We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Elephant Springs Hotel & Cabanas

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Elephant Springs Hotel & Cabanas
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

119 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 116: English reviews
Start your review of Elephant Springs Hotel & Cabanas
 Click to rate
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed January 9, 2017

Elephant Springs Hotel & Cabanas ??? The staff is really on the ball,... but I could clearly experience that the managers and executive members,are out of touch with what is happening.AND are NOT interested. We booked ourselves ( 2 adults,2 kids ) in for a 6 day stay, but decided the day of arrival to change this in to three...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 259marcvogels
South_Of_Africa_HQ, Guest Relations Manager at Elephant Springs Hotel & Cabanas, responded to this review

We thank you for your feedback and kindly invite you to get in touch with us via e-mail to further investigate your feedback. Please send your letter to elephantsprings@southofafrica.com

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed January 8, 2017

This is by far the most horrible hotel one could ever stay in. The rooms smell horrible - cleaners use a dirty mop to clean the mat, when my husband and I asked why, they said the vacuum has been broken for a while now. The linens are dirty and were not changed when we asked why, we were told...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank srmabiletsa
South_Of_Africa_HQ, Guest Relations Manager at Elephant Springs Hotel & Cabanas, responded to this review

We take note of your feedback and have passed this on to senior management for investigation. We are sorry to hear that you did not have a pleasant experience.

Reviewed January 6, 2017 via mobile

The pictures on the website are deceiving. When we got there we checked into our room.The first thing you are welcomed with is a very damp smell on the hotel corridor then when you walk inside the room you get another horrible damp smell. It was my husbands birthday and i made the booking and i felt terrible , the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ndivho M
South_Of_Africa_HQ, Guest Relations Manager at Elephant Springs Hotel & Cabanas, responded to this review

We're sorry to hear about your experience. Your feedback has been passed on to management for further investigation.

Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed January 3, 2017

The photos do not reflect the true condition of this place at all. It's a filthy stinking mess of a hotel. No standards or pride. A rip-off. No travel site with any values should allow a hotel like this to advertise on their site.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank michaelF6185HC
South_Of_Africa_HQ, Guest Relations Manager at Elephant Springs Hotel & Cabanas, responded to this review

We're sorry to hear about your experience. We are very confident in our online representation and are sorry to hear that our hotel was not to your taste.

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed December 26, 2016

This place shows what the owner think of us as South Africans. When you enter the cabanas there is a stale smell due to bad air flow. Even though the place and a bit of refurbishing it is still a rat hole. I have taken a few photos to show what the place is really like. The fridge is all...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank azizakp786
South_Of_Africa_HQ, Guest Relations Manager at Elephant Springs Hotel & Cabanas, responded to this review

Dear Mr Khan We have addressed the above feedback with you via e-mail. As per our discussions, you have been refunded the one night's stay.

Reviewed December 22, 2016 via mobile

Our needs were taken care of staff very friendly and are just the best the place gardens well maintained close to all city attractions we will be back next year for a longer stay thank you for a great stay

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Powdercoat22
South_Of_Africa_HQ, Guest Relations Manager at Elephant Springs Hotel & Cabanas, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We're delighted to read that you had a good stay.

South Africa
Reviewed December 19, 2016

This hotel is absolutely disgusting. The (professional) pictures are completely inaccurate and do not depict the true state of this hotel. Old broken furniture, discolored walls and ceilings, mismatched tiles, dirty carpets. Just to name a few. The smell reflects the fact that they do not properly clean this hotel. Maintenance won't save this hotel. They will have to demolish...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank HarrisMike
South_Of_Africa_HQ, Guest Relations Manager at Elephant Springs Hotel & Cabanas, responded to this review

We take note of your feedback HarrisMike and are sorry to read that you did not enjoy your experience. We have had some exciting new changes at our hotel but understand if this is not to your taste. We wish you a pleasant festive season.

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed October 9, 2016 via mobile

Pros- reasonable location and close to all amenities, really helpful and friendly staff. Cons- dirty, messy, no basic maintenance, really poor value for money. Rooms in desperate need of a make over.. Carpets and couches dirty and torn and the place smelt.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank zkykasdjae3582
South_Of_Africa_HQ, Guest Relations Manager at Elephant Springs Hotel & Cabanas, responded to this review

We're sorry to hear about your experience. We take note of your feedback.

Reviewed September 19, 2016 via mobile

Should have listened to our inner selves and not booked - it was a cheap weekend - should have know the place was going to be terrible - air con in room not working - hand painted bath that flaked paint when bathing - NO Shower - ceiling fan only worked when light was on so we asked them to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank leighann2405
South_Of_Africa_HQ, Guest Relations Manager at Elephant Springs Hotel & Cabanas, responded to this review

We thank you for your review. We're sorry that our maintenance team did not correctly attend to the light issue. Only select bedrooms of our hotel offer showers and we recommend guests to advise us upfront should they prefer a room with a shower. We will be sure to advise our management team of the points raised in your review.

Rustenburg, South Africa
Reviewed September 18, 2016

The hotel isn't anything like on the website. I was so disappointed when we arrived, I even tried to convince my partner that we should leave right then. The place is old, dirty and doesn't deserve the price we paid for it. I would never recommend it to anybody, the only nice thing about it is the friendly staff. Please...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mekgwemich
South_Of_Africa_HQ, Guest Relations Manager at Elephant Springs Hotel & Cabanas, responded to this review

We appreciate your feedback. We're sorry that you felt our website does not correctly represent our hotel, since we have ensured that the pictures displayed shows all different roomtypes, public areas and more. We will be sure to discuss this with our marketing department.

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

75 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (53)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (35)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bela Bela
10.7 mi away
Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa
Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa
#1 of 3 in Modimolle (Nylstroom)
297 reviews
24.5 mi away
Ditholo Game Lodge
Ditholo Game Lodge
#10 of 49 in Bela Bela
57 reviews
7.2 mi away
Linga-Longa
Linga-Longa
#19 of 49 in Bela Bela
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Buyskop Lodge
Buyskop Lodge
#5 of 49 in Bela Bela
92 reviews
14.5 mi away
Abba Game Lodge
Abba Game Lodge
#4 of 23 in Modimolle (Nylstroom)
28 reviews
0.0 mi away
Thaba Pitsi Private Nature Reserve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms

Additional Information about Elephant Springs Hotel & Cabanas

Address: 31 Sutter Road | PO Box 94, Bela Bela 0480, South Africa (Formerly Avuxeni Hotel Elephant Springs)
Location: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Bela Bela
Price Range: $42 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Elephant Springs Hotel & Cabanas 2*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Elephant Springs Hotel & Cabanas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Elephant Springs Hotel & Cabanas staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Don't bother, just a crap hotel”
 of 5 bubbles srmabiletsa, Jan 8, 2017 | Read review
“Do not go there at all.”
 of 5 bubbles michaelF6185HC, Jan 3, 2017 | Read review
“Do not recommend this place at all.”
 of 5 bubbles LataniFi, Aug 19, 2016 | Read review
“ground floor rooms”
 of 5 bubbles , Aug 10, 2016 | Read review
“Room by the swimming pool”
 of 5 bubbles thabos2015, May 20, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question