We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Royal Plaza

Expedia.com$77*
View Deal
06/04/2017 06/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
The Royal Plaza
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

212 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 207: English reviews
Start your review of The Royal Plaza
 Click to rate
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

The royal plaza hotel is very nice and very comfortable stay .food is very delicious. Room is very clean. But bit small. Specially staff is very courtious and very attentive .like telephone opertor is very helpful .thank you so much .staff special. Aman Reetu Meenakshi and Ankit .very nice and professional. Will come again sure .10 out 10.'''''''''Regards Ashwin Rathod....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ashwin R
Hyderabad, India
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The approach road to The Royal Plaza, has been recently dug up for creating effective drainage. Thereafter, like most of our roads, the resurfacing will take its own time, ensuring that you have a roller coaster last half mile!! The hotel is very efficient, in keeping with expectations from a Sarovar experience. Its a well oiled machine, without being over...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bala0303
gmtrp, General Manager at The Royal Plaza, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Greetings!! Thank you for rating our services during your recent stay at The Royal Plaza Sarovar, Gangtok! I am delighted to note that overall you had a comfortable stay with us and have shared your feedback with my colleagues, who are equally happy to hear from you. Your feedback gives the team to go the extra mile to...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I stayed there for couple of days. I liked the location room service and food quality. Reception is very co-operative n hospsitality isnalso good. Hotel room as confortable. Charges are very reasonable

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anand G
gmtrp, General Manager at The Royal Plaza, responded to this review

Thank you for rating our services during your recent stay at The Royal Plaza Sarovar, Gangtok! I am delighted to note that overall you had an excellent stay with us and have shared your feedback with my colleagues, who are equally happy to hear from you. These encouraging words are like energy boosters for the team so that they can...

Northampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is an amazing place situated at the end of unkept, full of potholes road. Driving through closed bazaar and residential area was the entrance to this Sarovar Group Hotel. We were welcomed by the manger himself. Good dining area and well decored room. Our stay in this full of hospitality service was quite relaxing.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mohan1946
gmtrp, General Manager at The Royal Plaza, responded to this review

Thank you for rating our services during your recent stay at The Royal Plaza Sarovar, Gangtok! I am delighted to note that overall you had an excellent stay with us and have shared your feedback with my colleagues, who are equally happy to hear from you. Unfortunately the road has been a sore point and creates a negative impression about...

Bengaluru, India
Reviewed March 29, 2017 via mobile

This was our second visit in This hotel.it was good feeling to be back and this time we got valley facing room.the morning view from the window is mesmerizing.the hotel now looks a little old.the washroom exhaust was not working so we had to keep the door open when shower staff as usual very helpful and smiling

 Report
Helpful?
Thank deepaheart
gmtrp, General Manager at The Royal Plaza, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Greetings!! Thank you for rating our services during your recent stay at The Royal Plaza Sarovar, Gangtok! I am delighted to note that overall you had a comfortable stay with us and have shared your feedback with my colleagues, who are equally happy to hear from you. We were also happy to see you back... I also acknowledge...

Reviewed March 29, 2017

Well its said that no matter for how long you travel how far you travel at the end you look for your own house & Bed!! The royal plaza entire team proves it wrong. i wont say team but they work like a family and very few treat you like a family. i was there with my family with 4...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jaswant Singh R
gmtrp, General Manager at The Royal Plaza, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Greetings!! Thank you for rating our services during your recent stay at The Royal Plaza Sarovar, Gangtok! I am delighted to note that overall you had an excellent stay with us and have shared your feedback with my colleagues, who are equally happy to hear from you. We are touched by your words of appreciation as it matters...

Reviewed March 7, 2017

One of the best hotels I have stayed in during my travels worldwide where from the General Manager downwards the staff was very attentive and helpful in making our stay comfortable and enjoyable. The room was well equipped and provided all amenities. A good selection of local dishes were provided in the restaurant. The food was tasty. A feature for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Eraj W
gmtrp, General Manager at The Royal Plaza, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Greetings!! Thank you for rating our services during your recent stay at The Royal Plaza Sarovar, Gangtok! I am delighted to note that overall you had an excellent stay with us and have shared your feedback with my colleagues, who are equally happy to hear from you. The words are encouraging for all of us to go the...

New Delhi, India
Reviewed February 22, 2017

We stayed with our 6 year old child here for three days. Extremely courteous staff, that you cant even feel like complaining to them for little things...They were always there one call away, even in odd hours.The buffet tasted great, we took both breakfast and dinner buffet.The house keeping staff was really hardworking. I am extremely sorry that I am...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank drvibha
gmtrp, General Manager at The Royal Plaza, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Greetings!! Thank you for rating our services during your recent stay at The Royal Plaza Sarovar, Gangtok! I am delighted to note that overall you had an excellent stay with us and have shared your feedback with my colleagues, who are equally happy to hear from you. We are heart filled with your kind words of appreciation. Thank...

Reviewed February 8, 2017 via mobile

Had chosen Royal plaza hotel on a friend's recommendation and honestly we are glad we did that. Went with my parents, husband and bhaiya Bhabhi and had booked this hotel for 5 days 4 nights. From well maintained clean rooms to great food service we enjoyed each moment of our stay at this hotel. The entire staff from Housekeeping to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sugandha2
gmtrp, General Manager at The Royal Plaza, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Greetings!! Thank you for rating our services during your recent stay at The Royal Plaza Sarovar Hotel, Gangtok! I am delighted to note that overall you had an excellent stay with us and have shared your feedback with my colleagues, who are equally happy to hear from you. I also acknowledge your feedback regarding the room ventilation, we...

Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Reviewed January 28, 2017

We stayed in this hotel for 4 nights. It was a very pleasant and enjoyable experience. The rooms were spacious and nicely furnished. Hot water was available only for 3 hours in the morning and 3 hours in the evening, but the water was indeed hot when it was available. Bathroom was clean. Breakfast spread was ample and tasty. Staff...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank soumiunq
gmtrp, General Manager at The Royal Plaza, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Greetings!! Thank you for rating our services during your recent stay at The Royal Plaza Sarovar Hotel, Gangtok! I am delighted to note that overall you had an excellent stay with us and have shared your feedback with my colleagues, who are equally happy to hear from you. I also acknowledge your feedback regarding the menu pricing and...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

92 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (84)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Other (36)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
06/04/2017 06/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gangtok hotels
1.8 mi away
WelcomHeritage Denzong Regency
1.0 mi away
The Keepsa Residency
The Keepsa Residency
#35 of 115 in Gangtok
115 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Elgin Nor-Khill, Gangtok
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Tara Palace
Tara Palace
#36 of 115 in Gangtok
134 reviews
1.9 mi away
Summit Norling Resort & Spa
1.7 mi away
Hotel New Orchid
Hotel New Orchid
#4 of 115 in Gangtok
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Casino and Gambling
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Conference Facilities
  • Airport Transportation
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Amidst such lush green hilly terrains, a breathtaking topography and misty mountains, emerges The Royal Plaza [A Sarovar Hotel] at Gangtok, the Capital of Sikkim. This luxury hotel is ideally located and one of its kind in all of Sikkim and the North East. The Royal Plaza aptly complements the exotic locale. It provides a magnificent view of a valley with a tributary of the Teesta River and an extension of the Khanchendzonga Range from the guest rooms. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Royal Plaza

Address: Upper Syari, Deorali, Gangtok 737102, India
Location: India > Sikkim > East Sikkim > Gangtok
Price Range: $85 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Royal Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Royal Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Plaza Hotel Gangtok
The Royal Plaza Gangtok, Sikkim
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Gangtok
#4 Luxury Hotel in Gangtok
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from The Royal Plaza staff and other travelers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Royal Plaza staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Try and get a first floor room”
Bala0303, 5 days ago | Read review
“should prefer hill view rooms its amazing view and on 1st & 2nd floor”
jaswantsinghr2017, Mar 29, 2017 | Read review
“Request room facing the mountains.”
erajw2016, Mar 7, 2017 | Read review
“Choose the valley facing rooms to have a pleasant view.”
soumiunq, Jan 28, 2017 | Read review
“The First floor rooms are good with excellent view”
55satyab, Dec 12, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Expedia.com
$77* /night
View Deal
Hotels.com$77
Travelocity$77
Orbitz.com$77
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates