We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun

Save
Share
Calle la Hoya de Afre 2, 35570 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote Spain
E-mail hotel
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Expedia.com
StayForLong
ZenHotels.com
Official web
Hotels.com
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (4610)
360
Panoramas (23)
Videos (1)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Read more
Updated 01/22/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun
Updated 01/22/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#12 of 37 hotels in Playa Blanca
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
GreenLeaders Silver level
Like a grand castle which majestically dominates the seascape of the AtlanticOcean and its islands, the magnificent GRAN CASTILLO TAGORO is erected in the charming area of Playa Blanca, in the south of the volcanic isle par excellence: Lanzarote. With the conviction that elegance and comfort should come naturally, this Hotel is a tribute to 16th century Canary history and colonial architecture, inspired by the "Castle of San José" and the typical landscape of the island, blending in with the environment. The building is divided into different zones which maintain their colonial style, where the white facades and volcanic stone contrast with the backdrop of the deep blue ocean. A charming interior courtyard of Arab inspiration bathes the reception area with light, and the contemporary décor and pale colours create a warm and very elegant atmosphere. GRAN CASTILLO TAGORO pampers every detail of the rooms and suites, which have breathtaking views of the sea and surrounding scenery. They are decorated in a contemporary style, with marine touches, light-coloured wood and pale colours, creating a pleasant atmosphere full of light. The discerning selection of restaurants and cuisines serve Canary, national and international specialities. There are conference rooms featuring spearhead technology, and various outdoor zones for events of different kinds. The "Vitanova SPA" thalassotherapy centre provides the benefits of thermal seawater, and specific treatments for the body and soul. The Hotel features a wide range of facilities and services.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Beach
Bicycle rental
Babysitting
Parking
Wifi
Hot tub
Pool / beach towels
Adult pool
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Kid-friendly buffet
Snack bar
Poolside bar
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Nightclub / DJ
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Airport transportation
Taxi service
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Facial treatments
Head massage
Massage
Salon
Solarium
Baggage storage
Concierge
Gift shop
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Safe
Sofa
Minibar
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
VIP room facilities
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Green
Family
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, German and 1 more
7229Reviews1382Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 3,815
  • 2,123
  • 858
  • 280
  • 154
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Matthew F wrote a review Today
Exeter, United Kingdom1 contribution
This was our first stay at the hotel and it was great - we booked a Merlin room and the extra space and toys were great for our little girl. Everyone was very friendly and helpful, especially the Kids Club team (our daughter loved the mini disco!) and Galdos (who kindly helped us with our bags and airport transfer).
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Edel wrote a review Oct 2021
Skerries, Ireland14 contributions31 helpful votes
Hotel's Favorite
As I write, all 5 of us are gutted to have to leave our happy place in the morning. We have been here for 10 days. But then, this is our 4th visit and we have to leave to come back. Once again this hotel did not meet our expectations....it exceeded them. I don't know where to begin with my praise and thank yous. Even going home, knowing it's possible to come to this beautiful resort again fills my heart. Let me start with the staff. Nowhere will you find a more professional, hard working, kind and good humoured team. The restaurant staff (both main restaurant and our wonderful friends at the Italian) are outstanding. The food was excellent. Meats, fish, and breakfast dishes cooked to order with precision. Hygiene and Covid measures are dilligent and consistently to a very high standard. The bar staff are wonderful. We had our drinks by the main pool where the staff took the time to remember the details of our preferences each time and with a smile. I marvelled at their patience and kindness when our little boys (aged 8, 7 and 4) asked for ice creams and milkshakes to their hearts content. The accommodation staff outdid themselves eaxh day. Beautiful spotless and spacious rooms. Again, above and beyond the call of duty, my little boys' 3 little teddies were put back to bed each day. A thoughtful and sweet gesture. Fresh bottled water left daily. I feel emotional talking about the kids club and animation team. What a special group of people. Jhon, Andrea and the team in the mini club were so lovely and our boys adored the fun with them. The activities and crafts were well condidered and added so much to their delight in the afternoons. Raul with his enthusiasm, energy and constant smiley face added so much to our trip. Each day he took the time to come and say hello to us all, and with news of daily activities. What a gem. Lorenzo, wow, what a pro, and a born entertainer. He made us laugh until our sides hurt. His great singing voice, hilarious wit and wonderful management of acts on stage. He blended everyone expertly. I worked in entertainment for some time, and I marvelled at his command of the stage. The acts themselves were wonderful and provided great variety each night. Dan Dream a gorgeous friend of our boys too. But....Would there be any chance management might consider a lighter costume? I just can help but wonder how the person under the suit dances in these roastng temperatures 🤔. The reception staff and porters were fantastic and immediately made us feel so welcome. Many staff through the hotel took the time to remember us from before and talk to the boys. The adults only area under Tony and his colleagues was a little escape of paradise. It's as though every possible requirement is anticipated and provided for. The effort put in to ensuring every convenience is laid out before you even ask. We return to Ireland tomorrow refreshed, healthier (maybe heavier 😳😇) but with full hearts, re-energised and planning our nect trip . Management take a bow. I'm sure you know this already but you may be so proud of the gift you give to your visitors. Most of all you must be so proud of your staff. To our friends of old Pilar, Desi, Antonio, Leire we missed you and thought of you often. With tons of love till next time our friends, Edel, Nick, Oisín, Rossa and Rógie (O'Reilly) Davin-Power xxxxxx With tons of love.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
7 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Responsable Calidad, Other at Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun
Responded Oct 4, 2021
Dear Delzer wowww very good review I am so pround to all the staff and I am totally agree with you is strength number one in the hotel . Of course we going to convey your feedback and congratulations sure they will be able to happy to know that their work worth it . I would like to add that these kind of reviews help us to carry on working with a single purpouse to looking for Guest´s Satisfaction . Many thanks again and we hope see you soon , here at your second home . Best Regards
Read more
paige wrote a review Jan 16
Peterborough, United Kingdom1 contribution
If I had paid a lot less I wouldn’t mind however there is a lot lacking. We paid £450 euros a night for the imperial suite (last full day today) Negatives- 1) Massive lack of plugs in the room had to unplug lamps to plug phone chargers in 2) no included room service even though we have paid for a premium room. When we did order it took ages 3) mini bar in room however all the items need a bottle opener but there is no bottle opener 4) when you look online you see a lovely restaurant overlooking the ocean- be warned this is adults only.. we have a baby so even though that is one of the reasons we booked this hotel we can’t actually go to that restaurant. 5) main reason for booking the imperial suite was the balcony but the cleaners seem to ignore the balcony on their daily clean… leaving rubbish ect 6) The entertainment really isn’t great. Usually a guy with an instrument playing parts of a song with a backing track the one night there was supposed to be a ‘fiesta’ there was an announcement 2 minutes before to say it was cancelled and it was replaced with bingo. Not impressed probably the worst effort of hotel entertainment I’ve seen. 7) we booked the Italian restaurant one night, basics lacking for example no cheese offered on pasta and they thought they had made a mistake with my dish (which they hadn’t) so they came over whilst I was cutting it up for my daughter and grabbed my shoulder to stop me? Also doesn’t look particularly premium in there. Ultimately this says it’s a family hotel but it isn’t- lots of adult only areas (which tend to be nicer) and lots of issues. If you are paying for a cheap room you may not mind the above issues but at over £1800 for 4 nights this wasn’t the standard we were expecting.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Responsable Calidad, Otros at Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun
Responded yesterday
Dear Paige, On behalf of the whole Gran Tagoro team, we would like to thank you for choosing our hotel to spend your family holidays in Lanzarote and also for sharing some of your impressions on the TripAvisor website. First of all, let us say that we are very saddened to read about all the inconveniences you found during you stay that did not let you fully enjoy your holiday with us. We would like to apologize for not providing suitable solutions right on time and will share all your comments with the departments involved in order to rectify all the minor issues than can be easily fixed and contribute into a pleasant experience. Regarding the entertainment and the cleaning standards, we are so sorry to read about your dissatisfaction; our housekeeping team will reinforce the maintenance at the terraces, especially in such a gorgeous room such as the imperial suite, and also our animation team is making changes with the only aim to improve the programme and activities during the day and night. As you said, our Gran Tagoro hotel is mainly aimed to families with children, but anyway we do offer adult only areas as well since all customers are welcome for us. In our website you can check the facilities available and the restrictions applied in terms of age. All in all, we do apologize once again since your stay did not meet your expectations in several aspects but, at the same time, we would like to regain your confidence and kindly invite you to give our Gran Tagoro a second chance so that you can check firsthand the improvements made. Kindest regards, Your Gran Tagoro team
Read more
KDS wrote a review Jan 13
Romford, United Kingdom1 contribution1 helpful vote
Yep think twice about this hotel. It definitely isn't 5* more like 2, at a push 3*. 3 week stay Dec 21-Jan 22, for Christmas and New Year. Upgraded to a suite and wish we hadn't!! Room was nice but the TV was in the bedroom so waste of time having a lounge with 2 x 2 seater's as you had to lay in the bed in the bedroom to watch the TV!! Food monotonous and bland. Nothing better Christmas day. New Year was a lot better but wasn't anything to write home about. PLEASE NOTE: Restaurants shut at 9pm and bars 11pm on Christmas Eve. New Years Eve to be able to get a table by the entertainment you have to reserve a table at the cost of between 75-100 euros otherwise you have to find seating elsewhere away from it. You do get a bottle of drink with that, but a liberty that you have to pay!! Some guests felt obliged to pay as they had children and wanted to be seated to see the entertainment, albeit the entertainment was terrible majority of the time!!! Happened to be a huge brawl that night too with police called to sort and then not so long after the riot police.............so not good for children, thankfully we didn't have any!!! Talking about children, the children pool here is the coldest of them all and over the back of the complex which never gets used as there is no entertainment at all and boring, hence everyone huddled around the main pool all the time. The Adults only bit too is at the back of the complex and therefore if you like the sun it goes from their early!!!!! Many returning guests, said that the hotel has gone down hill. New Manager June 2021, many cut backs and limited staff, who do try their best. .........WE ALSO HAD OUR ROOM BROKEN INTO - 29th Dec 21 went back at 11.50pm to find out patio doors open and the hotel staff and Manager did nothing at all to help us report it to the police and said it was at our own cost. It really was a nightmare. Told us to go to Playa Blanca police station, we did, it was closed only open 7am-2pm, went next day on opening to be told cannot report it there, so 30 euros down. Hotel still wouldn't help, British and Spanish Embassy did and so did BA duty office along with an English family, who resides there to help us complete an online police report albeit we had to go and sign and pick it up. 110 euros later as police station was way past the airport. Daunting experience as had to go through it all again with no help. Manager said only "spider-man" cold get in the room.............we our kind next door neighbour let us in their room so we could look, and no you don;t need to be spider-man as there is a flat room and the 2 room next door to us you can just step over their balconies and then onto ours!!! HOTEL HAS NO EMPATHY / COMPASSION, but they did when a guest complained that they had seriously broken COVID RULES, they got a written apology, bottle of wine and chocolates in the room..............BUT BEING BROKEN INTO DOESN'T MATTER!!!! Now back home and having to go via our travel insurance, just under 1k worth stolen. All we want is the items replaced, not the money, but as you know it is a long process. SO GOOD LUCK TO WHOEVER DECIDES TO GO THERE.................. we certainly wouldn't and know many that wouldn't either - shame as apparently used to be a great place!!!! Some of the staff, ie bar staff are lovely, especially in the sports bar, its just a shame that higher management didn't take some courtesy tips from them!!!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Value
Cleanliness
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Responsable Calidad, Otros at Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun
Responded 3 days ago
Dear karensX4200EI, Thank you for having taken the time to share your experience in our Gran Tagoro Hotel, here on Tripadvisor. We are happy that you highlighted some persons of our team because of their lovely attitude. Nevertheless, we would like to apologize for not having met your expectations regarding several points of your stay amongst us and that you did not felt well looked for by our management. We feel sorry that we did not cater you as you would have expected and beg your pardon for that. We assure you that it was in our best will to give you support dealing with the inconvenience you faced. Kind regards,
Read more
Jonny5-s wrote a review Jan 12
Barry, United Kingdom66 contributions45 helpful votes
The service at the hotel was amazing. All the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Hotel was very clean both from a room basis and public areas. The room was very spacious and had all the required facilities. Facilities for Children are first class and time made use of the baby club one day which was excellent. The choices of food was very good as was drinks. The location is a little far out but you can walk to the marina in around 20 mins.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Responsable Calidad, Otros at Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun
Responded yesterday
Dear Jonny5-s, Thank you very much for sharing this wonderful review on TripAdvisor about our Gran Tagoro Family & Fun, we are so thrilled to read that you had a wonderful family stay! It is a big pleasure to read that you highlithed the excellent service provided by our staff, who always do their best to provide an amazing stay to our guests. We will forward your kind words to them since this is actually the best motivation. All in all, we hope to have the chance to welcome you back soon to our Gran Tagoro for another great holiday time. Best regards, Your Gran Tagoro team
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$143 - $352 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
dream gran castillo hotel playa blanca, dream castillo papagayo lanzarote
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Dream Gran Castillo Resort
LOCATION
SpainCanary IslandsLanzarotePlaya Blanca
NUMBER OF ROOMS
327
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun
Which popular attractions are close to Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun?
Nearby attractions include Island Quest Escape Rooms (0.08 miles), ARTeguise (0.07 miles), and Libreria Osidinami (0.06 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun?
Conveniently located restaurants include Simple & Natural, Carpe Diem, and Alfie's Bar & Kitchen.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Does Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun have airport transportation?
Yes, Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, German, and Italian.