We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Barnsdale Hall Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Barnsdale Hall Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

700 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 698: English reviews
Grantham
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

Having heard that Barnsdale Hall Hotel was a good place to stay we thought we would give it a go. We were pleased to get a very good deal on a one night stay with breakfast staying in one of the honeymoon suites. The room was big with a 4 poster bed and huge bathroom. We explored the whole complex... More 

Helpful?
Thank RedIMPoster
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Stayed one night in a standard double room, facing inland, so no view of Rutland Water. Room very nice, clean, tidy, with a very large, modern, bathroom - enough room to swing a cat (not provided)! The only downside in the room, that we could see, was that the windows could not be put on "trickle", so it was wide... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank MartElai
barnsdalehallhotel, Manager at Barnsdale Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you so much for your glowing report of your recent stay with us here. I am very glad you enjoyed your stay and would like to suggest that next time you try to book a superior room to enjoy those lovely views of the water. I do hope to see you return in the near future. More 

Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Set on a hill with a view of Rutland Water, this is a nice place to stay, which in my case was for one night on a business trip. Lots of people were seemingly having a lovely time. The quirks: - bath is on a pedestal, so a bit of a clamber in/out - headroom in shower (over bath) is... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank This_is_Nick_Ward
barnsdalehallhotel, Manager at Barnsdale Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I am sorry you encountered some quirks during your visit to us. We are undergoing a refurbishment of all our bathrooms where we are looking where possible at the headroom for the showers. We do offer skimmed milk at breakfast but it is by request only. I am surprised to hear about the bar meal as I can... More 

Kent, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

I visited for the day with friends and our Grandchildren to use swimming facilities and have lunch. We had to wait over twenty minutes before we could enter the pool due to numbers, yet when entering the pool it was not busy. I understand about health and safety but I believe the majority were in the changing room and not... More 

Helpful?
Thank cherylmutch1

Travelers are raving about these Barnsdale hotels

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Hired 2 timeshare units at the bottom of the hill overlooking the lake so had beautiful views. The units were both clean and well furnished but could do with Wi-Fi, outdoor seat cushions. The sport facilities are varied and mainly free, however with these being part of the Leisure Club the swimming pool complex was often very busy. We ate... More 

Helpful?
Thank crbarton
barnsdalehallhotel, Manager at Barnsdale Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay in one of our Lodges. I do admit that we have a very busy Leisure Centre especially during the summer months, but I am glad you did get to use the facilities. I am surprised to hear your comments concerning the staff and food in the bar as we... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My wife and I visited here for a wedding, the venue and the staff were very nice however the food was disappointing, there was no salad garnish on the prawn starter and no extra sauce came out for the main (there must have been 2 table spoons of sauce on the plate) the dessert was ok but not great. Hog... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dave S
Wellingborough, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed in a twin room with my daughter. The room was a decent size but could do with modernising, especially the furniture. The bathroom has been modernised and was lovely, plenty of hot water. The surroundings are lovely and the facilities are good. We had treatments in the spa and they were very good. The food at breakfast was ok,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Karen B
barnsdalehallhotel, Manager at Barnsdale Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your kind comments regarding your recent stay with us. We are undergoing a refurbishment program in the Hotel and I am glad you have seen the results of this with your bathroom. I would like to point out that we do not serve tinned mushrooms and they are freshly cooked on site each morning. I... More 

Durham
Level Contributor
57 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The pictures on the site are very misleading. This place really needs a vast amount of money spending to bring up to any standard. Layer after layer of paint that's now yellow on all woodwork and wallpaper peeling all over. I'll not be booking back into here. On a positive the staff were pleasant and its cheap(ish).

Helpful?
Thank Geoff77
barnsdalehallhotel, Manager at Barnsdale Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I am sorry to read your comments about our decor in the Hotel. We have a rolling refurbishment programme that is ongoing and you can see the results of this from some of the pictures on the website. However we do have pictures on of our unfurbished rooms as well. I can assure you that our painter and... More 

Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Me and my partner came for a night. It wasn't too expensive at £148 but I felt like it was a bit lacking for the price. The room was bog standard and the breakfast included wasn't fantastic quality. The deal was worth it because of the quality of the surroundings. The views and the local area are so so good,... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank palmerspeace
barnsdalehallhotel, Manager at Barnsdale Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I am sorry to read your comments about our decor in the Hotel. We have a rolling refurbishment programme that is ongoing and you can see the results of this from some of the pictures on the website. However we do have pictures on of our unfurbished rooms as well. We thank you for your comments and hope... More 

Guildford UK
Level Contributor
81 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

What a shame that such a nice house has been effectively turned into a holiday camp. Booked at last minute and got the honeymoom suite! If it had been my honeymoon I would have very disappointed. Restaurant is a way from the main house up steep steps and is in itself a disappointment. Only saving grace really were the spa... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank DL_ALB
barnsdalehallhotel, Manager at Barnsdale Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your comments regarding your stay here with us. I do apologise that you did not see from our website that we state that the Restaurant and Bars are in a different building to the Hotel and that we are built on the slopes leading down to Rutland water. I'm very pleased however to read your... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

227 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (212)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (79)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
View from Room (24)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (78)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barnsdale
0.5 mi away
Barnsdale Lodge Hotel and Restaurant
0.8 mi away
Hambleton Hall
Hambleton Hall
#1 of 1 in Hambleton
4.5 of 5 stars 454 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Old Wisteria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Brook Whipper-In Hotel
2.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Normanton Park Hotel
6.1 mi away
Lake Isle Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Spa
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Food & drink at the hotel
Brasserie Restaurant
Brasserie Restaurant
Cuisines: British, French
Things to do
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Tennis Court
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Concierge
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
With this unique setting, personal charm, character, and friendly but attentive personnel, Barnsdale Hall Hotel is the perfect venue whatever your occasion may be. Extensive spa and leisure facilities makes it a haven in which to retreat, relax and unwind. With its breathtaking views of the natural splendours of Rutland Water where better to hold your wedding reception, corporate event, or a romantic getaway for two?Set in conservation parkland on the slopes overlooking Rutland Water, Barnsdale Hall Hotel is one of the most unusual and comprehensive hotel complexes in the United Kingdom. This makes it an ideal location for corporate business, conference and leisure pastimes. With a rich and varied range of things to do on and off site there is, we believe, no better position in which to be located in this country. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Barnsdale Hall Hotel

Address: Stamford Road | Nr Oakham, Barnsdale, Oakham LE15 8AB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Rutland > Oakham > Barnsdale
Price Range: $87 - $194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Barnsdale Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Barnsdale Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barnsdale Hall Oakham
Hotel Barnsdale Hall
Barnsdale Hall Hotel Rutland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay