We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Kailash Guest House

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pondicherry
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Kailash Guest House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

73 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 51: English reviews
Essen, Germany
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2016

- location is good - rooms are clean - staff couldn't speak english (i was in off season) - AC only worked sometimes, no support from staff - Wifi didnt work all the time because they didnt pay their bills - no electricity for charging in the room.. none of the sockets was working in our room - we agreed... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dennis K
KailashGuest, Owner at Kailash Guest House, responded to this review

Dear Dennis, Our sincere apologies for the fact that the guesthouse did not match your expectations. There were ways to improve the quality of your stay. For example, there is switch inside every room that is used to switch on the sockets and lights. And in case of any problem the owner is always available on the phone number, written... More 

Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2016 via mobile

This would have to be the worst place I have ever stayed. Host unhelpful and price went up when checked out. The bedding was dirty and has a huge mosquito problem. Dinning room closed so couldn't get breakfast before departure.

Helpful?
Thank Susan F
KailashGuest, Owner at Kailash Guest House, responded to this review

Dear Susan, We are sorry to learn that you had unpleasant experience in Pondicherry. However, we are sure that you have not stayed at our place, as 1. we are very particular about cleanliness of our rooms, 2. There is no dining room at Kailash guesthouse, 3. Guest with your name has not checked in at our location since a... More 

Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2016 via mobile

Good central location. Nice, if smallish, clean room. Good bed. Very friendly host, really helpful suggesting restaurants etc. Upstairs, semi-rooftop lounge is very basic and the nice view is hindered by the AC but nice anyway. Downstairs lounge could be really nice with some fans or AC and a beer option (upstairs is allowed), maybe it was not the season... More 

Helpful?
Thank thetallJJ
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2016 via mobile

This hotel is situated in the heart of puducherry.the rooms are spacious enough and the bathrooms too. The owner is discret but keen to help you if you have any enquiries. I would recommend to stay there.

Helpful?
Thank Seb D
Limassol, Cyprus
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2016

We had a really pleasant stay in the guest house as a couple. It has a lovely lounge and a bar, nicely decorated, friendly staff. Very clean room. Good location, close to the seafront and local shopping area.

Helpful?
Thank AnnaUA2016
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2016

My friend and I were extremely grateful to discover this clean and friendly guesthouse, perfectly positioned to explore Pondicherry. After reading rumours of bedbugs, we were almost put off; we were so very pleased we had decided to make up our own minds. All rooms face the hectic traffic, but this didn't prevent us sleeping peacefully in the most comfortable... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kay H
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2016

Great Location, extremely helpful owner - was extremely helpful in making sure our stay was great. Also assisted me in getting some minor medical care I needed after proper at the local hospital and followed up to ensure I was looked after properly. We were treated like family!!

Helpful?
Thank Bob H
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2016

We had a brief stayover. The room was very clean. The staff was helpful. There was a big and comfortable lounge area that would be a good place to unwind & escape the streets. The value seemed reasonable enough.

Helpful?
Thank Kyle T
new forest
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2016

We paid the amount suggested for an AC room, but no AC. Noisy crossroads nearby. Unhelpful owner who seemed to sleep a lot. Rather useless boy who hadn't learned his trade. A mention in Lonely Planet and its all downhill.

Helpful?
Thank hubsNewForest
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
131 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2016

If compared to other budget hotels, the place in itself is quite nice. The room seemed clean and the manager was very kind, but mosquitos and probably bed bugs didn't let us sleep and the noise from the street started very early in the morning. This made us leave the place earlier than we had planned. Wifi works quite well... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dariobazza
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

12 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pondicherry hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sun Park
Hotel Sun Park
#38 of 71 in Pondicherry
4.0 of 5 stars 40 reviews
0.6 mi away
Le Chateau
Le Chateau
#19 of 71 in Pondicherry
4.0 of 5 stars 133 reviews
0.1 mi away
Raj Classic Inn
Raj Classic Inn
#25 of 135 in Pondicherry
3.5 of 5 stars 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Blue Yonder House
The Blue Yonder House
#36 of 135 in Pondicherry
5.0 of 5 stars 4 reviews
1.3 mi away
Aadhaar Guesthouse
Aadhaar Guesthouse
#5 of 135 in Pondicherry
4.5 of 5 stars 196 reviews
0.6 mi away
La Marina
La Marina
#34 of 135 in Pondicherry
4.0 of 5 stars 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Double A/C room - Rs. 1500 per night Double non-A/C room - Rs. 1250 per night Single A/C room - Rs. 1000 per night Single non-A/C room - Rs. 900 per night ... more   less 

Additional Information about Kailash Guest House

Address: No 43 Kailash Guest House Vysial Street, Pondicherry 605001, India
Location: India > Union Territory of Pondicherry > Pondicherry
Amenities:
Price Range: $23 - $26 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing