We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Raven Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Raven Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

110 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 109: English reviews
Start your review of The Raven Inn
 Click to rate
Mold, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Only having been to The Raven for a meal previously we decided to book for Sunday Lunch. My wife and I were certainly not disappointed. There was a choice of 3 roast meats plus a vegetarian main course. After ordering at the bar our meals arrived within 10/15 minutes. We were pleasantly surprised with the variety of different vegatables served...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gordon J
North Wales
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Such a picturesque village and gorgeous traditional pub...Real fires and nooks n crannies. Really good curry, fish n chips and kids bangers and mash. Volunteers working couldn't have been more attentive, warm and welcoming. Decent real ale and white wine that was properly chilled too. Can't wait to go back!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rabbitdance35
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

Stayed here with my partner for weekend break. First impressions excellent. Frontage very nice indeed. Friendly welcoming staff really can tell this is a community run place as everyone shows such pride and care. Great little room. Loved the kitchenette where you can prepare breakfast with the delicious offerings from the shop curtesy of the local butchers. Best eggs I've...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Keiralouise
Denbigh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My wife and I visited the Raven Inn for lunch during February 2017. This is a community run pub, and was extremely freindly. Locals were chatty, services was good, food was excellent and toilets were clean. Dogs are welcome in the pub, and several well behaved dogs were around the bar area. There are tables outside for when the sun...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 1StevieLew
Banhadlen, Volunteer at The Raven Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review The Raven Inn. We're delighted you enjoyed your visit and look forward to seeing ypou again soon.

Rainford, United Kingdom
Reviewed January 3, 2017

called in this lovely pub with family and puppy on the sunday afternoon after setting up the caravan at nearby parc farm. we had just missed last orders for sunday lunch but the lovely lady brought us some roast potatoes out which we was so grateful.we dined there when there was food on on and didnt have one complaint.a big...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank checketts
Banhadlen, Volunteer at The Raven Inn, responded to this review

Glad you had a good experience on Sunday. Hoping you (and your puppy) will call in again when you are at Parc Farm.

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed December 18, 2016

What a fabulous traditional pub. The staff & locals were all very welcoming & a great advertisement for this community run venture. The four of us arrived in the cold & dark after a days walking having missed the ordering time for meals. However, this was no problem to the staff who still offered us a full menu. The choice...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AntL18
Banhadlen, Volunteer at The Raven Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely review. We look forward to your next visit.

Merseyside, United Kingdom
Reviewed November 13, 2016

Visited this lovely friendly place yesterday. Ordered meals for 7 of us from a great menu. All meals served hot and thouroughly enjoyed. The homemade cheese and onion pie was delicious. The all day breakfast was a hit with my husband. Thank you for great service friendly staff, we will definately return

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jo B
Banhadlen, Volunteer at The Raven Inn, responded to this review

So glad you enjoyed the friendliness and good food that The Raven Inn Community Run Pub has to offer. We look forward to your return visit.

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed November 13, 2016

I wanted to send you guys a very quick email to tell you how appalled i am after the treatment of that of myself, children (i had under my care) and other families that visited the Raven Inn this evening. Today has been a act of remembrance and a day in which i am proud to have taken twenty five...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank sparky1098
Banhadlen, Volunteer at The Raven Inn, responded to this review

We are very sorry indeed to hear of your experience on Sunday night. Please understand that the comments of this lady, who I understand was a customer at the pub and not officially acting as a member of staff at the time, were her personal view and not those of the Raven Inn. We are appalled that you have had...

Huddersfield, England
Reviewed November 6, 2016 via mobile

Booked in for a Sunday lunch, it was beautiful. The service was polite and courteous. The food was great and the ales were very tasty. Couldn't believe it was a community run pub, which made it all the more enjoyable. Many thanks.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul L
Banhadlen, Volunteer at The Raven Inn, responded to this review

Thank you Paul for your appreciation of our Community Run pub. We're delighted that you enjoyed your visit and hope to see you again soon.

Croydon, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 15, 2016 via mobile

This jewel of a pub was a lovely surprise after 16 miles of Offa's Dyke. Not only was the food amazing but the welcoming atmosphere of the volunteer staff made it hard to leave. This is how local, village pubs should feel...the centre of the community not just a place to drink alcohol.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rachel W
Banhadlen, Volunteer at The Raven Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your very supportive review. On behalf of the committee, staff and volunteers I can say that we are delighted that you found the food, atmosphere and welcome a pleasant surprise.

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

13 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llanarmon-yn-Ial
4.3 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ruthin
334 reviews
4.3 mi away
Ruthin Castle Hotel
9.7 mi away
Bryn Howel Hotel
Bryn Howel Hotel
#6 of 10 in Llangollen
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
White Waters Country Hotel
White Waters Country Hotel
#2 of 10 in Llangollen
717 reviews
8.9 mi away
Cornerstones Guesthouse
Cornerstones Guesthouse
#3 of 29 in Llangollen
355 reviews
5.6 mi away
Britannia Inn
Britannia Inn
#8 of 29 in Llangollen
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Raven Inn is a traditional community-orientated free house situated in the heart of the picturesque north Wales village of Llanarmon-yn-Ial, Denbighshire. The Raven Inn has been run by the community since August of 2009. A traditional country pub, you can be assured of a warm welcome. We offer mouth watering, locally sourced food and the best real ales north Wales has to offer. We regularly bring in the best of local musical talent fitting to a traditional country pub. We have three well appointed and recently refurbished self catering rooms to let. All have great views of the village church. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Raven Inn

Address: Ffordd Rhiw Ial, Llanarmon-yn-Ial CH7 4QE, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Llanarmon-yn-Ial
Price Range: $67 - $68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Raven Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Raven Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Excellent quiet rural location”
 of 5 bubbles RaeR861, May 31, 2016 | Read review
“Room 1 apparently where Prince Charles and Camilla visited last year”
 of 5 bubbles kimatrix, May 17, 2016 | Read review
“Take one of the larger rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles VRKD, Sep 8, 2015 | Read review
“Room 1 largest”
 of 5 bubbles LixwmLass, Aug 24, 2015 | Read review
“All 3 rooms look over the front towards the church”
 of 5 bubbles bigblackbag, Mar 18, 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question