We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hitchin Priory

Show Prices
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for your stay
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Hitchin Priory
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

326 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 322: English reviews
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I was a little sceptical after reading the previous views of the Hitchin Priory Hotel but it served my purposes fine. I was there on a work visit for one night and inevitably not having to cough up the £80 a night price tag for the hotel myself did make me much more lenient on faults. After finding the Premier... More 

Helpful?
Thank jessica s
Luton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This review has been a long time coming, but I now have the time to post. I got married here on Easter Sunday, and what a fabulous day we had. We were lucky with the weather and the place looked lovely. The food was served quickly, it tasted lovely and was plentiful. The bar staff were amazing and all the... More 

Helpful?
Thank RachelA86
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

What a lovely picturesque place, from the river that runs through the area to the greenery of the whole place. Our room in the coach house was lovely with all that you need for an over night stay. So many different styles to the buildings, the restaurant where breakfast was served was so lovely with very helpful staff and the... More 

Helpful?
Thank ade_h27
London, United Kingdom
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We attended Hitchin Priory in for a small company meeting. I have in the past used Chartridge with good results, and seeing that Hitchin is part of the same group I expected the same positive outcome. There was nothing whatsoever to recommend our experience and in fact it seemed as if Hitchin was attempting to emulate “Fawlty Towers”. Here’s the... More 

Helpful?
Thank traincommuter

Travelers are raving about these Hitchin hotels

Ampthill, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had our wedding at Hitchin priory on 22nd July it was a fantastic day enjoyed by us and our guests. All the team did a great job making our day special from the minute we arrived until the last song was played. Thanks again Lesley and Kevin

Helpful?
Thank lesleyhines
Thierry V, General Manager at Hitchin Priory, responded to this review

Dear both Thank you for your kind comments and for entrusting you in your very special day. Wishing you a long and happy married life. More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel is in a beautiful, grand building surrounded by some wonderful grounds and a truly fabulous entrance. The hotel would definitely benefit from a huge piece of investment to bring the property up to scratch, but that would then push the price up of what is currently a very affordable hotel. Staff were great; nothing was too much for... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Matthew_Beevor
Thierry V, General Manager at Hitchin Priory, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments. The property does indeed need more investment and I will forward your comments to the owners. I will also pass on your comments to the team. Kind regards More 

Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We had a fantastic time at Nick and Christies wedding The Priory was the perfect setting Beautiful gardens. Amazing canapés a Great band to get us all up and boogieing excellent service and to round it all up we had a lovely room A really good venue Thank you everyone

Helpful?
Thank estellemeed
Thierry V, General Manager at Hitchin Priory, responded to this review

Thank you.... there is little else to add as it was our pleasure looking after you. More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I cant thank everyone enough who made my sisters wedding day on the 05/08 utterly perfect ! The setting was perfect and the sun was shinning all day, From the moment we all arrived we were greeted with smiles and of course lots of prosecco! The food was beautiful, it arrived hot and served in great time The servers around... More 

Helpful?
Thank Danielle P
Thierry V, General Manager at Hitchin Priory, responded to this review

Our pleasure! thank you. More 

Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I arrived at 9.15 pm only to be informed that the restaurant closed at 9.00 pm. I was not offered any light snacks or a sandwich. Fortunately the hotel is located very close to the town center so i gave my money to a local restaurant. The bedroom was lean and had the best power shower ever unfortunately i had... More 

Helpful?
Thank David F
Thierry V, General Manager at Hitchin Priory, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments. We are in the process of replacing the beds so hopefully you will have a better night next time you sty with us. Please contact us on your way to the Priory if you want to prepare a meal prior to your arrival should you have another late one. With kind regards More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My room was in a modern annexe. Luckily the weather kept fine because it was a 3-4 minute walk to the hotel for breakfast. The main hotel building is very pleasing and the grounds are beautiful. I felt the staff were very badly trained as they didn't seem very focused. At breakfast the waiter delivered the wrong meal three times... More 

Helpful?
Thank Vivienne03
Thierry V, General Manager at Hitchin Priory, responded to this review

_Please accept my most sincere apologies for the poor service you received. I have spoken to my team and hopefully it wont happen again. Kind regards More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

98 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (90)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (25)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Other (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hitchin
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Hitchin Town Centre Hotel
2.0 mi away
Needham House Hotel
Needham House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Little Wymondley
4.0 of 5 stars 121 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Sun Hotel
The Sun Hotel
#6 of 8 in Hitchin
3.5 of 5 stars 298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Firs Hotel
Firs Hotel
#5 of 8 in Hitchin
4.0 of 5 stars 151 reviews
2.0 mi away
Redcoats Farmhouse Hotel & Restaurant
0.1 mi away
Lord Lister Hotel
Lord Lister Hotel
#7 of 8 in Hitchin
4.0 of 5 stars 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Business Center with Internet Access

Additional Information about Hitchin Priory

Address: Tilehouse Street, Hitchin SG5 2DL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Hitchin
Price Range: $69 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hitchin Priory 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Hitchin Priory reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hitchin Priory Hotel Hitchin
Priory Hotel Hitchin
Hitchin Priory England
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay