bush Resort
8.8 mi away
Montusi Mountain Lodge
Montusi Mountain Lodge
#1 of 6 in uKhahlamba-Drakensberg Park
4.5 of 5 stars 252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in the Eastern Free State's pristine Sterkfontein Nature Reserve at the foothills of the Drakensberg Escarpment, Wild Horses Lodge is the perfect location for an African breakaway. With its panoramic views of the majestic Platberg Mountain and the vast Sterkfontein Dam, the Lodge is a masterpiece of architectural design in local sandstone and offers luxury accommodation, exquisite cuisine and a variety of activities centred around the dam and the abundant wildlife of the reserve. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Wild Horses Lodge

Address: Sterkfontein Dam, Harrismith 9880, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Free State > Harrismith
Price Range: $226 - $262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Wild Horses Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Wild Horses Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay