We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Turangi Bridge Motel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Turangi Bridge Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

246 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 241: English reviews
Level Contributor
58 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay. The room was clean and comfortable with all the needed amenities. The bed was a little too hard for my liking but my husband loved it. The spa pool (hot tub) was very relaxing and kept clean. The only slight disappointment was the dryer in the laundry facilities. We ran it through 3 cycles before... More 

Helpful?
Thank ehagarty
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

my wife has various food allegies, so when she asked for fruit without colour for her breakfast, the hostess Kaye, found an apple, peeled and cooked it.Then she toasted our bread and wrapped the loaf with gladwrap all without being asked to. Now if thats going the extra bit we don't know what is

Helpful?
Thank John V
TurangiBridge, Owner at Turangi Bridge Motel, responded to this review

We're glad we were able to accommodate you and where we can we always look to provide the best service possible. More 

Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We have stayed here before because it is an ideal place when we travel with our dog. However when I commented that the $25 cost for the dog was higher than I was used to I was told that that was because they cleaned the units 'properly' after dogs had been in them. Pity then that when we got to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jo P
TurangiBridge, Owner at Turangi Bridge Motel, responded to this review

We consider our $25 pet surcharge to be very fair and reasonable. All our rooms are always "properly" cleaned. When pets have been in the rooms we strip all the bedding (blankets, duvets etc.) and have them thoroughly cleaned. The fee is to cover the additional work involved and nothing more. As we are one of the very few pet... More 

Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2016 via mobile

Maybe the cleaner was having a bad day,maybe even a day off. We found long black hairs in the kitchen draws and short black hairs on the bathroom cabinet! The toilet door handel was almost impossible to operate and completely impossible for someone with arthritic hands. On a positive note the internet is fast and unlimited, and the location is... More 

Helpful?
Thank Trippingaround88
TurangiBridge, Owner at Turangi Bridge Motel, responded to this review

The long and the short of it is our cleaners work very hard to maintain a high standard of cleanliness in all our rooms. On the rare occasion that something is reported amiss we do our best to fix it immediately. We also have rooms with lever action door handles rather than round ones so if you had made us... More 

Opotiki, New Zealand
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2016

We wanted to stay the night but fully booked so had Dinner and drinks in bar while watching the rugby. Good Kiwi food, Good Kiwi service, Good kiwi hospitality. I have been here a number of times and have never been disappointed

Helpful?
Thank TROPICANGLER
TurangiBridge, Owner at Turangi Bridge Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for your comments and sorry we didn't have room for you that night. More 

Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
172 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2016 via mobile

The location is good if you like to enjoy places close for hiking. Rooms are clean and have a little kitchen set up. Food nearby is mediocre and better places to be found in Taupo. All in all an ok place to stay.

Helpful?
Thank Heike Y
TurangiBridge, Owner at Turangi Bridge Motel, responded to this review

Location, location, location! Thanks very much for the comments though we don't agree with your comments about the Turangi restaurants. The vast majority of feedback is positive regarding the quality of the food but perhaps it was a less than great night for you. More 

Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2016 via mobile

Turangi is a lot quieter than Taupo although there was a fair bit of noise from the main road that this motel sits on. The rooms are spacious and comfortable but the walls lack sound insulation. The evening meal was really excellent, the staff pleasant and the price very reasonable. Overall a good place to stop for the night.

Helpful?
Thank Nick_Stewart_12
TurangiBridge, Owner at Turangi Bridge Motel, responded to this review

Good to hear you had a pleasant stay. Thanks for your comments. More 

1 review
Reviewed October 24, 2016

This is definitely the place to stay in Turangi. Clean comfortable accommodations, exceptional staff and excellent dining are a great example of Kiwi hospitality. The managers Kaye and Brian, and restaurant staff besides being very friendly are professional in every respect and are always on hand if needed. Housekeeping staff does excellent job and our family unit was always spotless.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ted A
TurangiBridge, Owner at Turangi Bridge Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to post a review and we're very happy you enjoyed your time with us. I'll be sure to share your comments with the staff. More 

Lake Macquarie, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 7, 2016

We stayed for 3 nights in late-Sep early-Oct. had adjoining rooms which were handy with two teenagers in tow (who definitely appreciated the surprisingly quick free wifi!). Kitchenette was pretty basic, could do with a few more cooking utensils (serrated knife, fruit knife and, stirring spoon) and towels were getting pretty thin. Great location with a real "fishing lodge" feel... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kasz40
TurangiBridge, Owner at Turangi Bridge Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for your feedback. We'll look into those towels as it sounds like some of our spa towels may have got mixed up with the room stock. More 

Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2016

We only stay for a night. Although its in a highway it was surprisingly quiet. Our room size is quite small and the layout is a bit odd but it was a clean room and we felt comfortable. If we plan to travel in the area again we will consider staying again. Thanks

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank sophiejc45
TurangiBridge, Owner at Turangi Bridge Motel, responded to this review

Thanks very much for your feedback and you're most welcome to return. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

57 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (40)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Turangi
21.0 mi away
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
#1 of 2 in Whakapapa
1,310 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tongariro River Motel
Tongariro River Motel
#8 of 9 in Turangi
54 reviews
5.7 mi away
Oreti Village
Oreti Village
#7 of 9 in Turangi
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sportsmans Lodge
Sportsmans Lodge
#5 of 9 in Turangi
105 reviews
0.5 mi away
Creel Lodge Motel
Creel Lodge Motel
#2 of 9 in Turangi
258 reviews
0.6 mi away
Asure Parklands Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
With comfortable accommodation, New Zealand cuisine, stunning landscapes and adventure activities right on our doorstep, Turangi Bridge Motel offers everything you need for a real New Zealand holiday escape. Our Turangi accommodation provides access to the Tongariro National Park with a large selection of New Zealand adventure activities including river rafting, mountain biking, skiing, trout fishing and fly fishing, and for the keen hiker, the world famous Tongariro Crossing. We offer a New Zealand restaurant and are available as a function or wedding venue. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Turangi Bridge Motel

Address: 4600 State Highway 1 | P.O. Box 42, Turangi, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Turangi
Price Range: $79 - $91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Turangi Bridge Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Turangi Bridge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Turangi Bridge Motel staff and other travelers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Switzerland
3 months ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Turangi Bridge Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“great stop on the Auckland to Wellington trip”
 of 5 bubbles 675johnv, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“Rooms set around a courtyard, the back of the site are quietest, those at the front have the best views and are closest to the river.”
 of 5 bubbles richardfP8835PD, Jun 28, 2016 | Read review
“Book ahead, normally reasonably full.”
 of 5 bubbles cobusvanvuuren, Jun 22, 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room away from the road. Ours was very quiet, sorry can't remember the room number.”
 of 5 bubbles Cleoplus, Mar 26, 2016 | Read review
“The cabins with a queen and single bed were extremely spacious.”
 of 5 bubbles 399bobp, Mar 23, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay