We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Perivolos 84703 Greece
E-mail hotel
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.com$777
Travelocity$777
Tripadvisor$777
Hotels.com
Priceline
eDreams$775
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (110)
Room & Suite (23)
Videos (2)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#3 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Perivolos
Location
4.5
Cleanliness
4.9
Service
4.8
Value
4.3
Travelers' Choice
At the sublime junction where the black volcanic sand of Perivolos Beach meets the midnight blue waters of the Aegean Sea, one finds Santorini’s wonder - Istoria. The 12-suite retreat constitutes a new kind of hospitality for the island, where a stripped-down contemporary aesthetic animates a next-generation social hub for sophisticated travellers.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Beach
Diving
Airport transportation
Spa
Wifi
Hot tub
Pool / beach towels
Adult pool
Outdoor pool
Private pool
Plunge pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Complimentary welcome drink
Outdoor dining area
Hiking
Horseback riding
Snorkeling
Water sport equipment rentals
Car hire
Taxi service
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Full body massage
Head massage
Massage
Neck massage
Baggage storage
Concierge
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Private beach
Desk
Housekeeping
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Sofa
Telephone
Wardrobe / closet
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Minibar
Refrigerator
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Trendy
Languages Spoken
English, French, Greek

Location

Full view
72Somewhat walkable
Grade: 72 out of 100
15Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
1Attractionwithin 0.3 miles
73Reviews2Q+A11Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 67
  • 3
  • 2
  • 0
  • 1
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
StephMoffat wrote a review Jul 3
3 contributions
+1
We stayed at Istoria for 5 nights. The hotel is a beautiful paradise. The rooms, restaurant, pool etc are impeccably clean and beautifully presented. The staff at the hotel from poolside, breakfast, front desk and the manager are all welcoming friendly and attentive. The hotel manager Greg makes an effort to welcome and talk to all guests and genuinely cares if people are happy and having a great stay. The breakfast is epic. The quality, choice and the team make it a lovely start to every day. The pool and private beach are the best place to wind away the day in a relaxed environment. The hotel is like a quiet sanctuary amongst a little beachside area of bars and restaurants which are all great to try and some lovely walks I would 100% return and recommend anyone who is considering to go!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Breakfast is epic. Try different things everyday because it’s all amazing.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Greg Psillakis, General Manager at Istoria Hotel
Responded 2 days ago
Dear StephMoffat, Thank you so much for taking the time to share you experience at Istoria. We are thrilled to read that you enjoyed our breakfast options as we tried very hard in creating unique flavors that are also very healthy and tasty! a perfect way to start your day indeed! And thank you so much for your kind words regarding our team here. We always try our utmost to not only meet our Guests expectations, but to exceed them and to read such comments is the real reward for us here! We hope you have a great remaining summer and we very much hope to welcome you back to Istoria! Warmest regards, The Istoria Family
Read more
Anna R wrote a review Aug 2020
Ingleby Barwick, United Kingdom11 contributions21 helpful votes
Property's Favorite Review
This hotel was like a little piece of paradise. All of the staff could not have been more welcoming, friendly and helpful. The pool is every bit as amazing as it looks. The breakfast is very enjoyable and the private beach is well maintained. I have never stayed in a hotel where the rooms have been cleaned so well - this may sound like a strange comment, but the lady who cleaned our room was so thorough. When we booked, we were a little unsure of staying on this side of the island but on reflection it was perfect. We had a couple of days out on excursions to Fira / Oia so we watched the sunset, experienced the white buildings but enjoyed heading back to and having a beach available every day. Thankyou for such an enjoyable trip.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from George Laounaros, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Istoria Hotel
Responded Sep 13, 2020
Dear Anna and Paul, Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback about your stay at Istoria. I will be sure to let our staff know how much of an impact they made on your experience especially our housekeping team! I am pleased to hear that you find our location to your liking. We hope to welcome you back again soon. Best George Laounaros and Istoria Team
Read more
Mary C wrote a review Jul 1
Dallas, Texas13 contributions3 helpful votes
This boutique Hotel is awesome! The staff at Istoria were remarkable. They acquainted us with the island and insisted they make all our dinner reservations as well as taxi service. They also phoned and confirmed with our airport driver all the details. We were able to get the best seat at a very popular restaurant that otherwise would not have happened. The location is perfect for a beach destination. We have never had such personal attention and hands on planning from a Hotel. The rooms were lovely as well.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Greg Psillakis, General Manager at Istoria Hotel
Responded 4 days ago
Dear MaryC, Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience at Istoria. We take great pride in reading that you were happy with our services our team offers!! Thank you once again and we hope you have a great remaining summer and we are very much looking forward to welcoming you once again to Istoria!! Warmest regards, The Istoria Family
Read more
Sebastian Brown wrote a review Jun 2022
Totnes, United Kingdom1 contribution
+1
We just returned from a wonderful holiday at the Istoria. We wanted somewhere by the beach to relax in Santorini and it was perfect. Although Perivolos beach has a lot going on just up/down the road, the Istoria is quiet. The pool is amazing and the food is fantastic. But the people make it such a special place . From the moment you walk in to the moment you leave, everyone says hello, knows who you are, are helpful and friendly. For Santorini, it’s perfect. Oia and Fira are just so busy and there are no beaches there. You can get to Oia and Fira by car (20-40mins) or to the caldera by boat (hire one from outside the hotel). So you can see these places easily from Istoria, and taxis that the hotel organise can bring you back late after a meal etc. Then, when you don’t want to travel, you can sit by the beach or the pool. Small tip- the walk to Ancient Thira is great but do it early before it gets hot. And not when it’s closed (I think this was Wednesday…when we went!). Finally- thank you to all the staff there for making such an enjoyable holiday. And thanks to greg, the Manager, who nearly drove us to the airport after our transfer let us down. See you again.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: The hotel can organise transfers. It’s much better than getting BA to do it!
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Greg Psillakis, General Manager at Istoria Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Mr. Brown, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Istoria. We are all very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and with the level of service we provide as we take great pride of hidden jewel! We hope you have a great remaining summer and we very much look forward to welcoming you again! The Istoria Family
Read more
Caroline W wrote a review May 2022
Broadway, United Kingdom15 contributions4 helpful votes
Beautiful hotel, stunning location and the place is peaceful and calm. Food was excellent in the restaurant. The beach area was clean with towels and large comfortable beds and waiter service providing drinks and food. The pool area is exceptionally well designed with views to the mountain, soft music and excellent bar. .
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Greg Psillakis, General Manager at Istoria Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear carolinewE5476NE, Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us! We are very to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to welcome you again in the future! Warmest regards, The Istoria Family
Read more
Amy Harrison wrote a review May 2022
Kimpton, United Kingdom32 contributions5 helpful votes
We first visited Istoria in September 2020, during the height of the Pandemic. The hotel was amazing and the staff did everything they could to ensure we were happy, hence our return! On returning we were pleased to see a couple of staff members still working at Istoria, who were just as friendly and helpful. Our room was just as beautiful and the location on Perivolos Beach just the same, however some funding has gone in to improving some of the restaurants. Bonus! However, we did have some gripes on this occasion. The pool was unusable for the last two days of our stay. It was green and had items floating in it. (Images attached) this wouldnt have been a huge issue, these things happen! However, not one member of staff approached us to apologise for the pool being in a dire state and unusable (the didn’t say it was unusable, but it looked like a pond) - considering the large pool is the main reason we book this hotel, it was a big deal to us. On approaching Alex, one of the managers , to ask if it was to be improved, he laughed at me and told me ‘it has got a bit green hasn’t it. Maintenance have been called.’ Now Alex is only the Manager for Food and Beverage, so it’s not really his issue, however, an apology at this stage would have been nice. It wasn’t until the following lunch time that a lady who worked in the reception area came to apologise and offered us a free drink and snack. She told us that the manager for the hotel wanted to speak to us, however that never happened, and still no contact has been made to apologise. Alex did give us a free cocktail (also exceptionally overpriced) and we were also told we could have a free snack for the inconvenience. On one of the days we had a booking in Oia so had to get up and out, only to discover we had no water to our room. We could not shower, could not go to the toilet or clean our teeth. We called reception who chased it and called us back half an hour later to advise the water was now back on. Again, no notification (we would have got up earlier) this was happening and no apology. We had to do our day trip without showering. My other concern was with Alex (F&B manager). He is American and mentioned several times that the hotel is run by an American company. He appears to want to be everyone’s friend and several times he told us how he would never work for the company again and planned to leave in August, despite only joining the company when it opened in May. He told us how the food in the restaurant is supposed to be rated highly, but isn’t very good, and various other negative comments about the hotel and how badly it’s run were made, including ‘if only you guys new, this hotel is run so badly’ As friendly as he was, you could tell he was only 23, because that is not a way to act when you’re a manager. It put a dampener on our stay because we started identifying negative things that perhaps we didn’t realise before. The last thing that got me, was when coming to pay our bill for the week, where you also tip as you go, they had the cheek to ask for a further tip (this was shortly after poolgate also!) We wouldn’t stay at Istoria for a third time. I am unsure if that’s because we have seen enough of Santorini as a whole or because our experience wasn’t as special this time, despite paying more. We don’t feel like any apology was genuine and it was just being done because we’d made a slight fuss along with some other guests. I sound like I am moaning about minor issues, however, we paid a lot of money to stay at Istoria.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Greg Psillakis, General Manager at Istoria Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Essextoeverywhere, Thank you for taking the time to share you experience with us as it helps us to constantly improve our services. To start off, we would like to apologize on behalf of our colleague. The last thing we wish if for our Guests stay to be dampened or inconvenienced in any way. Behavior such as what you have mentioned is indeed far from acceptable for any member of staff, much less Management. Regarding the pool kindly note that there was a technical issue and we were expecting a part to be delivered which was also delayed. It's no excuse in any way however sometimes we to depend on others to deliver in order for us to have our premises in pristine order. Regarding the water, kindly note that our water reservoir was being replenished and on occasion the water supply might momentarily cease. We hope you have a great remaining summer and to welcome you once more to Istoria! Kind regards, The Istoria Family
Read more
janewells53 wrote a review May 2022
london2 contributions
I loved the hotel room! I didn't like how the hotel was on a main road and I wasn't a massive fan of the town. The room was clean and big and I liked the interiors but not sure it was worth the price.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Greg Psillakis, General Manager at Istoria Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear janewells53, Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us! We are very to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to welcome you again in the future! Warmest regards, The Istoria Family
Read more
Courtney B wrote a review May 2022
Charlotte, North Carolina3 contributions
Staying at Istoria for the end of our honeymoon was the best possible way to end our two-week vacation. The staff is incredible: over-accommodating, thoughtful, kind, and helpful to one another. Since I used to work in the service industry, my expectations are very high when it comes to customer service, and they knocked it out of the park. A few important notes: 1. They're on the opposite side of the island from the very touristy locales such as Fira and Oia. This was a HUGE positive for us, since we really like peaceful surroundings and not a city-like hustle and bustle. They set up shuttles for you to go anywhere at any time, so we got to experience Fira, Oia and the Caldera areas without a headache. Side note -- the shuttles aren't cheap, so just plan to work that into your vaca budget :) That being said, they are always on time, very fast, and luxurious. 2. The manager sets expectations with his actions. He is ALWAYS offering to help other staff members, and we saw him jump in to help out several times from afar. There's no task too big or too small for him, and that's the sign of a true leader. We were really impressed by the attitude and willingness to help the staff do their best work -- it truly affects your stay and will make it even better! 3. The WHOLE team is thoughtful, kind and engaging, and they will 100% go the extra mile to make sure your stay is perfect. Everyone we encountered gave off a warm and inviting vibe. 4. The food and drinks are fantatstic, although the mixed cocktails are fairly pricy (so plan for that too!). We were really impressed by every meal. 5. Last but certainly not least, the decor, ambiance and design are just amazing. I have high expectations for this as well (my husband is much less picky - ha!) but wow. Just wow. Five stars all around. Needless to say, we will be back! Thank you Istoria team for an incredible stay.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: Any room you choose would be fantastic, but we were on our honeymoon so we opted for the Storia...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Greg Psillakis, General Manager at Istoria Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear CBensinger, Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us! We are very to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to welcome you again in the future! Warmest regards, The Istoria Family
Read more
marya009 wrote a review Sep 2021
Charlotte, North Carolina26 contributions44 helpful votes
Our stay at Istoria was truly memorable for various reasons. Anastasia at the front desk was amazing! She knew who we were before we even arrived and that made us feel truly special! She was always happy to help and we appreciated that. The location is perfect, right across from Perivolos Beach and guests of Istoria got to have the first row of beach chairs complete with beach service! The black sand was hot but the beach was great! Our room was so cute and modern but with a old stable twist. The amenities was top notch and turn down service was also included. The hotel was also on the main drag in Perivolos but not noisy at all and walking distance to restaurants. It had a very bohemian chill vibe that we appreciated after our first night in Santorini, in Fira which was wayyyy too noisy. You don't have the caldera views but it was also nice to see this part of the island.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Greg Psillakis, General Manager at Istoria Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear marya009, Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us! We are very to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to welcome you again in the future! Warmest regards, The Istoria Family
Read more
Clare F wrote a review Sep 2021
7 contributions2 helpful votes
The Istoria is a charming little, modern hotel situated in a quiet part of a long tourist beach. Our room, Saga suite, was wonderful, looking out onto both sides of the hotel, one drawback being it looked onto the next door hotel where there were children playing in the pool. The staff were wonderful, so friendly and helpful. Alexandra and Peter were especially helpful recommending good places to eat and the best areas to visit during our short visit. If you are interested in the history of the island book a tour of the Minoan town with Eugenia. She gives a fascinating history of the island and this huge ruined town, though it is an expensive tour. We cannot recommend this hotel highly enough and would definitely go back.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: The upper floor had pleasant views
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Greg Psillakis, General Manager at Istoria Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
DearclarefO32HY, Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us! We are very to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to welcome you again in the future! Warmest regards, The Istoria Family
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$479 - $830 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
GreeceSouth AegeanCycladesSantoriniPerivolos
NUMBER OF ROOMS
12
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Istoria Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Istoria Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Perivolos Beach (0.1 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Istoria Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Istoria Hotel?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Istoria Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Istoria Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Istoria Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Sea View Restaurant Perivolos, Margarita, and Aegean Safran.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Istoria Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Istoria Hotel have airport transportation?
Yes, Istoria Hotel offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Istoria Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Istoria Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, French, and Greek.
Are there any historical sites close to Istoria Hotel?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Ancient Thera (1.4 miles) and Windmills of Emporio (1.5 miles).