We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Urbanizacion Antalaya de Canyamel, Vial A,12, 07589 Canyamel, Capdepera, Majorca Spain
E-mail hotel
4 people are viewing this hotel
Hotel direct offer!Best Price Guarantee
Travelocity
$604
View deal
Free cancellation until 06/02/22
Expedia.com
$604
View deal
Free cancellation until 06/02/22
Trip.com
$554
View deal
Free cancellation until 06/02/22
Booking.com$604
Official Site$605
Hotels.com$604
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (912)
Room & Suite (238)
Videos (1)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Individually wrapped toiletries
Read more
Updated 05/16/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Cap Vermell Grand Hotel
Updated 05/16/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#4 of 15 in Canyamel
Location
4.4
Cleanliness
4.9
Service
4.7
Value
4.3
Located on the east coast of Mallorca, five minutes from the beach and overlooking the beautiful valley of Canyamel, Cap Vermell Grand Hotel is inspired by a traditional Mallorcan hilltop village. Around the main square with its charming clock tower, you can enjoy excellent cuisine and the best wellness, spa and leisure facilities. Cap Vermell Grand Hotel has 142 elegant rooms, including 16 exquisitely designed suites, and features a new concept of residential style meeting rooms, including a majestic 225 square meter event room.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Bicycle rental
Golf course
Babysitting
Electric vehicle charging station
Valet parking
Wifi
Hot tub
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Yoga classes
Yoga room
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Fitness classes
Personal trainer
Sauna
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Poolside bar
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Airport transportation
Shuttle bus service
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Massage
Baggage storage
Concierge
Sun terrace
Butler service
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
VIP room facilities
Laptop safe
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
Landmark view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Business
Modern
Languages Spoken
French, Spanish, German
Hotel links
Special Rate:See here our suites and villas
897Reviews42Q+A55Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 710
  • 123
  • 43
  • 16
  • 5
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
ELee914 wrote a review Apr 2022
San Francisco, California48 contributions19 helpful votes
My partner and I stayed here at the end of a 2.5 week trip around the Mediterranean during which we stayed at two Belmonds and a Four Seasons. We thought Cap Vermell was fabulous! We came here after a less-than-stellar experience at Finca Serena which ended with us leaving early. We discovered Cap Vermell via AmEx FHR and were delighted to read it had been built recently as a Park Hyatt, one of our favorite chains. It definitely still has the Park Hyatt vibe when you come here. We were upgraded to a Garden View Junior Suite which had fantastic views of the property and surrounding countryside, large & comfortable balcony and tons of space. There was enough space one of us could take a call and other could do something else undisturbed. Rooms are very beautiful and modern with an iPad and SmartTV with which you can use Chromecast. Bed was one of the most comfortable of our trip with top-notch linens. Toiletries are high-end (Bottega Veneta). I also loved the complimentary minibar stocked with water, colas and beer - such a thoughtful surprise! I read a lot of negativity about their dining options, but we found the food to be excellent and well-priced so maybe they've worked out the kinks from the transition from PH to Cap Vermell. We dined at Balearic and Tapas, but unfortunately Voro was fully booked during our stay. Next time! The staff is excellent. Whenever I made a request, the item would arrive like magic to our room within minutes (impressive given how spread out the property is!). Restaurant staff were super attentive and well-meaning. Because the restaurant wasn't too busy, the bartender rolled a bar cart to our table at dinner and made the cocktail in front of us. Such a treat! They really seem to care about their guests here. Guest Services was also so helpful when it came to scheduling a COVID test for my flight back to the US. It feels like this place could benefit from a bit more marketing and perhaps developing the local town into a bit more of a destination (restaurants, etc). We only happened to take a chance on this place, despite the somewhat tepid reviews, because our early departure from the other hotel and discovering it via FHR. The pricing was not cheap, but extremely reasonable compared to other places of this tier and overall, an excellent value. Highly recommend and would love to return!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Value
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from CapVermell GrandHotel, Director General at Cap Vermell Grand Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear ELee914, Greetings from Cap Vermell Grand Hotel! Thank you very much for your review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Cap Vermell, both the facilities and our gastronomic offer. We will inform the staff of your good comments to them. We look forward to welcoming you again and hope you can try our two Michelin Star Restaurant Voro. Warm Regards,
Read more
mrs_un0 wrote a review Sep 2021
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania214 contributions102 helpful votes
Hotel's Favorite
Came to Mallorca for a wedding weekend held at the Cap Vermeil Grand Hotel and was completely blown away. The grounds and views are amazing and every detail for the wedding was impeccable. Highly recommend this hotel if you are planning a trip to or an event in Mallorca!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Csaba Boda, Director General at Cap Vermell Grand Hotel
Responded Sep 16, 2021
Dear mrs_un0, Many thanks for your feedback on your experience. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your Wedding Weekend at Cap Vermell Grand Hotel. We look forward welcoming you again. Best regards,
Read more
BaileyBrooksMcCarthy wrote a review Apr 2022
Atlanta, Georgia15 contributions3 helpful votes
What we liked about this property - 1) the rooms are huge and elegantly designed with beautiful bathrooms and the comfiest beds 2) the breakfast buffet in the hotel is one of the best we've ever had 3) the surrounding area has a great mix of hilltop traditional towns and sandy beaches with lots of amenities. What we didn't like - 1) the pool is pretty small for a property of this size especially if you like to actually swim 2) other than the breakfast buffet, the dining options at the hotel are not that great especially in the evening and if you are travelling with kids.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Helpful
Share
Response from CapVermell GrandHotel, Director General at Cap Vermell Grand Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear BaileyBrooksMcCarthy, Greetings from Cap Vermell Grand Hotel! First of all, Thank you very much for your review, we appreciate it very much! We took good note of your good comments about the design and the breakfast but also we also value the other comments to improve the dining options at the property. Warm Regards,
Read more
Ursula K wrote a review Feb 2022
37 contributions42 helpful votes
This was our first holiday with baby (aged 1) and extended family, and so we chose two adjoining garden rooms for space, comfort and convenience. It was ideal. When we were in our room our baby had plenty of space to wander, the uncovered and covered garden was comfortable and safe for him. The rooms were very comfortable, well cooled, clean and current in decor. We had breakfast and pool time as a family, the main pool was perfect for a young family, and at lunch we returned to our room for his nap and a break. The hotel Japanese restaurant ROKA was a treat at sunset for my husband and I as a couple, and very close to the accommodation. Nearby there is a country club with access for hotel guests, and we enjoyed the gym and lap pool in the mornings. The food to the room could be nicer, but the food by the pool we enjoyed. Our stay was a success, the hotel and facilities are of a high standard. We are considering returning this summer.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Traveled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Li Wa wrote a review Oct 2021
Lausanne, Switzerland8 contributions13 helpful votes
Beautiful hotel, incredible suites and nice staff, however, we had no choice but to cut our planned vacation short and change hotel after 4 days. Our biggest issue with the hotel was the FOOD. When you look at their website, it states that there are 3 restaurants on site and a pool side bar/food service. In reality, there is really just one restaurant for dinner. The tapas restaurant only serves cold tapas. I don't know how many guests prefer cold food for dinner, but we certainly weren't one of them. The Michelin one star restaurant (opens 3 days a week) doesn't allow children. We were NOT informed at check in when we made reservations for dinners, despite of the fact we checked in with our son and made reservations for 3. We were later told that it is a policy for all Michelin restaurants, which is a lie because we've dined with our son (age 7) at many Michelin restaurants, including one we traveled to later in the week. We would've just dealt with the disappointment, if not the ONLY dinner restaurant served extremely disappointing meals. The only thing passable on the menu was my son's pasta on children's menu. The steak was chewy, calamari was under cooked, french fries, if you could call it that, were limp and mushy, baby chicken was dry and clearly cooked hours (if not days) before and warmed up before serving. There is a significant portion of the dishes listed on the menu were not available....every night. When we complained that there was no fish, we were told since this is an island, it's difficult to get certain food into the restaurant. It. is. an island. surrounded by the SEA! The following night there were fish available magically, they were dry and over cooked. Club sandwiches weren't available for several days and we were told the hotel hires an outside source to make these and they didn't deliver for those days. I'm no expert in hotel management but what hotel kitchen can't handle making a club sandwich?! Breakfast was good and it was the only meal we looked forward to. We barely made it to the 4th day of our vacation before we decided that we simply can't eat horrible food for 3 more days and left for the St. Regis. The hotel management were understanding and allowed us to cancel the rest of our reservation, which we were grateful. Honestly, we were willing to pay for the rest of the week anyway if we didn't have to eat another meal there. We also felt bad for the rest of the staff such as the buggy service and housekeeping for doing such a great job but having grumpy hungry guests. We are well traveled and this has been the worst food in any hotels we've ever been. If you expect to enjoy some good meals on vacation, this is not the place to find it.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Value
Rooms
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Cap Vermell Guest experience, Dueño at Cap Vermell Grand Hotel
Responded Apr 6, 2022
Dear Valued guest, Firstly we would like to thank you for the 4 days that you spent at Cap Vermell Grand Hotel. In regards to your experience with our gastronomy, we are sorry not to have achieve your expectations. When we speak about Cap Vermell Grand Hotel, we speak about a top gastronomic destination in the island. This year our Voro restaurant received the second michelin star, becoming the only restaurant with 2 michelin star in the balearic islands. Children are not allowed in Voro as we serve two tasting menus that are fixed as in every michelin star restaurant and we dont have alternatives for children (as pasta or similar). We offer babysitter service in case you would like to experience VORO in your next visit. We are also home of ROKA with its award-winning Robatayaki concept. Only with this two restaurants our standards are very high. We also have our tapas restaurant for tapas and cocktails and balearic, where you can find fresh fish every day. All the food of every restaurant is prepared in the hotel with local product, so no external suppliers for any dish. Again we are sorry about your experience, I hope you can offer us a second chance where we will accompany you during your journey and we will be able to bring your experience to the highest standards. Kind regards, Your guest experience team
Read more
Sonia D wrote a review Oct 2021
4 contributions
Marked down due to the situation below, but otherwise the staff were really nice: We hit an issue when we asked for a couple of sun loungers for the terrace of our Junior Garden Suite. The Manager was objectionable to say the least, telling us that loungers are not allocated to these suites. We don't think our request was unreasonable, we had seen loungers around the resort and had actually expected them to be in situ given that we booked a "garden" suite. It turned into a bigger issue than it ought to have, because the Manager's attitude was so hostile and non-negotiable - certainly not the customer service I would expect from this property, and so reflected in the ratings I am giving here. So if sun loungers are important to you/your trip, check with the hotel first as to which rooms they feature in - the website doesn't specify anything.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Value
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Torben A wrote a review Oct 2021
Hellerup, Denmark335 contributions165 helpful votes
Cap Vermell Grand Hotel (confusingly called Hyatt by Trip Advisor) is a quiet place – quite nicely build as a Spanish mountain village, but it as also a somewhat sterile place. My room (junior suite) was in good shape and with excellent views from the elevated terrasse. Good bed. But the system to control the lights etc. is bad – it takes too long time and requires glasses to find the right bottoms. Overdone technology. Also, the signage around the premises is almost missing, and the maps put up are too small and useless. I lost my way several times. Dinner very average – the Iberian Pork was overdone, grey and tasteless. Breakfast is very good and service fast. My stay was short, so almost no contact with service people. Even if it is a nice property, the price is much too high IMHO. 400 Euros pr. night in this low/shoulder season.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Garret K wrote a review Aug 2021
Washington DC, District of Columbia18 contributions30 helpful votes
I really try not to write bad reviews of hotels my wife and I stay at, especially after the year that we had and how hard the hospitality industry has been hit. However, I needed to jump on to agree with some of the other comments below. Vermell is an amazing and beautiful hotel but the service is lackluster for a 5 star hotel and how much money we paid. The front desk/guest services employees were hit or miss and its because they are doing way too many jobs. There were many dropped balls or dismissive attitudes. It seemed like the hotel in general was short staffed and that may be due to Covid so I don't want to be harsh and feel bad but for the money that was spent it does not seem worth it. Again, it may just be due to a workforce shortage but buyer beware. The hotels restaurants and staff were great (book Roka in advance like we did) and house keeping was on time and did a great job. The hotel has no ATM and is kind of remote so bring cash and possibly get a rental car.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Csaba Boda, Director General at Cap Vermell Grand Hotel
Responded Sep 9, 2021
Dear Garret K, Thank you very much for your review on Tripadvisor. We regret that we did not meet your expectations. I have taken notes of your feedback regarding your experience and will certainly work on it. We hope you will give us another opportunity to review your experience and look forward to welcoming you back soon. Sincerely,
Read more
erik K wrote a review Aug 2021
2 contributions2 helpful votes
The resort itself is nice, but showing some age. The service leaves a lot to be desired, and even when half full they do not hand out the best rooms to the clients. Checking in I asked if our room was a good room, the snooty receptionist arrogantly said: "All of our rooms are good." It was an ok room, with better clearly to be had. To be fair, we got an early check in, but this is stated on the website for direct bookings. Technology not working. The ipad you need for everything did not work once during our stay even when we remarked about the issue numerous times. the system of booking online for breakfast(!) is silly and feels cheap. Service disorganized at breakfast. Long waits. Slow non reactive service at the very small adults pool, no extra service at all which should be expected at the very high rates they charge. Service at Roka a disaster, with forgotten orders, wrong food served in at the wrong order, and waiters more worried about their hair then the clients. Fawlty Towers, but without the humor. Voro has some good dishes and good service, but not exceptional in any way. Room service comes in the form of a picnic basket and is served in paper take away containers, and left by the door. Complete joke, and with cold food, if I wanted to order Glovo or foodoora I could have stayed at home. This is a disgrace for any hotel calling themselves five star. They will probably blame covid, but that is as we all now complete falsery. There are perfectly safe ways to serve proper in room dining. All in all: Go to Can Simonta or Pleta de mar if vacationing in the area. This place has nice hardware, but service and attitude has to change. You feel here as with so many Mallorcan run hotels, that they are trying to cut corners for profit. And that kills any sense of luxury no matter how much nice materials used in construction.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Csaba Boda, Director General at Cap Vermell Grand Hotel
Responded Aug 23, 2021
Dear Monsk2017, Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay at Cap Vermell Grand Hotel. We are sorry our service was not as you expected and I have shared your feedback with my team and we will work on improving our service. We would be delighted if you would visit us again so that we can revert your experience and offer you our usual service standards. I would appreciate it if you could contact me directly so that I can personally take care of your booking. Sincerely,
Read more
M6359PWmichaelb wrote a review Aug 2021
Colchester, United Kingdom3 contributions3 helpful votes
Just arrived with my wife for 4 nights and unable to reserve Roko restaurant for duration of our stay. Complained and await call back from manager. Lunch restaurant offered very limited menu which is only accessed with QR code including wine list. Guests are asked to use in-room iPad to make restaurant reservations including breakfast but information not pre-populated so you have to enter name, email, tel no and guest names for each reservation. Even expect you to choose your breakfast menu when you book! I called reception to make the reservations as someone without an ounce of guest relations experience has designed this daft system. We stayed 2 years ago with our family and had a very good experience when it was operated by Park Hyatt but first impressions of new operator are poor. Very worryingly, my client has booked for a corporate event for 80 guests and this hotel will need to up its game.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Traveled
Room Tip: Book dinner reservations in advance and ignore their request to use ipad
See more room tips
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Csaba Boda, Director General at Cap Vermell Grand Hotel
Responded Aug 20, 2021
Dear M6359PWmichaelb, Many thanks for taking the time to write your feedback. We are very sorry that you were not able to enjoy your stay with us to the fullest and that you were not satisfied with our service. Please rest assured your comments have been noted and raised to the relevant departments to help us improve our service. We would be very pleased if you would give us the opportunity to show you our quality service during your next visit. Yours sincerely,
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$388 - $588 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Park Hyatt Mallorca
LOCATION
SpainBalearic IslandsMajorcaCapdeperaCanyamel
NUMBER OF ROOMS
142
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Cap Vermell Grand Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Cap Vermell Grand Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Sanddancers Bar (4.6 miles), Cuevas de Arta (1.1 miles), and Santuari de Sant Salvador (4.9 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Cap Vermell Grand Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Cap Vermell Grand Hotel?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Cap Vermell Grand Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Cap Vermell Grand Hotel?
Yes, free parking, a parking garage, and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Cap Vermell Grand Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Restaurant Los Arcos, Cafè Saüc, and Cafe La Luna.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Cap Vermell Grand Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Does Cap Vermell Grand Hotel have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Cap Vermell Grand Hotel offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does Cap Vermell Grand Hotel have airport transportation?
Yes, Cap Vermell Grand Hotel offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Cap Vermell Grand Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Cap Vermell Grand Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.