We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
St Mellion St Mellion, Saint Mellion, Saltash PL12 6QD England
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com
eDreams
Priceline
ZenHotels.com
View all 7 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (324)
Room & Suite (37)
Dining (19)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Daily temperature and symptom checks for staff
Read more
Updated 08/22/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Pentillie Castle & Estate
Updated 08/22/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

Location
5.0
Cleanliness
5.0
Service
5.0
Value
4.8
In the heart of the Tamar Valley AONB, the Castle is set within the private Pentillie Estate. Ideally situated on the Cornwall & Devon border, overlooking the River Tamar. A perfect country venue to use as a base to explore the west country… sandy beaches, Dartmoor National Park, Eden Project and quintessential Cornish villages are all within a short drive. If looking for an exclusive wedding location, to celebrate a special birthday or anniversary, or simply gather your family and friends together, Pentillie provides the perfect setting for the most memorable experience! The Castle accommodates a maximum of 22 guests in our 11 individually styled bedrooms with spectacular views. All first-floor rooms look across the River Tamar and over to Devon or of the historic gardens. Our ground floor bedroom has a wet room facility to enable disabled access. Most bedrooms can be twinned if requested. Guests have use of the AGA kitchen to cook their meals or dine alfresco using the BBQ with outdoor seating on the terrace overlooking the River Tamar. Spend summer days relaxing by the outdoor solar heated swimming pool or enjoy winter nights in the Drawing Room by the large open fire. Keep entertained in our games room with widescreen TV, billiards, table tennis and dartboard. Guests can explore the 55-acres of woodland gardens with many walks around the Estate, including paths down to the picturesque Bathing Hut on the quay, or up to Sir James Tillie's mysterious mausoleum. Well behaved dogs are very welcome to stay with you in one of our three dog friendly bedrooms. Additional services such as catering, housekeeping or concierge can be arranged in advance of your stay. Stay with us and enjoy… • 11 individually styled bedrooms with spectacular views (sleeps 22) • Large farmhouse kitchen featuring an AGA, gas range cooker & American style fridge freezer • Dining room with a large mahogany table • Two reception rooms with open fires • Games room with Smart TV, pool table, dartboard & table football • Solar heated outdoor swimming pool • Free super-fast broadband WiFi • BBQ facilities & fire pit • 55 acres of woodland gardens to explore
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Game room
Hiking
Highchairs available
Conference facilities
Electric vehicle charging station
Parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Swimming pool toys
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Private pool
Complimentary tea
Billiards
Darts
Patio
Table tennis
Walking tours
Board games / puzzles
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Concierge
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
First aid kit
Umbrella
Private check-in / check-out
Clothes dryer
Self-serve laundry
Washing machine
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Bathrobes
Additional bathroom
Desk
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Extra long beds
Walk-in shower
Dining area
Fireplace
Housekeeping
Seating area
Separate dining area
Separate living room
Sofa
Telephone
Wardrobe / closet
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Iron
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Dishwasher
Microwave
Oven
Refrigerator
Stovetop
Electric kettle
Kitchenware
Flatscreen TV
Radio
iPod docking station
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Landmark view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English
466Reviews1Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 450
  • 12
  • 3
  • 1
  • 0
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Suzanne F wrote a review Jul 2022
2 contributions
+1
We planned a week long family reunion for 22 at Pentillie and It was a spectacular event with memories to last a lifetime Despite rain throughout our stay, the venue was absolutely perfect. Every guest was able to relax and enjoy every minute of their stay. Sam,Stephen and all the staff were gracious and kind with all our requests. We can't wait to repeat this vacation at this same venue. All the outside companies that were recommended by Pentillie staff were phenomenal and exceeded our expectations Four elements catering and lone wolf archery, hats off to both of you!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
David K wrote a review Jun 2022
Bosham, United Kingdom10 contributions7 helpful votes
We were a group of 20 friends who have known each other for 45 years. We have reunions lasting three days days, every two years, so have stayed in many places - this time it was unanimous that Pentille was the best venue we have visited. There are many so positives things to say, starting with the location and building itself - which are simply spectacular. The public areas are lovely and the bedrooms are extremely comfortable. Next are the staff who were superb from start to finish. Everyone was highly professional, charming and took great pride in their job and in their special place of work. They all simply wanted us to have a great time, which we most certainly did. Pentille recommended a local catering firm, who were excellent - the food was creative, delicious and perfect portions. One special feature of Pentille is that guests are genuinely left to use the house as if it is their own. I have never come across this before and it was a wonderful feeling. Overall we had a great time and would definitely consider a return visit for a group who can use most or all of the bedrooms and so both create a great atmosphere and also spread the costs. Thank you to the entire Pentille team.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Mrs hillman wrote a review Jun 2022
4 contributions
Wow wow wow what a wonderful and spectacular place to hold a wedding. Chrissie the wedding coordinator was amazing so caring friendly and amazing. The rooms were out of this world. The attention to detail in every single room you could not fault. We attended our niece's wedding which was held in the very romantic boat house. I cannot thank everyone enough we all were made to feel so welcome and special we really really didn't want to leave. The owners certainly have something very special and unique. If you are thinking of this venue for a special event don't hesitate just book it I promise you will love it. Thank all at pentile x
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: All rooms are amazing
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Helen s wrote a review Aug 2021
1 contribution
We are a large family of 21 and spent the most glorious week at Pentillie. The first place in 16 years when everyone was entirely delighted with their accommodation! Beautiful grounds. Luxurious bedrooms. Massive kitchen and dining room and friendly and welcoming staff and owners. It was perfect. We loved it. We even had a murder mystery in the drawing room! Would go back at the drop of a hat
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Ffion A wrote a review Jul 2021
1 contribution
From start to finish we had superb service and communication from all at Pentillie especially Chrissie (wedding coordinator). They enabled us to have our dream wedding with every detail thought of and covered, nothing was too much effort and the day ran perfectly without a hitch. If you are thinking of having your wedding or event at Pentillie you will not be disappointed and will be in safe hands for the whole process.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Sarah W wrote a review Jul 2021
1 contribution
We have just had our wedding reception at Pentillie Castle, and it truly was the most wonderful day! From the moment we met, Pentillie's wedding co-ordinator Chrissie went above and beyond to make our dreams come true. She was always so friendly and happy to chat over even the smallest details, was incredibly helpful with all of our questions, and made every aspect of planning our Pentillie wedding into a really special and personal experience. We were drawn to Pentillie's beautiful grounds and outdoor spaces which all lend themselves to stunning photo opportunities, but we were equally impressed by the indoor areas, which are beautifully decorated and we and all of our guests greatly enjoyed our time there. Our guests all said how much they loved their sytlish and elegant bedrooms and the amazing breakfast the next morning too. On the day, nothing was too much trouble for any of the staff. Stephen, Linda and all of the team were fantastic, working behind the scenes, looking after our guests and keeping the day running smoothly. Pentillie is a magical place for a wedding and we would definitely recommend it to anyone looking for a truly special venue. We could not have chosen a more perfect place to celebrate our special day! Thank you all again for everything, we will always remember how you all helped make our dreams a reality. Brett and Sarah White (married May 2021)
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Nicola B wrote a review Jun 2021
1 contribution
We were greeted very warmly and had much appreciated help getting to our table where the views and setting were really beautiful. Sadly things went downhill from there, as the food and drinks themselves were very disappointing. After having the afternoon teas brought to us we weren’t checked on again by any staff for the duration of our stay so only had two small cups of tea each and a small serving of cream and jam to split between three of us with no refills or top ups offered to us at any point. We also were told there was a gluten free option available and sadly this involved very minimal effort, with fewer savoury options provided than those without dietary requirements and a fairly sorry looking bowl of fruit as a replacement to any cakes. Unfortunately this just all felt like no effort had really been made for the same cost. Recommended for the views but not much else unfortunately!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sammie Coryton, General Manager at Pentillie Castle & Estate
Responded Jun 17, 2021
Dear Nicola, We are so sad to hear of your disappointment with your afternoon tea experience earlier this week. We pride ourselves on the fact that everyone who visits Pentillie usually enjoys their experience to the full, and are very sorry to hear that this was not the case for yourself. Your feedback is very important to us, and as such we have reviewed the day, and chatted to both the chefs and the team (which included myself) with regard to your comments. We are very sorry that you did not feel that your needs were attended to. As I personally looked after your table I am particularly saddened to hear of your experience, as I did check on your party a number of times. However, I will use your feedback to review how I talk to guests in future to ensure that I ask more pertinent questions. You are right, I did not ask you ‘if you would like another pot of tea’, but merely if ‘everything was OK’? The chefs always try to ensure that any dietary requirements are looked after with the same attention to detail and flavour as other guests. We have asked them to review their offer for dietary requirement to ensure that this ‘reduced offer’ does not happen again. We also appreciate that ‘going out experiences’ are even more special than usual at the moment, and are very sad that we let you down on this occasion. We would like to offer you a complimentary tea Yours sincerely Stephen Waite House Manager
Read more
SJLar wrote a review May 2021
6 contributions2 helpful votes
This was my 1st visit to Pentille Castle, which is absolutely stunning, the Afternoon Tea was the best I’ve ever had, sandwiches and lots of savoury accompaniments the scotch eggs were divine! Scones, brownies & other cakes were all delicious! Thank you to Linda who attended to us for the afternoon, very friendly & welcoming! Definitely will be returning for a overnight stay & to explore the fabulous gardens & grounds.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Rebecca L wrote a review Sep 2020
1 contribution
Magical castle set in the dreamiest of landscapes. Every element of our stay was wonderful from our first glimpse of the castle from the drive, to the wonderful walks, swims and dining. Thoughtful touches all the way through to make our stay even more exceptional. Would book again in a heartbeat
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Actually all the bedrooms are beautifully appointed and decorated and all have wonderful rolling...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Judy E wrote a review Aug 2020
1 contribution
We all loved our bedrooms, which were beautifully furnished, the small grandchildren spent much time in the games room, allowing the grown-ups to enjoy playing the piano, or relaxing in the various sitting rooms. We enjoyed walks in the evening, particularly down to the river Tamar, and loved playing boules and other games. All the staff were very pleasant, and we loved the history of the house, and were delighted to meet the family who owned it. Lady E
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
Rooms
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$2,879 - $3,246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
pentillie castle hotel saltash
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandCornwallSaltashSaint Mellion
NUMBER OF ROOMS
11
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Pentillie Castle & Estate
Which popular attractions are close to Pentillie Castle & Estate?
Nearby attractions include Cotehele (2.6 miles), Kit Hill (4.7 miles), and Royal Albert Bridge (3.9 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Pentillie Castle & Estate?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Pentillie Castle & Estate?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, a refrigerator, and an additional bathroom.
What food & drink options are available at Pentillie Castle & Estate?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities, complimentary tea, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Pentillie Castle & Estate?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Pentillie Castle & Estate?
Conveniently located restaurants include White Hart Inn, The Boot Inn, and Who'd Have Thought It Inn.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Pentillie Castle & Estate?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Pentillie Castle & Estate?
Yes, self serve laundry and a clothes dryer are offered to guests.
Does Pentillie Castle & Estate offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to Pentillie Castle & Estate?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Cotehele (2.6 miles), Saltash Waterside (3.9 miles), and Mary Newmans Cottage (3.9 miles).
Does Pentillie Castle & Estate have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the river view available here.