We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

San Mateo Apartments Gold Coast

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
San Mateo Apartments Gold Coast
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

55 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 53: English reviews
Queanbeyan, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

My family and I can't fault this hotel, we absolutely love the location so close to both Broadbeach and Surfers Paradise. Beach across the road and great cafe on the corner. Room was spacious, great views and nice pool area. Definitely can't wait to come back at Christmas, love this hotel.

Helpful?
Thank _ben_shara
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2016 via mobile

Reasonably priced for a hotel room on the Gold Coast. Not quite on the beach front but only a 3 minute walk from the beach and a 15 minute walk to the main shops/restaurants and bars of Broadbeach. Definitely worth the money. Room was clean and tidy.

Helpful?
Thank Chantelle C
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2016 via mobile

Paid almost $300 for a one night stay. Arrived Saturday midday and office closed but was advised key would be in safe. No problem there. Upon exiting lift on level 5 we were greeted with a stale odour. Our unit was in desperate need of a revamp. Blinds in 2nd bedroom broken and mouldy. Fan and light did not work... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sue R
SanMateoGC, Front Office Manager at San Mateo Apartments Gold Coast, responded to this review

Hi Susan, we are sorry to read both reviews you have left in the last few days. However we did apologise at the time with regards to your comments on the condition of the unit, and explained that it was about to be totally refurbished, new blinds, painted etc... with being fully booked for quite some time now unfortunately we... More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for one night (thank goodness) the room was very dated and run down . The bed needed to be replaced as it was hard and sagged down with no ensemble. The manager when asked about the condition of the room just commented that the room was about to be painted , a run of the mill excuse it... More 

Helpful?
Thank Braford
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2016

This is my second family visit to this hotel. (I stayed there in October/November 2015). It's a nice, budget priced hotel in a good location. We asked for the same room on the 5th floor (Room 514 I think?) because of the nice views. On arrival we were greeted by the manager who upgraded us to the sub-penthouse room 724... More 

Helpful?
Thank Graeme S
SanMateoGC, Front Office Manager at San Mateo Apartments Gold Coast, responded to this review

Hi Graeme, thanks for taking the time to do a review for us, we really appreciate it! We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed yet another stay with us! We always endeavour to go out of our way for our guests and particularly our return guests! It's great to hear you enjoyed staying in one of our penthouses, and made... More 

Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2015 via mobile

Booked this place last minute and payed around 180 per night, low season. I was not expecting 5 starts but the place was so disgusting I couldn't stay there another night (2 in total). As soon as we opened the door at 10pm (hot night mind you) we were greeted with a thick smell of cigarettes, it was appalling! The... More 

Helpful?
Thank M B
SanMateoGC, Front Office Manager at San Mateo Apartments Gold Coast, responded to this review

Good morning, we are extremely disappointed to read your review, and dismayed to hear you didn't enjoy your stay with us. We take all reviews very seriously. We are pleased to inform you that we are in the process of updating apartments here at San Mateo, replacing furnishings, painting where necessary, and updating bathrooms etc. We have also recently had... More 

Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2015 via mobile

Great value for money Clean and spacious Lovely management Free car park Great sea view I'm a bit stuck on what else to say the only reason it hasn't got five stars is because the wifi was very expensive.apart from that it is pretty much perfect.

Helpful?
Thank Corey b
SanMateoGC, Front Office Manager at San Mateo Apartments Gold Coast, responded to this review

Hi Corey, thank you for doing a review for us here at San Mateo on Broadbeach! We really appreciate it! We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and found most things to your satisfaction. Please contact us in the future if we can help you with any further accommodation requirements. We would love to see you again in... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2015

The building has an elevator and we stayed in Room 516 which is on the south east corner, 5th floor. There is nothing fancy about the room; decor is a bit dated, but overall it was clean and roomy. Two bedrooms, two bathrooms, laundry, but only 1 shower. Double bed in main bedroom, 2 Singles in the 2nd bedroom. Also... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Graeme S
SanMateoGC, Front Office Manager at San Mateo Apartments Gold Coast, responded to this review

Hi Graeme, firstly, many thanks for taking the time to do a review for us here at San Mateo on Broadbeach, we really appreciate your feedback. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate your comments on how convenient we are to all the surrounding facilities, and of course if there is anything we can... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2015 via mobile

My family stayed here for a week during Winter in a one bedroom and two bedroom apartment. The apartments were clean and tidy, had a kitchenette, washing machine and dryer in the apartments and had foxtel too. It was perfect for our stay. While it's not the glitz and glam of new high rise holiday accommodation - I couldn't fault... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Kellie H
Jangle1, Front Office Manager at San Mateo Apartments Gold Coast, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your great review, we really appreciate your positive feedback. We are so glad you really enjoyed your stay here at San Mateo, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future. More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2015

Booked this on a very good value deal, which included free Wi-Fi. One bedroom unit. Asked for a higher floor but suspect due to the very good value deal we got was given a unit on the ground floor - good size, clean and in good condition. Reception staff excellent and very friendly. Great location half way between Broadbeach and... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Greg B
Jangle1, Front Office Manager at San Mateo Apartments Gold Coast, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to do a review, we really appreciate your feedback. While it's great that you enjoyed the most part of your stay, we have taken on board your comments regarding the outdoor area attached to the ground floor unit, and have rectified this. Please remember if anything like this happens in the future to come... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

29 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (13)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Other (16)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Broadbeach
0.3 mi away
Ocean Royale
Ocean Royale
#14 of 21 in Broadbeach
4.0 of 5 stars 119 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Grande Apartments
La Grande Apartments
#17 of 21 in Broadbeach
4.5 of 5 stars 70 reviews
1.3 mi away
Montego Sands Holiday Apartments Gold Coast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Sandpiper Apartments
Sandpiper Apartments
#15 of 36 in Broadbeach
4.0 of 5 stars 109 reviews
0.3 mi away
Boulevard North Apartments
Boulevard North Apartments
#24 of 36 in Broadbeach
3.5 of 5 stars 124 reviews
0.6 mi away
South Pacific Plaza Broadbeach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Babysitting

Additional Information about San Mateo Apartments Gold Coast

Address: 93 Old Burleigh Rd, Broadbeach, Gold Coast, Queensland 4218, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Broadbeach
Price Range: $82 - $212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — San Mateo Apartments Gold Coast 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your San Mateo Apartments Gold Coast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Mateo Apartments Gold Coast Broadbeach
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay