We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Hotel El Hidalgo

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Hotel El Hidalgo
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

134 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 26: English reviews
Warwickshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We are travelling for the first time with a dog. This came up as a pet friendly hotel. The rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable. Though they looked a little dated, (with traditional Spanish furniture). They had all the 'mod-coms', plenty of hot water, good heating, TV with some English news programs. Our room was at the back so quieter...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline H
Zurich
Reviewed June 16, 2016

Hotel with bungalow rooms directly besides the highway exit. Private, secure parking directly besides the rooms. Rooms are quiet even though the highway is very near. No luxury, but what you need is there and room was clean. Breakfast was quite good for the price, very good coffee and even lactose-free milk.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sunseeker047
Cobena, Spain
Reviewed March 22, 2016 via mobile

It is not poor it is miserable and expensive Don't stop there is something better ahead, anywhere is better Bad service, old an expensive. I was here 20 years ago and it is the same but 20 years older

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ca46717
Reviewed February 29, 2016

We stayed overnight. The service was mixed. For instance, one waitress was warm and friendly while another was abrupt to the point of rudeness. The hotel is made up of several separate units. Each unit has a private parking space at the front. Each has a back door which gives onto a shared space of grass and shrubs. (There is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris R
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Reviewed February 11, 2016

Easy to find and yards from the main road from Madrid to Malaga. Rooms substantial and comfortable - be warned if there are not enough people staying at the hotel . The restaurant does not open and the attached cafe does not sell food other than sandwiches. Not what we wanted after 8 hours of driving. Managed eventually to get...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cheersagainone
Dolores B, Gerente at Hotel El Hidalgo, responded to this review

Sorry that Sorry that could not enjoy our restaurant, we not only offer tapas but all kinds of Manchego and Mediterranean food. We hope that on your next visit feel more comfortable Thank you very much for your warm welcome to the rest of our service and on your next visit we are sure to meet your expectations Sincerely

Norfolk
Reviewed January 15, 2016 via mobile

We were travelling from France to Cadiz to catch the ferry to Lanzarote, with our three dogs. We were not expecting much, but were very pleasantly surprised. The rooms are in a bungalow format, scrupulously clean, and despite being on the motorway, we could not hear it. The staff were very friendly,meeting us have breakfast at 7 am despite it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dikky
Burnsville, Minnesota
Reviewed October 18, 2015

On the way to velencia from Granada we stayed one night at the hotel. Pretty basic hotel. Room was large. It seems hotel has seen better days. Breakfast buffet was very basic with no service of any kind. Not one waiter or anybody came to ask while we quietly had the breakfast. It was strange.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank azlari
Dolores B, Gerente at Hotel El Hidalgo, responded to this review

Dear azlari, Thank you so much for your comments. We certainly appreciate your suggestions of our Hotel El Hidalgo and already trying to do our best to improve our service. We take good notice of the problem with the breakfast buffet. We always have a waiter taking care of the breakfast and the clients. We hope it won't happen again...

Malaga, Spain
Reviewed October 18, 2015

We have stayed here before and find it very convenient for various reasons. Furstly the rooms are little cottages with their own parking so we find that really secure. The back of the rooms open out directly on to the landscaped gardens and pool area. The rooms are really large but very dated and tired. In the oast we have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank perle369
Dolores B, Gerente at Hotel El Hidalgo, responded to this review

Dear perle369, Thank you so much for your comments. We certainly appreciate your suggestions of our Hotel El Hidalgo and already trying to do our best to improve our service. We take good notice of setting chairs in the garden and improve the seating outside the bar. We´ll be happy to see you again, with best regards,

Paris, France
Reviewed July 31, 2015

We were traveling to Andalusia. To avoid the crowded route leaving Madrid on a Friday 31 July, we decided to leave Madrid the previous night around 22.00 hours. It was a good decision. The hotel staff were great and welcoming. This is a road motel nicely setup around swimming pool in the green. Rooms are big and well furnished although...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PARISIANSPANISH
Dolores B, Gerente at Hotel El Hidalgo, responded to this review

PARISIANSPANIH good morning, glad that you have been comfortable in our hotel. We are working hard on the adequacy of the furniture. Our cafeteria, as has been proven, is the most visited of the Motorway of Andalusia and because of these holiday dates, usually full. As you said, for hotel guests is advisable at the buffet breakfast, closed the rest...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed July 23, 2015

This was my second stay here, this time with the family. I was expecting to be in one of the rooms with the bathrooms from 1970 but was pleasantly surprised. Our room had actually been refurbished, the bathroom was much better, the aircon positively modern and the beds comfortable. I am being told this is not the case for all...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Liv V
Dolores B, Gerente at Hotel El Hidalgo, responded to this review

Dear Liv Thank you for you comments because the help us to make our best. As you can see we are refurnishing the rooms trying to give our clients more confortable space. Times are very hard,as you know but we are trying to do our best. The next time you visit de hotel you will check that we are improving,...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

42 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (35)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Valdepenas
4.3 mi away
Veracruz Plaza Hotel & Spa
Veracruz Plaza Hotel & Spa
#1 of 4 in Valdepenas
332 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hotel Central
Hotel Central
#2 of 4 in Valdepenas
116 reviews
11.2 mi away
Parador de Manzanares
Parador de Manzanares
#1 of 1 in Manzanares
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
Hotel Toral
Hotel Toral
#3 of 3 in Santa Cruz De Mudela
26 reviews
21.8 mi away
Posada Abuela Fidela
Posada Abuela Fidela
#2 of 4 in Villanueva de los Infantes
48 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hospederia Museo de Valdepenas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair access
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Family Rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
HOTEL EL HIDALGO enjoys a privileged location with direct access from the motorway Andalucia, Km. 194. The peculiar construction design 'was the first Motel in Spain has been respected in the total renovation made to its facilities, while maintaining the unique character of the establishment. Located 4 Km. From Valdepenas Hotel El Hidalgo is obligatory stop to enjoy its attractive facilities, inviting you to taste the best Manchego cuisine and innovative dishes, to relax in its beautiful swimming pool surrounded by a splendid garden and spend the night in spacious rooms, all ground floor and private covered parking. The Hotel also own parking space for buses and large cars and special vehicles and closed garage available and pets are allowed in the rooms. Valdepenas, City of Wine and Friendship, is ideally located in the geographical center of the Route of Don Quixote. . Within a radius of 35 km you can visit historical sites: Almagro Santa Cruz de Mudela, Tomelloso, Villanueva de los Infantes and the unique nature of the Tablas de Daimiel and Lagunas de Ruidera and the historic Iberian settlement of Cerro of the Heads. All this attractive offer, accompanied by excellent service and careful attention to customers, makes the HOTEL EL HIDALGO ideal for short-stay travelers who want to know the Ruta del Quijote and the Champs de Montiel place. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel El Hidalgo

Address: | Autovia De Andalucia Km 194, 13300 Valdepenas, Spain
Location: Spain > Castile-La Mancha > Province of Ciudad Real > Valdepenas
Price Range: $54 - $69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel El Hidalgo 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel El Hidalgo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Hotel El Hidalgo staff and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel El Hidalgo staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Ask for accommodation as far from the road as possible.”
 of 5 bubbles 824ChrisR824, Feb 29, 2016 | Read review
“Get rooms at the back- more secure against drive by thieves and away from main road”
 of 5 bubbles cheersagainone, Feb 11, 2016 | Read review
“Get room on the back as it abuts freeway”
 of 5 bubbles azlari, Oct 18, 2015 | Read review
“ask for refurbished rooms, there are some of them.”
 of 5 bubbles PARISIANSPANISH, Jul 31, 2015 | Read review
“one night dose not matter”
 of 5 bubbles blackknight2, Jul 6, 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay