We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Aya Beach Bungalows

Save
Share
Kizimkazi Mkunguni, Kizimkazi 11111 Tanzania
Lowest prices for your stay
$73
$65
View Deal
SAVE $8
Hotels.com
Booking.com
$73
$65
View Deal
SAVE $8
Expedia.com$73
eDreams$65
Travelocity$73
View all 12 deals
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Traveler (161)
Pool & Beach (68)
Room & Suite (54)

About

#2 of 6 Specialty lodging in Kizimkazi
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
The resort has 12 rooms on the seaside and it is located on the southwest coast of the island, just an hour from the Old Town of Zanzibar, and bordered by a private white sand beach. Located close to the fishing market of Kizimkazi allowing tourists to experience the local fish trading or arrange fishing trips with the locals. The virgin environment is serene and will appeal to a nature lover with breath taking sunsets on this side of the island. Light ocean breeze gives off a magical feeling accompanied with tranquil scenery. Hidden between coconut trees, this hotel is the perfect place for a holiday away from civilization and hectic life style. The authentic simplicity and traditional life style was balanced with the relaxing and comfortable rooms all equipped with a fan and air-conditioning. Neutral décor with traditional bed are carefully chosen to create balance between the two.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Free breakfast
Beach
Bicycle rental
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Airport transportation
Secured parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Kids' meals
Canoeing
Diving
Snorkeling
Windsurfing
Canoeing offsite
Darts
Fishing
Board games / puzzles
Car hire
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Massage
Neck massage
Mosquito net
Outdoor furniture
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Safe
Refrigerator
Extra long beds
Bidet
Walk-in shower
Sofa
Wardrobe / closet
Clothes rack
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Landmark view
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Ocean View
Great View
Languages Spoken
English, Italian, Swahili
76Reviews18Q+A9Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 53
  • 17
  • 1
  • 3
  • 2
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
JayD wrote a review Feb 10
Bronxville, New York12 contributions
+1
Great place for couples and also for families. Good size pool with even better view. Garden all around the complex was well kept and very clean. Rooms were kept clean, with housekeeping service every day. Friendly staff. Good selection of breakfast meals, lunch and fantastic dinner. Delicious coffee, and fast internet (which is hard to find in Zanzibar). Plenty of room around the pool for everybody to relax and enjoy some drinks. We will definitely be back!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Julienne C wrote a review Feb 3
Malta5 contributions1 helpful vote
Stayed here for 1 night but wished it was longer!! Such a lovely and peaceful place, super rooms and facilities and amazing pool and restaurant area. We booked the dolphin tour which left from outside the hotel, extremely convenient. Definitely recommend!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021Trip type: Traveled with friends
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
DJC1882 wrote a review Feb 3
Island of Malta, Malta84 contributions33 helpful votes
Only stayed here for 1 night but it was incredibl3. All staff were amazing and the location was great. Loved having breakfast and dinner on the watrrs edge. Hotel also arranged dolphin tour for us for 20usd which was very reasonable and not inflated prices. Highly recommend
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
jo9161evans wrote a review Sep 2020
28 contributions7 helpful votes
Arrived here for the last 5days or so of our holiday in zanzibar. I was quite upset arriving after having some awful moments on our stay in zanzibar but this place was lovely. The pool and views was gorgeous.The manager was friendly and helpful and we got given a really nice room with pool and sea view. We finally felt safe and relaxed for this. The menu was correctly priced for what's on it but the food needs improvement. We did take a boat trip from there but did not feel safe in this tiny boat going miles and miles out into the dark ocean against rough waves and a boat the motor was cutting out on. I never walked to the little village we saw on way in but it looked so much nicer and friendly than other parts of zanzibar we stayed. They actually had more of a party evening first night I arrived pool and lights music etcwhich I wish I'd made most of as the other nights there wasnt anything. This is definitely a place to relax and away from hustlers I only bumped into 1 beach boy while here. Would stay again if we went zanzibar again
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019Trip type: Traveled with family
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Aya Beach, Owner at Aya Beach Bungalows
Responded Dec 4, 2020
We are glad that you enjoy your stay with us! Hope see you again soon!
Read more
mboyce68 wrote a review Feb 2020
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom14 contributions9 helpful votes
Stayed in Sun Set Bungalow 12. Initial impressions was excellent, villa was well situated with ocean view. Unfortunately whilst eating at the restaurant only 50 feet away from our villa on our first night our room was broken into, our safe was stolen with our passport, money and valuables. It turns out the safe was not bolted down and also part of our luggage was also stolen. The hotel Manager and staff initially had been very helpful and police had been involved but since returning from holiday we have not been kept informed despite requesting updates which has been very disappointing, stressful and has cost us financially despite having insurance. In conclusion security needs to be improved including security cameras that was not working that pointed towards the property and providing adequate locks on the doors to the villa which was pushed open even when locked, together with a safe that is bolted down and cannot be simply picked up.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019
Location
Cleanliness
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from AyaBeach, General Manager at Aya Beach Bungalows
Responded Mar 3, 2020
Dear Mboyce68, We are terribly sorry that happen to you and apologise again ,like you know the police was already informed and investigation going on ,due to the security we already take a action on all stages as security was changed also the manager in connection to a case we never had before as you know we are very peaceful and quiet place. Kind Regards Aya Manager
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$64 - $109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
TanzaniaZanzibar ArchipelagoZanzibar IslandKizimkazi
NUMBER OF ROOMS
12
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Aya Beach Bungalows
What are some of the property amenities at Aya Beach Bungalows?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Aya Beach Bungalows?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a refrigerator, and a bidet.
What food & drink options are available at Aya Beach Bungalows?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Aya Beach Bungalows?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Aya Beach Bungalows?
Conveniently located restaurants include Karamba Restaurant, mnana restaurant, and Ristorante Zanzibar Blue Dolphin Bay.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Aya Beach Bungalows?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Aya Beach Bungalows have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Aya Beach Bungalows offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are pets allowed at Aya Beach Bungalows?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Aya Beach Bungalows?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Italian, and Swahili.
Does Aya Beach Bungalows have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.