We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The BEST WESTERN PLUS Samlesbury Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The BEST WESTERN PLUS Samlesbury Hotel
The BEST WESTERN PLUS Samlesbury Hotel
Panoramas (24)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

667 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 661: English reviews
Start your review of The BEST WESTERN PLUS Samlesbury Hotel
 Click to rate
Saxmundham, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEW

We got a really good deal on travelzoo for 3 nights. We were visiting family in the area. The hotel is nicely situated. Staff were a bit sparse tbh but those we saw/spoke to were lovely and friendly. Our room was fine and clean. Bathroom well equipped with a beautiful shower. However, we reported quietly that a bedside light was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank val f
Porto, Portugal
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Nice bar area and nice room but staff service was not great. Ran out of all prosecco for our celebration meal - they were advertising buy one, get one free. Dinner - one order was wrong, drinks took ages to arrive, complicated way to make everyone pay for their advertised offer. Toilet was not working in friends room - they...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 979robg
Samlesbury
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

What an excellent hotel! We arrived at just before 1pm and on our booking it said our room wouldn't be ready until 3pm, but the staff already had our room ready and waiting so we could change ready for the wedding we were attending. The staff on reception were most helpful and friendly! The room was spacious and had a...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank AymieRae
Hayley L, Hotel Manager at The BEST WESTERN PLUS Samlesbury Hotel, responded to this review

Dear AymieRae Thank you for the lovely review. I was delighted to read that you found our reception team friendly and that the early check-in gave you plenty of time to get ready for the wedding that you were attending. Thank you for sharing your experience, I hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back very soon....

ST. HELENS
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

We chose to stay at the Salmesbury Hotel as our friends were having their wedding at a venue close by and this hotel seemed to offer the nicest, closest and best value for money accomodation. Unfortunately we were left wanting by the customer service we recieved. The room was clean, comfortable and good for what we paid however that's it....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kirsty_houghton10
Hayley L, Hotel Manager at The BEST WESTERN PLUS Samlesbury Hotel, responded to this review

Dear kirsty_houghton10 Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I am sorry that your recent stay did not live up to expectations and apologise for the problem with your evening meal. I would appreciate the opportunity to speak to you about your experience, I can be contacted on 01772 868000 and my direct email is hayley.lane@squirehotels.co.uk, I...

Northwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We booked this hotel through trip advisor end of Feb for an overnight stay in March. Booking was easy and received confirmation email of one standard double room. Turned up on the day to be told by a very inefficient trainee that I had booked two rooms with interconnecting door. Showed him the email on my phone to show the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Malcolm C
United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We booked an offer for two nights B&B, one dinner and a bottle of wine and were really pleased with it. We found the staff to be friendly and helpful and the food really good. The service for dinner was a bit slow and on the second morning we went for breakfast after a coach load had just eaten and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sheils6
Hayley L, Hotel Manager at The BEST WESTERN PLUS Samlesbury Hotel, responded to this review

Dear sheils6 Thank you for your lovely review. I was delighted to read that you found our staff friendly and helpful, the food good and your room comfortable. Pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit to Brockhole Nature Reserve, our staff are always happy to give suggestions and directions to places of interest. I hope that we will have...

Preston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel when you walk is has been beautifully refurbished. We turned up for Afternoon Tea for mothers day and sadly the service was extremely poor. The lady that greeted us was extremely confusing. Our table was not ready despite many empty tables, we then went to the bar where we had to wait for 5 minutes for someone to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sarahjs2
Hayley L, Hotel Manager at The BEST WESTERN PLUS Samlesbury Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sarahjs2 I am so sorry that your recent visit for afternoon tea was such a disappointment. Please accept my sincere apology for the failure of my team to satisfactorily cater for the special dietary requirements of a member of your group. I would appreciate the opportunity to speak to you about your experience, I can be contacted on 01772...

Chorley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Very poor service, never any staff around! The afternoon tea stand was very poor, a couple of finger sandwiches and cakes! Would not recommend this. Lovely hotel with a lot of potential, needs someone to bring some new ideas into it.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank EstelleHP96
Hayley L, Hotel Manager at The BEST WESTERN PLUS Samlesbury Hotel, responded to this review

Dear EstelleHP96 I am so sorry that your recent visit for afternoon tea was such a disappointment. As can be seen from other reviews we receive many positive comments regarding our friendly and attentive staff and the standard of the food served. I would appreciate the opportunity to speak to you about your experience, I can be contacted on 01772...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Although the hotel wouldn't be classed as in the best of locations i.e. Just off the motorway and situated on a busy junction...when you enter the hotel itself it doesn't disappoint. We were allocated a superior room facing the back of the hotel with very nice views! We had a few extra facilities in a very comfortable, quiet room. We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kathleen d
Hayley L, Hotel Manager at The BEST WESTERN PLUS Samlesbury Hotel, responded to this review

Dear kathleen d Thank you so much for the lovely review. I was delighted to read that you found our staff friendly, your room comfortable and the food served in our restaurant excellent. I look forward to welcoming you back very soon. Best wishes Hayley

Porthmadog, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The hotel is ideally located for travellers to Preston and Blackburn or as a break to a long journey on the M6. The rooms are small but on the plus side have very comfortable beds. I only dined in the bar area but the food was of good quality and the menu presented plenty of choice. If I was to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank urry2016
Hayley L, Hotel Manager at The BEST WESTERN PLUS Samlesbury Hotel, responded to this review

Dear urry2016 Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for sharing your experience. I hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future. Best wishes Hayley

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

409 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (157)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (25)
Viewed
Dining (45)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (68)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (224)
Viewed
Amenities (77)
Viewed
Double Room (25)
Viewed
Executive Suite (39)
Viewed
Dining (27)
Viewed
Single Room (26)
Viewed
The Hotel (30)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Samlesbury
1.6 mi away
Macdonald Tickled Trout Hotel
1.1 mi away
Good Night Inns Boddington Arms Hotel
2.6 mi away
Stanley House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Millstone at Mellor
Millstone at Mellor
#2 of 4 in Blackburn
418 reviews
5.5 mi away
Preston Marriott Hotel
Preston Marriott Hotel
#6 of 15 in Preston
915 reviews
7.0 mi away
Barton Grange Hotel
Barton Grange Hotel
#5 of 15 in Preston
606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Family Rooms
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This brand new 4-star hotel offers style and luxury, free WIFI and free car parking. Located just off junction 31 of the M6, the Samlesbury Hotel has easy access to Preston, Blackburn, Manchester, Liverpool, Blackpool & the Lake District. Each one of our beautifully designed 80 bedrooms feature a flat-screen smart TV with Freeview and an invigorating power shower. There is 24-hour room service available. Merchants Bar & Grill serves fine local cuisine and offers great-value seasonal dishes with a surprising twist. Pop in for a coffee break, meeting or morning tea. We offer a wide selection of drinks and cocktails in a relaxed setting. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The BEST WESTERN PLUS Samlesbury Hotel

Address: Preston New Road, Samlesbury PR5 0UL, England (Formerly Hotel Preston)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Samlesbury
Price Range: $72 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The BEST WESTERN PLUS Samlesbury Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The BEST WESTERN PLUS Samlesbury Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from The BEST WESTERN PLUS Samlesbury Hotel staff and other travelers.
9 questions
Ask a question
Blackburn, United Kingdom
11 months ago
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Exeter, United Kingdom
10 months ago
Leigh, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from The BEST WESTERN PLUS Samlesbury Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“reasonable room but charged twice!”
malcolmc180, 1 week ago | Read review
“All rooms quiet due to double glazing”
Gwil186233, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“All rooms and public areas appear to be of the same and similar high standard.”
Doyen121, 4 weeks ago | Read review
“The room was on the north west which was quieter”
F586HLangelas, Feb 19, 2017 | Read review
“DON'T GO - You'll be badly disappointed!”
ak872, Jan 28, 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question