We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Greyhound Carshalton

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Greyhound Carshalton
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

231 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 225: English reviews
Kingswood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Nice decor & ambiance and easy to park. Very welcoming bar and the wine list truly excellent - we had a bottle of Norton Argentine Malbec. Service first class but unfortunately the beef served was poor. However, the waitress got us a gratis dessert which went some way to making up for the beef

Helpful?
Thank Kassandra R
Level Contributor
45 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Have known of the greyhound and used it for 40 years on and off and it has gone through a lot of recent change - all for the better. The beer is still as good as it ever was and the location idyllic it just has a better feel about it now

Helpful?
Thank Roland M
Kenora,
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Redone,well maintained, delightful owners and friendly staff. Clean, super breakfasts , easy walking to sights, bus lines really close, lovely outdoor eating area, car parking, historic features, very quiet at night even though right on High Street

Helpful?
Thank Wendy P
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
254 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Recently renovated I believe. And it is a really nice place. Staff friendly. Good choice of beers. It also has an outdoor seating area. That's spacious and comfortable. As pub/hotel/restaurants go. this is a fine spot. The owners are extremely welcoming and friendly too. Will return.

Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin F
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Fantastic pub with beautiful rooms. Had a very enjoyable afternoon and overnight stay with lunch and lots of their great wines! Would highly recommend a visit and definitely stay! Breakfast the following morning was also fabulous, not rushed with a great selection and quality choice of food.

Helpful?
Thank Elisabeth M
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Intrigued by the refurbishment, I booked Sunday lunch at the Greyhound for twelve people. I wasn't a huge fan before but I have to say, this place has changed for the better! The staff were welcoming and helpful, the food was delicious and the place looks great! Had a lovely afternoon for a decent price!

Helpful?
Thank Simone W
Skegness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed for 3 nights as a base for London. Excellent package and very good value. Room well designed, well kept, beds comfortable. Breakfasts very good with lots of 'help yourself' choices and a good cooked-to-order selection. Dinners were not part of our package but we ate in 2 nights and the food was very good, nice range of choices and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Marie C
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

an hours drive from central London on a Sunday afternoon [there is a direct train to Victoria] The Greyhound is in a beautiful location-with a pretty pond right across the road. The Greyhound has a traditional bar and beautifully designed dining rooms-as well as a spacious outdoor area-I was there for Sunday lunch-which was delicious [I had roast chicken and... More 

Helpful?
Thank mrsmarr
Leatherhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My partner and I booked last minute, and what a lovely hotel it is, everything was new, recently refurbished I understand. Room was great, so many local touches and lots of towels and tea making stuff. Breakfast was amazing, look forward to staying again. Staff were helpful and the place was very clean .

Helpful?
Thank ilovesurrey
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Love the new refurbishment, beautiful rooms downstairs & very clean. Staff friendly but lack knowledge on the food & drink menu. Disappointed that some items were not available on the menu on a Thursday evening, was informed by one of my friends that the same items were not available on the Monday either. Food was very yummy, would recommend the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Joanne J
Greyhound M, Manager at The Greyhound Carshalton, responded to this review

Dear Joanne Thank you for taking the time to review The Greyhound , we are sorry that you did not have a full menu to choose from on your visit , but fortunatly we are much busier that we anticipated and we ran out of some of our dishes due to the weather and the new demographic of customers that... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

35 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carshalton
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn London Sutton
2.0 mi away
Thatched House Hotel
Thatched House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Sutton
4.0 of 5 stars 75 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hilton London Croydon
Hilton London Croydon
#8 of 22 in Croydon
3.5 of 5 stars 888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Croydon Aerodrome
4.1 mi away
Premier Inn Epsom North Hotel
3.0 mi away
Premier Inn London Croydon Town Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms

Additional Information about The Greyhound Carshalton

Address: 2 High Street, Carshalton SM5 3PE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Carshalton
Price Range: $108 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Greyhound Carshalton 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Greyhound Carshalton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay