We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Zebula Golf Estate & Spa

D1000 Farm 534, Vaalwal KQ Road, Bela Bela 0480 South Africa
Lowest prices for your stay
View Deal
View Deal
View all 8 deals
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Traveler (306)
Room & Suite (52)
Dining (22)


#7 of 66 Specialty lodging in Bela Bela
Travelers' Choice
Zebula Golf Estate & Spa is a stunning and totally unique lifestyle destination a mere 2-hour drive north of Johannesburg in the magnificent malaria-free Waterberg region of Limpopo Province. Singles, couples, families, and groups will be delighted at the quality and range of accommodation available at Zebula which ranges from 5-star to 4-star lodge rooms as well as splendid luxury homes for families. The Peter Matkovitch-designed golf course has been awarded the Compleat Golfer 5 Star Golf Experience award from 2010 to 2013. Zebula boasts a variety of restaurants as well as 8 conference venues on the property. We have ample activities like educational Elephant and Wild Raptor Bird interactions, safari's to see the Big 5. We also have a fully equipped Gym, squash and Tennis Court and much more. The Spa at Zebula offers a wide range of treatments and therapies that will have you spoilt for choice. Zebula is truly the place to be in the Bushveld.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Public wifi
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Golf course
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hot tub
Outdoor pool
Breakfast buffet
Kids' meals
Special diet menus
Horseback riding
Tennis court
Airport transportation
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Fax / photocopying
Rooftop terrace
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
Great View
423Reviews5Q+A32Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 185
  • 143
  • 40
  • 28
  • 27
Time of year
Traveler type
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Adele wrote a review Oct 18
1 contribution
We planned a relaxing weekend with friends. We booked a house with a HEATED pool because we wanted to relax in it the whole day, do not like cold water. After phoning the morning to make sure the pool is heated, the pool was ice cold at arrival, the guest bathrooms light did not work. This is not what one expect of this kind of place where you pay a lot of money for quality. We phoned twice the Friday, and no one pitched. We phoned Saturday numerous times. The maintenance team could not get the heat pump working. This was very dissappointing for us as we could get a house with a cold swimming pool for much less. The house really needs some maintenance. To make matters worse, this morning there were no electricity or water and the backup generator also did not work. Very dissappointing, it was really not worth the money paid.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Traveled with friends
Gustav d wrote a review Oct 10
Johannesburg, South Africa22 contributions3 helpful votes
We came to Zebula to play golf and enjoy some of the bushveld and the Waterberg. However if you are interested in the silence and solitude that you can only find in the bush this is not the place. The estate claims that making excessive noise will be dealt with but the entire estate seemed to be in party mode and it didn't matter where you went people were blaring music at any time of the day. Zebula has become a place for making a racket and disturbing the peace, do not come for rest. The golf course was in a poor state for the price we paid to play it. The greens were very good, but the fairways were awful. The only excuse could be the end of winter before the summer rains, so hopefully that improves. But the noise of the place was something. Service for lunch at the clubhouse was also slow, but the food was good. Overall an average to poor experience. Could have found more silence in Joburg.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Traveled with friends
Response from MArthinus Duckitt, Marketing at Zebula Golf Estate & Spa
Responded 1 week ago
ON behalf of the Zebula team please accept our sincere apology that our other guests were noisy and so inconsiderate. We must admit that since the opening up of tourism after LOCKDOWN we had guests that had a need to let go to the detriment of our other guests. Your input will be shared with the team. You correctly pointed out that after a long winter the golf course does take a beating and add to that animal damage and we can have problems, the team is working hard at fixing this and after the recent good rains the course will be in top shape soon.
Read more
Michael L wrote a review Sep 2020
3 contributions
1. Don’t lie about private pools and Villas. State clearly that the room is a cottage and the pool is communal, but actually belongs to the main house. I booked a so-called villa and also only to be told when I was there that there's no private pool. 2. Maintain the rooms. Had to be moved 3 times on a 3 night stay. Aircon, Sliding doors, very little hot water to name a few. 3. Have the rooms actually ready at check-in time. I arrived at 15:00, and had to have my time wasted because there was no room that was ready. 4. Have decent loan clubs and also a bit more effort in maintaining the course, and simple things like signage to the next holes where not there. I accept that the fairways will be terrible be as of the animals, that is not an issue. 5. Ordered potbelly and ribs, and the food was not fresh. Certainly you can do better. 6. Bedding could barely fit the bed, and was aesthetically not pleasing. 7. Hot water in the BL 19 was quite limited. You could barely enjoy the shower. Fix the aircon in BL 10. Fix the sliding door in BL 13. Like I said, I had to move a lot in a short stay. 8. Have actual food and drinks menus in the rooms. It's ridiculous to expect guest to call reception and be read out what is in the menu. These are basic things for good hotels.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Response from MArthinus Duckitt, Marketing at Zebula Golf Estate & Spa
Responded 1 week ago
Let me apologize on behalf of the Zebula team for letting you down. On behalf of the reservation team, we are sorry to hear that your accommodation was not up to scratch and that the maintenance at your accommodation was not to your expectations
Read more
Sinazo T wrote a review Sep 2020
Greater Johannesburg, South Africa2 contributions
Beautiful place but management is pathetic. We’ve been waiting for our refund since March 2020 due to travel restrictions. Yes, we were told in writing we will be fully refunded. Thabo Matsepe, the Revenue manager has been giving us a run around since...attached email dated 31st Aug 2020 from Thabo and still nothing
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Traveled with friends
Response from MArthinus Duckitt, Marketing at Zebula Golf Estate & Spa
Responded Sep 15, 2020
I will follow up for you on why your refund was not issued as requested. The team was offline for a period during the height of the COVID-19 lockdown but Zebula Golf Estate and Spa has now opened its doors - thus allowing for a speedy resolution to your problem. Again accept our apologies for the inconvenience caused
Read more
lex195 wrote a review May 2020
Hilversum, The Netherlands239 contributions50 helpful votes
Enjoyed playing on the Peter Matkovich designed golf course. With a lot of kudus, wildebeest, impalas around and on the golf course some of the fairways were not in a perfect shape but on the other hand enjoyed the grazing wildlife while playing. Before sundown the greens are protected to avoid damage and were in an excellent condition. Caddiemaster and his team were very helpful in accommodating our tee times and mostly played our rounds in less than 4 hours. We stayed in a small and very comfortable villa (#4) with fridge, airco and wifi reception in good order. Only during the standard two hours electricity fall out the generator – that was close by our villa - was somewhat too noisy. Breakfast, lunch and dinner was good with professional service and overall, we very much enjoyed our stay.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Avoid houses 4 and 5 close to the generator
See more room tips
1 Save
Response from MArthinus D, Public Relations Manager at Zebula Golf Estate & Spa
Responded May 6, 2020
We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. I do agree to have the wild animals on the golf course while playing around are magical. Apologies for the generator noise, we are working hard at finding a solution for the constant power outages. Hope to welcome you back to Zebula in the future.
Read more
$160 - $236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
South AfricaLimpopo ProvinceWaterbergBela Bela
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Zebula Golf Estate & Spa
Which popular attractions are close to Zebula Golf Estate & Spa?
Nearby attractions include Adventures with Elephants (2.5 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Zebula Golf Estate & Spa?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Zebula Golf Estate & Spa?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Zebula Golf Estate & Spa?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Zebula Golf Estate & Spa?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness center during their stay.
Does Zebula Golf Estate & Spa have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Zebula Golf Estate & Spa offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does Zebula Golf Estate & Spa offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Is Zebula Golf Estate & Spa accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.