We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Wild Horses Lodge

Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for your stay
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Wild Horses Lodge
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

119 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 113: English reviews
UK
Level Contributor
155 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 267 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2016

We started our tour of the Drakensberg area here in Free State having flown in to Johannesburg. The drive takes about four hours on fast roads so is easy. Then you turn onto the unmade road that leads to Wild Horses. The scenery is gorgeous along the way but a 4WD vehicle is a very good idea to be honest.... More 

Helpful?
Thank voa
WildHorsesLodge, Manager at Wild Horses Lodge, responded to this review

Hello! Thank you so much for your lovely review of our lodge, we are extremely pleased that you find it suitable and that you enjoyed your food and time here :) Thank you for pointing out that we are close to both National Parks, they do have some lovely hikes and scenes to see and we hope to be a... More 

canterbury, kent
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2016

Wild Horses is definitely the place to stay for that special treat. Breathtaking views, gorgeous accommodation and all the staff team are so lovely. The food was fabulous- thank you to chef Peter! We arrived feeling pretty tired and worn out and left after 3 days feeling so relaxed and pampered. A special thank you also to Patrus for letting... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 514peterv
WildHorsesLodge, Manager at Wild Horses Lodge, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you so much for your kind review! We endeavour to make sure all of our guests leave Wild Horses feeling rested, relaxed and thoroughly pampered and I am so glad that we succeeded! Please do return, the horses will be waiting! :) Kind regards, Micke & the Team at Wild Horses More 

Durban, South Africa
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2016

Staff was friendly and very helpful. The limited view was beautiful and have comfortable beds. We found the shower to be small with terrible shower head. Food was just standard. It's a good hideaway. The road requires a van it's quiet bad for +30km and we were driving a small car.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Nonyameko M
WildHorsesLodge, Manager at Wild Horses Lodge, responded to this review

Hello Nonyameko, Thank you for your helpful review and I have made sure that that terrible shower head is sorted out! We are in the happy position of having to welcome a new chef soon and as such maybe you could give our dining a second go around, we would look forward to hosting you again. Kind regards, Micke &... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2016 via mobile

We went there for a post baby breakaway and to celebrate my birthday. we had such a romantic and great stay in this lodge from a jecuzzi bath to private romantic dinner in the wine cellar, boat cruise on the spectacular sterkfonteindam, flowers in the room with candles everywhere, worth every cent!!!!

Helpful?
Thank Angelica J
WildHorsesLodge, Manager at Wild Horses Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Angelica, Thank you so much for your lovely review - we enjoyed having you here and we look forward to seeing you return! I'm glad that you feel you got what you paid for here at Wild Horses, we love to take care of our guests and we especially love when it's for special occasions like a birthday! Kind... More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2016

The room was amazing the good was sooo good. Peter you are a genius. Cannot fault the service or the staff had a wonderful stay and would go back in a heartbeat. Surrounding area is stunning and the view from the patio at sunset is to die for.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Wadzanai M
WildHorsesLodge, Manager at Wild Horses Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Wadzi, Thanks so much for your great review - I will be sure to tell Peter his cooking is missed! Can't wait to welcome you back to Wild Horses! Your patio will be awaiting you :) Warm regards, Micke & the team at WHL. More 

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2016

This is a lovely place. Isolated and peaceful - not for those who need a town or a nightlife nearby - choose if you're looking for tranquility. There are only 4 rooms. We had one of the ones facing the lake. Beautiful views. The room itself was gorgeous and had everything you could need, including a spa bath. Everything was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Zeb01
WildHorsesLodge, Manager at Wild Horses Lodge, responded to this review

Hello, Firstly, thank you so much for a lovely review, we are extremely pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us! Just to touch on your criticisms briefly so that we may improve upon our service in future - what specifically seemed pretentious in our service to you? As it is definitely not the impression we would like to give... More 

Bryanston, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2016

I booked the weekend of the 4th - 5th of December 2015 at Wild Horses Lodge to propose to my now fiance. The weekend was everything that I hoped for and more. Here are a few highlights: 1. Upon arrival, you are treated like royalty. The staff are there to greet you, assist with all your luggage and a short... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jasondwilliams
WildHorsesLodge, Manager at Wild Horses Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Jason, Thank you so much for your lovely review of the lodge and we are so pleased that you enjoyed our finer attention to detail in meeting your needs during your stay. Please do return, we would love to host you for another evening in our wine cellar - for old times'! Kind regards, Micke van Zyl More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2016

Food was excellent and the lodge heals our souls! Some of the rooms (mainly the 2 front rooms) do not have dressing tables and I find this a bit inconvenient. We stayed in the Sunset Room this time and we thoroughly enjoyed our time with you.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank andykI8322YG
WildHorsesLodge, Manager at Wild Horses Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Mr. & Mrs. Keil, We too enjoyed having you at the lodge once more, it is quite like seeing an old friend. I will make sure to see if we can't fix the pesky lack of dressing tables before your next visit. Until then, many blessed returns. Kind regards, Micke van Zyl More 

Drakensberg
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2016

The 16th of April is a significant day for me. It was the day that I married my best friend and soul mate. It also has, since our marriage 11 years ago, been a date that we have been unable to fully acknowledge on the basis of our busy lives. So, 11 years on and happlily so, I searched for... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank giscardl
WildHorsesLodge, Manager at Wild Horses Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Giscard, What a lovely review; you and your wife are truly and inspiration as to how to live a blessed life, thank you for bringing such a happy and enthusiastic atmosphere to the lodge. We would love to see you again! Kind regards, Micke van Zyl More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2016

My wife and I visited Wild horses lodge for a weekend stay so that we could do the hike up to the source of the Tugela from the Sentinel car park. The lodge is a bit a perfect couples getaway with only four rooms and each one is themed differently revealing it's unique character. We were met and greeted by... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank abdools2016
WildHorsesLodge, Manager at Wild Horses Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Abdool, Thank you kindly for the lovely review - we loved having you here, I hear Golden Gate has many wonderful climbs too and so hope that you will return when you next feel like going on a hiking adventure. Kind regards, Micke van Zyl More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

62 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (61)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harrismith
11.3 mi away
Mont Aux Sources Hotel
Mont Aux Sources Hotel
#3 of 3 in Bergville
3.5 of 5 stars 187 reviews
24.4 mi away
Sandford Park Country Hotel
9.6 mi away
Drakensberg Mountain Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Alpine Heath Resort
Alpine Heath Resort
#1 of 1 in Jagersrust
4.0 of 5 stars 347 reviews
1.1 mi away
Qwantani Berg and Bush Resort
26.7 mi away
Mount Everest Guest Farm
Mount Everest Guest Farm
#3 of 7 in Harrismith
4.0 of 5 stars 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in the Eastern Free State's pristine Sterkfontein Nature Reserve at the foothills of the Drakensberg Escarpment, Wild Horses Lodge is the perfect location for an African breakaway. With its panoramic views of the majestic Platberg Mountain and the vast Sterkfontein Dam, the Lodge is a masterpiece of architectural design in local sandstone and offers luxury accommodation, exquisite cuisine and a variety of activities centred around the dam and the abundant wildlife of the reserve. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Wild Horses Lodge

Address: Sterkfontein Dam, Harrismith 9880, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Free State > Harrismith
Price Range: $213 - $246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Wild Horses Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Wild Horses Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay