We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Save money. We search 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices.

Mawe Resort

Save
Share
Jacaranda Road, Watamu 80202 Kenya
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
StayForLong
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
View all 7 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (450)
Pool & Beach (69)
Room & Suite (38)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#6 of 40 hotels in Watamu
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
A Masterpiece of design,Mawe Resort Watamu Boutique Hotel stands on the rocks directly above the sea with breathtaking views of Indian Ocean and the islands of Watamu Marine Park. This Hotel is an intimate and exclusive holiday destination that can be rented in its entirety or just one of the twelve rooms ( 8 Deluxe and 4 Suite Ocean View ). Either way it provides the ultimate in relax and sophistication.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Beach
Airport transportation
Spa
Concierge
Wifi
Hot tub
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Shuttle bus service
Massage
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Ocean View
Languages Spoken
Italian
347Reviews14Q+A31Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 281
  • 48
  • 9
  • 4
  • 5
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Andrew R wrote a review Dec 2019
Portland, Oregon, United States22 contributions1 helpful vote
Located on the coast, this is moderately priced facility. The rooms are comfortable. There is a pool and bar area where seating is pretty uncomfortable but with views out over the sea. The food is poor, although breakfast was okay. Staff are friendly and helpful. It is located near the Gedi ruins and Malindi. For budget travelers like us I think it's okay but plan to eat somewhere else.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019
Rooms
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
carole robert wrote a review Dec 2019
Nairobi, Kenya5 contributions
Mawe resort is such a beautiful and tranquil place.The spacious villas can accomodate a number of people.The food is very delicious and the price is pocket friendly.i recommwnd it for all occassions and for friends,couples or even families.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
ke0z wrote a review Nov 2019
San Francisco, California7 contributions3 helpful votes
My friend and I were staying at an Airbnb nearby, and were recommended Mawe for the restaurant, bar and beach access given it was low season. Winny, the resort manager, was absolutely lovely and very helpful. Our Airbnb wasn’t top shape and we’d consider staying here in the future. It’s a very quiet and pleasant place to relax in the bar area. We also had massages and pedicures—the staff was amazing. Very relaxing experience with an incredible views. Great food during breakfast, lunch and dinner. Highly recommend!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019Trip type: Traveled with friends
Helpful
Share
Mikebullman03 wrote a review Apr 2019
1 contribution2 helpful votes
We were not staying at the hotel but intended to use the restaurant and bar as we had rented a friends villa behind Mawe for 5 days for 3 people. The first evening we walked to the hotel for food and drinks. We arrived and it looked a splendid place, great looking building and fantastic views. The bar and restaurant were very quiet. We ordered some drinks from a very funny barman and was told the restaurant was not open until a bit later, which we had no problem with, so we sat overlooking the sea with our drinks. When the restaurant did open we ordered our food. The starters arrived and were very good. When the main course arrived which took approx 45mins, 2 of 3 meals (curries) were full of salt and were both cold & completely inedible. The 3rd meal (fish) was burnt and rock hard. We called the waiter and advised all of the food was inedible and we requested new food with no salt and fresh soft unburnt fish. The waiter took the food and we were presented with new food, which again were all inedible. We requested for the chef to come out, which he did and we explained that the food was not up to standard. His reply was that he cooked it again for us again, he clicked his mouth and walked off. We said to the waiter we were not going to eat again and would just go to the bar. We asked to see the manager. An Italian male arrived and said he was the manager. We explained the situation in full and he said he would speak to the chef. He returned and told us he would give us a discount on the food! We asked why a discount when we didn't and couldn't eat the food!! He explained that we should have complained earlier - we had! He then started getting angry while there were also other customers in the bar and started waving his arms and shouting at us "What do you want me to do? Do you want to get a knife and kill me?. Go on then, kill me!" We had to ask what his problem was, but he continued to shout. We just said bring the drinks bill for which we would pay and the starters. By now the manager was still shouting and then walked off. We paid for our starters and drinks and left and started to use Hemingways, what an amazing place, great food, great staff and no stress! Wow, Mawe what a place, terrible food, terrible management and response. It is very obvious why we had the response from the chef because he sees his bosses do the same to customers. They have no respect and do not value customers at all and are quite happy to release poor quality food and still expect people to pay for it. We have since found out that they do not employ fully qualified and experienced chefs, but employ a local and teach them what to do. Well that didn't work did it? Avoid, avoid, avoid.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2019
Value
Service
Trip type: Traveled with friends
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from lory2109, Proprietario at Mawe Resort
Responded May 6, 2019
We are very sorry for what you have written and we would like to make some clarifications in this regard. It is not all true that our chefs are not certified, they have been working with us for years and the mayority of our customers appreciate the quality of food. The dishes that were not your liking have been redone and according to your opinion they were not yet up to ypur expectations and the chef tried to undestand what the problem was. At the time of paying the bill, you requested to meet the manager, who after having listened to your simply said that it would be preferable to call him during dinner and not just at the time of paying. No screams or unkind words have been used against you, it's not really in our style to treat our customers badly, whatever the problem. To prove regret at your dissatisfaction, the manager did not change you for dinner. We hoped that, although dissapointed by the dinner, having returned the next evening for drink again at our resort, the episode had ended, but the words used against us were very incorrect Best rgds Mawe Resort
Read more
Paulina_Bali wrote a review Apr 2019
Aigues-Mortes, France597 contributions170 helpful votes
We haven’t stayed in the Mawe resort but we went there for a family dinner. The location is amazing and nicely decorated. The food was pretty good, the barman made up pretty good cocktails. We spent there a very nice evening.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2019Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$79 - $218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
St. Thomas Mawe Boutique Hotel
LOCATION
KenyaCoast ProvinceWatamu
NUMBER OF ROOMS
12
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Mawe Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Mawe Resort?
Nearby attractions include Mida Creek (3.6 miles), Watamu Beach (3.2 miles), and Gede Ruins (2.8 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Mawe Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Mawe Resort?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Mawe Resort?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Mawe Resort?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Mawe Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include NON SOLO GELATO by anna, Safina Beach Bar & Grill, and Caffe Sotto Sopra The Liars Club.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Mawe Resort?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Mawe Resort have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Mawe Resort offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does Mawe Resort have airport transportation?
Yes, Mawe Resort offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Mawe Resort?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Mawe Resort have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.