We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

The Millrace Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Millrace Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

724 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 721: English reviews
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights hotel was lovely and clean .. Room was lovely and warm bathroom spotless .. The food tho wasn't great for breakfast and I didn't touch my dinner terrible food service .. Spa treatments were nice bit expensive over all a nice stay .. Very little to do around the town .. Been there done it... More 

Helpful?
Thank Claire K
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The staff at the Millrace Hotel are wonderful! Lisa, our waitress, was friendly, helpful and very professional. Ciara, receptionist, was welcoming and most pleasant. Our rooms were connecting, which was wonderful and the standard of cleanliness was great. I had asked for a quiet room and we were quite close to the stairs and lifts and there was some noise... More 

Helpful?
Thank Terri C
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
195 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Our overall experience at the Millrace was positive and I must comment on the very warm welcome we received from the staff. The rooms are modern and comfortable - the bed was extremely comfy, but the bathroom was in need of an update. However, there is a noise problem here that really impacts on getting a good night's sleep. The... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank declanjhayes
Bunclody, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We had a birthday dinner on ladies night and did we have a good night. Between us all (15) we had most things on the menu and we all said the same thing the food was fresh and tasted delicious. Compliments to the chef and many thanks to John and the girls and Noel behind the bar...we will be back

Helpful?
1 Thank Victoria R
Dublin
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The Millrace hotel in Bunclody is across the road from the golf club and a great walk by the river What makes this hotel special is the staff who create a 5* atmosphere, professional, friendly and relaxed. The receptionist and bar staff get a special 👍 I had a tasty Cajun Caesar salad, I wasn't hungry but polished it off!... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Sheridan101
Level Contributor
3 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Was booked in for 2nights as we were attending s wedding locally into our room which was a suite . Found it to be clean but looked very sparse and tired looking and the Windows very dirty! The shower fitting was broken which meant trying to have a shower meant scalding yourself . Breakfast was also a very poor grade... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lorraine O
Lorraine G, Front Office Manager at The Millrace Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Lorraine O I am disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay with us recently and the complimentary upgrade given to our hotel suite was not to your satisfaction. Our Suite is located on the 3rd floor and has wall to ceiling windows which are cleaned on the outside every 6 months due to the location of them. A... More 

Travelers are raving about these Bunclody hotels

Wicklow
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here for one night in July. Upon booking I informed the Reservations Manager -Lorraine, that it was my husbands birthday on the day of our stay. She endeavoured to make it a special stay for us and said she would try her best to upgrade us on our check-in. To our excitement we received the honeymoon suite. It was... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank spuds000
Lorraine G, Front Office Manager at The Millrace Hotel, responded to this review

Dear spuds000 Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review on your recent stay with us. I am delighted we had the opportunity to upgrade to you to one of our beautiful suites as a surprise for your husbands birthday. I have passed on your lovely comments Shannon your waitress and also to our Head Chef... More 

Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

As repeat customers we had another amazing time. The staff are terrific both in the hotel & the Danuspa. The food is super plus the Carlow Suite a real treat. We were celebrating our 2nd wedding anniversary, the staff couldn't do enough for us.

Helpful?
2 Thank rhonamcquade
Lorraine G, Front Office Manager at The Millrace Hotel, responded to this review

Dear rhonamcquade Thank you very much for your lovely review. It was so nice to see you both again and to be part of your lovely celebration. I do hope your onward travels went well and we look forward to having you back to the hotel before you hit the 3rd Anniversary. Take care and see you soon. Kind regards... More 

Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here for 3 nights in July 2016 and I ordered a vegetarian curry dish for my evening meal. Unfortunately there were stringy bits of chicken in the curry. Clearly the chef wasn't bothered that day and just took the chicken bits out and passed it off a as a vegetarian dish which I find to be really disrespectful... More 

Helpful?
Thank janet1011
Lorraine G, Front Office Manager at The Millrace Hotel, responded to this review

Dear janet1011 Thank you for your review. I have spoken with Head Chef who has spoken with all the chefs and staff in the kitchen on that night and is conducting a full investigation into your comments. As an experience Chef this is not something he would allow or tolerate in his kitchen. The Goats cheese is purchased in but... More 

Tipperary, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Hotel staff very friendly food & service very good. Room was average carpet could do with change & toileteries only left for 1 no satelite tv as was advertised. Spa area nice unfortunately leisure centre could do with revamp. Wouldnt stay again 3star rather than 4 6not a lot in local area

Helpful?
Thank aktip66
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

171 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (155)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (40)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (40)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
3:52
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (51)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bunclody
11.6 mi away
The Riverside Park Hotel & Leisure Club
23.9 mi away
Whitford House Hotel Health and Leisure Club
21.8 mi away
Ferrycarrig Hotel
Ferrycarrig Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ferrycarrig
4.0 of 5 stars 1,376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Mount Wolseley Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
11.2 mi away
Treacy's Hotel
Treacy's Hotel
#3 of 5 in Enniscorthy
4.0 of 5 stars 569 reviews
23.3 mi away
Clayton Whites Hotel
Clayton Whites Hotel
#5 of 6 in Wexford
4.0 of 5 stars 1,318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Babysitting

Additional Information about The Millrace Hotel

Address: Bunclody, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wexford > Bunclody
Price Range: $45 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Millrace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com and Priceline so you can book your The Millrace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Millrace Wexford
Hotel Carlton Millrace
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay