We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Elephant Springs Hotel & Cabanas

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Elephant Springs Hotel & Cabanas
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]}}
Add Photo Write a Review

115 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 112: English reviews
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed October 9, 2016 via mobile

Pros- reasonable location and close to all amenities, really helpful and friendly staff. Cons- dirty, messy, no basic maintenance, really poor value for money. Rooms in desperate need of a make over.. Carpets and couches dirty and torn and the place smelt.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank zkykasdjae3582
South_Of_Africa_HQ, Guest Relations Manager at Elephant Springs Hotel & Cabanas, responded to this review

We're sorry to hear about your experience. We take note of your feedback.

Reviewed September 20, 2016 via mobile

I can't stop complementing this place as it always meets my standard....I was there with my friends for lunch n we had a great one n enjoyed it to the fullest.i must say that the place is excellent with the service and the staff is still as awesome as ever.thank u all n see u soon and will also recommend...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank phelad
South_Of_Africa_HQ, Guest Relations Manager at Elephant Springs Hotel & Cabanas, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your lunch with friends at Elephant Springs. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Reviewed September 19, 2016 via mobile

Should have listened to our inner selves and not booked - it was a cheap weekend - should have know the place was going to be terrible - air con in room not working - hand painted bath that flaked paint when bathing - NO Shower - ceiling fan only worked when light was on so we asked them to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank leighann2405
South_Of_Africa_HQ, Guest Relations Manager at Elephant Springs Hotel & Cabanas, responded to this review

We thank you for your review. We're sorry that our maintenance team did not correctly attend to the light issue. Only select bedrooms of our hotel offer showers and we recommend guests to advise us upfront should they prefer a room with a shower. We will be sure to advise our management team of the points raised in your review.

Rustenburg, South Africa
Reviewed September 18, 2016

The hotel isn't anything like on the website. I was so disappointed when we arrived, I even tried to convince my partner that we should leave right then. The place is old, dirty and doesn't deserve the price we paid for it. I would never recommend it to anybody, the only nice thing about it is the friendly staff. Please...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mekgwemich
South_Of_Africa_HQ, Guest Relations Manager at Elephant Springs Hotel & Cabanas, responded to this review

We appreciate your feedback. We're sorry that you felt our website does not correctly represent our hotel, since we have ensured that the pictures displayed shows all different roomtypes, public areas and more. We will be sure to discuss this with our marketing department.

Reviewed September 2, 2016 via mobile

Introduced to it by default all areas were fully booked but walking in there I got the best reception ever. my conferencing was arranged in exellence in a very short period of time . The area is very clean there is instant help in all .Good food well presented and tasty A formidable team of professionals who are willing to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mpho S
South_Of_Africa_HQ, Guest Relations Manager at Elephant Springs Hotel & Cabanas, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of your recent stay at Elephant Springs.

Reviewed September 1, 2016 via mobile

The place is horrible. The kitchen is falling apart stove not working ironing facilities not provided smells urine especially the bedroom and shower. Reception not helpful and unfriendly. The sofa is sinking and torn. Only one shower in a six sleeper. Terrible terrible experience Will not recommend to anyone

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pilannesburg
South_Of_Africa_HQ, Guest Relations Manager at Elephant Springs Hotel & Cabanas, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear about your experience at our establishment. Please note that our six-sleeper units have 2 bathrooms, one which has a shower, the other which has a bath. This is advertised as such on our website and marketing material. We take note of our feedback regarding the housekeeping and this will be addressed immediately.

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed August 31, 2016

The furniture is old old old. They have a box tv! One dstv channel! The service is bad! too many stairs in the self catering chalet, not safe for kids! Our fridge was not working, which was also very old. We couldn't wait to leave. This place is just a no no.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank beeiona
South_Of_Africa_HQ, Guest Relations Manager at Elephant Springs Hotel & Cabanas, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. As advertised on our website, we have select DSTV channels. We are sorry that you did not approve of the type of televisions that we have. We also inform guests of the steep stairs we have in our self-catering units. Our apologies that the fridge in your unit was not working. Had this been reported...

Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Reviewed August 19, 2016

Mo, Dee and I checked into a family room but it was beyond bad, the tv is those old ones with a box at the back. The TV made background noise you couldn't even watch it, the picture was also not clear it was dark. The room was not clean and was facing building roof tops like Pep, we asked...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank LataniFi
South_Of_Africa_HQ, Guest Relations Manager at Elephant Springs Hotel & Cabanas, responded to this review

We thank you for sharing your experience with us on Trip Advisor. Your feedback will be investigated and attended to. We apologize that you did not enjoy your stay with us and that the rooms did not meet your expectations.

Reviewed August 10, 2016

From the moment we made bookings, to the moment we arrived we felt so welcomed. Mpho, Lerato, Mina, John were helpful, friendly, willing to go extra miles in order to make sure our stay was wonderful. in fact the whole staff struck the perfect balance between personal and great hosts. Must say management at Elephant Springs should be proud of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shibu B
South_Of_Africa_HQ, Guest Relations Manager at Elephant Springs Hotel & Cabanas, responded to this review

It's always a thrill to read when our guests enjoy the events we host at Elephant Springs. We appreciate the time you took to review your stay and can't wait to have you visit us again when we host our next event in November.

Reviewed July 27, 2016 via mobile

We booked in the cabanas and one of the family rooms with my family and my in-laws at Elephant springs. Reception welcomed us warmly and showed us the rooms and the best part was that Lerato the front office manager took us to our rooms and cabanas. We had such an awesome stay and all my family enjoyed every little...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank phelad
South_Of_Africa_HQ, Guest Relations Manager at Elephant Springs Hotel & Cabanas, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience with us on Trip Advisor Phelad, we're happy to hear that you had a memorable stay.

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

73 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (51)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (35)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bela Bela
10.7 mi away
Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa
Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa
#1 of 3 in Modimolle (Nylstroom)
290 reviews
24.5 mi away
Ditholo Game Lodge
Ditholo Game Lodge
#7 of 45 in Bela Bela
53 reviews
2.6 mi away
Buyskop Lodge
Buyskop Lodge
#5 of 45 in Bela Bela
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Linga-Longa
Linga-Longa
#17 of 45 in Bela Bela
3 reviews
0.0 mi away
Summerset Place Country House
22.7 mi away
Zebula Golf Estate & Spa
Zebula Golf Estate & Spa
#6 of 45 in Bela Bela
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms

Additional Information about Elephant Springs Hotel & Cabanas

Address: 31 Sutter Road | PO Box 94, Bela Bela 0480, South Africa (Formerly Avuxeni Hotel Elephant Springs)
Location: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Bela Bela
Price Range: $87 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Elephant Springs Hotel & Cabanas 2*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Elephant Springs Hotel & Cabanas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Elephant Springs Hotel & Cabanas staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Do not recommend this place at all.”
 of 5 bubbles LataniFi, Aug 19, 2016 | Read review
“ground floor rooms”
 of 5 bubbles , Aug 10, 2016 | Read review
“Room by the swimming pool”
 of 5 bubbles thabos2015, May 20, 2016 | Read review
“best view and accessible, swimming pool on a perfect spot”
 of 5 bubbles 900mildredr, Apr 29, 2016 | Read review
“The hotel rooms on ground floor boost more comfort.”
 of 5 bubbles devrajg2016, Mar 16, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay