We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Grand Hotel Opduin

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Grand Hotel Opduin
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

237 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 54: English reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Really modern hotel, clean and close to the center but also to the beach. Good breakfast. Good also the room service, in the cleaning. We were with the dog but every day they clean it good. Nice also the gym.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mirko C
IlonavandePoel, Director of Sales at Grand Hotel Opduin, responded to this review

Dear Mirko, thank you for staying with us and sharing your experiences with others.

Chicago
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had never visited Texel before and wanted a quick weekend getaway. Hotel Opduin offered a winter package including private spa/sauna package, massage chair, hot chocolate and apple pie (classic Dutch fare) and a deluxe room. We couldn't have been happier with our hotel choice: the staff were superb and friendly and we got everything we wanted for a quiet...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RJWX
Reviewed December 31, 2016

Nestled in the tall dunes of the quaint island of Texel, you walk into a lobby with a 'beachy' yet elegant feel. Greeted by a friendly and competent staff, we made our way to our beautiful room. We were there for a family reunion which took place in one of their open rooms near the bar. The cocktail hour was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karen C
IlonavandePoel, Director of Sales at Grand Hotel Opduin, responded to this review

Dear Karen, Wow! Your review is a wonderful compliment and highly appreciated. Thank you for taking the time to write this and for your visit of course. Hopefully we will meet again in the future.

Antigua
Reviewed December 9, 2016 via mobile

Hotel and rooms are nicely appointed. Friendly helpful staff. Great proximity to the beach and walking distance to shopping. Most importantly would love to go again. Seems popular for older travelers.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sharon C
IlonavandePoel, Director of Sales at Grand Hotel Opduin, responded to this review

Dear Sharon, Thank you for your nice review. Great to hear that you would love to come to our hotel again. The diversity of our guests depends on the season and whether or not it is a school holiday. Till next time.

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed November 21, 2016

Went for a confrence so didnt make full use of the facilities but had a enjoyable stay, food was of good quality and staff were friendly and helpfull. didnt get to explore much of the local area just the local town whcih was charming.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ammo83
IlonavandePoel, Director of Sales at Grand Hotel Opduin, responded to this review

Dear Ammo, Good to hear that you had an enjoyable stay during the Conversion Hotel conference. You will just have to come back another time to do some exploring of the island, it will definitely be worth it!

Reviewed November 12, 2016 via mobile

Pleasant family hotel surrounded from three sides by dunes with short walk to the beach. Hotel has pool, sauna, wellness, etc but is also a (young) family hotel so this requires some expectation management. Great staff, good rooms, nice breakfast. Village with restaurants and bars at walking distance.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MrTrovador
Reviewed October 19, 2016 via mobile

This is the second time we stayed at this hotel being in Texel. We like it, it is quite cosy and well located. Downsides are that the rooms are noisy and dining you can better do outside because the menu selection in the restaurant is always the same (not very inspiring) and the food is average, while prices are not....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank VAGGVW
IlonavandePoel, Director of Sales at Grand Hotel Opduin, responded to this review

Dear Sir/madam, thank you for your extensive review. We appreciate the time and effort you took to write us about your experiences in our hotel. We regret to hear that dinner was not what you expected. Most of our guests take a 3 course dinner, therefore portions are made smaller. However fries, vegetables and salads can always be ordered as...

Amsterdam
Reviewed October 11, 2016 via mobile

The hotel is fine but what makes a great hotel is that staff and team make you feel at home. Sat in the serre restaurant today for 45minutes without service. Personal did walk past with carts etc but didn't bother to help me and my girlfriend. Just go small and don't try to go chique on this island and save...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AmsterdamHenk
IlonavandePoel, Director of Sales at Grand Hotel Opduin, responded to this review

Dear Henk, Thank you for your review about our service. We have designed our serre to be a nice 'living room' for our guests to relax in. Having a drink or something to eat is definitely not necessary when relaxing in this area. Therefore we try hard to find a balance in serving our guests a drink and not giving...

the netherlands
Reviewed September 13, 2016

We often goes to this hotel when we are on the island, because it is given as one of the better hotels. But this time and the time before that we were disappointed, the rooms are okay, breakfast is excellent, but the organization in service is poor, no manager, at least not visible, every member of the serving personnel was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank aliciawinters
IlonavandePoel, Director of Sales at Grand Hotel Opduin, responded to this review

Dear Mrs. Winters, Thank you for your extensive review about your stay in our hotel. We always welcome any suggestions to improve the quality of our hotel. I am very sorry to hear that this time you were disappointed about your stay. Members of our managent team are present in the hotel on a daily basis and we would have...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 30, 2016

A lovely hotel 5 minutes away from the beach which is stunning and completely unspoilt. Excellent restaurant and great service. Train, bus and ferry service very easy from Schipol Airport which takes about three hours door to door and is well worth the trip!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Susan G
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

115 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (97)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Other (42)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near De Koog
3.4 mi away
Boutique Hotel Texel
Boutique Hotel Texel
#1 of 6 in De Cocksdorp
133 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Greenside
Hotel Greenside
#1 of 11 in De Koog
269 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel de Lindeboom
Hotel de Lindeboom
#1 of 6 in Den Burg
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Strandhotel Noordzee
Strandhotel Noordzee
#5 of 11 in De Koog
50 reviews
1.1 mi away
De Pelikaan Texel
De Pelikaan Texel
#7 of 11 in De Koog
97 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Kogerstaete
Hotel Kogerstaete
#3 of 11 in De Koog
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Babysitting

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Opduin

Address: Ruijslaan 22, 1796 AD De Koog, Texel, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Texel > De Koog
Price Range: $109 - $221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Opduin 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Hotel.de so you can book your Grand Hotel Opduin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Opduin Texel/De Koog
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Grand Hotel Opduin staff and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Grand Hotel Opduin staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Choose a higher floor at the back of hotel for views of the beach. Bring your own drinks as well since the rooms have a Refridgerator”
 of 5 bubbles Ammo83, Nov 21, 2016 | Read review
“As a solo traveller, I liked room 316”
 of 5 bubbles SooLux, Jul 20, 2015 | Read review
“ask for the top floor room and the ones facing toward the trails and the beach.”
 of 5 bubbles bighrt, May 24, 2015 | Read review
“rooms will be updated in 2015.Rooms on the seaside are quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles Chroniceur, Aug 18, 2014 | Read review
“if visiting go for the 3rd floor. first and second floor only see the dunes and people walking by”
 of 5 bubbles 841maxk, Aug 11, 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question