R2 Rio Calma Hotel & Spa & Conference

R2 Rio Calma Hotel & Spa & Conference

Calle Artistas Canarios 8 Urbanización El Granillo, 35627 Costa Calma, Pajara, Fuerteventura Spain
Lever de soleil
Traveler (3163)
Panorama of the Double Room at the R2 Rio Calma Hotel & Spa & Conference
360
Panoramas (24)
Pool & Beach (649)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.0
#9 of 22 hotels in Costa Calma
Location
3.6
Cleanliness
4.3
Service
4.0
Value
4.0
R2 RIO CALMA HOTEL & SPA & CONFERENCE awaits you in the heart of Costa Calma and on the seafront, a perfect place for any person or holiday or professional circumstance. Its colonial architecture with wide rooms and panoramic windows guarantee long hours of natural light. An idyllic setting in which to enjoy the beauty of the 16,000m2 of landscaped areas and the turquoise crystal clear waters of a unique island that amazes everyone. Our 4 stars offers 416 rooms, almost all with sea view, equipped with all the comforts and details that you may need for your days of rest. In addition to a fabulous Spa and a wide range of swimming pools, it has an extensive range of customisable rooms for celebrations of all kinds of events.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Pool
Free breakfast
Beach
Archery
Children's playground
Street parking
Wifi
Paid wifi
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Fitness classes
Sauna
Hot tub
Pool / beach towels
Infinity pool
Pool with view
Indoor pool
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Plunge pool
Bar / lounge
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Outdoor dining area
Poolside bar
Bicycle rental
Mini golf
Tennis court
Billiards
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Table tennis
Nightclub / DJ
Indoor play area for children
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Kids pool
Highchairs available
Airport transportation
Car hire
Taxi service
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Manicure
Massage
Pedicure
Steam room
Waxing services
Baggage storage
Concierge
Convenience store
Gift shop
Outdoor furniture
Shops
Sun deck
Sun umbrellas
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Minibar
Cable / satellite TV
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Room service
Safe
Telephone
Wardrobe / closet
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Ocean view
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Lagoon View
Park View
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, German and 1 more

Location

Calle Artistas Canarios 8 Urbanización El Granillo, 35627 Costa Calma, Pajara, Fuerteventura Spain
Name/address in local language
4.0
4.0 of 5 bubbles2,206 reviews
Reviews summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI

The R2 Rio Calma Hotel & Spa & Conference boasts a vibrant atmosphere with live music and festive events, complemented by beautiful pools and dining settings. While guests commend the friendly staff and the cleanliness of the well-appointed rooms with sea views, some have experienced slow service and noted a lack of amenities such as kettles. Issues with air conditioning have been mentioned, and the hotel's isolated location may limit dining options. Additionally, travelers have expressed concerns over the value, pointing to extra charges that impact the all-inclusive experience.
Location
Isolated
Atmosphere
Lively
Rooms
Comfortable
Value
Expensive
Cleanliness
Immaculate
Service
Inconsistent
Amenities
Satisfactory

Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or the opinions in it. For more information, please read the traveler reviews and learn more about how the site works.
2,206Reviews184Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 850
  • 805
  • 321
  • 132
  • 98
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Cel E wrote a review Mar 2020
Preston
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Best feature of this hotel is the setting. Uniterrupted Seaviews. Beautifully tended gardens, mainly cactus of many different varieties. Most staff were friendly and attentive. The buffet food was good. As is usual in Europe dishes are not always as hot as we expect in the UK. The scramble/queue for coffee at breakfast is disappointing and even when we discovered that a waiter would bring a jug we had to wait 15mins. Definitely an area to be improved.
Drinks at the bars are well priced cocktails from Eur 5.10 with free pour measures. No at lounger service and some long wait times.
Table service for drinks at the pool and lobby bar was good. Live entertainment we gave a miss.
When we asked for information at reception we got it but otherwise difficult to find out about the hotel or local area.
Wifi is only free in lobby on level 3 which is ridiculous.
No tea/coffee in the room but you can borrow a kettle for a 20Euro deposit. Take your own mugs etc.
Room cleaning excellent only problem was finding sockets for straighteners and phonechargers which involved unplugging lamps or moving heavy furniture.
Costa Calma doesnt have much apart from a tree lined walk and the beach. We went to market day (which is for tourists). The walk is ok 15/20 mins. Ask reception for a map.
Nice quiet atmosphere in hotel. Would stay again
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from R2Hoteles, Public Relations Manager at R2 Rio Calma Hotel & Spa & Conference
Responded Mar 13, 2020
Dear Celestine, Thank you for leaving us a review. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed the beauty of R2 Rio Calma and Fuerteventura. We are glad that you loved our services, our dedicated staff will be pleased to learn of your high praise. On the other hand, we are sorry not everything met your expectations. Please rest assure, we appreciate the negative as much as the positive and have taken your feedback on board. Nevertheless, we look forward to having you again. Best Regards, Quality Department
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mary wrote a review Feb 2020
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Very comfortable stay. The grounds are absolutely stunning and very well kept. Amazing infinity pool. You have to pay a €10 deposit for a beach towel. Shame there are no tea or coffee making facilities in the room but you can get a kettle from reception for a refundable deposit of €20. The bar staff are quite happy to supply you with a little jug of milk. The restaurant was very clean and there was a large variety of choices. Lots of fresh salads and fruit. We were full board and ate outside every meal. There didn't seem to be enough waiting staff which was frustrating when wanting to order drinks at the table. Entertainment in the evening was a bit hit and miss. They have the same act twice a week, husband and wife......no idea why the hotel management have them playing twice a week because they are very outdated and not particularly talented. Best act was the tribute to the drifters guys, they were fantastic and had lots of guests up dancing. The entertainment team in the day work really hard, putting on a stretching class every morning and aqua aerobics around midday, plus other activities during the afternoon. Leo and Michelle deserve a big mention, they were very enthusiastic and personable. Our room looked slightly tired and outdated but clean and comfortable. We would definitely return.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from R2Hoteles, Public Relations Manager at R2 Rio Calma Hotel & Spa & Conference
Responded Feb 14, 2020
Dear Dinah, Thank you so much for taking the time to write to write us a review and for the perfect rating. We hope you had a memorable and relaxing stay at R2 Rio Calma. Furthermore, thank you for all the lovely compliments. Our staff work very hard and your praise will help motivate them to keep doing an amazing job. On the other hand, we are sorry not everything met your expectations. We take your comments on board in order to help us improve. We look forward to seeing you once more. Kind Regards, Quality Department
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
A lot to digest? Read an AI-generated summary of recent traveler reviews.
Helen A wrote a review Jul 2023
Brayton, United Kingdom
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We have just spent 11 nights here and it is unfortunate that such a stunning hotel is being badly let down by its management.

The air conditioning in our room didn’t work throughout our entire stay, despite reporting it three times to the staff at reception, nothing was done. Our room didn’t drop below 26 degrees the entire time and the heat was so unbearable we had to go into the town and buy a fan.

The restaurant experience was probably the worst I have come across in an all inclusive hotel, breakfast was nice and we could manage to get a decent lunch if we stuck to salad but the evening meal wasn’t great. Firstly there was never any bowls left if you wanted soup, nor were there ever any spoons. How about putting spoons on the tables with the knives and forks? Pretty simple solution, not really rocket science is it? Make sure the bowls are washed, not chipped and put out in order for guests to actually be able to have soup, again, not rocket science. Myself and my husband were often standing like a couple of lemons waiting for someone to bring us a bowl and spoon and one evening when we asked for them we were brought two bowls that had very obviously just been wiped with a smelly cloth. That nearly made me vomit and I never went near the soup for the rest of my stay. Most of the staff are doing their best but there aren’t enough of them to keep the restaurant running smoothly. It was the same scenario for the ice cream, never a bowl to be found. BUY MORE BOWLS!! And throw the chipped ones away. The smelly bowl incident had us heading into the town for our meal the following evening, couldn’t face another night in the hotel restaurant.

The hotel itself is beautiful, very clean in general and our room was also cleaned daily. The grounds are lovely as are the pools. We liked the grassed areas for sunbathing. I would have loved to see the Lido in use, I can imagine how stunning that would have been as the design of the hotel and grounds is very impressive. This is why I feel it is such a shame that the management don’t treat the hotel and it’s guests with a bit more respect.

The pianist was excellent and we enjoyed sitting in the lobby on an evening listening to him play. It really was the most beautiful lobby with comfortable furniture to sit and enjoy a drink.

All in all a beautiful hotel that, in my opinion, looks like a five star but behaves like a three. Such a pity.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Rdos Hotels, Director General at R2 Rio Calma Hotel & Spa & Conference
Responded Aug 4, 2023
Dear Helena, Thank you for taking the time to rate us. It is a pleasure to read that you find the facility beautiful and appreciate the work of the staff. However, we apologize for the inconvenience you experienced during your vacation. Thank you for drawing our attention to some improvement opportunities. Now we hope for a second chance so that we can show our improvements during your next stay. Best regards Quality department
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Anna B wrote a review Sep 2021
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We are here since one week, it is not possible to get a free place at the pool, or a second beverage at the restaurant. In the morning you have to wait about 30 minutes to get the table fresh and to order one cup of coffee. Even toodlers are treated not friendly, if they want to get a small fork or a second glass of water.
i am very disappointed about always cold meals at the main restaurant and the ignorance of the service- 2 friendly stuff members excluded.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Rdos Hotels, General Manager at R2 Rio Calma Hotel & Spa & Conference
Responded Sep 7, 2021
Dear traveller, We are sorry to read that we have not possibilitated a relaxing time for your holiday. It is our goal that every guest can feel at home and at ease in our hotel. Hence, we apologize for not having fulfilled this goal during your stay. We will talk to the reponsible people about your complaints, so that we can work on improving our services and attention. Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We hope we can show you our improvements. Kind regards, Quality department
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Travel M wrote a review Mar 2023
Durham, United Kingdom
+1
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The Hotel and grounds are fantastic but there are issues but please don’t let them put you off, I’m going to start with the good points.
Hotel building itself Wow, what a fantastic building lovely big lobby with grand piano that was played every evening. Nice bar with soft seating around to sit on and chill.
Room, a decent size with a great view over the pool, sea and rear gardens which were immaculately kept. Pools 3 of 2 heated one not, the trick here is to bite the bullet and get in to the unseated one which after a min or so is warm enough but then move to the heated one which was very therapeutic, plenty of sun beds about but a lot of people did put their towels out but did not use the beds until late morning or after lunch. The hotel shops. These were slightly more expensive than the few shops in the town that were about a 20 min walk away and sold most things you may need. So far the above would easily be judged as 4+ stars but for the whole place was let down by the restaurant. The table and chairs were set up inside and out and the staff worked really hard taking plates and cups away and changing the table cloths when the table was finished with. Inside coffee machines were dotted about but often ran out of cups. The food area, this was horrendous at times. On the salad bar they often did a roast but the cooked veg were on a different bar, after the roast you then found the butter then the various salad dressings and finally the salad stuff. People just moved about reached over and helped themselves. I watched twice different people cut some butter from the block sniffed it, put it on their plate then put the knife back on the butter plate. There was a lovely bread bar but why the butter and margarine was not next to it I have no idea. The roasts were often not fully cooked for me, I don’t mind beef being a bit rare but pork and chicken is a no no. Crockery, I have been to loads of different hotels but I cannot remember ever being given a dirty plate or cup but every meal I found dirty plates and cups or chipped ones. The whole food area for me needs a dam good rethink as it does let the whole place down. Having said all the above about the food I always found something to eat but it could have been far better, just simple things like putting the butter and margarine by the bread, put the cooked veg by the hot meats and check the crockery is clean and not chipped before putting it out.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: The hotel is very popular. . The staff were very friendly and helpful. Gardens and pools are a...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Rdos Hotels, General Manager at R2 Rio Calma Hotel & Spa & Conference
Responded Mar 14, 2023
Dear Phillip, Thank you for your feedback. Nice to read that you think the hotel is fantastic. But we are very sorry that you had such a negative impression of our restaurant. Our service staff always tries to make our guests as comfortable as possible. We apologize for the inconvenience and thank you for your suggestions for improvement. As you have already seen, we use signs to show our guests that reserving loungers is not permitted. Our pool staff have permission to remove the towels from the loungers. We have enough sunbeds for all guests. If you can't find any, our pool staff will be happy to help you. The well-being of our guests is our priority. We would be very happy to prove this to you on your next stay. Best regards, Quality department
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jane wrote a review Nov 2022
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel is absolutely stunning and the pool area is lovely. We did go in half term but didnt really struggle to get loungers round the pool, although frustratingly the loungers do get reserved and I even witnessed loungers that had been reserved not used all day and the owners of the towels returned and removed them without using the loungers once. This should not be allowed. There is nothing going on around the poolbarea other than water aerobics once a day, obviously this quiet may be perfect for some.
The location is beautiful but not ideal if you do have any mobility problems and there is nothing within walking distance. Ideal if you just want to chill out and relax but not for us. The rooms and the hotel are kept lovely and clean we couldnt fault this at all.
Unfortunately other than a couple of staff we found them to be unintetested and quiet rude. There wasnt a day where I didnt have to find cutlery for our table in the main dining hall. The breafast was fine, cant really go wrong with that but lunch and dinner was very hit and miss and unfortunately we encountered a lot of cold food. Snacks at the pool bar were passable.
We tried the main bar on out first night and had to wait in a queue for about 10 minutes to get a drink. Only 2 staff serving the whole area. After this we went to the piano bar each evening where the setvice was much better. Be aware after 11pm you will be charged for drinks if you are all inclusive.
We tried to book a late check out as we were being collect at 6pm but were told our room wasnt available but we could book the shower room, fair enough. However when we checked out at 12 our all inclusive bands were removed and we were given a paper voucher to get a meal and a drink in the restaurant. So we had 6 hours in the resort where we could not have a drink other than with our lunch. I have never experienced this in an all inclusive and obviously we were shocked.
Overall I have to say we wouldnt return from surly staff, long queues for drinks, cold food and the all inclusive problems it certainly wasnt a great holiday.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Rdos Hotels, General Manager at R2 Rio Calma Hotel & Spa & Conference
Responded Nov 30, 2022
Dear Jane, Nice to read that you found the hotel stunning and appreciate the work of our maids. It is a pity that you were not satisfied with the service, their working method and the long waiting times and the unfriendliness of some employees. We have to apologize for that. Our all-inclusive program ends at 11 p.m. but he must have known before starting the trip that we are not a 24-hour all-inclusive home. This is neither on our homepage nor in the catalogs of the tour operators. Likewise, the check-in and service in the hotel begins at 2 p.m. and ends at 12 p.m. on check-out. This is what you have reserved and paid for with your travel company. Of course, the hotel allows all guests who are picked up after 1 p.m. to eat and drink free of charge in the restaurant. But the extras at the bar have to be paid after 12pm. We are sorry that you did not take this information from your booking beforehand. thank you for your review. We are pleased that you had a nice stay with us in general, even if it was a bit too chilled and too relaxing for you! We also thank you for bringing some improvement opportunities to our attention. Now we hope that during your next stay we can show our improvements. Best regards Quality department
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Katie B wrote a review Sep 2022
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed (2 adults & a teenager) for 1 week late August.

The hotel is clean, tidy, yes the rooms are a little dated but we didn’t spend much time in it. The hotel is situated a short distance from the main resort but the pools are lovely and we did not move from them as we were after a week of just relaxing.

Sunbeds are reserved from around 8am however you can always find some if you don’t mind where there are and there is a grass area you can lie on around one of the pools.

If your all inclusive be aware not everything is included!! The snack bar menu is NOT included!! You are not made aware of this when ordering so you could end up with a bill! Included is only burgers, chips, hot dogs & cheese &ham toastie.

You have to scan your wrist band for everything (included or not) you have no idea what the waiter has tapped in on the hand held device which is concerning as we had been charged for a cocktail we 100% did not have!!!! This should be visible & transparent.

The staff can come across rude however I genuinely think moral is low as there isn’t enough staff. The snack bar had 1 waiter for all of the tables. Queues for takeaway were long and slow.

Sitting outside to watch the entertainment or have a drink in the evening is a premium there are not enough chairs and tables for this which is a shame more is needed however again 1 waiter for this area is not enough staff he was rushed off his feet and the majority of the time didn’t get to all tables each night. However you can go and queue at the bar but again it can be a long wait.

The main restaurant is large with inside and outside tables. When you see the size of this you will see how many people are staying in the hotel compared to the number of tables outside for the entertainment and it will become clear why you can’t get one. The food is varied and they have done a good job trying to cater for everyone.

Be aware check in is at 2pm so if you get there earlier you will be issued bands and if all inclusive you can start using these but will not be allowed the room until after 2pm.

The band Overheat which played on the Wednesday night we were there are not to be missed they were amazing and so many people got up and danced. The other entertainment didn’t leave an impression unfortunately. There is a kids mini disco every night inside?! In the dark almost?!

We would go again, all the little complaints could easily be put right and with the increase in visual presence of managers since the 1st September this was already being done.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Rdos Hotels, General Manager at R2 Rio Calma Hotel & Spa & Conference
Responded Sep 6, 2022
Dear Katie, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are glad to read that in spite of some inconvenient aspects, you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for raising awareness of some things we could improve to ensure that every guest has a perfect stay. We take your comments seriously. We hope that we can welcome you back soon and show you our improvements. Kind regards, Quality department
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Alicia Edney wrote a review Jul 2023
2.0 of 5 bubbles
The resort itself is five stars, absolutely beautiful place and the pools are lovely, room is pretty standard but no faults. Everything else however was a complete disappointment. If you book all inclusive, you have to pay for food and drinks after 11pm. Your all inclusive band will also stop working at midday on your final day, so no drinks or food by the pool after then unless you want to pay a ridiculous amount of money. The food was absolutely shocking. Breakfast wasn’t too bad but lunch and dinner left me feeling miserable whenever the time came around. Food meant to be hot (like reheated lasagna ) was cold. Everything tasted as though it came out of a can. “Clean” plates available to use were still dirty. Dinner service took forever to be served a drink - they are incredibly understaffed for the amount of tables they had. Then the location too isn’t the greatest, we resorted to having to eat out for dinners and the nearest restaurant was a 35 minute walk away. And finally our last day was horrific. To start, we couldn’t eat or drink all inclusive after 12 o’clock. We were due to leave for our flight home at 6:30pm so we were told we’d have a room reserved for us between 4:30-6:00 to shower and get ready. When we went to get the room key the lady at reception then told us that was not the case and that we’d have to use a tiny cramped bathroom on a random hallway, and we only had half an hour. The bathroom was flooded by the end of the shower, leaving my bags wet, the stall was tiny and with no ventilation, no towels were provided, and due to the light sensor I kept being left in the pitch black darkness every 2 minutes of my shower. This holiday that I was really looking forward to left me totally unimpressed and looking forward to coming home by the end of it. The management and the service is really what let it down.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Rdos Hotels, Director General at R2 Rio Calma Hotel & Spa & Conference
Responded Jul 10, 2023
Dear Alicia, We are pleased to read that you liked our hotel complex and its pools very much, but we are very sorry that you had some negative impressions during your holiday with us. Upon arrival, all AI guests receive the AI ​​food & drinks menu. Either as a black and white copy or the guests take a photo with their cell phone. There is exactly what and until when ALL In is. From 10:30 a.m. to 11:00 p.m. You will also receive this information from the tour operator before you make the booking, we are not a 24-hour all-inclusive hotel. Check-in is from 2 p.m. and check-out is at 12 p.m. The booked service begins and ends at these times in the hotel. However, our late departures get free lunch and a drink from the hotel. We have a large selection of AI drinks with branded drinks such as Smirnoff, Havana Club 3, Bacardi, Martini, Gordons, John Haig, Carlos III, etc.. Also cocktails like Piña Colada, San Francisco, Gin Fizz, Planters Punch, etc. are included. It is a pity that this card was not sufficient for you. Also in the restaurant, our breakfast from 07:30-10:30, lunch from 13:00-15:00 and dinner from 18:45-22:00 is included as well as the all-inclusive drinks, as well as the snacks from 12:30-16:30 at the Pool bar Like hotdogs, hamburgers, fries and sandwiches and ice cream and cakes from 10:30-18:30. Our service staff goes out of their way to make our guests as comfortable as possible. Since our check-out is at 12 p.m. and you have to leave the room at 12 p.m., our guests have the option of paying for a late check-out if available. This means you can stay in the room until you leave and thus continue to use the all-inclusive program or you can reserve a shower room free of charge. This is near the gym. you get the towels at the reception at the booked time and have 30 minutes per person to get ready for the start of the flight. Thank you for your review. We also thank you for bringing some improvement opportunities to our attention. Now we hope that during your next stay we can show our improvements. We always do our best to meet and, if possible, exceed our guests' expectations, even if we don't always seem to succeed. We sincerely apologize for this. Kind regards Quality department
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Donna S wrote a review Aug 2022
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed at this hotel for 2 weeks (2 adults +10 year old) , we were celebrating our 1st wedding anniversary and my birthday in this time. We have reviewed pictures and other reviews before making a decision to come here. We picked all inclusive option and paid extra for room with sea view. Once booked, I wanted to surprise my husband for our anniversary and contacted the hotel asking if they could decorate the room in any way upon our arrival. I received a confirmation that fresh fruit and cava will be placed. And it was! I was blown away that hotel made a note of our actual wedding date and my birthday which was few days later. Each of those days, we were greeted with surprises. Hotel itself was clean, greenery around the hotel is kept well. Just as shown on the map, hotel is little away from nearest town, very hilly to walk. Nearest beach is actually few mins walk from hotel, but I would consider it a bit of a "wild beach". Other beach is about 30 mins walk. I was under impression more bars were available and a mention of a lagoon which unfortunately was shut. All inclusive drinks are good and so was the food. As predicted, food a little repetitive but I find that's what these type of buffets are like. Getting a coffee in the morning or a drink later on in a day at the restaurant, can take some time sometimes, but staff really tries to be as attentive as possible. Massage at spa was great. Pool area is nice, situation with sunbeds similar to every other hotel. Some guests reserve seats at early hours, however there are grass areas to put a towel down by the pool but we usually managed to find a couple of sunbeds. I do not recommend Eden restaurant which is at extra cost, waiter at the time did not care about poor service that we received, however manager of the hotel contacted us herself. She was understanding and made sure situation is taken care of. We were happy with solution provided. Reception staff friendly and helpful. Bar staff mostly good, there are couple of moody bar staffs that sigh every time someone asks to order drinks. Not much entertainment compared to other all inclusive we have done however they usually do some sort of water sports twice a day, there is something in the evening each night such as live music. Overall, I do recommend this hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Rdos Hotels, General Manager at R2 Rio Calma Hotel & Spa & Conference
Responded Aug 4, 2022
Dear Donna, Thank you for your review! It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay, your anniversary, and your birthday! Thank you for choosing us to celebrate these important days. That is one of the biggest compliments we could receive. We hope that your next visit is soon! Kind regards, Quality department
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Olivia wrote a review Mar 2022
1.0 of 5 bubbles
As a solo traveller I tend to choose hotels over hostels for a safer and secure holiday, however nothing would have prepared me for this hotel. My second evening I decided to sit in the bar, ordered my favourite drink and minded my own business. A barman approached me, took and took my drink away? Absolute confusion over his broken English he placed down a completely different drink, so strong and fuelled with alcohol. I put this down to miscommunication and carried on with my evening, he then brought over yet another drink I did not order? I decided to take the drink and leave, pouring this down the sink in my hotel room. The following day I found a sun bed hidden away, out of sight. The same barman approached me giving me a drink, yet again I had not ordered this and it was fuelled with alcohol. 10 minutes later he brought a pen with a note wrapped around it which said "Do you use whatsapp". Due to masks it was difficult to place his face and due to the nature of my career I decided to give my number for purpose of finding out his name ( Some may not agree with this to which I understand, however I would of struggled to identify him). As I was leaving the pool area he quickly walked over to collect this note and gave me another, this one with his name... (Fly kick to the eye, I know.) I returned to my room to put my bag back before I went to reception to report the matter. The messages and calls came flying in. He asked my room number to which I did not respond, he then replies with my room number which he managed to look up inappropriately. He goes on to say he will come to my room and drink drinks. I head of to reception and report the matter, request a room change to which they accommodate. Later in the evening the manager arrived at the hotel. I explained the matter, showed her the evidence and she proceeded to say he would not hurt me, he is harmless.. absolutely gobsmacked I asked the bartenders age. She advised mid 40's, I am only 23 years of age. She was so unhelpful and lacked understanding. Solo travellers are facing goring incidents across the world and this resort is a pure example of why this happens, she showed no intent to prevent this from occurring. She advised me women give bartenders their numbers all the time, she proceeded to blame me for "initiating" the incident. I would not recommend this resort to anyone, I advised you choose elsewhere if you want to feel safe and cared for.

On my last few days I decided to have a massage, if you are female I highly recommend asking for a female. Male I had made inappropriate comments, offered no privacy and spent the majority of the time massaging my bum. I appreciate massages can include this area however it was wrong on a whole other level. Just save yourself the horror and book a different hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Rdos Hotels, General Manager at R2 Rio Calma Hotel & Spa & Conference
Responded Mar 31, 2022
Dear Olivia, As we have already discussed on site, we are really sorry that you had such so negative experience with us. We apologize again for the behavior of one of our bartenders. Of course we took you seriously. (despite the fact that you voluntarily gave him your cell phone number, all our employees wear name tags on his uniforms) As soon as you informed us that he was writing to you and that you no longer wanted it, we immediately intervened at your request and stopped it. We changed your room and made sure that you are no longer bothered. We spoke to him, he comes to the management and gave us his cell phone without any problems so that we could read your message histories. He was forbidden from contacting you either via WhatsApp or in person. We really apologize for the inconvenience you experienced during your vacation. The staff usually tries very hard to make our guests' stay as comfortable as possible It is really important too us that our guests feel comfortable with us and comeback again. . We would be very happy to convince you on your next holiday that we can do it better. Your well-being is our priority. Best regards
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from KDD3362
Oldbury101 contributions78 helpful votes
It was closed in March when we where there and looked like it had been closed for some time.
Aaron R asked a question Jan 2024
Is there a disco
JAJJ2014 asked a question Oct 2023
England, United Kingdom25 contributions20 helpful votes
Is there a hot tub to use at the hotel?
Megan asked a question Sep 2023
2 contributions
is the lagon is open now in September 2023?
Answer from M Buick
Dundee, United Kingdom6 contributions4 helpful votes
I was there back in March 2023 and it didn't look as if it would open this year. However it did not spoil our week stay at the hotel. The waterfall was fully working.
Climber240774 wrote a tip Jun 2024
5 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Avoid this hotel."
Read full review
Sam D wrote a tip May 2024
3 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Go somewhere else"
Read full review
S K wrote a tip May 2024
1 contribution
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"The loungers near the pool seem to get full pretty quickly. "
Read full review
chris_stewart118 wrote a tip Apr 2024
Buckinghamshire, United Kingdom42 contributions9 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Get a taxi if you want to go to the local shops"
Read full review
Deanna W wrote a tip Apr 2024
24 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Bring hair conditioner "
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Costa Calma area.
PRICE RANGE
$110 - $166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
r2 rio calma hotel costa calma, r2 rio calma hotel and spa & conference, hotel rio calma, rio calma costa
LOCATION
SpainCanary IslandsFuerteventuraJandia PeninsulaPajaraCosta Calma
NUMBER OF ROOMS
416
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

R2 RIO CALMA HOTEL & SPA & CONFERENCE - Updated 2024

Frequently Asked Questions about R2 Rio Calma Hotel & Spa & Conference
Which popular attractions are close to R2 Rio Calma Hotel & Spa & Conference?
Nearby attractions include Oasis Park Fuerteventura (3.5 miles), Playa Esmeralda (2.4 miles), and Playa del Viejo Rey (3.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at R2 Rio Calma Hotel & Spa & Conference?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at R2 Rio Calma Hotel & Spa & Conference?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at R2 Rio Calma Hotel & Spa & Conference?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at R2 Rio Calma Hotel & Spa & Conference?
Yes, free parking and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to R2 Rio Calma Hotel & Spa & Conference?
Conveniently located restaurants include Tasca Dos Jotas, L'Aperipizza, and El Bar de Marko y Moni.
Are there opportunities to exercise at R2 Rio Calma Hotel & Spa & Conference?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Does R2 Rio Calma Hotel & Spa & Conference have airport transportation?
Yes, R2 Rio Calma Hotel & Spa & Conference offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does R2 Rio Calma Hotel & Spa & Conference offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at R2 Rio Calma Hotel & Spa & Conference?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, German, and Polish.
Does R2 Rio Calma Hotel & Spa & Conference have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.
All Costa Calma HotelsCosta Calma Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Costa CalmaHotels near R2 Rio Calma Hotel & Spa & Conference
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars