We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Turtle Bay Road, Watamu 80202 Kenya
E-mail hotel
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Booking.com
View all 11 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (383)
Pool & Beach (47)
Dining (41)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Read more
Updated 08/06/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Kobe Suite Resort
Updated 08/06/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#3 of 39 hotels in Watamu
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Bar / lounge
Beach
Diving
Airport transportation
Spa
Street parking
Public wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Game room
Snorkeling
Fishing
Car hire
Taxi service
Full body massage
Manicure
Massage
Pedicure
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Private check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Safe
Sofa
Minibar
Refrigerator
Cable / satellite TV
Bidet
VIP room facilities
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Complimentary toiletries
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Boutique
Charming
Languages Spoken
English, Italian
254Reviews12Q+A19Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 215
  • 23
  • 5
  • 6
  • 5
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
diplojohn wrote a review Nov 2021
Johannesburg, South Africa70 contributions17 helpful votes
We visited Kobe Suites on the advice of friends and we're really glad we took their suggestion. From airport pickup to the last minute, everything was tops. Every section of the hotel (food and beverage, reception, maintenance, pool, housekeeping) is clearly hitting their marks. The food menu was well-varied, as were the daily specials. Great view of the ocean, and one can walk out a good ways at low tide to explore. It's a short ride to Watumu if you're inclined to visit other restaurants, if you need an ATM, or just want to try to look for souvenirs. Best for couples, although the families also seemed to enjoy themselves. A small and intimate property where you feel well-taken care of. I hope we can visit again.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
Value
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Federico Bertoni, General Manager at Kobe Suite Resort
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear guest, Thank you very much for having taken the time to review our facility. We are pleased that you enjoyed yourselves here with us and that the staff was very welcoming, that you enjoyed the whole atmosphere of Kobe and every little bits of it. On behalf of all members of staff of Kobe and the management, we wish you all the best. Federico Bertoni
Read more
Tish wrote a review Sep 2021
Nairobi, Kenya52 contributions17 helpful votes
+1
Hotel has nice rooms, two pools, a good restaurant, and an amazing beach! It was so clear and when the tide was out you could walk so far out in shallow water, this would be great for kids. We walked down the beach also to the coral reefs, and were not bothered by anyone. There is a small market set up, so we bought some things inexpensively just to support them since they left us alone. The sunsets were amazing and it was such a nice place to stay, relax, and short tuk tuk ride to other restaurants if you wanted. We were two families with kids, but it would be ideal for couples and friends also.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: The rooms closest to the beach are very private and have lovely hanging sofas to relax as well as...
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Federico Bertoni, General Manager at Kobe Suite Resort
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you very much for having taken the time to review our facility. We are very happy that you had a wonderful time here in our little paradise. Our beautiful location of course is unique and one of a kind. We wish to thank you once again and we surely hope to see you soon at Kobe. On behalf of all personnel and management we wish you all the best. Federico Bertoni
Read more
Fghh G wrote a review Aug 2021
London7 contributions4 helpful votes
A three night stay in Mid August, enjoyed it immensely. The manager was very accommodating allowing our photo shoot and a late checkout on leaving day. Food excellent, rooms, superb, beach fabulous, pools lovely for me too cold for wife. Clean, professional, friendly. I can understand the complaints but it’s important to recognise that some hotels have standards that guests aren’t able to rise too. Beach bar was beautiful, the big lounge beds lush. All in all it was a pleasure and we will definitely return.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Federico Bertoni, General Manager at Kobe Suite Resort
Responded Sep 18, 2021
Dear Simon, Thank you very much for having taken the time to review our facility. We are very happy that you enjoyed yourself at Kobe and that the whole vibe of our resort made you feel at great! We hope to have you again as our client in the near future. On behalf of the staff and management, we wish you all the best. Kind regards. Federico Bertoni
Read more
Kleislim wrote a review Aug 2021
Zurich, Switzerland85 contributions53 helpful votes
In principle, I should not write a recommendation for this wonderful place, because then it will be known to all, but I can not keep it to myself, I want to share our experience in this little paradise. The place is wonderful, the rooms are clean, spacious and very nice. The whole environment is beautiful, well maintained and clean (although there are very nice animals everywhere). The sea, the garden, the pool, the lounge, the restaurant, the reception, every place is welcoming.... The staff is incredibly friendly, accommodating and fun, but also very discreet when you want them to be. Breakfast is excellent, and the food for lunch and dinner is delicious and very varied. I can recommend the pasta prepared Italian style, but also the traditional Swahili dish and not to forget the fresh fish from the sea. Thank you to the whole Kobe team for the great time we had in your house.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
1 Helpful vote1 Save
Helpful
Share
Response from Federico Bertoni, General Manager at Kobe Suite Resort
Responded Sep 18, 2021
Dear Michael, Thank you very much for having taken the time to review our facility. We are very happy that you had a wonderful time here in paradise. The whole concept of Kobe is very simple, the small attention to detail is what makes the difference and we are happy that you enjoyed all different aspects of Kobe. Our beautiful location of course is unique and one of a kind. We wish to thank you once again and we surely hope to see you soon at Kobe. On behalf of all personnel and management we wish you all the best. Federico Bertoni
Read more
Milos wrote a review Aug 2021
United Kingdom5 contributions3 helpful votes
Beautiful place ruined by an extremely rude and arrogant manager. Such a shame as otherwise great location and nice staff who are unfortunately turned to be unpleasant by the manager who seems to be terrorising everyone around including guests and is extremely disrespectful to even his usual customers. To be avoided as long as that person is working there and to quote him “making his rules and doing what he wants in his house” 😀🤦‍♂️
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2 Helpful votes1 Repost
Helpful
Share
Response from Federico Bertoni, General Manager at Kobe Suite Resort
Responded Aug 19, 2021
Good afternoon from Kobe, This is the very rude general manager answering your review. Since you are insisting and persevering, here is yet another reply: firstly thank you very much for your thoughtful consideration about the way we operate and undertake business here at Kobe. As I mentioned to your boyfriend/husband I am the one who makes the rules within this PRIVATELY owned establishment and by all means those rules have to be respected. Let's start from the beginning. You started raising your voice in the reception and YOU were the one who was very rude about this claiming that you were supposed to be allowed in due to the fact that you had spent money in the boutique the previous days. Let me assure you that it doesn't work that way. Let me explain how it works: in order to always guarantee service and quality at the resort we ALWAYS give priority to our in house guests and then subsequently to guests from outside who previously booked. This not only guarantees quality in service but also ensures that we respect at any given time the maximum allowed number of guests within our establishment. I am sure that you are aware that there is a worldwide pandemic and we must adhere to rules and regulations provided by the government of Kenya. In this case for Kobe we are allowed a maximum of 80 guests at any given time. Today we were already at full capacity hence the reason why they were not letting you pass at the gate... You see it is a very simple and basic concept that is being applied here, not like your boyfriend/husband said that "it is like the CIA"... He thought he was being funny but believe me he wasn't... As for you, you were the one that in front of all guests looked really bad, and I am sorry for this but you were the one who acted out and started this argument for nothing mentioning also that we were not busy hence implying that not only we were lying but that we were not able to do our job correctly... (this email proves my point). All you could have done in a very delicate & respectful manner was to ask if there was space or not and I would have answered that we would have had space as from 3:00 pm either at the bar or the restaurant (due to the fact that we were fully booked). You chose the wrong approach and a rude one as such. Believe me, I am not a fan of futile arguments and I certainly don't believe that the guest is always right... I believe in something much more valuable which is respect, something you didn't give me so why should I give you my respect??? I am going to treat you with the same medicine. Last but not least, referring to the fact that we don't need tourists, what I meant was: we don't need tourists who are rude and think they can do whatever they want in a private establishment such as Kobe... Sorry I should have been more specific. I hope this makes you understand the whole concept I am trying to portray. Best regards.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$168 - $287 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
KenyaCoast ProvinceWatamu
NUMBER OF ROOMS
5
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Kobe Suite Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Kobe Suite Resort?
Nearby attractions include Mida Creek (2.8 miles), Watamu National Marine Park (2.4 miles), and Watamu Beach (2.0 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Kobe Suite Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Kobe Suite Resort?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Kobe Suite Resort?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Kobe Suite Resort?
Yes, free parking and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Kobe Suite Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include NON SOLO GELATO by anna, Caffe Sotto Sopra The Liars Club, and Papa Remo Beach.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Kobe Suite Resort?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Kobe Suite Resort have airport transportation?
Yes, Kobe Suite Resort offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Kobe Suite Resort?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Italian.
Does Kobe Suite Resort have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.