We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Southern X Lodge

You may also like
See all
Nearby Hotels
  • Excellent51%
  • Very good25%
  • Average0%
  • Poor8%
  • Terrible16%
2 days ago
“Perfect budget - mid range snow accom ”
Apr 5, 2018
“Cheap does not have to mean awful”
You may also like
See all
Nearby Hotels
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (12)
Filter reviews
10 results
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
See what travelers are saying:
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 10 reviews
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

I’m not sure why there’s so many low reviews here - I just had a couple of night stay on ski open on weekend and could not have picked anywhere better for price / location / service. Arrived early in the morning, with plans to...More

Thank LCarts_79
Reviewed April 5, 2018

I was very disappointed to arrive to find a toilet door that not only didn't close was also 2-3 inches off the ground. The fan for the toilet ran all night! It appeared as though we were the only customers...shame we couldn't have had a...More

1  Thank Melissa H
Reviewed August 29, 2017

Southern X Lodge is in one of the best locations with magic view of Mt Hutt. This may be a budget type hotel / lodge but its the people that make experiences great and thats what makes it a 5 star accommodation! Thanks Penny!!

1  Thank Martin M
Reviewed June 24, 2017 via mobile

While the hospitality was fantastic with friendly and helpful hosts, the lodge itself is quite aged and dated. The shower was terrible as the water just sort of dribbles out of it. I can imagine if you are coming from a day up in the...More

Thank Elizabeth M
Management response:Responded August 5, 2017

Elizabeth, Thank you for taking the time to review us. Sorry it has taken a while for me to respond to your review, but we have been putting our time into getting things better. Sorry you had a problem with your shower, but pleased the...More

Reviewed August 25, 2016 via mobile

We were looking for an affordable place to stay for the ski season and we were not disappointed. Cosy living room with a fireplace, pool table and library. Room was clean and comfy. Wifi and laundry service available. Beautiful view every day... To sum up,...More

Thank Lily I
View more reviews
Most Booked Properties in Methven
See allSee all
Price range
$64 - $94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms
Reservation Options
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Southern X Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Methven
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Southern X Lodge staff and past guests.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Room Tips
"Family rooms are great if you have kids. 2 rooms, 2 bathrooms, down the back of the building so quieter for..."
Read review
"Family suite is quiet and spacious."
Read review
"Choose rooms north facing as they face Mt Hutt."
Read review
"Ask for a room with a view."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing