We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Playa Guiones, Nosara Costa Rica
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveler (355)
Pool & Beach (82)
Room & Suite (52)

About

#2 of 40 Specialty lodging in Nosara
Location
4.7
Cleanliness
4.9
Service
4.7
Value
4.4
Blue Spirit Costa Rica provides an extraordinary setting to all who are dedicated to spiritual transformation, personal development, and environmental sustainability. Perched on a hilltop that overlooks the Pacific Ocean and a three-mile long white sand beach that is protected as a turtle refuge – Blue Spirit offers an extraordinarily beautiful and natural setting on one of Costa Rica’s renowned beaches, supporting your retreats, workshops, and trainings to be a deeply nurturing and unforgettable experience.Blue Spirit is located in one of the world’s Blue Zones© which inspired the name Blue Spirit. According to author Dan Buettner, the Nicoya Peninsula is one of five Blue Zone’s in the world: a Blue Zone is an area where people live the longest and report the highest levels of well-being. While visiting Blue Spirit, you will feel the resonance of a vibrant, inspiring, and healing energy, because of the rich subtropical environment, and the cultural lifestyle.Your stay at Blue Spirit offers you a comfortable and elegant accommodation of your choice, delicious gourmet vegetarian cuisine, a salt-water infinity pool, koi pond, café, gift shop, spa and longevity services, outdoor excursions, and complimentary wireless service.Blue Spirit was founded by Stephan Rechtschaffen who also co-founded the renowned Omega Institute in Rhinebeck, NY. He is a nationally recognized holistic physician who lectures on health, wellness, nutrition, longevity, and time. These interests have drawn him to living and working in the more mindful and slower paced environment of Blue Spirit in Costa Rica.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness classes
Restaurant
Beach
Airport transportation
Meeting rooms
Wifi
Infinity pool
Shuttle bus service
Spa
Massage
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Shops
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private balcony
Safe
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Green
Hidden Gem
Languages Spoken
Spanish
248Reviews13Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 196
  • 35
  • 9
  • 5
  • 3
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Meghan L wrote a review May 2022
1 contribution
+1
I have traveled to many places in the world, but none like Blue Spirit. Between the breathtaking beaches, their sustainability practices, incredible organic and locally produced food, kind and thoughtful staff, and gorgeous grounds, Blue Spirit exceeded our hopes for offering a yoga retreat. Many group members shared that their experience was life changing and deeply healing, as well. We most certainly will be back and are beyond grateful to have had this opportunity to stay in retreat at Blue Spirit. Mucho gracias & Pura vida to all 🙏💕🌺
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Ivonne Klebe, Marketing at Blue Spirit Retreat
Responded May 21, 2022
Dear Meghan, Thank you for your review and for sharing your experience. We are happy that your group had a beautiful retreat experience on our grounds. 'Life-changing' is of course one of the nicest compliments one can receive as a retreat leader and a retreat venue. Thank you for sharing your student's experience with us and we are very much looking forward to welcoming you again next year for your retreat. Pura Vida from all of us!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
katzeiler wrote a review May 2022
Washington DC11 contributions8 helpful votes
I loved everything about Blue Spirit -- the surroundings, the food, the room, the ocean, the jungle, the monkeys, the staff. Amazing. Would definitely return -- highly recommended. You will not be disappointed.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Ivonne Klebe, Marketing at Blue Spirit Retreat
Responded May 18, 2022
Our staff will be happy to read that you had a great stay with us! Thank you for your kind words and we are looking forward in welcoming you again very soon! Pura Vida from all of us!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Meredith A wrote a review May 2022
1 contribution
I stayed in an echo cottage. I loved the seclusion and peace. There is no hot water, but I actually didn't really mind. The shower is spacious and made out of natural stone. The cottage was rustic and cozy and I loved coming back to it at the end of the day like it was my little home in the jungle. Gorgeous, well designed gardens and grounds that blended with the environment that included a graceful infinity pool half shaded by the bordering trees. I will return next year!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: No air conditioning in the eco cottages, but large ceiling fan provides a nice air flow. Lovely...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Ivonne Klebe, Marketing at Blue Spirit Retreat
Responded May 18, 2022
We love your description of our Eco Cottages! They feel like a sanctuary and give our travelers the perfect Costa Rica experience, surrounded by jungle and wildlife. Our gardeners are taking great pride in their parts of the property and we will pass your feedback on to them. We are happy that you had a relaxed stay with us in our tropical oasis and are looking forward to seeing you again next year!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kristen M wrote a review May 2022
1 contribution
I completely loved my stay. I went for a yoga retreat. The yoga studio was so magnificent. I opted to stayed in a Pacifico cottage. It was my own tiny bungalow in the middle of the rain forest. I loved that it was away from the main dinning/hotel area. If you aren’t good with climbing lots of rustic stairs this is not a good option for you though. I really enjoyed sitting alone on my porch each day. Blue Spirit really takes Covid protocols seriously. Masks are worn by all staff and guests everywhere but at the pool or beach. There are many outdoor sinks to do proper hand washing. My one complaint is, he yoga floor was never cleaned. All week I watched the same dried sweat spots and more accumulate. We had the first class of the day at 7am and the floor was all sweat spotted before we practiced. It made me question how clean other things really were if they allowed the studio floor to be this dirty.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Ivonne Klebe, Marketing at Blue Spirit Retreat
Responded May 19, 2022
Dear Kirsten, Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to review our services. The Pacifico Cottages are great for the ultimate Costa Rica feeling, we are happy you enjoyed them and your stay. We were surprised to read your feedback about the cleaning of the yoga hall. The cleaning service is one of our top priorities and the high-cleanliness is usually one of the common things our guests mention about their stay. The Yoga Halls have a strict cleaning schedule and get cleaned every day before class at 6 am. We are sorry that apparently during your stay you experienced some irregularities in this matter. We thank you for your feedback as it helps us to follow up with our team and take the necessary steps to improve our services. We wish you all the best and hope to welcome you again very soon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Dorothy P wrote a review May 2022
Mississauga, Canada15 contributions25 helpful votes
It’s taken me too long to write this review. I’ve been floating on a cloud since my stay at Blue Spirt in March 19-26 2022, for the Gayatri Gathering with Deva Premal and Miten. I had a wonderful time (and Dear Blue Spirit, I was in Room 203, you know me under a different name: Ann K)!, A big thank-you to Marco (I really wanted to stay another week but alas, the rooms were all booked) and the front desk staff (I’ve forgotten people’s names), to the kitchen and buffet staff, to the cleaners, to the shuttle drivers (thank you Carlos), to the program facilitators, to the groundskeepers (thank you Jose and Betto). You were so patient and friendly when I tried to practice speaking Spanish with you. Staff kept the rooms and building immaculate. Now I want to say something to travellers: if you are reading this review this means that you are thinking of visiting Blue Spirit, and that probably means that you have a certain amount of privilege. And I want you to think about the impact your travel has on the environment. Blue Spirit tries to minimize their impact on the environment by adopting certain practices (e.g. all hydro lines are buried to prevent howler monkeys from swinging on them and getting electrocuted). I read a review where someone complained about the towels not being changed every day or that there were no beach towels. Seriously? No one needs new towels/sheets every day. That’s obscene. And if you need an extra towel, all you have to do is ask the front desk staff (probably best just to ask in English, as I learned that “toalla” does not mean towel in Costa Rican Spanish). I asked for extra pillows and they were delivered immediately. As for beach towels, the problem is that the sand gets into the machines and they break down. You can certainly have extra towels to use at the pool, but if you wish to go to the beach please bring a travel towel which doesn't take up much room in a suitcase and dries quickly in the sun. My travel towel also doubled as a pareo. Blue Spirit is a retreat centre --- it is not a resort with people sitting around the pool drinking too much alcohol. If that’s the scene you want then do not come to Blue Spirit. I travelled to attend Deva and Miten's week of mantras and spiritual music. I also loved the food. I’ve seen several reviews that complained about the food, but I loved it. The food was primarily vegetarian, but there were eggs at every breakfast and fish 3 times a week in addition to vegetarian protein (lentils/beans) at every meal. This is exactly how I would like to eat all the time. Different kinds of salads, different kinds of vegetables, rice, quinoa, fruits, and lovely juices that we don't have here in Canada (starfruit juice, watermelon juice). I have never eaten so many different vegetables in a day! Loved the guacamole and yucca chips. Wonderful. I would like to marry the head chef. My only regret is that I did not purchase the cook book that was for sale. There is a cafe with deserts and smoothies that you pay extra for. I was always too full from eating the buffet food that I never bothered with the cafe, but I talked to others who enjoyed the smoothies and cappuccinos and specialty drinks. Despite all the food that I was eating, I lost weight during the week. How is that possible? Probably a combination of eating whole foods (nothing processed) and all the exercise. I stayed in the main building in a Hermitage room, which was perfect for me. As for Deva and Miten, well, I am not going to write about them here other than to say that it was transformational. Blue Spirit offers a multitude of different speakers, mostly yoga, and other wellness sessions. If you are interested in yoga, meditation, wellness or spirituality, a week at Blue Spirit might be what you are looking for. Or better yet ---- perhaps it is what you NEED. I can't wait to return (I did not want to leave… I was trying to figure out if I could get a job from Stephan, the man behind Blue Spirit. Stephan, please hire me). I met 4 fabulous women from Chico, California, (salutations!) and they loved their accommodations (2 of them were in a Nature cottage and 2 of them in the Pacific cottages). I also heard from someone who was in an eco cottage and also loved it (the eco cottages have no A/C), and someone else who was staying in one of the tents, and loved that! The main building is on top of a hill, and it is a short walk (10-15 min) to the beach. The path to the beach is steep in places, and there are steps in a few places where there is no railing. I was very concerned that I would not be able to walk it, and I brought walking sticks. However, I did not need then. I just took my time. If you are concerned about the steps, then it's best to stay in the main building, and ask for a floor that has elevator access. I probably was one of the most decrepit people at Blue Spirit. But you do still need to be able to walk stairs. I flew direct from Toronto to Liberia airport where there was a shuttle to take guests to Blue Spirit. If you have never been to Costa Rica, it is hot and humid, so you need lightweight clothing. I also felt I needed a room with A/C (coming from the cold and snow of Canada, it was a climate shock). My room had a ceiling fan that I used more frequently than the A/C, but I did use the A/C from time to time. I would also recommend that you take the time to read the information that is on the Blue Spirit website. For example, there is a gratuity for the Blue Spirit staff that is added to your bill. This is not a “hidden” charge…all you need to do is read the information that is on the Blue Spirit website. During my next visit I would like to book spa treatments or perhaps a treatment at the Longevity Centre…I heard other guests talk about massages and other treatments that they had. There was so much to do. There were COVID restrictions in place when I was there, but there were still some excursions that took place. I don’t know how other guests had all the energy to go kayaking (I’m talking about you Anne and Mo) or horseback riding, but they did. I was content to walk on the beach or just sit in a corner of the beautiful grounds of Blue Spirit and watch a hummingbird or a howler monkey and listen to the ocean (when not attending the satsang and meditation sessions). Pura vida.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Stay in main building if you have mobility issues
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Ivonne Klebe, Marketing at Blue Spirit Retreat
Responded May 17, 2022
Dear Dorothy, We cannot thank you enough for your detailed review. Our staff is always happy to support our guests with their Spanish practice and you might pick up a new word or two that are typical for the Spanish that is spoken in Costa Rica, like 'Pura Vida'. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed our healthy and tasty cuisine and left feeling lighter and healthy. Our kitchen team takes great pride in preparing the menu and lots of vegetables and fruits are coming directly from our organic vegetable garden. Thank you again for describing your stay with such details and we are looking forward to seeing you again for the next Gayatri Festival with Deva Premal and Miten!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Thor H wrote a review May 2022
1 contribution
We just finished our Alchemy of Love couples retreat at Blue Spirit. The transformation we witnessed in our participants was nothing short of miraculous. This in part is due to the energy, spirit and natural beauty that Blue Spirit holds. Sending thanks and Love to all those that made this possible. Below is a testimonial from one of our participants. "My husband and I have been to quite a few retreats and workshops and we have never before experienced and witnessed such deep transformation in ALL the participants as we have experienced and witnessed at The Alchemy of Love for couples at the Blue Spirit resort. Our deep gratitude to Nisi and Thor for your Vision, Presence and Heart and to the Blue Spirit resort for your heartfelt hospitality to make it possible. We pray that you continue to share your gifts with us and other couples in the future."
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Ivonne Klebe, Marketing at Blue Spirit Retreat
Responded May 17, 2022
Dear Thor, Thank you for your review and for sharing the feedback of your students with us! We are glad to be able to offer a safe place for retreat leaders to host retreats and share teachings and wisdom. We will pass on the kind words to our staff and are looking forward to welcoming you and your group again next year! From all of us at Blue Spirit, with gratitude
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
MayStay22 wrote a review May 2022
1 contribution
Blue Spirit is in an absolutely beautiful place. The grounds and area were so special, from the walking paths, to the pool and beach, to the main building and yoga studio. It was easy to request a shuttle into town, sign up for an excursion, or schedule a spa appointment. We were able to relax and reset. However, they need to seriously rethink the food as it was mediocre at best. Given that they offer a vegetarian cuisine, there needs to be good protein options at each meal - canned or undercooked, unflavored beans or chickpeas is not adequate. The only meal that was good was breakfast; lunches and dinners were bland, boring, and barely edible. Also, they said that there would be fresh fruit options during the day - a bowl of overripe bananas gets boring after a day or 2. Fix the food and this place would get an excellent rating!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Stay in the cottages for more privacy and space.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Ivonne Klebe, Marketing at Blue Spirit Retreat
Responded May 17, 2022
Dear Andrea, We are happy that you had a relaxing stay with us and that you were able to disconnect and enjoy the beauty of Blue Spirit and Costa Rica. We are sorry that we didn't meet your expectations during your stay in terms of the cuisine. Our food and menu are usually one of our guest's favorite things about their stay, but we will still consider your comments since we are always open to improving. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay & wish you all the best!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jonesyville wrote a review Apr 2022
1 contribution
+1
Very Special. Beautiful grounds. Amazing staff. Great food. Minutes away from a secluded section of beach. Levels of accommodations varies from eco-tents and cabins all the way to suites. Fantastic venue for retreats or conferences. Looking forward to our next stay.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Ivonne Klebe, Marketing at Blue Spirit Retreat
Responded May 17, 2022
Dear Jonesyville, Thank you for your kind words, we are glad you had a great stay with us. As you mentioned we offer so many different room types for all kinds of travelers and are proud to offer a huge variety of different kinds of retreats. We are looking forward in welcoming you again very soon! Pura Vida
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
lorgues1 wrote a review Apr 2022
Lorgues, France13 contributions7 helpful votes
Food is predominantly vegan. Fruit is only offered at breakfast, which is crazy with all the wonderful fruit in Costa Rica. Vegan dessert appears occasionally. Fish is only offered 3x per week. Awful if you don’t like beans and lentils. Why not offer fruit and other forms of protein, and vegans can just say “no, thank you”? It seems like the resort is determined to fleece people and increase their profit. Oh, and you are not allowed to keep food in your room! I was so hungry that I couldn’t sleep at night. There are horrific pseudo-medical treatments touted to innocent and naive people (suckers). Horrific prices for fake “medical” treatments. Again, they are fleecing innocent people from their money. I disliked the “holier than thou” ecological attitude at the resort. It seemed pretentious, when garbage and appliances are dumped all along the roads on the way in. We saw signs of desperate poverty. Guests are shuttled from airport to van and back without the opportunity to see anything of Costa Rica outside the resort. They did seem to do a good job with Covid precautions. Poor value for money spent.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Ivonne Klebe, Marketing at Blue Spirit Retreat
Responded Apr 30, 2022
Dear lorgues, Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry that we didn't meet your expectations during your stay. Our food and menu are usually one of our guest's favorite things about their stay, but we will still take into consideration your comments since we are always open to improving. The shuttle service you mention is offered by a trusted company and the goal is to get the guests who are mostly tired from their flights quickly to Blue Spirit. During your stay, our Covid Protocol advised minimizing the trips and excursions which have just been lifted. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay & wish you all the best!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Janice P wrote a review Apr 2022
2 contributions
Blue Sky is a very zen setting for a yoga retreat. I stayed in an eco cottage and loved being in nature. We were able to relax, eat well and connect with like minded people. Highly recommend a stay at Blue Sky for your mind, body,and spirit.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Ivonne Klebe, Marketing at Blue Spirit Retreat
Responded Apr 30, 2022
Dear Janice, Thank you for your kind words. Your description shows exactly what we wish for all of our guests to experience - a state of bliss and being taken care of. The Eco Cottages are a real secret tip to stay. Budget-friendly without missing out on anything and in return you get the real Costa Rica experience staying surrounded by nature and waking up with the sounds of the monkeys! We hope to see you again next year for Jillian's yearly retreat!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
ALSO KNOWN AS
blue spirit hotel nosara
LOCATION
Costa RicaProvince of GuanacasteNosara
NUMBER OF ROOMS
70
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Blue Spirit Retreat
Which popular attractions are close to Blue Spirit Retreat?
Nearby attractions include Nosara Escape (2.5 miles), Sibu Wildlife Sanctuary (4.5 miles), and Playa Guiones (1.8 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Blue Spirit Retreat?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Blue Spirit Retreat?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Blue Spirit Retreat?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Blue Spirit Retreat?
Conveniently located restaurants include Rosi's Soda Tica, 10Pies, and Cafe de Paris Restaurant & Bakery.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Blue Spirit Retreat?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and fitness classes during their stay.
Does Blue Spirit Retreat have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Blue Spirit Retreat offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does Blue Spirit Retreat have airport transportation?
Yes, Blue Spirit Retreat offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does Blue Spirit Retreat have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.