We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

A'Montego Mermaid Beach Motel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
A\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

67 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 65: English reviews
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

WE stayed here for convenience to be close to family. The motel needs an upgrade. The room was big enough but could do with a good clean of the carpets and a be spruced up generally. It is classed as a budget motel but I feel it was expensive for the price we paid.

Helpful?
Thank 100JoM
manager1GoldCoast, Manager at A'Montego Mermaid Beach Motel, responded to this review

Depending on stay night whether it is a weekend night or during major events our tariff rates are in line with other budget properties. This motel is one block from the beautiful Mermaid Beach and is located close to restaurants and public transport so our tariffs charged based on location are justified. While the motel is old style rooms are... More 

Gold Coast, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2016 via mobile

I have travelled the world and have never come across such rude staffing, ESPECIALLY THE MANAGER THERE! Sheryl I think her name was! She clearly needs a new job. Upon arrival she pretty much screamed at my partner for slipping one swear word out whilst on the phone quietly!! Told him he needs to ZIP his lips shut while staying... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank ashjane111
manager1GoldCoast, Manager at A'Montego Mermaid Beach Motel, responded to this review

Firstly this motel is a friendly family environment and we do not tolerate any foul language either in the office or in any part of this motel. Our motel does not take likely the behavior that is unacceptable to our other guests or staff. We have a noise policy that ensures all our guests have a comfortable stay including being... More 

Travelers are raving about these Mermaid Beach hotels

Moncton, Canada
Level Contributor
738 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 700 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2016

We met up with some friends who were staying at this motel a few weeks back. We headed out to some other parties around the area and all came back quite late and intoxicated. Since we didn’t want to make our way back to our hotel in this state, we were able to get a room with the friendly enough... More 

Helpful?
Thank JGDynamo
manager1GoldCoast, Manager at A'Montego Mermaid Beach Motel, responded to this review

thank you for your review, we appreciate that you were nice and quiet on your arrival and entering your room. This is helpful for the comfort of other guests sleeping in the late wee hours of night and early morning. More 

Yamba, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2016

The aircon/heater didn't work. Nothing was done. The WIFI didn't work. Same. Ramshackle room. Unable to close window in bathroom - design fault. Unbelievably noisy through night. No footlights in grounds. Extremely overpriced. Never again.

Helpful?
1 Thank Marion M
manager1GoldCoast, Manager at A'Montego Mermaid Beach Motel, responded to this review

The motel is budget so it is older style and rooms are not new but still offer the basic need for all guest clean and comfortable. Some rooms are old style window with shutter style glass panels and do not close. The motel is located on the main gold coast highway so traffic noise is expected, We do ask all... More 

Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2016 via mobile

Short walk to shops, and pool was clean and the staff were friendly. Other than that it was not a great experience. We had broken beds, drainage was poor, shower head sprayed everywhere and cupboards were falling apart. All in all it really needs a renovation, price was fair but would not stay here again.

Helpful?
1 Thank 850staceyc
manager1GoldCoast, Manager at A'Montego Mermaid Beach Motel, responded to this review

The building itself is on the old side but still offers a clean bed plenty of space for luggage. It was unfortunate recently with the storms we had some water problems. Internally the rooms are basic and while cosmetically they do not look perfect they perform quite adequately. There can be some issues that we are not aware of maintenance... More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2016 via mobile

Is exactly what this is. Well priced for what it was. Basic room and facilities. Well located, close to restaurants and beach. Very loud in the morning being right on the gold coast highway, but you have to take the bad with the good. Lovely Asian bakery 5 minutes walk down the road for breakfast. Only problem we had was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jacinta F
manager1GoldCoast, Manager at A'Montego Mermaid Beach Motel, responded to this review

WE thank you Jacinta for your review. I am pleased the basic facilities met your needs. So many food choices nearby some no car required. Unfortunate about the hot water but was sorted once we realized the problem. We hope that we see you or your family again some time. More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2016 via mobile

Will never stay at this place again. On checking into the hotel they asked for a $50 deposit that would be refunded to me. I was told if I was checking out early to leave the room keys in a mailbox. When I finally entered the room it wasn't overly clean and it had marks all over the wall. I... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Shilo W
manager1GoldCoast, Manager at A'Montego Mermaid Beach Motel, responded to this review

Firstly All it clearly states that we will take a deposit against damage and smoking in the room. As long as all our hotel policies are adhered to any deposits paid will be refunded without issue. As for an argument at 4am our cleaners do not start until 9am and it could easily have been other guest so we should... More 

Gordon, Australia
Level Contributor
96 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2016 via mobile

This motel has both good points and bad. In the good points we have 1) Clean rooms 2) Large bed 3) Working equipment - aircon, fans etc. 4) Helpful staff In the bad points we have 1) Worn out carpets 2) Poor door locks 3) Worn out tables 4) Worn out tiles, etc. 5) Smoking near rooms 6) Loud noises... More 

Helpful?
Thank cannotenteraname
manager1GoldCoast, Manager at A'Montego Mermaid Beach Motel, responded to this review

All our rooms actually have both a dead lock and chain for safety. Rooms with glass doors have locked from both out and inside. the furniture while not new and modern does service the purpose of providing what you need for your stay on a real budget. This motel is not for the guest looking for the modern guest house.... More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2016

Great place if you are on a budget. Its location is very convenience and your not far from anything. We had a late check in (11.30pm). The receptionist was more then happy to help us when we arrived. There is even a cafee on the corner to have breakfast in the morning :)

Helpful?
1 Thank Supergirl925
manager1GoldCoast, Manager at A'Montego Mermaid Beach Motel, responded to this review

All our guests agree ideally located for the beach and public transport for those on a strict budget. We will definately try to assist with late check outs. More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2016 via mobile

If you looking for a cheap hotel this is the place. Don't except anything fancy. Friendly lady at check in. Good aircon! Comfortable bed. Hotel rundown, bathroom very rundown with paint chipping and very old fashioned. But clean. As I said, if you want a place that is cheap then this is the place. I wouldn't recommend staying with kids... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Youonlyliveonce1
manager1GoldCoast, Manager at A'Montego Mermaid Beach Motel, responded to this review

Our motel is for the budget conscious traveler no frills, the motel is old style with big spacious rooms. Although rooms are still old style they are clean with nice fresh bed linen and bathroom towels. Basic complimentary items for convenience for the overnight traveler. Nearby stores for your basic food needs and local food outlets to suit all taste. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

46 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (40)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mermaid Beach
0.6 mi away
Quality Hotel Mermaid Waters
Quality Hotel Mermaid Waters
#1 of 1 in Mermaid Waters
4.0 of 5 stars 129 reviews
1.2 mi away
Meriton Serviced Apartments - Broadbeach
5.2 mi away
Meriton Serviced Apartments Aqua Street, Southport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Surfers Paradise
Hotel Grand Chancellor Surfers P...
#11 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
3.5 of 5 stars 1,543 reviews
0.8 mi away
Tropicana Motel Mermaid Beach
Tropicana Motel Mermaid Beach
#2 of 11 in Mermaid Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 82 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ocean Blue Motel
Ocean Blue Motel
#8 of 11 in Mermaid Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A'Montego Mermaid Beach Motel is a family owned motel in the heart of the Gold Coast region situated approx half an hour from the Gold Coast Domestic/International Airport and within a short 5 min drive to Surfers Paradise. Approx 50 metres from the Mermaid Beach with many great restaurants within walking distance and public transport is easy to catch with bus stops only metres from the entrance. Theme parks are within easy access via public transport or we can arrange shuttle pick up. Local supermarkets nearby for your shopping needs. ... more   less 

Additional Information about A'Montego Mermaid Beach Motel

Address: 2395 Gold Coast Hwy, Mermaid Beach, Gold Coast, Queensland 4218, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Mermaid Beach
Price Range: $54 - $99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — A'Montego Mermaid Beach Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your A'Montego Mermaid Beach Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
A'Montego Mermaid Beach Motel Gold Coast, Australia
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay