We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Copthorne Hotel & Resort Solway Park, Wairarapa

230 High Street, Masterton 5840, New Zealand
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
More options
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Show Prices
Close 
  • Aratoi Museum of Art and History
    2.5 mi
  • 4 star hotel
  • Free Wifi
Reviewed yesterday
Comfortable and relaxing
Stayed here for three days as part of a conference. Staff were... more
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

293 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 290: English reviews
Townsville, Australia
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Stayed here for three days as part of a conference. Staff were friendly and attentive, the setting was relaxed and the facilities fine. We only used the restaurant for conference meals but the food was also fine. Next time we will book a little extra time to take advantage of the pool, spa and golf driving range. The only downside...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank brigadier
Birchgrove, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago NEWvia mobile

Straight out of the 1960's, this asbestos masterpiece is on a busy main road. Paint peeling (hopefully not lead paint), terrible laminex everywhere, rooms are coloured a lovely mustard (reminiscent of new born baby's first passings). Beds are sloppy and soft, bathroom terrible. No aircon, only fans. Kitchenette reminds me of my dementia aunt's hospice. How can this be a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Boodar
SolwayPark, Sales & Marketing Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Solway Park, Wairarapa, responded to this review

Hi Boodar, Thank you so much for taking the time to put a review on TripAdvisor. We are sorry to hear you did not have a great experience with us. These apartment rooms are not available online and they are not advertised as we do advise all guest wanting to book these rooms when they make a call to our...

rotorua
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Visiting Masterton after 10 years was enlightening, however, one of the highlights was staying at the Copthorne Hotel in Solway.Park. An extremely pleasant night was spent there in pleasant surroundings. The restaurant was 'top class' with tasty cuisine and courteous service. The accommodation was excellent and all in all our stay there was most accommodating. Would highly recommend it to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bakoRotorua
SolwayPark, Reception Team Leader at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Solway Park, Wairarapa, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are so glad to hear that you had an wonderful stay at our establishment and enjoyed our Restaurant The Grill. Our hotel aims to provide a pleasant experience for all our guests and we are happy to meet your expectations. We are looking forward to welcoming you back in...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Wifey and I stayed here for a couple of nights while we checked out the local mountain biking trails. We opted for a superior room and first booked for one night. The first room was excellent, spacious and nice with a comfy bed. We decided to go back the next night, but the room we were given on the second...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tony P
SolwayPark, Reception Team Leader at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Solway Park, Wairarapa, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are thrilled that you enjoyed our superior room and were pleased with your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Christchurch
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We picked the Solway because it has a pool and looked to be great for families. It was perfect for our family of 4. Two pools, tennis court, games room, and great family restaurant. Very nice and quiet and clean and tidy, we would definitely stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dunnos
SolwayPark, Reception Team Leader at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Solway Park, Wairarapa, responded to this review

Thank you kindly for taking the time to write a review. We are delighted your family enjoyed our various range of facilities we have at our establishment. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Cambridge, New Zealand
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

27th Dec 2016 we stayed 1 night in a so called "Superior" room which was far from superior in size, comfort and decor. Paid over $250.00 so expected an excellent quality and comfortable bed, a decent size room with up to date and decor - we got non of these. Sadly the furnishings looked a bit on the not so...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jenrusty2016
SolwayPark, Sales & Marketing Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Solway Park, Wairarapa, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you so much for taking the time to put a review on TripAdvisor. We are sorry to hear you did not have a great experience with us. Unfortunately not all hotels have the same description for their rooms. The difference for our Superior rooms are instead of two queen beds you have a king size bed and the...

Hastings, New Zealand
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This girl s a great place to stay with cafe, golf driving range,gym, games room and a fantastic restaurant providing excellent meals all day. There is something for everyone but the decor is getting a little tired and needs an overhaul.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mark152014
SolwayPark, Reception Team Leader at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Solway Park, Wairarapa, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review Mark. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us here at the Hotel and that you enjoyed the variety of facilities on-site. We value your feedback as it helps us to evaluate and improve. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in...

Reviewed December 19, 2016 via mobile

So unprofessional and lost minded staff I work in a hotel and I know how it works and I was so disappointed regarding front desk service. They have no clue what their are doing at work finally I've got my money back after 9 days. No sense of urgency was waiting in the restaurant from 7am for my room to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sagar N
SolwayPark, Sales & Marketing Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Solway Park, Wairarapa, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you so much for taking the time to put a review on TripAdvisor. We are sorry to hear you did not have a great experience with us. This year we employed new staff at the front office as some of our staff have moved on. We are still training them to be prepare in each situation. But these...

Reviewed December 10, 2016 via mobile

We stayed here after booking through booking.com. Was surprised that my credit card was charged two months after booking, yet 2 months before staying. We stayed in a superior room and was surprised at how small it was, and lacked any wow factor. The bed was comfortable and the shower was great, so not all bad.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Matt M
SolwayPark, Reception Team Leader at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Solway Park, Wairarapa, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review Matt. Our hotel aims to provide a good experience, and we are disappointed that you felt we lacked in that area. We value your feedback as it helps us to evaluate and improve. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel in the future.

Masterton, New Zealand
Reviewed December 7, 2016

We stayed at this resort due to being part of a tour group. We were advised on checkin to prebook for dinner due to its "popularity".We were quite taken aback to find that there were six people in the room that would normally seat 100.The meal was good but priced much higher than expected. The waitress appeared to be in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank johnY7566XH
SolwayPark, Reception Team Leader at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Solway Park, Wairarapa, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review John. Our hotel aims to provide a great experience, and we are disappointed that you felt the buffet breakfast was too expensive. We highly value your feedback as it helps us to evaluate and improve and hope to welcome you back to our hotel in the future.

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

91 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (35)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
2:41
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (56)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Masterton
19.6 mi away
The Martinborough Hotel
The Martinborough Hotel
#2 of 4 in Martinborough
168 reviews
1.1 mi away
Cornwall Park Motel
Cornwall Park Motel
#1 of 11 in Masterton
107 reviews
0.2 mi away
GateWay Motor Inn Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Highwayman Motel
Highwayman Motel
#6 of 11 in Masterton
62 reviews
1.1 mi away
South Park Motel
South Park Motel
#2 of 11 in Masterton
76 reviews
0.1 mi away
ASURE Masterton Motor Lodge
ASURE Masterton Motor Lodge
#5 of 11 in Masterton
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Tennis Court
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Copthorne Hotel & Resort Solway Park now holds a 4 Star Plus Qualmark rating and EnviroGold. Located in the heart of an internationally acclaimed wine region, the resort is set in 10 hectares of landscaped grounds & native bush on the outskirts of Masterton, Wairarapa's largest town. Nearby attractions include vineyards, Tui Brewery, Vintage Aviator Collection & PMB National Wildlife Centre. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel & Resort Solway Park, Wairarapa

Address: 230 High Street, Masterton 5840, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wairarapa > Masterton
Price Range: $96 - $144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Copthorne Hotel & Resort Solway Park, Wairarapa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Copthorne Hotel & Resort Solway Park, Wairarapa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Hotel And Resort Solway Park, Wairarapa
Copthorne Hotel Masterton
Masterton Solway Park
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Copthorne Hotel & Resort Solway Park, Wairarapa staff and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Copthorne Hotel & Resort Solway Park, Wairarapa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Book early online”
 of 5 bubbles bakoRotorua, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“If you want value for money don't chose this hotel”
 of 5 bubbles jenrusty2016, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“Back of resort ask for updated room”
 of 5 bubbles 63RobertM63, Dec 6, 2016 | Read review
“Recommend the Junior Suite (only $150 if you join the loyalty programme).”
 of 5 bubbles G1606YBtinas, Sep 21, 2016 | Read review
“Try to get a room that doesn't overlook the car psrk”
 of 5 bubbles Ronz142, Sep 12, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question