We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Karamba

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Karamba
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

271 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 116: English reviews
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

If you want to discover the paradise and lost in it , you know where to go. Magical atmosphere , unique attention and great food. Gemma and her team have the ability to make you feel at home in this corner of the world, one of the best I have ever been.

Helpful?
Thank Sigma S
karambaZanzibar, Owner at Karamba, responded to this review

Thanks Sigma for visiting Karamba and for taking the time to write this positive review More 

France
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We have spend two nights with my wife in the basic room at 140 dollards! One light on the wall and one for reading in bed but not on our bed and impossible to move it. Worst: hot water not put on, hole in the muskito net of the bath room. In the restaurant the spanish owners have there table... More 

Helpful?
Thank kakal698833
karambaZanzibar, Owner at Karamba, responded to this review

Thanks Kakal for taking your time expresing your opinion. Actually we were expenting a negative review from you due you were complaining all time for everything but we were inmediatelly repairing and solving all your demands. We are in the nature so we have bush babies and monkeys entering in our gardens and they continously spoil the nets and other... More 

hyderabad
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2016

We were there in the 7th and 8th of December 2013.Its located in interior zanzibar and very ideal for Dolphins Visit in view of its proximity to the place where Dolphins roam in aplenty. The place offers some indianness as well with its Expert African yoga teacher and Ayurved massage. The pool right next to the roaring sea is an... More 

Helpful?
Thank ramakrishnarao
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2016

We stayed at karamba only 1 night as the place was closing for the season the day after but we had one of our best stay in zanzibar ! ( note: Karamba is closed for two month in April and May due to the heavy rain on this part of the island and re-opens in June. But we understand that... More 

Helpful?
Thank SimbadTravels
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2016 via mobile

The site is beautifully located by the ocean, just beside a small fishing village. Very well maintained site and beautiful garden all along. The lodges are clean, comfortable , magnificent views of the ocean.The staff are very friendly and helpful. Nice food and pleasant activities, I would love to visit again! Thank you Gemma and the team.

Helpful?
2 Thank malikaa1
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2016

I stayed in Karamba for 3 days ! the perfect place to rest and enjoy the wonderful island of Zanzibar !! Gemma the manager was so attentive and gave us a lovely welcoming. The room was clean and to the max detail for ones arrival ! THe view of the sea and the most stunning sunsets just from the bedroom... More 

Helpful?
Thank 111Sam
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2016 via mobile

Spent Xmas with my daughters at Karamba..... Fantastic, friendly and inclusive place 👊 Perfectly spotted at the beach, right by a fishing village. Very friendly staff all managed by Gemma 😀👍 Great food....with a nice blend of local/asian cousine

Helpful?
Thank ChristerN
Mombasa, Kenya
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2016 via mobile

I simply cannot recommend this place enough, I have been fortunate to visit other resorts in Zanzibar but Karamba holds the combination of both in one place. The location is superb. The cottages setup in an African Swahili culture is amazing. All the cottages are facing the sea. Sunset view from the rooms and garden is spectacular. Perfect place for... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rahma B
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2016 via mobile

During my stay in the island I was in tree hotels and it is wich I enjoy more. The staff was so friendly, the food amazing and the views incredible. In this hotel you can feel the authentic african spirit and feeling like home at the same time.

Helpful?
Thank Marc C
Odessa, Ukraine
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2016

The location and the grounds are beautiful, the view is stunning and the sunsets are out of this world, the staff - welcoming, friendly and nice, but this is where it ended for me. I struggled to enjoy my stay at the hotel and left after two nights instead of planned five. I couldn't sleep on the damp bed, as... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Osa15
karambaZanzibar, Owner at Karamba, responded to this review

Thanks Osa for expressing your opinion which could be expressed to me in the hotel and probably you could get a more pleasant stay,....as you well said I take all reviews (not only the unhappy ones) personally ... Actually I take all issues related to my Karamba personally . I shall reply to it just to explain all the situation... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

276 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (258)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (45)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (44)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
View from Room (25)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Other (95)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kizimkazi
0.0 mi away
Unguja Lodge
Unguja Lodge
#2 of 5 in Kizimkazi
5.0 of 5 stars 234 reviews
0.0 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 13 in Kiwengwa
4.5 of 5 stars 1,233 reviews
0.0 mi away
Zanzi Resort
Zanzi Resort
#1 of 169 in Zanzibar Island
5.0 of 5 stars 362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Residence Zanzibar
The Residence Zanzibar
#1 of 5 in Kizimkazi
4.5 of 5 stars 750 reviews
0.0 mi away
Fruit & Spice Wellness Resort
0.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
  • Room Service
  • Free Internet
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Free Breakfast
  • Laundry Service
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
It's located on a quiet beach in the south of the island, far from the crowded tourist areas. Kizimkazi's beaches are unique to Zanzibar not only for the beautiful uninterrupted views of the sun setting over the Indian Ocean, but better still the surrounding waters are also famous as the playground for Zanzibar's dolphins! Our purpose is to offer comfort, hospitable service, good food and friendly ambiance, yoga & ayurvedic massage,among others. Thoughtfully designed to suit every discerning traveler, with good taste, conserving the African and Swahili style. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Karamba

Address: Dimbani Beach, Kizimkazi, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Kizimkazi
Price Range: $93 - $239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Karamba 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HRS, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Karamba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Karamba Hotel Kizimkazi
Karamba Zanzibar Island/Kizimkazi
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay