We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Vasstrandvegen 580, Kvaloya 9108 Norway
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveler (203)
Room & Suite (44)
Dining (5)

About

#1 of 2 Specialty lodging in Kvaloya
Location
4.9
Cleanliness
4.9
Service
4.7
Value
4.5

Lauklines Kystferie is a holiday resort offering high standard fisherman's cabins, situated 35 mins ride southwest of Tromso City, in Kattfjord on the Island of Kvaloya.

Our 6 Cabins are fully equipped for up to 6 persons each, surrounded by beautiful scenery, built directly on the shore line. Enjoy silence, calmness and be active in the pure Arctic nature.

Deep sea fishing on your own with rental boats or join a local skipper.

Midnight sun trips, hiking, whale safaris, skiing, dog sledding, snowshoeing, photo safari, bird watching, kayaking in clear water or just enjoy being in nature and let yourself be enhanced.

Ideal spot to see the northern lights! Stay relaxed in the warm cozy cabin until the Aurora Borealis (northern lights) appears just in front of your cabindoor, mirroring her flickering beauty on the water.

Conference facilities for up to 25-30 persons. Meals can be pre booked from a local partner.

Fishing gear, snowshoes, bikes, kick-sleds, clothing etc for rent or sale in reception.

Take part in genuine northern Norwegian nature, culture and taste experiences.

Explore the Arctic!

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Airport transportation
Conference facilities
Non-smoking hotel
Self-serve laundry
Room features
Kitchenette
Dishwasher
Microwave
Refrigerator
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms

Location

Full view
Contact
Vasstrandvegen 580, Kvaloya 9108 Norway
Name/address in local language
Getting there
Tromso-Langnes Airport16 miSee all flights
Bardufoss Airport40 miSee all flights
See all nearby hotels
115Reviews6Q+A18Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 104
  • 6
  • 0
  • 1
  • 4
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
AfromL wrote a review Mar 2020
London, United Kingdom141 contributions112 helpful votes
We spent 5 nights in Northern Norway and this was the best seaside cabin by far. Stylishly furnished, functional, spacious, very friendly and professional people, even the Northern Lights worked out for us at this place (hardly any light pollution). Well done Andreas et al! Will definitely come back some day and stay longer.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
MAO1163 wrote a review Feb 2020
The Hague, The Netherlands109 contributions75 helpful votes
Stayed here for 6 nights in February. Great place to stay. Location is beautiful overlooking the water. Very good for northern light. Cabin is fully equiped and very well heated. Stayed at this place in 2013 and it is still fantastic. Very friendly staff. It is a drive from Tromso so advise to rent a car; driving is easy enough in winter. Will definitely be back soon!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Lauklines-Troms, Owner at Lauklines
Responded Feb 19, 2020
Hi! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay here and that Lady Aurora made a show for you! Heartley welcome back another time! Kind regards, Hanna Nilsen
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
salahaskar wrote a review Jan 2020
Al Khobar, Saudi Arabia25 contributions46 helpful votes
Fully furnitured cottage with marvelous veiw to the lake nice and friendly staff the place is quite and clean i highly recommend it but for your information its almost 45 minutes from the city center I will visit it again for sure
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Lauklines-Troms, Owner at Lauklines
Responded Jan 22, 2020
Hi! Thanks for your review Salah! We are glad to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay here :-)You are heartly welcome back another time! Best regards, Hanna and Andreas Nilsen
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ooshs wrote a review Jan 2020
Singapore, Singapore150 contributions16 helpful votes
Stayed here for 2 nights. We wanted to stay at a place that is dark enough for Aurora sightings yet close enough to TROMSO and this is the place, about 30mins drive to TROMSO. This would be the perfect spot for Aurora sightings. Why? - no street light (at least blocked by the cabin in which we stayed in) We had a wonderful stay here and really appreciated the prompt response and assistance provided by owner. The owner is extremely fast in their response even when you seek their help during non-office hour. The cabin is wonderful and kitchen utensils are fully equipped for our needs. Fully functional cabin I must really say and one of the best we had in this whole 2.5 weeks travel in Norway. Cabin is very clean and well taken care of by the owner. This place is great for Aurora sightings as it was total darkness in the front porch. My hubby was absolutely delighted with my choice of lodging 😀 The instructions provided in the handbook is very detailed (really love the check-list in the drawers) and informational (love the “dear guest letter”) which is greatly appreciated by guest who check in outside office hours. They have an in house washer plus dryer for guest to use which is FOC. If there is anything that could be improved. Maybe two things coming from an overseas tourist with different culture and lifestyle. 1) information about your water heater (how how many litrs and the time needed for each re-heat. We were happily using all the hot water and in the end my hubby had to bathe in icy cold water 🤣 2) instruction manual on how to use your dish washer I will definitely stay at this place again if I ever come back to this part of the world
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Lauklines-Troms, Owner at Lauklines
Responded Jan 22, 2020
Dear Ooshs! Thank you so much for your review! We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay here. The darkness outside the cabins is really good if you are looking for the Northern Lights. We really appreciate the time you take writing such a detailed review and we will keep in mind your suggestions for improvement! (We have already added a sentence about the water heater in the "Dear guest letter") Wish you all the best, and heartly welcome back another time! Regards, Hanna and Andreas Nilsen
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
shirelad wrote a review Jan 2020
Worcestershire14 contributions44 helpful votes
Stayed over New Year - four adults and three children. Really was a wonderful stay. Cabins warm, cosy yet spacious and a welcome retreat against the arctic blast. Extremely comfortable beds. Very peaceful at night with only the noise of the elements for company. The lights came out just before New Year which was just brilliant and couldn't have been better timed. 40 minutes from Tromso and the nearest restaurants and bars. Good accessibility by road. Went sledging a few hundred metres from our cabin which the kids enjoyed enormously. Tim was beyond generous when helping us as amateurs with shore fishing. Very instructive and patient - learnt so much over 90 minutes or so. Fabulous sanctuary away from it all - really quite faultless.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Lauklines-Troms, Owner at Lauklines
Responded Jan 5, 2020
Thanks for you nice review! It was very nice having you all here! Im so happy that you could see the Northern Lights, even if the weather was a little bit windy and snowy some of the days. Shore fishing can be a bit tricky so it is nice having a professional fishing guide around all year long! Wish you all the best for 2020 and hearty welcome back another time:-) /Hanna
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ARV wrote a review Dec 2019
6 contributions8 helpful votes
Lauklines is the most shameful and fraudulent company in all of Norway, I do not recommend that you go fishing especially, you will be cheated. OČEŅ PLOXO,Vas obmanut na deņģi na každom šagu!!! Ribalka daže ne dumaite,nio za ogromnie deņģi konečno budet Vam Vsjo.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019
Location
Service
Room Tip: WiFi work 2 minuts in 1 auer
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Lauklines-Troms, Owner at Lauklines
Responded Dec 16, 2019
Hello again Mr. Arv(arrtfghl) and your wife(Gunta R). You already made two rewievs the 5th and the 8th of August and we forward our answers from that time. We have no more further comments to you. We see that both of you have made a review here on Tripadvisor after your stay. Thanks to both of you for taking your time giving us feedback. We appreciate this and I have involved all in the staff here regarding your review. We have sorted out following comments for you: 1)You requested by arrival if we had an additional chest freezer available to freeze fish. Our guide where then telling you that our 400l freezer are more than enough for 1 cabin. It was also only you and your wife staying here, so totally 2 persons. We are a registered fishing camp and you are allowed to bring maximum 20 kg fish pr. person. By a control of your freezer, right after your check-in, our guide realised that you had brought with you several boxes with almost 70 kg fish filet from another camp you had stayed in the week before. He confronted you regarding this since you were only 2 persons and you replied that he had not any right to check your freezer. You were then one more time informed about limit and also informed that you were not allowed to bring more fish on land during your stay here. I understand from guide that your disappointment is related to this. It is important for us to follow Norwegian laws, so that's why we are strict on this with our guests. 2)You were informed in our booking conditions regarding our procedures with card reservation for boat(15.000 NOK) and card reservation for cabin(1.500 NOK). But I have checked with Hanna in the office here and it looks like you don't have got our e-mail with boat rental contract in advance. It seems like you have paid the final amount (75%) before she managed to issue and send the final invoice, so then the order was directly registered as paid and the attachment with boat rental contract and invoice was not sent. We apologize for that. Anyway, we offer the same insurance to all guests who want to reduce the deductible to max 15.000 NOK by boat rental. Information about this is written on our homepage where you found the information about boats and also in the price list. You were also informed about the official rules regarding how much fish (20 kg) our guests are allowed to bring per person after a stay here. 3)Both boat and cabin were ok when you checked out, so both card reservations were cancelled in time on your departure day. I know that some card issuer keeps the reservation for a longer period, so you can contact your card issuer to ask why it took several days. Normal procedure from the card issuers are 3-5 working days. 4) Due to challenges with sea gulls, otters etc in the harbour, we require that guests bring the fish guts with them on next trip, further out at sea. This is in the area towards open sea and not inside the fjord area. 5) You had used totally 159 l petrol which I see of your order. Our guides regularly check the boats regarding fuelling. Each boat has a big 220 l tank for safety reason. This is full by delivery and is filled up again by return. Guides bring boxes of 20 l fuel in each and can measure up exactly. If they have extra fuel boxes left when filling up for a boat, they normally drop by a boat and fill up some litres even if you haven't requested. This is the reason why you had extra 40 litres in between. We use a tracking system and offer tracking report from our tracking system which can show you exactly track of your use and consumption pr. nautical mile if you need. This is an important safety tool for us both regarding eventual accidents and regarding discussion if some damages, requests about fuel consumption etc happens. Contact us by e-mail and you will get this. 6)Echosounders are all Lowrance Hook 9 - 2017 models and is all working. But you need to be an experienced user to take advantage of all adjustments. Our guides gives an introduction by delivery and you as all guests were hearty welcome to drop by our reception which is open every morning 08.00-11.00 and 20.00 - 21.00, to get assistance from them or give us a call when you are out at sea etc. 7 ) The nearest shop / supermarket is Eide handel and it is located 20 km from the camp. This is the store we often recommend to guests. By contacting reception, we arrange shopping trips with taxi here and we also have a rental car available for such shopping trips. 8 ) The guide and the boat. Upon arrival and check in, we agree on a time to meet up in the reception for boat delivery together with the guide. He showed you the boat rental contract, details, safety and gave you instructions about what to think about before you go fishing. The guide also showed you the boat and gave a detailed instruction. All together it that takes about 45-60 min and covers the basics for boat, fishing, rules, laws and most importantly the safety. Since you have 19 years of experience regarding sea fishing in Norway, you probably have been to a few different camps. Perhaps some do this part a different and shorter way than we do and perhaps some even join you in the rental boat for a couple of days fishing as well, if we understood you correct? When it comes to guiding from boat: In Norway the guide / skipper needs to have a certificate with D5L class as a minimum, and the boat needs to be approved and equipped according to 1400 regulation. This was a new law from 1.1.2011 from Norwegian Maritime Authority. In other words, it is not allowed to go out with guests in the rental boats. This is the reason why we have the charter boat as an option for those who wish to have a skipper and guide with them out at sea. 9 )We strive to meet the expectations from all of our guests and really wish that everybody feel "at home" during their stay here at Lauklines. So if there are any problems during the stay, guests are welcome to tell us about it. That´s why we have a staffed reception every day. In this case we never heard anything from you during the stay and fully understand your disappointment if your mission was to bring as much fish filet as possible back home. We are obligated to follow Norwegian laws, and this is important for us to offer sustainable tourism. Greetings from Andreas Nilsen Lauklines Kystferie AS
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Zambillera wrote a review Oct 2019
2 contributions
We came here for a short holiday. It was all perfect. Everything was efficiently organized, thoughtful, and with attention to detail. The owners anticipate your needs! The cabins are very nice, cozy, and clean, with comfortable beds and a well-equipped kitchen. The surroundings are scenic. We explored this beautiful part of Norway with a rented car and also went to Tromsø, which is nearby, for a day.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: All cabins are equally well located
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Lauklines-Troms, Owner at Lauklines
Responded Oct 9, 2019
Hi Zambillera! Thanks so much for your review! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay here with both hospitality and cottages. And yes, we agree - the surroundings are scenic, whether you live here all year round or are on a short holiday. We sincerely welcome you back another time :) Kind regards, Hanna Nilsen
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Halina wrote a review Sep 2019
Bremen, Germany3 contributions
Incredibly beautiful location, very nice and cosy cabins, friendly and very helpful hosts and of course great fishing! There was nothing to criticise. We had an amazing holiday and would like to come again.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Lauklines-Troms, Owner at Lauklines
Responded Oct 1, 2019
Hi Halina and thanks for you nice review! We are very happy that you and your family had a great time here and you are of course welcome back an other time :-) Best regards, Hanna and Andreas Nilsen Lauklines Kystferie
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Gunta R wrote a review Aug 2019
2 contributions3 helpful votes
Bad, BAD, SHLEHT - Good afternoon I'm with my husband I ran into one of the very dishonest entrepreneurs, Lauklines Kister, first of all paid 3000 € for a boat and a house, and when we arrived, we still had to pay a deposit of 1800 €, with which we were not warned, and also insurance, from which I refused. The deposit was returned to us by the bank after 19 days, although the boat was handed over 16 days ago, in any case, this place is not for fishermen, the guide is only for the Motor boat, and it pays abnormal money, no one will tell you anything with small boats, the car at the house should be at 200 m, the cleaned fish should be kept at 7.5 km at sea, is it 100 km in a week? To the store 50 km only with tahsi. Every day, the fish without your presence will be outweighed, written in kg and grams. Gasoline is poured into the boat without your presence, they poured 100 l to me, then 40 and at the end it was 350 €. But did they really pour them 40. Never, never, never will I go to cystophers of Laukin, I will soon insert a video on YouTube, where everything will be documented. In any case, not rest, but real stress in everything. The echo sounder does not work in the boat, the sonar is distorted, completely slow and old, in any case, a complete old slogan. We lived in stress and cursed this place. Neighbors were also unhappy with fishing house neighbors. IF NOT FISH, then all file. Sincerely Gunta (fishing experience in Norway 19 years)
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Lauklines-Troms, Manager at Lauklines
Responded Aug 13, 2019
Hello again Mr. Arv(arrtfghl) and your wife(Gunta R). We see that both of you have made a review here on Tripadvisor after your stay. Thanks to both of you for taking your time giving us feedback. We appreciate this and I have involved all in the staff here regarding your review. We have sorted out following comments for you: 1)You requested by arrival if we had an additional chest freezer available to freeze fish. Our guide where then telling you that our 400l freezer are more than enough for 1 cabin. It was also only you and your wife staying here, so totally 2 persons. We are a registered fishing camp and you are allowed to bring maximum 20 kg fish pr. person. By a control of your freezer, right after your check-in, our guide realised that you had brought with you several boxes with almost 70 kg fish filet from another camp you had stayed in the week before. He confronted you regarding this since you were only 2 persons and you replied that he had not any right to check your freezer. You were then one more time informed about limit and also informed that you were not allowed to bring more fish on land during your stay here. I understand from guide that your disappointment is related to this. It is important for us to follow Norwegian laws, so that's why we are strict on this with our guests. 2)You were informed in our booking conditions regarding our procedures with card reservation for boat(15.000 NOK) and card reservation for cabin(1.500 NOK). But I have checked with Hanna in the office here and it looks like you don't have got our e-mail with boat rental contract in advance. It seems like you have paid the final amount (75%) before she managed to issue and send the final invoice, so then the order was directly registered as paid and the attachment with boat rental contract and invoice was not sent. We apologize for that. Anyway, we offer the same insurance to all guests who want to reduce the deductible to max 15.000 NOK by boat rental. Information about this is written on our homepage where you found the information about boats and also in the price list. You were also informed about the official rules regarding how much fish (20 kg) our guests are allowed to bring per person after a stay here. 3)Both boat and cabin were ok when you checked out, so both card reservations were cancelled in time on your departure day. I know that some card issuer keeps the reservation for a longer period, so you can contact your card issuer to ask why it took several days. Normal procedure from the card issuers are 3-5 working days. 4) Due to challenges with sea gulls, otters etc in the harbour, we require that guests bring the fish guts with them on next trip, further out at sea. This is in the area towards open sea and not inside the fjord area. 5) You had used totally 159 l petrol which I see of your order. Our guides regularly check the boats regarding fuelling. Each boat has a big 220 l tank for safety reason. This is full by delivery and is filled up again by return. Guides bring boxes of 20 l fuel in each and can measure up exactly. If they have extra fuel boxes left when filling up for a boat, they normally drop by a boat and fill up some litres even if you haven't requested. This is the reason why you had extra 40 litres in between. We use a tracking system and offer tracking report from our tracking system which can show you exactly track of your use and consumption pr. nautical mile if you need. This is an important safety tool for us both regarding eventual accidents and regarding discussion if some damages, requests about fuel consumption etc happens. Contact us by e-mail and you will get this. 6)Echosounders are all Lowrance Hook 9 - 2017 models and is all working. But you need to be an experienced user to take advantage of all adjustments. Our guides gives an introduction by delivery and you as all guests were hearty welcome to drop by our reception which is open every morning 08.00-11.00 and 20.00 - 21.00, to get assistance from them or give us a call when you are out at sea etc. 7 ) The nearest shop / supermarket is Eide handel and it is located 20 km from the camp. This is the store we often recommend to guests. By contacting reception, we arrange shopping trips with taxi here and we also have a rental car available for such shopping trips. 8 ) The guide and the boat. Upon arrival and check in, we agree on a time to meet up in the reception for boat delivery together with the guide. He showed you the boat rental contract, details, safety and gave you instructions about what to think about before you go fishing. The guide also showed you the boat and gave a detailed instruction. All together it that takes about 45-60 min and covers the basics for boat, fishing, rules, laws and most importantly the safety. Since you have 19 years of experience regarding sea fishing in Norway, you probably have been to a few different camps. Perhaps some do this part a different and shorter way than we do and perhaps some even join you in the rental boat for a couple of days fishing as well, if we understood you correct? When it comes to guiding from boat: In Norway the guide / skipper needs to have a certificate with D5L class as a minimum, and the boat needs to be approved and equipped according to 1400 regulation. This was a new law from 1.1.2011 from Norwegian Maritime Authority. In other words, it is not allowed to go out with guests in the rental boats. This is the reason why we have the charter boat as an option for those who wish to have a skipper and guide with them out at sea. 9 )We strive to meet the expectations from all of our guests and really wish that everybody feel "at home" during their stay here at Lauklines. So if there are any problems during the stay, guests are welcome to tell us about it. That´s why we have a staffed reception every day. In this case we never heard anything from you during the stay and fully understand your disappointment if your mission was to bring as much fish filet as possible back home. We are obligated to follow Norwegian laws, and this is important for us to offer sustainable tourism. Greetings from Andreas Nilsen Lauklines Kystferie AS
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
IainRossMcDonald wrote a review Aug 2019
Johnstone4 contributions1 helpful vote
A high standard fishing / outdoor "camp" a short distance from Tromso. Friendly efficient people. Really, nothing to criticise - a little more costly than some, but value for money. A scenic part of the country.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Lauklines-Troms, Owner at Lauklines
Responded Aug 13, 2019
Hi Ian and thanks for you review! We are glad hearing that you enjoyed your stay here and got to explore the magic scenic part that Northern Norway is. Wish you all the best and heartly welcome back! Greetings from Hanna
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
ALSO KNOWN AS
lauklines kystferie hotel troms
LOCATION
NorwayNorthern NorwayTromsKvaloya
NUMBER OF ROOMS
6
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Lauklines
Which popular attractions are close to Lauklines?
Nearby attractions include Lauklines Kystferie (0.00 miles) and Rind (1.6 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Lauklines?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and airport transportation.
Which room amenities are available at Lauklines?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a refrigerator, and a dishwasher.
Is parking available at Lauklines?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
Does Lauklines have airport transportation?
Yes, Lauklines offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does Lauklines have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the lake view available here.