We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

The Halford

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
The Halford
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

211 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 210: English reviews
Flitwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2016

Staff very friendly and helpful. Very lovely room. Breakfast plentyful. Evening meal fantastic. Not mush more I can say. Our room was at the top of the hotel overlooking the front of the hotel. Very lage and wellmaintanned room. Will definately come again.

Helpful?
Thank Hawkesc1964
Shrewsbury
Level Contributor
58 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2016

We had booked two rooms for two nights at The Halford on 10th and 11th March through Booking.com and when we arrived the hotel was closed and we were informed the are no rooms. The previous owner has run off and the new owner has only just arrived and is trying to sort out the mess. The building looks very... More 

Helpful?
5 Thank 08Stewart
oxford
Level Contributor
250 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2016

We were a large party booked for lunch the Saturday before Christmas. It was maybe an off day because the food was quite disappointing although nothing specifically wrong. I had a salad with white fish- i think the fish was poached. It was what I ordered and there was no basis to complain, but it was rather odd. We have... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Glinys W
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2016

I purchased a night and dinner at the Halford as a gift for my partner. Big mistake! The biggest issue at the Halford is that the owner is the receptionist, barman and waiter which obviously results in a poor service. The photos look nice enough, but the place is tired and soul less. Not only that the owner is really... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank lottie2016
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2015

Convenient location to meet up as from all over UK. Recently taken over and has new staff. Could not fault the service and was value for money. Agreed to be able to use the function room for our team meeting. Could have been warmer but made up for it with free hot drinks.

Helpful?
Thank Expatkiwi71
John G, Owner at The Halford, responded to this review

Thanks for your review and glad you enjoyed your stay - we enjoyed having you and look forward to your next visit after our refurbishment in the new year. More 

High Wycomeb
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2015

As a business traveller I stay in a lot of places, so when I travel with my family I strive for comfort and quality. This place didn't disappoint, we had a lovely meal complimented with a great wine (from an comprehensive list) in front of a homely fire. Rooms were lovely and clean. Would definitely go back.

Helpful?
Thank Chris P
John G, Owner at The Halford, responded to this review

It waslovely having you and hope to see you again in the new year after the refurbishment. More 

Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2015

We booked to stay in a suite, on the website of booking.com it said a suite has a double bed and sofa bed, we were looking forward to sitting on a sofa and relaxing, when shown to our room we had no sofa, we asked if this room was a suite to which the staff member said no, and that... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank jamesabi
John G, Owner at The Halford, responded to this review

I am again sorry that your room was not as expected, it was the first floor suite referred to on booking.com and much sought after for being peaceful at the rear of the building with views over the courtyard at the best views of the Cotswold hills beyond. I sincerely hope to do take up the discounted offer of your... More 

Level Contributor
87 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2015 via mobile

We booked this hotel in March . And booked half board through booking.com. Unfortunately when we arrived one of our party was ill and bed bound. I asked if we could have the evening meal in the room. I was told yes. So when I went to go get the menu things went downhill. Clearly they were not expecting ,e... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Goldie G
John G, Owner at The Halford, responded to this review

I am genuinely sorry that we did not meet your expectations, yours was the only full board reservation I have inherited since taking over on 8th September so admittedly it did catch me out a bit but I still feel for what you paid good value was had and my offer of extra teas and coffees for your room since... More 

Marlow, Uk
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2015

Stayed one night. Room with walk-in shower, quiet, Wi-Fi. Food good standard although menu rather limited. Staff very attentive, friendly, helpful. Excellent breakfast. Parking easy. Beer - draught Hooky. Reasonable wine list.

Helpful?
Thank Dave S
John G, Owner at The Halford, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to write a review Dave, glad you liked the place and hope to see you again in the new year. More 

Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2015

We caught a glimpse of a courtyard as we drove past, so turned the car around and pulled in for lunch. The staff were very friendly and welcoming, and the menu offered so much more than traditional pub grub. I ordered a lemon risotto, my partner the seafood spaghetti. Neither of us were disappointed. The portions were generous, and all... More 

Helpful?
Thank cazsmum
John G, Owner at The Halford, responded to this review

Thanks very much for taking the time to review us, glad you enjoyed your visit, hope to see you again soon. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

24 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (24)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Halford
1.4 mi away
Ettington Park Hotel
Ettington Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Alderminster
4.5 of 5 stars 1,280 reviews
1.9 mi away
Ettington Chase Hotel
Ettington Chase Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ettington
3.5 of 5 stars 1,244 reviews
6.8 mi away
Stratford Limes Hotel
Stratford Limes Hotel
#1 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
5.0 of 5 stars 731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#7 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 stars 1,533 reviews
7.0 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#6 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 stars 1,084 reviews
4.5 mi away
Mercure Warwickshire Walton Hall Hotel & Spa
Mercure Warwickshire Walton Hall...
#1 of 1 in Wellesbourne Hastings
4.0 of 5 stars 2,415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
An Elizabethan Cotswold Stone Coaching Inn Dating from 1567 offering refined food and wines in a timeless style of great hospitality. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Halford

Address: Fosse Way, Halford, Shipston on Stour CV36 5BN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Shipston on Stour > Halford
Hotel Class:4 star — The Halford 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
The Halford Bridge Hotel Halford
The Halford England
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing