We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Methven Resort Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Methven Resort Hotel
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

114 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Methven Resort Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 112: English reviews
Reviewed October 23, 2015 via mobile

A last minute booking by us while on a road trip. Nice entrance to hotel and has swimming facilities with hot pools. Room was a little dated but comfortable. Shower pressure was a little low and no sky channels. Bed very comfortable. Not a bad stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Leanne C
Rockhampton, Australia
Reviewed October 6, 2015

Our room was a large, older style room but very comfortable and warm with good heating. Staff were very helpful and willing to assist with our late arrival plans. They were very considerate in placing us close to the entry so that we did not disturb other quests with our late arrival. Bathroom was also large and provided easy access.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Janet Y
Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed September 6, 2015

Visited in the ski season and expected the hotel to be busy, but it wasn't - the same for the rest of the town seemingly. The staff manning the desk and bar were courteous and helpful, even lighting the wood fire despite us being the only patrons in the bar. The room was clean and looked like it had been...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank 874nick
Perth, Australia
Reviewed August 12, 2015

I enjoyed this hotel. We stayed here when we were meant to go to Mount Hutt, but it was closed the day we were there, so we went to Mount Porters instead. The staff were friendly, and the bar had a nice menu.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank TK K
Darwin, Australia
Reviewed August 8, 2015

Stayed here August 2 to 8 2015, I picked this hotel on price alone, I am glad i did, its well appointed got Wi fi , great bath for a soak after a day on the slopes, a nice bar area with an open fire and Will looked after me really well, the only down side was there was a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tanifer
Kirkland, Washington
Reviewed July 30, 2015

Great hotel, awesome service - all the amenities you could want close to Mt. Hutt. Manager was great - helped us with everything from transportation to ordering pizza for my tired son at night. Couldn't ask for more. Quiet, clean - great fire every night. Also - great wifi - that worked really well. Highly recommend the hotel if you...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank H G
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed July 14, 2015

The writing was on the wall when I discussed our booking with the Resort Manager on the phone a week before we arrived. She sounded stressed & was very rude to me. This should of been warning signal not to stay at the Methven Resort, however, we went ahead with the booking. We are a family of 4; with 2...

 Report
Helpful?
8Thank 105rachel2015
MethvenResortHotel, Manager at Methven Resort Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we do understand that it can be stressful taking your family on holiday during the busy school holiday period and we are sorry that we didn’t meet your expectations. It was not my intention for you to become upset and my staff and I tried our best to look after...

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed July 9, 2015 via mobile

This hotel is a great budget family hotel, value for money. We had 3 in our room, with a spare bed. The room had a heater and it warmed the room well, they have electric blankets and they were great too. There is no rubbish bins in the room you have to put in a box outside, the pillows were...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Linda C
Timaru, New Zealand
Reviewed July 5, 2015

Stayed in family room with 2 children. Was very warm and comfortable, a nice size. Friendly and helpful staff, outdoor spa pools were great and good facilities in general. Clean, tidy and quiet location very handy to surrounding ski fields

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ultimate17
Reviewed June 27, 2015 via mobile

This place would have been great in the 80s but it 2015. Our single night experience included: A cold shower and cold water all night. A cold room - inadequate heating meant we were freezing Cold breakfast - on arrival we were ask for our preferred time. We were a bit late turning up - no matter our breakfast had...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank adamdb70
MethvenResortHotel, Manager at Methven Resort Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Adam, Thank you for your feedback.I'm sorry to hear that your stay wasn't as good as it could have been. Unfortunately both off our gas boilers which maintain the hot water system had been damaged during te recent snow storm and our electric system was struggling to keep up with the very cold temperatures we are experiencing - our...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

20 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Methven
9.5 mi away
Terrace Downs Resort
Terrace Downs Resort
#1 of 1 in Windwhistle
221 reviews
0.6 mi away
Methven Motels & Apartments
0.0 mi away
Skibo house B&B
Skibo house B&B
#1 of 11 in Methven
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Ski Time
Ski Time
#1 of 21 in Methven
95 reviews
0.6 mi away
Brinkley Resort
Brinkley Resort
#4 of 21 in Methven
170 reviews
0.2 mi away
Redwood Lodge
Redwood Lodge
#2 of 21 in Methven
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Methven Resort hotel offers 47 very comfortable en-suite rooms, each with their own flat screen TV, Tea and coffee facilities, Fridge and desk. Wifi is available. The hotel features it's own fully licensed restaurant with affordable dining options for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Our downstairs bar has relaxed seating, open fire place, poolside and patio access, flat screen tv, pool table and a selection of games for the family to enjoy. We also have a 25 metre outdoor swimming pool, heated during summer months only and 3 luxurious outdoor heated hotpools in operation all year. We look forward to your stay! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Methven Resort Hotel

Address: 51 Main Street | Mt. Hutt Village, Methven 7730, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Methven
Price Range: $77 - $99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Methven Resort Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Methven Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Methven Hotel Methven
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Methven Resort Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Rooms up higher on levels 2 or 3 and facing the mountain range would be best.”
 of 5 bubbles wabbit14, Feb 4, 2017 | Read review
“Ground floor rooms are probably wheelchair accessible as there are ramps for level changes.”
 of 5 bubbles airmech953, Aug 7, 2016 | Read review
“We had room facing car park, clean enough but couldn't get past the cold water”
 of 5 bubbles keidis0910, Jul 5, 2016 | Read review
“the rooms that face the parking lot appeared to be a bit nicer than the back facing.”
 of 5 bubbles floridagrl, Jun 24, 2016 | Read review
“Resort has wings of rooms. if you want a view request a room facing outwards.”
 of 5 bubbles janety2014, Oct 6, 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question