We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort

Save
Share
42 Mount Ave Pauanui Beach, Pauanui 3546 New Zealand
Lowest prices for your stay
$167
View deal
Free cancellation until 06/05/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
GrandMercure
Expedia.com
$168
View deal
Free cancellation until 06/05/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Priceline$167
Booking.com$167
Traveluro$173
View all 20 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (333)
Room & Suite (144)
Dining (50)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#2 of 2 in Pauanui
Location
4.3
Cleanliness
4.1
Service
4.1
Value
3.5
Travelers' Choice
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort is located at Pauanui Beach on the Coromandel Peninsula, just 1 hours 40 minutes from Auckland. This luxurious, secluded hideaway features 48 chalets set in 10 hectares of native bushland, an award winning restaurant, guest lounge and sun decks with views overlooking Pauanui and the Pacific Ocean. Facilities include a tennis court, heated swimming pool and the nearby beach has 3km of golden sand and renowned for surfing. There are many bush tracks to explore and array of activities in the Coromandel region.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Hiking
Taxi service
Valet parking
Wifi
Hot tub
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Sauna
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Special diet menus
Tennis court
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Steam room
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Room service
Safe
Telephone
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Languages Spoken
English, French, Russian, Spanish and 2 more
1082Reviews20Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 493
  • 339
  • 149
  • 65
  • 36
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
cummingsclan2018 wrote a review Apr 2022
New Plymouth, New Zealand2 contributions
Nice room but very disappointed no Sky Movies as we had 3 days of rain .Great food in resturant recommend the shared platters great way to try different things the ocean boat main was my favourite .plates need to be cleared faster especially at breakfast
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Date of stay: April 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Angela D wrote a review Mar 2022
Auckland Region, New Zealand3 contributions
Quiet relaxing location, restaurant very good and service first class. We stayed in a Tree Hut, if walking the paths are a little steep, although there is the option to be transported by golf cart. Would return again.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Date of stay: March 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Mareile Jerosch-Hoehn, General Manager at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
Responded Mar 27, 2022
Dear Angela, wonderful to hear you had such a lovely time! Thank you for your stay at Grand Mercure Puka Park, we hope to be able to welcome you back one day soon. Thank you, Mareile Jerosch-Hoehn General Manager
Read more
Celeste B wrote a review Feb 2022
Thames, New Zealand52 contributions7 helpful votes
We have now been a few times to Puka Park's Restaurant for dinner, and have loved it. Firstly the setting is just beautiful, so private and quiet, hidden up in the trees overlooking Pauanui. You walk into the Restaurant and it is so warm and inviting, and so are the Staff. The food is excellent, there were six of us each time, and each time we all enjoyed our meals. Thank you
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Mareile Jerosch-Hoehn, General Manager at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
Responded Feb 8, 2022
Dear Ray, we couldn't be happier about your compliments! Thank you so very much for sharing and thank you for choosing Miha Restaurant! We hope to see you again soon, Mareile Jerosch-Hoehn General Manager
Read more
zeeba1 wrote a review Feb 2022
Auckland Central, New Zealand146 contributions110 helpful votes
Excellent accommodation nicely renovated New inside and modern. Very quiet so slept well. Highly recommended. Took our own breakfast and plates cutlery supplied . Parking easy , great service . Did have lunch in restaurant all good. Walk to beach easy 15 mins , shops 20 mins or so .
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Mareile Jerosch-Hoehn, General Manager at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
Responded Feb 2, 2022
Thank you zeeba1, we love receiving five star reviews! Glad you had a wonderful stay, isn't the beach beautiful and so safe for swimming! Best regards, Mareile Jerosch-Hoehn General Manager
Read more
mrsbanno wrote a review Jan 2022
Red Beach, New Zealand67 contributions3 helpful votes
+1
We came for a long weekend. We had a 1 bedroom interconnecting, so had kitchen facilities and two bathrooms and then two sleeping areas. (Fully recommend this layout for a family of 4). Make sure you alert at the time of booking that you require the day bed to be made up. There was enough towels/toilet paper/coffee supplies to carry us for the time we were there. Beds were comfortable and we all slept well. It's a very quiet setting. The only drawback is walking back up to our room from the pool. The pool was great, lots of places to lay out and was a lovely temperature. Really enjoy our stay and would love to go back some day.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: One bedroom interconnecting has kitchen facilities (no oven).
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Mareile Jerosch-Hoehn, General Manager at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
Responded Feb 2, 2022
Dear Mrs Banno, wonderful to read how much you enjoyed your stay. Thank you so much and we do hope to welcome you back in the near future! Best wishes, Mareile Jerosch-Hoehn General Manager
Read more
Chandiandy wrote a review Jan 2022
Auckland, New Zealand11 contributions3 helpful votes
Cannot grumble about room which was actually very good. However, the restaurant staff was absolutely shinning with an attitude that almost refused to serve the only non white customers being us. Although reservation was made it took them more than half an hour to provide seating. The best part however was that our order was not executed for over 2 hrs! we had to keep calling the waiters and finally the in charge of this restaurant. They finally served around 10.00pm and lo and behold it was shocking. They must have thought we did not now what scalloped potatoes are! A half boiled potato cake, dry as ever, without any cream or cheese was put before me at this godly hour. Everything else was also tasteless. They were not even courteous which spoiled our complete stay as we had to depend on fast food for the rest of our stay!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: All are chalet types so there is privacy and are much quieter than a normal hoteland
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Mareile Jerosch-Hoehn, General Manager at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
Responded Jan 10, 2022
Dear Chandiandy, first of all I am very sorry you feel this way. We strive to always deliver a smooth and totally satisfying dining experience to all our guests. I will not go into your racial accusation, I think that does not deserve a mention with our team made up of seven nationalities, normally many more than that we most certainly love all our guests. Has it been a very busy period over the last three weeks? Yes, with a population in town swelling up from 800 to over 20,000 and reaching record heights this year I will not deny that in combination with resourcing issues that affect any hospitality business in this area the team has done marvelously to look after especially our valued in-house guests and to serve as many guests at a level of service they deserve. When we do miss on delivering at the standard of service we pride ourselves for we are extremely disappointed. If we have missed an order we sincerely apologise. You have the right to expect a delivery at a reasonable speed, absolutely. We also apologise if there were quality issues with the food going out. When you dine with us we want you to be finishing the night feeling like you had a great experience. In this case you clearly did not and we are very sorry to hear and would like to apologise to you for this. Best wishes, Mareile Jerosch-Hoehn General Manager
Read more
Kevin wrote a review Oct 2021
Tauranga, New Zealand2 contributions
Whilst the accommodation is nice, don't bother with anything but the basic chalet. We booked an upgrade from the Tawa to the Rimu but the only difference is you get a shower over the bath! No separate shower, no sofa, no extra space! The photos and descriptions are misleading and the Hotel referred to the fine print which stated "some may vary in layout" and commented that "you booked with grab one" ... whatever difference that makes? The one receptionist went to see the manager but the response we got was by phone to the other receptionist that we had been given the correct chalet. The size of the basic room is stated at 29m2 and the Rimu 35m2 however our chalet measured 26m2! Maybe there is some other small print that states 'sizes may vary'? Misleading and un-sympathetic.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from Mareile Jerosch-Hoehn, General Manager at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
Responded Oct 31, 2021
Dear KGH1966, we are sorry you didn't enjoy your Rimu Chalet. Yes, due to the floor layout there are two different designs however they offer the same facilities, with the difference that one room does not offer the additional day bed. We do not want you to be disappointed about a no doubt well deserved break, therefore I am going to send you a voucher to stay in our best room type our Toi Toi Apartment, which you hopefully will enjoy. Best wishes, Mareile Jerosch-Hoehn General Manager
Read more
Linda M wrote a review Sep 2021
Hamilton, New Zealand8 contributions3 helpful votes
Puka Park is our Happy getaway place and once again it didn't fail to please. It's a bit like a comfort blanket, secure, safe, peaceful and full of birdlife singing. The food was exquisite and the Staff are always very friendly :-) Thanks for another special time and we look forward to our next visit.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Date of stay: September 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Mareile Jerosch-Hoehn, General Manager at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
Responded Sep 28, 2021
Dear Linda, thank you for staying with us! We LOVE being described as safety blanket, that is such a nice way to put it. We are humbled by your words, many thanks indeed. Best wishes, Mareile Jerosch-Hoehn General Manager
Read more
Linda M wrote a review Aug 2021
Orewa, New Zealand1 contribution
I recently caught up with a friend from another part of the country. What better place to do this than grand mercure pauanui Having stayed before but over 12 years ago I was thrilled to find it as good as ever. We elected to eat breakfast and dinner in the restaurant and what a good decision. The breakfasts were lovely and incuded in our package. We could choose a dish from the menu and also a wonderful continental. To my delight they even offered sour dough bread for toast. As for the dinners....The menu was not huge which was just as well as making a choice was hard enough. The dishes all sounded and looked superb. AND THEY WERE ....better than any top restaurant The chalets are good and I must remember the happy hours where we were offered a great choice of wines at a very reasonable price AS FOR THE STAFF......one appeared to be in training and was delightful in her application and cheerful manner. Nothing was too much trouble and the golf cart cum shuttle was always freely available. ...Everyone was lovely and we truly were made tonfeel like family..jurt a great relaxed atmosphere A short stroll to the southern end of the beach makes for a great location and the facilities....pool sauna gym etx all were immaculate I would highly reccommend
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Mareile Jerosch-Hoehn, General Manager at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
Responded Aug 31, 2021
Dear Linda, what an amazingly beautiful feedback to get which reminds us why we are so looking forward to be able to welcome guests back after the lockdown. Thank you so much, wonderful to hear you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us! Best wishes from sunny Pauanui, Mareile Jerosch-Hoehn General Manager
Read more
Lauren Mee wrote a review Aug 2021
Auckland Central, New Zealand7 contributions3 helpful votes
We loved our stay at Puka Park. The reception staff were so warm & welcoming, gorgeous rooms, lovely wait staff and meals were divine! Couldn’t fault it. Thank you heaps! Would definitely recommend staying
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$148 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
grand mercure puka park hotel pauanui
LOCATION
New ZealandNorth IslandWaikato RegionCoromandel PeninsulaPauanui
NUMBER OF ROOMS
48
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort?
Nearby attractions include Mount Paku (2.2 miles), Pauanui Beach (0.9 miles), and Sailors Grave (4.6 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort?
Yes, free parking and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include Manaia, The Old Mill Waterfront Cafe, and Tairua Beach Club.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Is Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.7 miles away from the center of Pauanui.
Are any cleaning services offered at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, German, Russian, and Czech.