We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

DM Hoteles Tarapoto - San Martin

Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
DM Hoteles Tarapoto - San Martin
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

186 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 23: English reviews
Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2016

DM Rio Shilcayo is lush and large. The grounds are expansive enough for long, leisurely walks through tropical foliage and the pool is huge compared to many hotel pools. The food in the restaurant could probably be bought more cheaply outside of the resort, but the taste and quality was superb in every case. The Bungalow had A/C that froze... More 

Helpful?
Thank jontul
gvalle2016, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at DM Hoteles Tarapoto - San Martin, responded to this review

We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay That with us. We hope to see you back again. Kind regards. More 

Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2015 via mobile

Set in lovely gardens. The hotel is quite a way from the centre of town. But it's only 5 sol - c £1.20 to take a motorbike taxi to the centre. They were completing some building work while I was there so not particularly peaceful to sit around the pool area. The breakfast choice was good and the room nicely... More 

Helpful?
Thank Debbie R
gvalle2016, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at DM Hoteles Tarapoto - San Martin, responded to this review

Thanks for your feedback will help us improve as a Hotel, we are working to improve infrastructure the hotel , as with the Services. We hope to see you back again. Kind regards. More 

Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2015

This big property is located in the Shilcayo area. Surrounded by mountains and heavy virgin nature,this hotel will nicely surprice you. This hootel has big suites perfect for a romantic scape. The calm and the nature will charm you. Great service, restaurant,bar and pool. It also can welcome your business meetings,weddings or simply family reunions

Helpful?
Thank Harold M
gvalle2016, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at DM Hoteles Tarapoto - San Martin, responded to this review

We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay That with us. We hope to see you back again. Kind regards. More 

Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2015

I went there for a workshop, spent 3 days, and the place was nice. Rooms were spacey, confy and had a good view to the pool had good A/C which is key in a hot city as Tarapoto. Food was good but not superb as we would expect from the price. We had breakfast and lunch included in the package... More 

Helpful?
Thank OceanLook
gvalle2016, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at DM Hoteles Tarapoto - San Martin, responded to this review

We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay That with us. We hope to see you back again. Kind regards. More 

San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2015 via mobile

The hotel was purchased by a teachers union to be used by its members. Used to be a good hotel, now is one of the worst options in the area. Old rooms, bad service and used as camp for hundreds of teenagers. They advertise it as a Hotel, is not a Hotel anymore. AVOID.

Helpful?
Thank worldtravelerxxxxx
gvalle2016, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at DM Hoteles Tarapoto - San Martin, responded to this review

Thanks for your feedback will help us improve as a Hotel, we are working to improve infrastructure the hotel , as with the Services. We regret what happened. Kind regards More 

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2015

Stayed here a few times now with my family. We had a transfer to and from the hotel which was absolutely brilliant! The bedroom we had, had 2 double beds, AC, TV, and had an ensuite. All good! The hotel also has a swimming pool, and it's surrounding gardens are beautiful! This would be a top pick for families with... More 

Helpful?
Thank mawilko
gvalle2016, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at DM Hoteles Tarapoto - San Martin, responded to this review

We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay That with us. We hope to see you back again. Kind regards. More 

Lima, Perú
Level Contributor
70 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2015

This hotel was part of the peruvian 'national tourism enterprise' (entur peru) on the 50's. Afterwards most venues were sold to private entrepreneurs. This particular 'hotel de turistas' was well kept and more than half a century after being made, it now is really in town (when it was built probably it was on the outskirts of Tara, now in... More 

Helpful?
Thank Hor-em-akhet
gvalle2016, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at DM Hoteles Tarapoto - San Martin, responded to this review

We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay That with us. We hope to see you back again. Kind regards. More 

Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2014

This hotel is really good for Tarapoto standards. You can't say it's far away from the city centre because it's not such a big town, but it's not walking distance either, which in my opinion makes it a really good option because it gives you some peace and quiet. The food is nothing outstanding, but it's still okay, the staff... More 

Helpful?
Thank natalia c
gvalle2016, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at DM Hoteles Tarapoto - San Martin, responded to this review

We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay That with us. We hope to see you back again. Kind regards. More 

Lima, Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

I stayed at Rio Shicayo two years ago with my family and had a good experience. Sure, the room was not great and the bedding made of polyester and the food was just OK but, hey this is a 3 star property in Peru and there isn't much to chose from unless you don't want to get ripped off by... More 

Helpful?
5 Thank Ron C
gvalle2016, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at DM Hoteles Tarapoto - San Martin, responded to this review

Thanks for your feedback will help us improve as a Hotel, we are working to improve infrastructure the hotel , as with the Services. We regret what happened. Kind regards. More 

Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

This hotel may be above average by Tarapoto standards, but it is definitely not up to industry standards in some areas. Location: the location is on the outskirts of the town, but it can still be quite noisy at nights as loud music can be heard from nearby properties. The hotel grounds are pretty and well kept, and you can... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank jfroda
gvalle2016, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at DM Hoteles Tarapoto - San Martin, responded to this review

Thanks for your feedback will help us improve as a Hotel, we are working to improve infrastructure the hotel , as with the Services. We hope to see you back again. Kind regards. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

147 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (139)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (42)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (15)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (56)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tarapoto
0.3 mi away
Tucan Suites Aparthotel
Tucan Suites Aparthotel
#1 of 14 in Tarapoto
4.5 of 5 stars 156 reviews
0.8 mi away
RioSol Tarapoto Hotel
RioSol Tarapoto Hotel
#2 of 14 in Tarapoto
4.0 of 5 stars 127 reviews
17.0 mi away
El Sauce Resort
El Sauce Resort
#1 of 1 in Sauce
4.0 of 5 stars 182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Madera Labrada
Madera Labrada
#4 of 39 in Tarapoto
4.0 of 5 stars 159 reviews
1.1 mi away
Casa de Palos Boutique
Casa de Palos Boutique
#4 of 41 in Tarapoto
4.5 of 5 stars 108 reviews
1.7 mi away
Puerto Palmeras Tarapoto Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Rio Shilcayo hotel is the best host in Tarapoto. With over 5 acres of gardens and green areas, in addition to swimming and sports facilities, this is the perfect place to rest and to see the lush Amazon rainforest. Enjoy our hospitality, the comfort of our rooms with air conditioning and rich local cuisine, which undoubtedly will be for you an unforgettable experience. ... more   less 

Additional Information about DM Hoteles Tarapoto - San Martin

Address: Psj. Las Flores 224 | Banda de Shilcayo - Tarapoto, Tarapoto 042, Peru
Location: Peru > San Martin Region > Tarapoto
Price Range: $74 - $98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — DM Hoteles Tarapoto - San Martin 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com so you can book your DM Hoteles Tarapoto - San Martin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay