We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

The Derbyshire Hotel

Hotel website
Carter Lane East, South Normanton DE55 2EH, England
Special Offer
Save additional 10%
Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Derbyshire Hotel
The Derbyshire Hotel
Panoramas (6)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,171 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,167: English reviews
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

Service slow and the lounge area is very dull and looks a bit grim. Great location just off motorway with plenty of parking though. Ok for a coffee / business meeting. Needs the lighting changing which would really help to improve the reception/lounge area.

Helpful?
Thank truesoftheworld
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

Room 251, room only rate. 'maintain excellent levels of comfort for all guests and colleagues'- the line in the guest directory, bear that in mind because I did. Good points: very clean and spacious rooms, plenty of parking spaces, very pleasant staff. Wifi is reasonable for streaming. You'll need it as the tv channel selection is quite limited Bad points:... More 

Helpful?
Thank Andy P
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I previously had a bad experience at this hotel but recently returned under a colleague's booking to give it a second opinion. If I had sum up my experience at the Derbyshire second time around... Wonderful staff Amazing rooms Newly painted Keen Barstaff Excellent menu Room service terrific Second to none

Helpful?
Thank BoroJonesy10
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I would give it 4 stars had they had air con in the unbearably hot bedrooms worked. (Even though the Jacuzzi was not working and breakfast was sort of mediocre at best) I can't fault the staff as they were pleasant and attentive to all of our needs. Nothing seemed to be too much trouble. In the room (which is... More 

Helpful?
Thank Blondie5309
Anna P, General Manager at The Derbyshire Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Blondie, I am sincerely sorry you felt uncomfortable with the heat in your room. We do not have air conditioning in our bedrooms currently however I am confident that any future refurbishments plans would include this. All our public areas and meeting rooms do have air conditioning. Our hotel does work hard to be green and this work is... More 

Travelers are raving about these South Normanton hotels

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Booked a night’s stay 15/07/2016 in a family room for 2 adults and 2 kids, upon arrival and after a lengthy check in quickly realised this place is stuck in a time warp from the 70s. Fourth bed had to be requested from reception as was missing in room. Web site and reception also omitted to tell us the pool... More 

Helpful?
Thank GA1971
Anna P, General Manager at The Derbyshire Hotel, responded to this review

Dear GA1971 I am sorry to read your review and your experience at The Derbyshire Hotel, our pool was closed for 5 days Monday to Friday due to maintenance works. This closure was planned 2 months in advance and has to take place each year. We did communicate this on our website and to all third party booking agents so... More 

Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

23 of us celebrating a family milestone. This hotel fits us all in. We had a private dining room which was fab. Staff very friendly and helpful. Cannot fault the food. Bar prices are toooo high. £3.50 for lemonade. !!!!!! £4 coffee. It's not Starbucks. The spa was good but the jacuzzi was broken. Steps to a lot of the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Paula P
Anna P, General Manager at The Derbyshire Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Paula P Thank you for your review and comments, we do take all feedback very seriously and wherever possible improvements will be made. I am pleased you had a good weekend however i am sorry the Jacuzzi was out of order, this was unexpected and we have had this repaired as soon as humanly possible. I am pleased you... More 

stockton on tees
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We also went for 2 nights on Travelzoo offer, which was extremely good value. The food was very good, chef's choice delicious at dinner, washed down with bottle of wine (from the offer). Breakfast was continental and/or full english buffet style with plenty of choice. Weekdays they stop serving at 9am which nearly caught us out on first day (expected... More 

Helpful?
Thank merrymagpie1
Anna P, General Manager at The Derbyshire Hotel, responded to this review

Dear merrymagpie1 Thank you for your kind review of your stay, I am so pleased you had a fantastic stay at The Derbyshire Hotel. My Head Chef Nathan will be so pleased regarding your complimentary comments regard dinner and breakfast. I will ensure this is shared with the hotel team. I hope your shopping at the designer outlet was successful!!!... More 

Level Contributor
226 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Had a recent two night break here, the hotel itself is presented very well, the are several places to park, lovely reception area, lively bar with several places to sit. The staff are very friendly and welcoming. The rooms are standard for the price paid and are kept very clean. Very comfortable also. The location is okay, good to drive... More 

Helpful?
Thank rabbit55
Anna P, General Manager at The Derbyshire Hotel, responded to this review

Dear rabbit55 Thank you for taking the time to share your review, I am so pleased to read your comments and that you had a very good experience. It is great to share your comments with the team and we are very proud to be a very friendly and welcoming. That is what hospitality is about. I hope we can... More 

Stoke Poges, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
178 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I booked a weekend walking break package as I had stayed here once before. The service is good in this hotel and my room was of a high standard. We had breakfast and dinner over two days and every meal was enjoyable. In spite of the M1 passing quite close to my room, I suffered not at all so long... More 

Helpful?
Thank CarltonA10
Anna P, General Manager at The Derbyshire Hotel, responded to this review

Dear CarltonA10 Thank you for your kind review, I am so pleased you had a very good stay and enjoyed your experience. Nathan the Head Chef will ensure your comments regarding your meals is shared with his team. I hope myself and the team can welcome you back soon for another great stay. Kind Regards Anna More 

Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Went to this hotel on a deal with TravelZoo and I must say it was a very good deal! With the deal we got an evening meal included and a bottle of wine. The meal was lovely and the staff were all very attentive, polite and friendly. Admittedly the room was rather small, as many other reviews have said, but... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jessica H
Anna P, General Manager at The Derbyshire Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jessica H Thank you for taking the time to stay with us at The Derbyshire. We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to share your review. I am so pleased you had an enjoyable stay and your comments regarding your meals and attentive staff. We will certainly share your comments with the hotel team and I hope myself and... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

239 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (116)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (59)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (115)
Viewed
Amenities (42)
Viewed
Double Room (17)
Viewed
Superior Room (22)
Viewed
The Hotel (19)
Viewed
Twin Room (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Normanton
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Mansfield Hotel
Premier Inn Mansfield Hotel
#1 of 2 in South Normanton
4.5 of 5 stars 454 reviews
11.0 mi away
Casa Hotel
Casa Hotel
#1 of 15 in Chesterfield
5.0 of 5 stars 1,136 reviews
10.3 mi away
Breadsall Priory Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Eastwood Hall
Eastwood Hall
#1 of 1 in Eastwood
3.5 of 5 stars 909 reviews
9.0 mi away
The Morley Hayes Hotel
14.3 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Derby Midland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Family-friendly and very comfortable, you'll feel relaxed from the moment you arrive. Near the heart of the Peak district where you will find delightful walks and spectacular views. Chatsworth House, fun-packed thrills of Alton Towers, and extensive shopping at East Midlands Outlet are all nearby. Enjoy our modern gym, indoor pool, spa bath and optional health & beauty treatments. Beautiful suites available for meetings and events, from conferences to weddings. If you are planning a trip abroad, the hotel is just 30 minutes from East Midlands Airport. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Derbyshire Hotel

Address: Carter Lane East, South Normanton DE55 2EH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > South Normanton
Price Range: $77 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Derbyshire Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 157
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com and Agoda so you can book your The Derbyshire Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Derbyshire Hotel South Normanton
Derbyshire South Normanton
The Derbyshire Hotel South Normanton, UK
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay