We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Forest Lodge

140 Forest Drive, Methven, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Cancelon to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
Forest Lodge
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

15 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 15: English reviews
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
153 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2014

The location of the hotel is only a few moments walk to the centre of Methven which means it is in a quiet location just on the outskirts of town. Ample parking for just about any type of vehicle is a real bonus. Having checked in, I was surprised to learn that there were no bar and no restaurant facilities... More 

Helpful?
Thank EddieC566
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

The hotel was wonderfully clean and the staff were very friendly and helpful, even when each day we would come down 10 minutes before breakfast finished. The only bad thing was the showers took about 10 minutes to warm up. I suggest turning it on the reading a book for a while.

Helpful?
Thank MikaB505
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

We had just arrived and my 10 year old had the start of a bad ear infection from the flight....the owner, Ann , made an appointment at a wonderful doctor and within a couple of days we were back to non stop fun!! We really enjoyed our stay at the lodge and the food is by far the best in... More 

Helpful?
Thank Gumby111
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

We based ourselves here for 6 nights (hubby played golf in an Ashburton tournament). Although the room was small it was very clean and serviced every day. The bathroom was spotless and quite roomy. Tea & coffee making facilities, along with ironing equipment and a hair dryer were also supplied. Walking distance to town and fabulous breakfast/coffee at Primo Cafe.... More 

Helpful?
Thank NaomiKotaridis
Queenstown, Otago, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We arrived and were welcomed by the owner Ian. After a short conversation he had our accommodation sorted and it was exactly what we were looking for.Great hosts and a very friendly feel about the place.

Helpful?
Thank Ross L
Invercargill
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

We booked a night at Forest Lodge on Booking.com. It looked to have everything we required. However the room did not come up with what was under "room details". We mistakenly thought that we would get Sky TV and did not ask about it when booking. However when we got there we found that it did not, even though it... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Lesley C
Wanganui
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Dreadful experience. Saw a staff member once. No information. Poky room, not even a knife and plate.NOT DELUXE. Too lazy to open the office. Recommended a restaurant that was closed the three days we stayed there. You should not advertise open for business because you were not. Very eexpensive, a rip off.

Helpful?
Thank Pumpfi
Anne M, Manager at Forest Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Pumpfi, I am very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay at our lodge. We have taken your comments on board and appreciate your criticisms. I would like to point out that most country lodges are not the same as hotels and we do not employ full time receptionist staff. It is certainly not a case of laziness... More 

Travelers are raving about these Methven hotels

Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

3 of us stayed there on a boys week end (left the WAGs at home)- each had a basic room upstairs with shared facilities (13/09 to 16/09) At equivalent AUD$40 a night, Forest lodge is value for money- only comment is that breakfast could do with some ham/ cheese/ bacon- but at AUD$5....... The Beer was fantastic and evening meals... More 

Helpful?
Thank Henry S
AUSTRALIA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Have just come home from a great time at the Forest lodge ,Great resturant ,Stayed 3 nights here in a luxury room very nice but small ,No phone in room which we found a problem as we did not have a mobile ,we could not find a public phone anywhere on the property /,all in all great weather whilst there,... More 

Helpful?
Thank AustraliaOutback
Les Diablerets, Switzerland
Level Contributor
58 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

I have been staying already 4-5 times at the Forest Lodge. The new rooms are very nice and the atmosphere of the place is great. Good beer, nice bar and excellent food at the restaurant. Really recommend this place. Good for families or for friends.

Helpful?
1 Thank ormonan
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

1 photo of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Methven hotels
0.7 mi away
Methven Resort Hotel
Methven Resort Hotel
#1 of 2 in Methven
4.0 of 5 stars 102 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ski Time
Ski Time
#1 of 21 in Methven
4.5 of 5 stars 85 reviews
0.7 mi away
Brinkley Resort
Brinkley Resort
#2 of 21 in Methven
4.0 of 5 stars 164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Methven Motels & Apartments
0.5 mi away
Snow Denn Lodge
Snow Denn Lodge
#12 of 21 in Methven
4.5 of 5 stars 34 reviews
0.0 mi away
Skibo house B&B
Skibo house B&B
#1 of 11 in Methven
5.0 of 5 stars 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge

Additional Information about Forest Lodge

Address: 140 Forest Drive, Methven, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Methven
Hotel Class:3 star — Forest Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay