We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

The White Cliffs Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The White Cliffs Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

247 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 232: English reviews
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

very nice hotel, with nice bar and restaurant, plenty of free parking in either the courtyard at the front or the car park at the rear, clean, all the usual facilities, tea coffee, hair dryer, water, biscuits, shower gel shampoo, plenty of towels, extra blanket etc, but one of the only hotels I've stayed in that provides an iron and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Markramt
Broadstairs, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here recently. The bedroom was spacious but not worth £150. We ordered a sandwich lunch at the bar which took 40 minutes to arrive. We had asked for a specific table for dinner not realising there was no definition between bar meals and dinner - the requested table was occupied. There are an incredible number of tables crowded into... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Gourmet16
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Located within walking distance of the Cliffs - about 10 minutes downhill. Quaint and comfortable. Slightly difficult to get to the room up the stairs with luggage. Nice area to relax near the lobby area.

Helpful?
Thank JTKinSATX
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This B&B came highly recommended by Fodors over other hotels and B&Bs within that area. We only stayed here for one night. Our suite was at the side of the road, and honestly quite noisy at night due to the cars passing by - who would have thought the road would be busy even at night here near the White... More 

Helpful?
Thank ShelShel1018
Walletts, Manager at The White Cliffs Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we will take a good look at our housekeeping checklist for our family apartments in order to ensure the kitchens are checked adequately. Our family apartments are booked for Bed & Breakfast, though are suitable for Self-Catering but kitchens are rarely used as most guests take advantage of complimentary breakfast and have dinner in The... More 

Rotterdam, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
142 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Where to start? Well, perhaps at the booking? Via booking.com in january - and when I didn't get a confirmation of the hotel itself, I emailed them two days later about this and no reply. So I called. And yes, they did get the booking but forgot to confirm. After the call I did get the confirmation with the price... More 

Helpful?
Thank Wil283
Walletts, Manager at The White Cliffs Hotel, responded to this review

When booking through Booking.com guests will receive an email confirmation directly from Booking.com, we do not send further emails so we did not forget to confirm. This is an automated booking system which we have used for many years. Our reception desk is not manned 24 hours a day, there is always members of the team around from 7am until... More 

Bury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This was our 4th stay here. We were given a family room in the mews which was lovely and we wished we had longer than one night. The room was very comfortable and the teapigs tea was a lovely touch. Food was amazing as ever with a lovely breakfast.

Helpful?
Thank KylieHodges_11
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The room that was booked was above the main building, unlike the last four visits, which were in a purpose built block adjacent to it. To 'cut to the chase' I politely asked a member of staff, and I was very polite, because from previous experience, they are slightly detached. I noticed that there were two other bedrooms, larger, and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Emma C
Walletts, Manager at The White Cliffs Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your review Emma. Occasionally we have guests arrive quite late (or even early the next morning or sometimes not at all) due to our location close to the port of Dover with its transport issues. We think this may have been the case on this occasion as ordinarily if we can offer a larger room or an upgrade... More 

Here
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We spent a week at the White Cliffs following a wedding. The food is very good and although the menu is not very extensive everything was prepared using good quality ingredients - the Romney Marsh lamb with samphire and potatoes was excellent. The breakfast choice was also excellent ranging from a top notch full english (proper sausages and black pudding)... More 

Helpful?
Thank MrLpHH
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2016

We had a very pleasant stay here during the hottest 2 days so far this year. The bedrooms were rather warm, but that was hardly their fault and we weren't complaining about the weather! The beds were very comfortable, both rooms were a decent size and the bathrooms were fine, although the shower could be fitted higher up the wall... More 

Helpful?
Thank Hilary F
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
148 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2016

What a disappointment. I can only imagine that the room rates at this hotel are reflective of the fact that there is little if no other accommodation in the very beautiful area i.e. no competition - it seriously needs some. The White Cliffs Hotel looks great in the photographs - the reality is, in fact, a building and decor that... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Anita T
Walletts, Owner at The White Cliffs Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your helpful review, we like to be kept on our toes. We're constantly redecorating the place, in fact the mews has just been fully painted and looks lovely and bright and fresh now. The main building is a traditional wooden weather-boarded structure and due to our coastal location is fully redecorated every five years. It is up for... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

87 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (44)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
3:15
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (43)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Margaret's at Cliffe
0.6 mi away
Wallett's Court Hotel
Wallett's Court Hotel
#1 of 2 in St Margaret's at Cliffe
4.0 of 5 stars 386 reviews
3.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Dover Marina Hotel & Spa
3.0 mi away
Premier Inn Dover Central (Eastern Ferry Terminal) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Loddington House
Loddington House
#8 of 11 in Dover
4.5 of 5 stars 111 reviews
2.0 mi away
Premier Inn Dover East Hotel
3.8 mi away
Ramada Dover
Ramada Dover
#1 of 1 in Whitfield
3.5 of 5 stars 733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Food & drink at the hotel
The Cliffe Kitchen at The White Cliffs Hotel
The Cliffe Kitchen at The White Cliffs Hotel
Cuisines: Pub, British, Gastropub, Bar
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The White Cliffs Hotel is set in the heart of the picturesque village of St. Margaret's-at-Cliffe under a mile from the beautiful beach at St. Margaret's Bay in celebrated White Cliffs Country. This is the closest hotel in England to the coast of France at Calais 21 miles away and is just seven minutes drive from the port and Cruise Terminal at Dover. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The White Cliffs Hotel

Address: High Street, St Margaret's at Cliffe, Dover CT15 6AT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Dover > St Margaret's at Cliffe
Price Range: $153 - $233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The White Cliffs Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, LateRooms and SpeedyBooker.com so you can book your The White Cliffs Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay