We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort

Save
Share
42 Mount Ave Pauanui Beach, Pauanui 3546 New Zealand
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
ZenHotels.com
$124
View Deal
eDreams
Snaptravel
Travelocity
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (311)
Room & Suite (124)
Dining (44)

About

#2 of 2 hotels in Pauanui
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort is located at Pauanui Beach on the Coromandel Peninsula, just 1 hours 40 minutes from Auckland. This luxurious, secluded hideaway features 48 chalets set in 10 hectares of native bushland, an award winning restaurant, guest lounge and sun decks with views overlooking Pauanui and the Pacific Ocean. Facilities include a tennis court, heated swimming pool and the nearby beach has 3km of golden sand and renowned for surfing. There are many bush tracks to explore and array of activities in the Coromandel region.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Hiking
Taxi service
Valet parking
Wifi
Hot tub
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Sauna
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary instant cofffee
Complimentary tea
Tennis court
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Room service
Safe
Telephone
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Languages Spoken
English, French, Russian, Spanish and 2 more
1,050Reviews20Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 473
  • 333
  • 146
  • 64
  • 34
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Tony Walker wrote a review Nov 20
Rangiora, New Zealand328 contributions96 helpful votes
+1
Our 5 day visit could not have been better. The lay-out of the property allows plenty of space for people to come and go without it ever seeming busy or crowded. There are some steep accesses to and from chalets but if these pose a barrier golf carts are ready to give you a ride. From the cheerful check-in to the dining room, all staff were friendly and welcoming. We were upgraded from a Tawa Tree Hut to a Rimu Chalet comprising a large studio room with separate large modern tiled bathroom complete with bath, separate walk-in shower and heated floor tiles. The outside deck with seating was private and right in the bush ! External facilities included a sparkling heated pool, with good additional amenities such as spa, sauna, small gym and tennis courts. Dining was available in the spacious dining area or on the open deck overlooking the bush and Tairua river. While dining you could see a multitude of different birds and hear their song throughput the day. It is important to book early for dinner. The dinner menu offers a good selection of dishes and all were cooked to perfection and served by attentive and pleasant staff. The selection of wines by the glass could be extended and the quality of house wines improved. Happy Hour was not much of a benefit as drinks are offered simply at a lower price and only house wines are included. There is ample free parking on various levels. High levels of sanitisation due to Covid were evident in that all glasses etc, in our room were individually sealed in plastic coverings. Some superficial maintenance would enhance over the whole establishment e.g. re-coat the deck timbers, cleaning of high glazing panels in the lounge, dining area etc. dining table surfaces etc. However,overall our stay was a delightful experience and we look forward to a return visit.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Helen wrote a review Nov 18
Geraldine, New Zealand2 contributions
The food here is divine would recommend going here even if you are not staying. Both restaurant and bar service is 10/10. I will definitely be coming back here. I highly recommend the pork belly and the bread and butter pudding.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020Trip type: Traveled solo
Helpful
Share
Response from Mareile Jerosch-Hoehn, General Manager at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
Responded 2 days ago
Thank you Pixie! We appreciate your kind words, you will be pleased to know that we will be bringing back by popular demand our scallop/ pork belly entree on the Summer menu to be rolled out soon. Hope to see you back soon! Mareile Jerosch-Hoehn General Manager
Read more
Michele C wrote a review Nov 17
Cambridge, New Zealand60 contributions14 helpful votes
We had a girls catch up lunch at Puka Park. The location is stunning, the resort, food & service not so much. So much potential here to freshen the decor up and deliver a much better experience. We chatted for nearly 5 hours at our catch and after getting our ONE bottle of wine we literally had no one come to ask us for any refills, desert, coffees or anything. We went to the bar and asked for a cocktail each and got a Pina Colada made with milk & condensed milk when the menu says coconut milk and two of us did not drink dairy milk! (One of us lactose intolerant). The drinks were remade correctly with coconut milk but really??? We all went away feeling disappointed the opportunities here to lift the service would definitely translate to more $$$$ We won't be rushing back sadly.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020Trip type: Traveled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from Mareile Jerosch-Hoehn, General Manager at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
Responded 5 days ago
Hi Michele, I am sorry to hear on this occasion you had a bad experience, that is certainly not acceptable and I would love to follow up. If you contact the hotel directly and provide us with a date and some further details it allows us to ensure staff improve. By not providing any details it makes it very difficult. I certainly understand your frustration and would like to apologies to you once again. This is certainly not the standard of service we pride ourselves for.
Read more
Jerzei B wrote a review Nov 17
18 contributions3 helpful votes
BEFORE you even consider booking a room here you need to know a few facts. If you’re planning a private romantic getaway you may not get it at Puka Park. The chalets are built in pairs and there is zero soundproofing between chalets. You will hear every sound your neighbours make, and them yours. Your private deck in the bush canopy is not private - you’re sitting with your neighbours! There is no car parking adjacent to your accommodation, and very limited car parking in the public carpark. If you don’t arrive early you may have to park on the street. If you want to eat in the resort restaurant you should book immediately on check-in. If you don’t you’ll probably miss out, like we did. On the positive side, the bush setting is fantastic. It does feel like you are far from civilisation. The pool was clean and the temperature just right. It was very refreshing. The staff we interacted with were pleasant. The receptionist tried to find us an alternative room however none were available. She then offered to speak to our neighbours about their smoking and offensive music, but we declined as we believed that could make the situation worse. Overall we were disappointed. We certainly didn’t get value for our money.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Mareile Jerosch-Hoehn, General Manager at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
Responded 5 days ago
Dear JerzeiB, we are saddened to hear your stay was marred by disorderly neighbours. I am very sorry to hear and you were clearly disappointed about the experience, my sincere apologies for this. Best regards, Mareile Jerosch-Hoehn General Manager
Read more
blair905 wrote a review Nov 3
Auckland, New Zealand2 contributions
We dined last week in the Miha Restaurant and we’re so disappointed in the service and food. The wine list came as 6 pages of A4 sheets stapled together. I was told that they were short on wine glasses. Really ? Our table was never cleared of empty beer bottles and once the wine was delivered we had to top up our own glasses. The food arrived cold and unimpressive. It’s a shame the standard has dropped so much.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020Trip type: Traveled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from Mareile Jerosch-Hoehn, General Manager at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
Responded 2 weeks ago
Hi Blair, I am very sorry about the most disappointing scene you have described. I can assure you we are not short of wine glasses. The reason for the presentation of the wine menu is that with the covid measures menus got changed for each level and this is a reminisce whilst waiting for new beverage menu covers. I am surprised to hear about the food not being up to par and I would be most interested in talking to you to find out more details so I am able to follow up with the team. I would greatly appreciate if you could please contact me on gm@pukapark.co.nz and call me on 0274598000. Much appreciated. Best regards and my sincere apologies again, Mareile Jerosch-Hoehn General Manager
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$114 - $225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
grand mercure puka park hotel pauanui
LOCATION
New ZealandNorth IslandWaikato RegionCoromandel PeninsulaPauanui
NUMBER OF ROOMS
48
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort?
Nearby attractions include Mount Paku (2.2 miles), Pauanui Beach (0.9 miles), and Sailors Grave (4.6 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort?
Yes, free parking and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include Flock Kitchen & Bar, Manaia, and JK's Kitchen and Bar.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Is Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.7 miles away from the center of Pauanui.
Are any cleaning services offered at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, German, Russian, and Czech.