We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Turangi Bridge Motel

Travelers' Choice award winner
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Turangi Bridge Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

270 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Turangi Bridge Motel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 264: English reviews
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed December 10, 2016

My friend and I stayed at the Turangi Bridge Motel the nights before and after we hiked the Tongariro crossing. The motel was a good choice for this purpose. We were completely satisfied with Turangi Bridge as a motel, and we appreciated the use of the spa after our long day hiking. There was a bit of road noise; however,...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Janet W
TurangiBridge, Owner at Turangi Bridge Motel, responded to this review

Thanks very much. We hope you enjoyed the Tongariro Alpine Crossing during your stay.

Karlsruhe, Germany
Reviewed December 9, 2016

Our room was clean, good sized and comfortable. The lodge is located within walking distance of Turangi town center and next to the Turangi river with options for fishing and walking. Reasonably priced, good value for money.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NaimDiver
TurangiBridge, Owner at Turangi Bridge Motel, responded to this review

Thanks very much for your comments.

Gatineau, Canada
Reviewed December 3, 2016

Room was great, clean and big enough. Well located at 2 min from where all the shops, stores are. Down side: Internet access, although free is unbelievably sloooowww! Took me 45 minutes to upload 7 pictures about 2 membres each.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Benoît P
TurangiBridge, Owner at Turangi Bridge Motel, responded to this review

Thanks very much. We have the fastest internet Turangi has to offer. During peak times when the internet connection is being shared by over 50 people at the same time there are certainly slow periods and of course uploading is considerably slower as most of the bandwidth is reserved for downloading.

Reviewed November 24, 2016 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay. The room was clean and comfortable with all the needed amenities. The bed was a little too hard for my liking but my husband loved it. The spa pool (hot tub) was very relaxing and kept clean. The only slight disappointment was the dryer in the laundry facilities. We ran it through 3 cycles before...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ehagarty
TurangiBridge, Owner at Turangi Bridge Motel, responded to this review

Thanks very much. As soon as we were made aware of the dryer issue we had the repair team come and fix it. Sorry for your inconvenience, it's all back up and working properly now.

Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed November 15, 2016

my wife has various food allegies, so when she asked for fruit without colour for her breakfast, the hostess Kaye, found an apple, peeled and cooked it.Then she toasted our bread and wrapped the loaf with gladwrap all without being asked to. Now if thats going the extra bit we don't know what is

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John V
TurangiBridge, Owner at Turangi Bridge Motel, responded to this review

We're glad we were able to accommodate you and where we can we always look to provide the best service possible.

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed November 8, 2016

We have stayed here before because it is an ideal place when we travel with our dog. However when I commented that the $25 cost for the dog was higher than I was used to I was told that that was because they cleaned the units 'properly' after dogs had been in them. Pity then that when we got to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jo P
TurangiBridge, Owner at Turangi Bridge Motel, responded to this review

We consider our $25 pet surcharge to be very fair and reasonable. All our rooms are always "properly" cleaned. When pets have been in the rooms we strip all the bedding (blankets, duvets etc.) and have them thoroughly cleaned. The fee is to cover the additional work involved and nothing more. As we are one of the very few pet...

Hamilton, New Zealand
Reviewed October 28, 2016 via mobile

Maybe the cleaner was having a bad day,maybe even a day off. We found long black hairs in the kitchen draws and short black hairs on the bathroom cabinet! The toilet door handel was almost impossible to operate and completely impossible for someone with arthritic hands. On a positive note the internet is fast and unlimited, and the location is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Trippingaround88
TurangiBridge, Owner at Turangi Bridge Motel, responded to this review

The long and the short of it is our cleaners work very hard to maintain a high standard of cleanliness in all our rooms. On the rare occasion that something is reported amiss we do our best to fix it immediately. We also have rooms with lever action door handles rather than round ones so if you had made us...

Opotiki, New Zealand
Reviewed October 27, 2016

We wanted to stay the night but fully booked so had Dinner and drinks in bar while watching the rugby. Good Kiwi food, Good Kiwi service, Good kiwi hospitality. I have been here a number of times and have never been disappointed

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TROPICANGLER
TurangiBridge, Owner at Turangi Bridge Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for your comments and sorry we didn't have room for you that night.

Silver Spring, Maryland
Reviewed October 26, 2016 via mobile

The location is good if you like to enjoy places close for hiking. Rooms are clean and have a little kitchen set up. Food nearby is mediocre and better places to be found in Taupo. All in all an ok place to stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Heike Y
TurangiBridge, Owner at Turangi Bridge Motel, responded to this review

Location, location, location! Thanks very much for the comments though we don't agree with your comments about the Turangi restaurants. The vast majority of feedback is positive regarding the quality of the food but perhaps it was a less than great night for you.

Gloucester, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 25, 2016 via mobile

Turangi is a lot quieter than Taupo although there was a fair bit of noise from the main road that this motel sits on. The rooms are spacious and comfortable but the walls lack sound insulation. The evening meal was really excellent, the staff pleasant and the price very reasonable. Overall a good place to stop for the night.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nick_Stewart_12
TurangiBridge, Owner at Turangi Bridge Motel, responded to this review

Good to hear you had a pleasant stay. Thanks for your comments.

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

81 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (50)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (31)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Turangi
0.2 mi away
Tongariro River Motel
Tongariro River Motel
#8 of 9 in Turangi
61 reviews
21.0 mi away
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
#1 of 2 in Whakapapa
1,454 reviews
5.6 mi away
Oreti Village
Oreti Village
#7 of 9 in Turangi
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Asure Parklands Motor Lodge
0.5 mi away
Creel Lodge Motel
Creel Lodge Motel
#1 of 9 in Turangi
277 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sportsmans Lodge
Sportsmans Lodge
#4 of 9 in Turangi
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
With comfortable accommodation, New Zealand cuisine, stunning landscapes and adventure activities right on our doorstep, Turangi Bridge Motel offers everything you need for a real New Zealand holiday escape. Our Turangi accommodation provides access to the Tongariro National Park with a large selection of New Zealand adventure activities including river rafting, mountain biking, skiing, trout fishing and fly fishing, and for the keen hiker, the world famous Tongariro Crossing. We offer a New Zealand restaurant and are available as a function or wedding venue. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Turangi Bridge Motel

Address: 4600 State Highway 1 | P.O. Box 42, Turangi, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Turangi
Price Range: $76 - $96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Turangi Bridge Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Turangi Bridge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Turangi Bridge Motel staff and other travelers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Switzerland
7 months ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Turangi Bridge Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“The line of rooms facing the river probably have the nicest outlook”
 of 5 bubbles JackieC323, 1 week ago | Read review
“We stayed in Room 30 which was lovely overlooking the grass/park area to the river”
 of 5 bubbles 10LisaM22, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“We liked room 20, on the end of the river-facing building.”
  • Clean and nice inside.
  • View across the bridge from the grounds.
 of 5 bubbles RoadMode, Feb 16, 2017 | Read review
“Though quite close to Highway 1 we were not disturbed by traffic noise, our unit was quiet with a peaceful green outlook”
 of 5 bubbles SJLNJL, Feb 1, 2017 | Read review
“River side rooms have nice view.”
 of 5 bubbles takalli, Jan 8, 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question