We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Brinkley Resort

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Brinkley Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"]},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

166 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Brinkley Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 164: English reviews
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I just stayed in a 2 bedroom at the Brinkley Resort. It was fantastic! We had views of the snow covered mountains from our room to wake up to each morning. The restaurant was outstanding with great choices and pairing wines. The service was second to none and I can not wait to go back. Thanks to the team at... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Dan_Mysnow
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

We just got back from a great week at the Brinkley Resort. Apartments were clean, comfortable and close to town. The spa bath was just what my muscles needed after a long day on the Mountain. Food at Shackletons was amazing and my only regret is the cheese and crackers I ate before coming to the restaurant. Thanks guys for... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Mitzi W
BrinkleyManagement, General Manager at Brinkley Resort, responded to this review

Thanks and glad you enjoyed your stay with us again ! More 

Sydney
Level Contributor
67 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We stayed at Brinkley Resort for 4 nights in August 2013 to go skiing at Mt Hutt which is a 40 minute drive from the resort. We booked a two bedroom apartment and a studio apartment to accommodate 6 adults which were conveniently attached through the back. When the apartments were connected it was great as it was like a... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank hotsyd22
BrinkleyManagement, General Manager at Brinkley Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Hope to see you again next year . More 

Westport, New Zealand
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

The location is great. I stayed with three friends last week. But for the price I was disappointed with the fact the apartment was not serviced and we ran out of toilet paper on the last day. We only had one towel each although there was a washing machine and drier in the apartment. However after washing our ski clothes... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Maz R
BrinkleyManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Brinkley Resort, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to write your review and kind comments on our location and views. We do our best to inform guests on our servicing policy by posting it on our website, including it in the room compendiums as well as stating it on the booking slip you signed on arrival. Like most apartments we do provide initial... More 

Sydney
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Recently stayed at Brinkley on a short Ski trip to Mount Hutt. The hotel is in a great location, walking distrance to everything in the town, along with the ski bus stopping right at the door. Everything is quite modern and very clean. The twin studio was very small, literally there is no room to put your luggage, we had... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank racy_rachel
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Just returned from a short stay at Brinkley Resort. It was a world class hotel in a ideal place with excellent ski-ing. In addition the Restaurant was fabulous. Staff were very welcoming and instantly pointed us in the right direction for things to do. Very nice wine selection selected by the owner. I just wish it was a bit closer... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Isherwoodskiteam
BrinkleyManagement, General Manager at Brinkley Resort, responded to this review

Glad you enjoyed your stay and the restaurant .You certainly were a long way from home so it was our pleasure to provide your family with a relaxing holiday . More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

My wife and I just got back from a quick 4 day ski trip to Methven and we stayed at Brinkley Resort, last stayed here about 6 or 7 years ago and it was just as great this time, the room was perfect and good friendly staff all helped the trip to be that little bit better. I love coming... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Kobejohn
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

This is a self contained apartment resort right near Mt Hutt. Everyhting in the room was well done and we didnt need anything . Things for kids to do as well as easy access to mountains. The real standout was the service from the reception staff and also the restaurant staff who sometimes were the same person on different shifts... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Allan H
BrinkleyManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Brinkley Resort, responded to this review

Thanks !!!! I will pass your comments on to all our staff. More 

Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Excellent spot and facilities, people were extremely friendly and helpful!. Walking distance to town and to all the drinking spots. Bus stop at reception for the bus up to Mt.Hutt. Would recommend this place to anyone staying in Methven. I'll be staying there again for sure.

Helpful?
1 Thank Snow-obsessed
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Stayed with my 15 year son and we had a great time. Excellent location, great staff, fantastic room. Walk to town at night and the bus for Mount Hutt picks up at the door. Coming back next year. Steve and Will from Qld

Helpful?
1 Thank Sscotchm
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

37 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (29)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Methven
0.6 mi away
Methven Resort Hotel
Methven Resort Hotel
#1 of 2 in Methven
4.0 of 5 stars 107 reviews
9.6 mi away
Terrace Downs Resort
Terrace Downs Resort
#1 of 1 in Windwhistle
4.0 of 5 stars 169 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ski Time
Ski Time
#1 of 21 in Methven
4.5 of 5 stars 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Central Luxury Apartments
0.2 mi away
Blue Pub Methven
Blue Pub Methven
#10 of 11 in Methven
3.5 of 5 stars 56 reviews
0.2 mi away
Methven Motels & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Brinkley Resort Mt Hutt is a 4 star Qualmark rated High Country self-contained accommodation resort and conference centre situated in the Alpine heartland village of Methven at the foothills of majestic Mt Hutt. Just a short two minute walk to the centre of town and conveniently positioned for transport to Mt Hutt. Brinkley features a total of 80 self contained apartments comprised of 40 studios and 40 self contained two bedroom apartments. Laundry facilities are complimentary and shared between each apartment and studio room and the two bedroom apartments all contain spa baths, ideal for relaxing after a day on the mountain. Enjoy a relaxing evenings dining in Shackelton's Restaurant, award winning NZ Beef & Lamb recipient, open during the winter ski season ( please note our restaurant is open during ski season but closed for the summer with the exception of conferences, groups & weddings). Free 300mb high speed wifi provided during your stay - additional internet small charges apply. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Brinkley Resort

Address: 43 Barkers Rd, Methven 7730, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Methven
Price Range: $107 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Brinkley Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Brinkley Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay