We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Ty Morgan's Bar-Bistro-Rooms

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Ty Morgan\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

217 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 214: English reviews
Cornwall
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We arrived here after a very hot day on the Wye Valley walk and were greeted with the news that we had to pay £90 for our room. This took us by surprise as all our walking holidays are booked through Celtic Trails who organise, and pay for, all our accommodation. We have walked well over 1,000 miles with this... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rands9
Ty M, Manager at Ty Morgan's Bar-Bistro-Rooms, responded to this review

Hello, Apologises about the confusion when you checked in with us, as the payment hadn't been taken our policy is normally for payment on arrival as there were no card details so this is why you were asked to pay on arrival. Ty Morgans is located on a crossroads which unfortunately traffic is out of our control but we do... More 

Snowdonia National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Unfortunately I booked a superior double room for myself the morning of my arrival through booking.com. Upon arrival there was some concernes about my booking but it was found on their system. Was taken outside and around the corner as it was easier to access the room through a separate door to be shown a twin room which was cold... More 

Helpful?
Thank Gwyndaf P
Ty M, Manager at Ty Morgan's Bar-Bistro-Rooms, responded to this review

I am disappointed to have had this review left as when you were shown to your room it was explained to you that the room had been left as a twin due to having more than 3 double rooms available after housekeeping had left it was ok to be left as a twin but we did fill all of these... More 

Coventry
Level Contributor
57 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

A great base for exploring the stunning Elan Valley. Our room was gorgeous with a seperate TV area on the balcony upstairs, jacuzzi bath for total relaxation and homemade biscuits upon arrival were a lovely touch too. Can be a little noisy from traffic on the main road outside but after a bottle of wine over dinner this didn't bother... More 

Helpful?
Thank Leanne C
Ty M, Manager at Ty Morgan's Bar-Bistro-Rooms, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review! yes unfortunately we are on a crossroads but w are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again. More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Had a really good meal at the Bistro. Food was served very quickly in lovely surroundings and was extremely tasty. Extremely friendly staff. The proprietor was only too pleased to show us two or three rooms (above Bistro) which were all excellently appointed. We shall definitely look at booking one of them on our next visit to the Elan Valley.

Helpful?
Thank sheila_bagnall
Ty M, Manager at Ty Morgan's Bar-Bistro-Rooms, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review we look forward to seeing you again soon! More 

Northwich
Level Contributor
275 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This little hotel is quite quaint, being converted from a house I assume. For a small place it offers the complete package with a nice bistro and a cosy bar. My room was comfortable and clean, although the bathroom was small. This is perhaps because it was on the top floor, close to the roof. The staff are friendly and... More 

Helpful?
Thank jonessb1
Ty M, Manager at Ty Morgan's Bar-Bistro-Rooms, responded to this review

Thank you for you review, yes the bathrooms on the top floor are smaller as they are so high up in the roof but look forward to seeing you again soon! More 

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were travelling up to see family in mid Wales and decided on Rheiadr as a stop for lunch. I have always fancied ty morgans when passing on previous journeys so decided to have our lunch here. There was plenty of choice on the lunch menu. Two decided on the scampi and when we ordered we were informed that this... More 

Helpful?
Thank sarah W
Ty M, Manager at Ty Morgan's Bar-Bistro-Rooms, responded to this review

We are very disappointed to have had this review as our Tuesday Special is a meal and pudding for £5 which is explained when ordering it is a smaller portion as our main meals on the menu are over £6. If you were unhappy with your meal then we could have sorted this issue out on the day instead of... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2016 via mobile

Excellent service, food, lovely clean place, advice to book for Sunday lunch, do 2 course offers, staff well trained work hard, very efficient and friendly. Modern interior, quite a few seats and a few tables out in the back garden, which is quite small

Helpful?
Thank Issyrich
Ty M, Manager at Ty Morgan's Bar-Bistro-Rooms, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, yes Sunday lunch is very popular so would always recommend booking a table in advance. We hope to see you again soon. More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2016 via mobile

What a great find. We were just passing through Rhayader and decided to stop for some lunch. Special was a lamb dinner and dessert for £5. Excellent value, good size portions and a really tasty lunch. Lovely dessert as well. Well worth a try. Would love to try their evening menu.

Helpful?
Thank Ceri T
Ty M, Manager at Ty Morgan's Bar-Bistro-Rooms, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review, All comments will be passed onto the chef and staff. We do hope to see you again soon. More 

Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2016

We have returned from a two night stay at Ty Morgan and although it's probably the best hotel in the village it's not quite up to their 4 star rating. As soon we arrived we stood around in the bar until a young lady could pull herself away from chatting up a few customers and were immediately as to pay... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tucdaway
Ty M, Manager at Ty Morgan's Bar-Bistro-Rooms, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, i am very disappointed to hear this review as this is not how staff are trained to chat up customers. Yes payment is to be taken on arrival in the past we have left it until check out and the guests have already gone early and provided a fake card, but if you were to... More 

Taunton, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2016

Stayed overnight in apartment 5 before a dog show. Dog friendly with a little courtyard and grass area. Parking is in the street outside. Staff were helpful when checking in. Free wi-fi. Would stay again with the dogs

Helpful?
Thank Rubylollie
Ty M, Manager at Ty Morgan's Bar-Bistro-Rooms, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, we do hope to see you again. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

54 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (29)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rhayader
0.1 mi away
Crown Inn
Crown Inn
#2 of 3 in Rhayader
3.5 of 5 stars 77 reviews
7.0 mi away
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#1 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
4.5 of 5 stars 1,136 reviews
11.4 mi away
Caer Beris Manor Hotel
Caer Beris Manor Hotel
#1 of 4 in Builth Wells
4.5 of 5 stars 698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Elan Hotel
The Elan Hotel
#9 of 13 in Rhayader
4.5 of 5 stars 19 reviews
0.2 mi away
Penralley House
Penralley House
#1 of 13 in Rhayader
5.0 of 5 stars 195 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Horseshoe Guesthouse
The Horseshoe Guesthouse
#3 of 13 in Rhayader
4.5 of 5 stars 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Ty Morgans is situated in the centre of the Beautiful market town of Rhayader. This brand new development has all its rooms individually designed by an interior designer and has recently been awarded its 4 star status. We have our own Strand Bistro, Morgans Evening Restaurant and Coffee/Sandwich Shop. Rhayader makes a location for touring mid wales with the stunning Elan Valley Dams and the beautiful Wye Valley ideal for walking, cycling, birdwatching and fishing. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ty Morgan's Bar-Bistro-Rooms

Address: East Street, Rhayader LD6 5BH, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Rhayader
Price Range: $90 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ty Morgan's Bar-Bistro-Rooms 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Ty Morgan's Bar-Bistro-Rooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ty Morgan`s Bar-Bistro-Rooms Hotel Rhayader
Ty Morgan's Bar-Bistro-Rooms Rhayader, Wales, UK
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay