We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort

Save
Share
42 Mount Ave Pauanui Beach, Pauanui 3546 New Zealand
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Snaptravel
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (323)
Room & Suite (129)
Dining (48)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#2 of 2 hotels in Pauanui
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort is located at Pauanui Beach on the Coromandel Peninsula, just 1 hours 40 minutes from Auckland. This luxurious, secluded hideaway features 48 chalets set in 10 hectares of native bushland, an award winning restaurant, guest lounge and sun decks with views overlooking Pauanui and the Pacific Ocean. Facilities include a tennis court, heated swimming pool and the nearby beach has 3km of golden sand and renowned for surfing. There are many bush tracks to explore and array of activities in the Coromandel region.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Hiking
Taxi service
Valet parking
Wifi
Hot tub
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Sauna
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary instant cofffee
Complimentary tea
Special diet menus
Tennis court
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Steam room
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Room service
Safe
Telephone
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Languages Spoken
English, French, Russian, Spanish and 2 more
1070Reviews20Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 486
  • 336
  • 149
  • 64
  • 35
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
trimpork_NZ wrote a review May 2021
Auckland Central, New Zealand11 contributions3 helpful votes
Spent a few nights at the Puka Park Resort in Pauanui. The purpose of our trip was to find a place to get away from the hustle and bustle and decompress. The Puka Park Resort ticked all our boxes. Great staff (not just front of house, but everyone we interacted with), nice heated pool, and a good bar and restaurant.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
Value
Rooms
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Mareile Jerosch-Hoehn, General Manager at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
Responded May 16, 2021
Dear trimpork_NZ, wonderful! We couldn't be happier with reading you got to fully relax and be looked after. Grand Mercure Puka Park is ideal for that and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay and got to do exactly that. Thank you for your stay and for sharing your experience. Best wishes from Pauanui, Mareile Jerosch-Hoehn General Manager
Read more
John S wrote a review May 2021
Waiheke Island, New Zealand300 contributions255 helpful votes
Friendly and efficient check in staff. Large and clean room set in the bush. Bathroom area separated by sliding doors. Large shower and bath, heated floor, disappointingly there was a limited offering of bathroom amenities, shampoo and conditioner were not five star but in paper pouches as you would find in a two star motel. When the sun went down the room became cold and the heat pump was not up to the task even left on all night on maximum temperature. Overall a nice resort but more suited to a summer visit.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Mareile Jerosch-Hoehn, General Manager at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
Responded May 10, 2021
Dear John, thank you for your feedback and your return visit. You certainly cannot beat Pauanui in Summer, I agree. However in Winter it's lovely with all our fireplaces burning. Of course it's imperative you are warm enough, if you wouldn't mind advising of your your stay details unless you had already advised reception during your stay, we would like to check the heat pump is working correctly. (please feel free to email me personally on gm@pukapark.co.nz) In regards to the amenities, we are proud to be saving over 16,000 plastic bottles a year by having changed to sustainable pouches. Thank you for your loyalty and we would be absolutely delighted to be able to welcome you back in Summer. Best wishes, Mareile Jerosch-Hoehn General Manager
Read more
MitzygirlNZ wrote a review Apr 2021
new zealand132 contributions44 helpful votes
We just got home after 4 days at Puka Park, have been going to this resort for the last 15+ years, nothing really changed apart from renovations/upgrade of chalets and different staff members. The service from the staff are second to none, they really made us feel welcome and that's why we keep coming back. It's really our holidays home! We had dinner on Saturday 24th April at Miha restaurant, it never disappoints. Time and time again we are so blown away by the service and our delicious dinners. The hardworking bar staff deserved a medal too, there was a group celebrating a birthday dinner so the restaurant was busy. Front desk, housekeeping and the maintenance team, thank you! Well Done Puka Park, here's to another 15+ years!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
peterwI3040OB wrote a review Mar 2021
Auckland Central, New Zealand70 contributions12 helpful votes
Our first visit to the Resort. Nice location, up the hill in the bush with good parking. Friendly quick in and straight our chalets. Nice views up in the trees, has a very relaxing and warm feel to the rooms. We had both dinner and lunch, the service was great and the food very tasty. We all enjoyed the pool and the surroundings. Unfortunately we missed breakfast - we left early to get back home before Level 3 started in Auckland. Looking forward to being back over Easter.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Date of stay: February 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Mareile Jerosch-Hoehn, General Manager at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
Responded Mar 7, 2021
Dear Peter, how wonderful you have discovered us and to hear you enjoyed your stay so much. Thank you very much for experiencing Grand Mercure Puka Park and thank you for your lovely review. We most certainly are looking forward to welcoming you back at Easter! Until then, Mareile Jerosch-Hoehn General Manager
Read more
526graham wrote a review Mar 2021
Mount Maunganui, New Zealand1 contribution
A great stay for 3 nights in a chalet set in the beautiful NZ bush. The dinning room & lounge were first class with excellent meals available. The staff were very friendly & efficient. The site is very steep with steps up to the chalet we occupied but help was available & a golf cart shuttled us back up the hill after dinner. A wet day would be a challenge with the carpark a long way away. We will return.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Date of stay: February 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Mareile Jerosch-Hoehn, General Manager at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
Responded Mar 4, 2021
Dear 526graham, It was a pleasure having you stay with us! Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback. We are looking forward to be welcoming you back on your next stay! Best wishes, Mareile Jerosch-Hoehn
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$114 - $225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
grand mercure puka park hotel pauanui
LOCATION
New ZealandNorth IslandWaikato RegionCoromandel PeninsulaPauanui
NUMBER OF ROOMS
48
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort?
Nearby attractions include Mount Paku (2.2 miles), Pauanui Beach (0.9 miles), and Sailors Grave (4.6 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort?
Yes, free parking and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include Flock Kitchen & Bar, Manaia, and JK's Kitchen and Bar.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Is Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.7 miles away from the center of Pauanui.
Are any cleaning services offered at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, German, Russian, and Czech.