We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Cavendish Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Cavendish Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

648 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 641: English reviews
Start your review of Cavendish Hotel
 Click to rate
England
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I haven't stayed here, but we visited for a coffee stop whilst driving through the area. We were given a choice of sitting in the conservatory area or in the lounge, and chose the lounge for the log fire! Coffee and tea was served in silver pots, accompanied by gorgeous home made biscuits- we will be back for afternoon tea...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank weekenderinthesun
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We were staying here so as to use it as a base to explore Chatsworth House, the accommodation was quite nice, I'd describe it as 'authentic' the meals were ok from the main restaurant however the restaurant is of higher class & service than the hotel lends itself, in this sense I would say they are mis-matched

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gregf674
Management response:

Dear Greg Thank you for your time with the feedback - I am glad that overall you enjoyed your stay with us. We do have two restaurants as I am sure you are aware, the idea is that one offers a more formal experience than the other, hopefully catering for most tastes. I hope we see you again at the...

Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We recently visited the Cavendish for afternoon tea, the service from the staff was excellent, but i have to say we were disappointed with the sandwichs and a little let down by the standard of the cakes. my wife makes cakes at home and i suppose we expected something a little extra special from a quality hotel such as the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mick M
Management response:

Dear Mick Many thanks for the feedback on your recent visit. I am sorry you were disappointed; we do make all the items on the afternoon tea freshly in house. We have moved towards a more up to date selection to keep things more interesting, which generally has met with favourable response from our guests. I will of course be...

Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Very comfortable stay we always have;- Good dinner Good breakfast Quiet,good premier rooms, good wine Good service Good all over every time we stay wonderful location especially now Eric has gone , at last!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank David J
Management response:

Dear David So glad you enjoyed your recent visit to the Cavendish, thank you for the feedback. I hope we can welcome you back soon. Kind regards Philip Joseph

Reviewed 1 week ago

Afternoon tea was a gift for my birthday. It has been excellent. We arrived 30 mins early but were seated straight away. A really nice setting. Had coffee for 2 and hot chocolate for 1. A good selection of sandwiches, made a little more special because of their shape (circular). A mix of meat and vegetarian ones and all very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ellivas
Management response:

Dear Ellivas Many thanks for your comments; very pleased to hear that you were well looked after. Very interested to hear your comments about the content, not always possible to please everyone all the time on that particular issue, but very glad that you felt it was good. I hope we can welcome you back soon. Kind regards Philip Joseph

Doncaster, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Words just can't explain the exquisite 8 course tasting menu. It was fabulous, not too much and delicately presented. The service was the best we have ever had but it is always the same when ever you go and no matter how busy it is. The rooms are very tastefully decorated with attention to detail everywhere you look. You definitely...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JoCraig21
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

There is a lot to recommend this hotel. The room was very comfortable, beautifully furnished and with a lovely outlook over parkland. Extras like bathrobes, fresh milk in the fridge and a super shower enhanced the experience. Add to that the dining experience, the lounge and the very friendly and attentive staff and you have everything you want for a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Witchfinders
Management response:

Thank you for your kind comments, I appreciate your time and trouble in feeding back. Very glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were well looked after. I hope we can welcome you back soon. Kind regards Philip Joseph

Mount Arlington, New Jersey
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My friend and I booked 2 rooms to celebrate our 50th birthdays! It has been a while since and I have been remiss in posting and praising the the staff. This was my first trip to England and I have to say, from the time we arrived in London to our departure from the Cavendish, the trip exceeded all my...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Happy4u325
Management response:

Very happy to hear you enjoyed the Cavendish and your trip was a success. The team hear will be very pleased to read your kind comments. Look forward to welcoming you on your return! Kind regards Philip Joseph

London
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I do not work for this hotel nor the company but I know a few things about hotels. My wife and I just got back from this hotel and EVERYTHING was superb, the staff, accommodation, atmosphere & particularly the food. The setting is magical and the village of Baslow also has 2 great pubs. Great place to visit and will...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank updated
Management response:

So very pleased that you enjoyed the Cavendish, and I know the staff will be delighted to read your comments - thank you for taking the time to post them. I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back on future occasions. Kind regards Philip Joseph

Spalding, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was a company meeting with wives so 14 of us met in a private dining room at the hotel. From check in to paying the bill everything was fine----dinner was very good with excellent service. Menu was a little restricted as some of our party were a little unhappy with the choices. Perhaps pre-ordering is a better alternative than...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robert O
Management response:

Dear Robert Many thanks for your feedback; I will be discussing the points you raised with my team. Glad you enjoyed your visit and hope we can welcome you back on future occasions. Kind regards Philip Joseph

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

226 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (185)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (62)
Viewed
View from Room (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (37)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (43)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (41)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baslow
3.3 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 7 in Bakewell
361 reviews
9.9 mi away
Losehill House Hotel & Spa
6.1 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hathersage
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
East Lodge Country House Hotel
3.3 mi away
Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell
15.0 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Conference Facilities
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Country House Hotel, part of the Duke and Duchess of Devonshire Estate since 1830. The Cavendish overlooks the Estate and is a twenty minute walk to Chatsworth House from the Hotel. 24 recently refurbished bedrooms, with two restaurants and elegant public areas: much original artwork and furniture from Chatsworth House itself. Attentive and friendly staff combine with renowned food from Chef Alan Hill, together with a superb location in the heart of the Peak District National Park. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Cavendish Hotel

Address: Church Lane, Bakewell, Baslow, Peak District National Park DE45 1SP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Baslow
Price Range: $166 - $392 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cavendish Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Hotel.de so you can book your Cavendish Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cavendish Hotel Baslow, England
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Cavendish Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“"The Spencer" room was beautiful, windows looked out over patio and pastures in the back.”
 of 5 bubbles Happy4u325, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“Upgrade to a superior room if you can”
 of 5 bubbles updated, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“Views out the back give wonderfull views of the Chatsworth estate”
 of 5 bubbles roberto820, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“Superior or Inn rooms have stunning decor and views”
 of 5 bubbles josmithbarnsley, 4 weeks ago | Read review
“Junior suite was stunning”
 of 5 bubbles 892PaulB, Jan 15, 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question