We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Paredon Surf House

Travelers' Choice award winner
GreenLeadersSilver level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Paredon Surf House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

209 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 181: English reviews
Start your review of Paredon Surf House
 Click to rate
Jacksonville, Florida
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Paredón Surf House was a great experience. We stayed in one of the beach bungalows. Slept in open air facing the beach. Be aware that these bungalows share bathrooms. These shared bathrooms were always being cleaned, never full and easily accessible. The restaurant on site is amazing. The family style dinner in the evening is sure to bring you new...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank zoita2017
Eagle-Vail, Colorado
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Peredon was a great beach stop on our visit to Guatemala. The staff was very nice and helpful. Food was great, beer was cold and the waves were consistent. The rooms are basic, but very clean and comfortable.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank glax2017
ParedonSurf, Propietario at Paredon Surf House, responded to this review

Hello! Thank you very much for your comment! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, it's fun that you say "beer was cold" because that is one VERY important thing for us ;) Hope to see you back! Greetings, Maite Ramirez Paredon Surf House

Reviewed 1 week ago

On top of all the other five star reviews I had a special request that they helped me fullfill, and better than I could have planned. I wanted to surprise my brother for his birthday while we were there and asked for a candle on his dessert. Instead they helped by baking cupcakes and coordinate the surprise. He never saw...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joshua C
ParedonSurf, Propietario at Paredon Surf House, responded to this review

Joshua!! Thank you very much for your comment :) It was fun! David was surprised and we enjoying being part of it. Start thinking what are you going to do for his next birthday, you settled a high level hehe We hope to see you again! Hugs, Maite, Jose, Manel and Carolina Paredon Surf House

Lund
Reviewed 1 week ago

Situated right on the beach and with a nice pool area this hostel is more than the usual dormitory stay. Price includes breakfast (you get to choose what you want from their menu) and a "family style" dinner together with the other guests. Great if you're travelling alone. Also, great surf lessons! Especially the portuguese guy that also works in...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Matilda Ö
ParedonSurf, Propietario at Paredon Surf House, responded to this review

Hello Matilda! Thank you very much for your comment! You are the sweetest girl ever, how can you not make friends? We are glad that you stayed with us and that you enjoyed surf. Come back and keep on surfing! Take care dear :) Maite Ramírez Paredon Surf House

Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is a hotel that is well done, though missing TVs in the room. Food is very good and the hotel is well kept and well designed with a very small pool. Surfers come here and families. Fans are in rooms, though no A/C. Friendly staff, though you pay the bill in the end and I am unsure if I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank legacyLA
ParedonSurf, Propietario at Paredon Surf House, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you very much for your comment, it always helps us to improve. I’m sorry if you felt like overcharged. We try to be the clearest possible about the bills, that’s why you sign when ordering at the restaurant, and that’s why you can take your time reading the bill at the check out. We are glad that you...

Gustavus, Alaska
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had a short but sweet visit to Paredon. We had been told to be careful with having small children in the surf because of the currents but our 5 and 9 year olds did just fine. There is current, and parents do need to stick close, but with that said--have fun! The Surf house has friendly staff, clean and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sean N
ParedonSurf, Propietario at Paredon Surf House, responded to this review

Hello Sean, Janet, Téa and Skyler!! How are you? We hope you are doing well :) We are very glad to know you enjoyed your stay at Paredon Surf House. You are a very fun family and it was a pleasure having you here. Good to know you liked the honor system hehe Thank you very much for your comment....

Antigua, Guatemala
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The staff is amazing, surfing is awesome and we always meet the greatest people there... We are repeat customers and will continue to be... The owners and managers have become personal friends and we can't say enough about how we are treated...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrew S
ParedonSurf, Propietario at Paredon Surf House, responded to this review

Hello Andrew and Hanna!! Thank you very much for your comment! As always, it was a pleasure to have you here and we look forward to your next day off. In few months you will be pro-surfers, trust me ;) Hugs! Jose and Maite

Seattle, Washington
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Treated ourselves to our last four days in Guatemala here and couldn't have been happier! Very friendly staff. Stunningly gorgeous sunrises AND sunsets! Waves lull you to sleep in the evening and you wake up to see what the surf conditions are like by sitting up in bed and looking out! Meals are included (breakfast and dinner) and the room...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank ericz408
ParedonSurf, Propietario at Paredon Surf House, responded to this review

¡Hola Eric y Laura! Thank you very much for your comment :) We are very glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope you are back here, next time with your children, ok? Take care, Jose and Maite

Saskatoon, Canada
Reviewed January 31, 2017

Fifth year in a row that i've been going to PSH, and it doesn't disappoint...good food, great staff, relaxing atmosphere, and a great break right in front of the hotel. I stayed at the bungalow again, and it was nice...waves keep any noise out of the background...wake up to the ocean in view...overall, great experience... I will be back next...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank fatjones58
ParedonSurf, Propietario at Paredon Surf House, responded to this review

Hello!! Thank you very much for your comment :) We wish next year you can write "sixth year in a row", don't you think so? Surf's up! Jose and Maite

Garibaldi Highlands
Reviewed January 27, 2017

We didn't even have Guatemalan waves in our plans for a 3-month Central American surf trip. What a gem El Paradon and Paradon Surf House proved to be. Small, quiet, clean, comfortable place with dorm and private rooms. Lovely pool, hammocks, two swings, beach volleyball net. Good-sized rancho for relaxing, nice poolside restaurant with umbrellas (shade needed midday). We loved...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank carla436
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

224 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (197)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (48)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
View from Room (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (81)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Paredon
12.0 mi away
Hotel Soleil Pacifico
Hotel Soleil Pacifico
#2 of 2 in San Jose
135 reviews
0.0 mi away
Eco Hotel Playa Quilombo de Cucurumbe
0.3 mi away
The Driftwood Surfer
The Driftwood Surfer
#1 of 2 in El Paredon
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast Available

Additional Information about Paredon Surf House

Address: | 500 meters before the Plaza de El Paredon, El Paredon, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Escuintla Department > El Paredon
Price Range: $69 - $98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Paredon Surf House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Paredon Surf House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paredon Surf House Hotel Escuintla Department
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Paredon Surf House staff and other travelers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Paredon Surf House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Dorm room is great with sea view and well needed fans. ”
 of 5 bubbles 39matilda_, 1 week ago | Read review
“for view of the ocean--get the bungalow”
 of 5 bubbles , 3 weeks ago | Read review
“bungalows are great bang for the buck”
 of 5 bubbles fatjones58, Jan 31, 2017 | Read review
“We loved the seaview suite - great space & outdoor private bathroom”
 of 5 bubbles cybershaz, May 18, 2016 | Read review
“Seaview suite or Casita are more comfortable and private.”
 of 5 bubbles mar_ajos_p338, Mar 6, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question