We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Oystercatcher Lodge

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for your stay
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Oystercatcher Lodge
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

138 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 107: English reviews
Worcester, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We could only stay for one evening in the selfcatering accommodation. Everything about the apartment was awesome. We will be visiting again, soon. The views are just amazing, watching the sunset over the ocean!!!!

Helpful?
Thank HAMOK
Oyster1ShelleyPoint, Owner at Oystercatcher Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your fabulous review on Trip Advisor. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us in the self-catering apartments and do hope you will visit again in the close future. Best regards Sue and Luc More 

Roodepoort, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Situated on the Horn of the West coast 170KM north of Cape town is this Gem of a lodge in Shelley Beach Golf estate. Direct walks to a Lighthouse or huge beach. Accomodation is top notch and very reasonably priced for what you get. This isn't the cheapest option around but it is cheap for what you get. If you... More 

Helpful?
Thank Hermandl
Oyster1ShelleyPoint, Manager at Oystercatcher Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor. So pleased you were happy with both the accommodation and the location and hope we will welcome you back in the near future. Best regards Sue and Luc More 

CAPE TOWN
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2016

The Oystercatcher is a wonderful Guesthouse, situated in a prime position in Shelley Point. The hosts are warm and friendly, the diningroom has a panoramic sea view and we were lucky enough to see whales while having breakfast, which is another big treat. The bedrooms, service and also the easy walk to the beach make staying here very special. My... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tim S
Oyster1ShelleyPoint, Owner at Oystercatcher Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Tim Thanks so much for your lovely review on Trip Advisor. We were delighted to read that you and Margie enjoyed your second stay with us. We will look forward to welcoming you back!. Warm regards Luc and Sue More 

Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2016

We had an excellent weekend at Oystercatcher. It's in a secure estate, right near the beach and with great sea views. The rooms were clean and everything was highly organised. There was a miscommunication with our booking that lead to us getting the wrong room - but this was resolved very efficiently & promptly. Will definitely return.

Helpful?
Thank zxdm
Oyster1ShelleyPoint, Owner at Oystercatcher Lodge, responded to this review

Dear David Thanks again for letting us know that you enjoyed your week-end at both the Guest House and the self-catering apartments. We were so pleased that you found the facilities to be clean and everything well organised. We will look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind regards Luc and Sue More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2016 via mobile

What an ideal location! Beautiful setting on the shores of the West coast. Set almost on the beach, with spectacular views from the room. Listen to lullabies of the ocean as you fall asleep. Perfect place for a retreat and just to re-centre your soul. The owners Luc and Sue are are absolutely lovely, and add to the great experience.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Michael D
Oyster1ShelleyPoint, Owner at Oystercatcher Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Michael Thank you for your fabulous review on Trip Advisor. We are delighted you and Melissa enjoyed your stay with us and thanks too for the lovely little photo which we now have posted above the computer screen. Trust the rest of the birthday celebrations went off well and hope to welcome you both back in the future. Warm... More 

Shaftesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2016

Personal service by the owners who take care of every detail. The room with balcony with a view of the ocean, with endless flocks of birds passing morning and evening. Easy walking along the beach path. Well appointed shower and plenty cupboards. Filter coffee in the tea/coffee tray. The hosts are friendly and attentive. Breakfast cooked to your taste and... More 

Helpful?
Thank paj2001
Oyster1ShelleyPoint, Owner at Oystercatcher Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your super review on Trip Advisor. We were so thrilled to read that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay and that you found the breakfasts and room amenities to your complete satisfaction. Hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back some time in the future. Kind regards Luc and Sue More 

Sydney Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2016

Our 5 days at the lodge were absolute indulgence, with incredible views of the ocean, amazing accommodation, location,dolphins, seal, birds, stunning sunsets, and Luc who was a gracious host - who could ask for more?? It felt like we were living right on the beach!! Such solitude and one with nature was just overwhelming! What an experience!!

Helpful?
Thank DFD60
Mainz
Level Contributor
99 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2016

TOP location at seefront - the sea seams to be everywhere! very kind and sweet hosts, very good breakfast with homemade muesli, nicely decorated rooms, seaview from every room, beautiful lounge with fireside, safe area - a perfect hideaway! never will forget this awsome sunset you can spot from a bench on the top of the dune. highly recommended!

Helpful?
Thank traveladdicted4ever
Oyster1ShelleyPoint, Owner at Oystercatcher Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review on Booking.Com. We are so delighted to read that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay at the Oystercatcher. We hope you will plan a return visit in the future. Warm regards Luc and Sue More 

Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2016

A four night stay at The Oystercatcher Lodge at the end of a long touring holiday in SA, was a perfect choice for us. Located through St Helena Bay on the private Shelley Point Estate, the lodge which is on the edge of the ocean is in a lovely spot and is easy to find. We arrived a little early... More 

Helpful?
Thank itsgottabehot
Oyster1ShelleyPoint, Owner at Oystercatcher Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your fabulous review on Trip Advisor. We find it so rewarding and gratifying to read that you enjoyed your stay at the Oystercatcher. We are also pleased to read that you found the lodge the ideal place to relax and unwind after a busy tour and that the services and facilities met with your expectations. We will... More 

Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2016

We had the pleasure of spending 2 nights at the Oystercatcher on 2 and 3 April. Even though it was a weekend stay, we left feeling rejuvenated and well taken care of. The ambiance at the guesthouse was tranquil and Luc & Sue was excellent hosts! Will definitely recommend it and will return for sure! Thank you for a very... More 

Helpful?
Thank leandrejvv
Oyster1ShelleyPoint, Owner at Oystercatcher Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Leandre Thanks so much for your kind words on Trip Advisor. We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your 30th birthday celebrations, and thank you for choosing to celebrate this special ocasion at the Oystercatcher. Warm regards Luc and Sue More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

84 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (63)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Helena Bay
8.1 mi away
Strandloper Ocean Boutique Hotel
1.6 mi away
Goblin's Creek Manor House
Goblin's Creek Manor House
#3 of 5 in St. Helena Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 35 reviews
8.2 mi away
Baywatch Villa Collection
Baywatch Villa Collection
#4 of 13 in Paternoster
4.5 of 5 stars 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Absolute Beach Accommodation
Absolute Beach Accommodation
#2 of 5 in St. Helena Bay
5.0 of 5 stars 43 reviews
8.7 mi away
La Baleine Paternoster
La Baleine Paternoster
#2 of 13 in Paternoster
4.5 of 5 stars 111 reviews
8.8 mi away
Paternoster Cottages
Paternoster Cottages
#10 of 13 in Paternoster
4.0 of 5 stars 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Oystercatcher Lodge

Address: ERF 5397 | FIRST AVENUE, St. Helena Bay 7382, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > St. Helena Bay
Price Range: $72 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Oystercatcher Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Oystercatcher Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay