We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Barnsdale Hall Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Barnsdale Hall Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

717 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 715: English reviews
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Stunning hotel and location. We stayed here as it was close to barnsdale gardens , and we are so glad we did. We picked the hottest days of the year to come but still enjoyed our stay. Our room was a double room with a walled balcony which we glad we had as we could leave the sliding doors open... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dawn00723
barnsdalehallhotel, Manager at Barnsdale Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the excellent review that you have posted and I am delighted that everything went well with your stay - I cannot control the weather. I hope we will be able to welcome you back to the resort in the near future More 

Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Booked a "Honeymoon Room" at only "£160" per night, a large room with old furniture, mustard carpet, grey walls and maroon and cream curtains which were obviously chosen by someone who was colour blind, luxury it was certainly not and the bed was certainly past it's best. The staff were very pleasant and breakfast was good albeit a 200 yard... More 

Helpful?
Thank mcasson1945
barnsdalehallhotel, Manager at Barnsdale Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review and I am sorry to the hotel did not come up to your expectations. We have a constant refurbishment programme ongoing in the hotel. Unfortunately some colour schemes date much quicker than we can renew them. Unfortunately the hotel was built on the hillside in order that we could maximize... More 

Travelers are raving about these Barnsdale hotels

Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

The hotel looks grander than it is. Rooms are dated and as a smaller person I had to crouch in the shower, so tall people would have an issue! Bar closed early, and again decorations were dated. Breakfast was ok, nothing too special

Helpful?
1 Thank Cloe S
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

I booked in for 1 night in a deluxe room during september. My stay was purely for business purposes and not for enjoyment of the surrounding area of rutland. What took me by surprise is the lack of parking close to the main hall reception. I was left with parking down a side hill with a clamber up with my... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank James_Lincoln
barnsdalehallhotel, Manager at Barnsdale Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your stay with us. I am sorry that you had trouble finding a parking space but it is not possible to provide a space for each room. As per our website it does specify that the resort is hill and has a lot of steps unfortunately this is due... More 

Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Three friends and I stayed at the Barnsdale Hall Hotel while we were attending the Burghley Horse Trials. We booked 2 twin rooms. The room I was in was very small and was extremely warm with no working cooling unit. Thankfully, there was a fan in the closet which helped a bit along with opening a window. Our room had... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Jcw174
barnsdalehallhotel, Manager at Barnsdale Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay at our hotel and I am sorry that it did not meet your expectations. Unfortunately when the hotel was built heating/air conditioning was not included and it would be difficult to install now. I am also sorry that the food did not meet your expectations and will... More 

Sedgefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
153 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We took advantage of an inexpensive, on-line offer to visit Barnsdale Hall en-route for a break in Suffolk. At £75 for BandB and a double room, we didn’t think we could complain but, on advice from a helpful young man on reception, we opted to pay an extra £20 for an upgrade to a larger room with a balcony overlooking... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank ashovercouple
barnsdalehallhotel, Manager at Barnsdale Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review and I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel. I am delighted that you took advantage of the upgrade which was suggested to you. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future More 

Liverpool
Level Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We booked a room at the Barnsdale Hall Hotel but when arrived were directed to the Uppingham hotel an annexe to the main hall. The room was a small double as we booked but appeared dated and no view. The mattress was past its best making it a poor nights sleep. The bathroom was large and well maintained and great... More 

Helpful?
Thank madaboutcars
barnsdalehallhotel, Manager at Barnsdale Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review and I am sorry to her that certain areas of the hotel did not match your expectations. Due to the style of hotel and its location the size and views from bedrooms does vary, We operate a constant upgrade of all bedrooms including the mattresses - I am sorry that... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Excellent service at the reception (good chat with Andrew about literature - well read chap!) and a lovely time in the pool with my wife and boys. (Only quibble about the pool was that it seemed heavily chlorinated so that visibility was quite low under the water, yes with goggles!). The room (a 'Superior') was comfortable and a great size... More 

Helpful?
Thank Alex M
barnsdalehallhotel, Manager at Barnsdale Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Barnsdale. I am sorry to hear that you felt the dosing in the swimming pool was not right. This is worked on an automatic system but I will ask the leisure club manager to check More 

Stansted Mountfitchet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The hotel is set on a hillside with some spectacular views of Rutland Water. Beware: if you are infirmed - it's on a hillside - you may need to climb many steps to get about. The room we had was nice. Relatively clean and looked after. It had all the necessary accessories too. The bathroom was huge and the shower... More 

Helpful?
Thank Paul B
barnsdalehallhotel, Manager at Barnsdale Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the hotel and that a number of things were good. Our mattresses are renewed and turned on a regular basis I am sorry to hear about your experience for the evening meal however I am delighted that your experience at breakfast was much better. It is not possible to... More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Just arrived at Barnsdale Hall Hotel and Spa to be greet by an extremely rude receptionist who felt it appropriate to say they have to be careful as I could just be trying to pinch from the apartments. My partner has been here since Wednesday working at Burghley Horse Trials. We stay many places throughout the UK and I have... More 

Helpful?
5 Thank Fiaraidh
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

231 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (216)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (79)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
View from Room (24)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (82)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barnsdale
0.5 mi away
Barnsdale Lodge Hotel and Restaurant
0.8 mi away
Hambleton Hall
Hambleton Hall
#1 of 1 in Hambleton
4.5 of 5 stars 460 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Old Wisteria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Brook Whipper-In Hotel
2.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Normanton Park Hotel
6.1 mi away
Lake Isle Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Spa
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Food & drink at the hotel
Brasserie Restaurant
Brasserie Restaurant
Cuisines: British, French
Things to do
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Tennis Court
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Concierge
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
With this unique setting, personal charm, character, and friendly but attentive personnel, Barnsdale Hall Hotel is the perfect venue whatever your occasion may be. Extensive spa and leisure facilities makes it a haven in which to retreat, relax and unwind. With its breathtaking views of the natural splendours of Rutland Water where better to hold your wedding reception, corporate event, or a romantic getaway for two?Set in conservation parkland on the slopes overlooking Rutland Water, Barnsdale Hall Hotel is one of the most unusual and comprehensive hotel complexes in the United Kingdom. This makes it an ideal location for corporate business, conference and leisure pastimes. With a rich and varied range of things to do on and off site there is, we believe, no better position in which to be located in this country. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Barnsdale Hall Hotel

Address: Stamford Road | Nr Oakham, Barnsdale, Oakham LE15 8AB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Rutland > Oakham > Barnsdale
Price Range: $96 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Barnsdale Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Barnsdale Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barnsdale Hall Oakham
Hotel Barnsdale Hall
Barnsdale Hall Hotel Rutland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay