Villa Mangiacane

Villa Mangiacane

Via di Faltignano 4, 50026, San Casciano in Val di Pesa Italy
one of the most wonderful beds in the world
Traveler (344)
pool at the villa
Room & Suite (133)
swimming pool
Pool & Beach (31)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.0
#3 of 5 villas in San Casciano in Val di Pesa
Location
4.7
Cleanliness
4.5
Service
4.1
Value
3.8
A unique villahotel, where every room is different, from cardinal-red opulence of Medici or Borgia times via african art, sculpture and paintings to ladies rooms with pastell yellow, green and rosè. Guest will enjoy the view from the grand loggia or the first floor loggia over our vineyards and olive groves to the cupola of Florence cathedral. Two pools, an indoor restaurant and the herbal garden al fresco dining invite to stop and enjoy florentine and italian as well as international cuisie. The fluidum of long bygone days will be reawakened when you look at the frescoes and remind yourself, that Nicolo Machiavelli lived and worked here over 500 years ago , and it is purported that Michelangelo did some work during the 7 year's stay of Machiavelli stay here. Add to all that the winery, tasting wines at leisure in our barrique cellar or try our olive oil during our cooking classes -you have let yourself in for an unique stay with us.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Hiking
Babysitting
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Car hire
Wifi
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Kids' meals
Banquet room
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
VIP room facilities
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Luxury
Historic Hotel
Languages Spoken
English, French, Russian, Italian
335Reviews7Q+A50Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 216
  • 44
  • 27
  • 23
  • 25
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Unjournaled wrote a review May 2020
Brooklyn, New York376 contributions53 helpful votes
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Located a short 30-minute drive outside Florence, and an hour from Siena the property is located in a cute village with amazing 360 views. The property is very laid back, interactions with other guests are rare and limited - unless you are attending a function. The property is expensive, given the location, limited amenities and dated items in the room, including a stand fan to aid the AC. Our plunge pool also wasn't inviting. We stay two short nights to attend a friend's wedding, which was hands down amazing at the property with the staff and food! Take a walk into the village, Villa Machiavelli is amazing for dinner and reasonably priced!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tricia F wrote a review Oct 2021
1 contribution1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
After completing/leading our our 6 night yoga retreat at Villa Mangiacane all I can say is Wow!! The service was excellent from all staff on sight and in particular by the property manager Tania. She was always smiling and genuinely friendly, helped to organize activies/drivers in a quick and efficient fashion. We stayed in Villa Mazzei and all rooms were not only beautiful, but meticulously clean. Because of Covid we were the only ones on the property and were able to get a full 90 minute historical tour of Villa Machiavelli which is simply amazing (normally this would not be possible as other guests would be there). If at all possible try to get the loggia which offers a spectacular view (on a clear day) all the way to the Brunelleschi Duomo in Florence.
The pool and grounds all gorgeus, and an amazing spa as well.

The location is great, easy access to Florence by taxi or if you have your own car you can park very inexpensively outside the city and hop on a 5 minute tram ride to get to the historic district.

Unlike some of the negative reviews previously written I have nothing but positive things to say. This place is a real gem.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ashley1987¥ wrote a review Apr 2020
New York City, New York10 contributions32 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Well, we had our wedding reception here so we’re slightly biased, but we loved this place as the venue. It’s beautiful and classic without being showy, so you don’t need to do much decor-wise other than add flowers. It’s light and airy, and a brilliant party venue. Its Also a very large location so if you’re having a wedding reception here you need the support of a coordinator who knows well the entire space and a wedding planner.
My wedding was something out of a magazine! It was the PERFECT wedding and it's all because of the collaboration betw my wedding planner and the event coordinator Rose who always made us feel as though she had everything 100% under control. I came to her and my wp with a simple idea and they worked their magic and brought it to life.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Bradley S wrote a review Sep 2021
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
After having this holiday in the diary for the best part of two years, we were so excited to get away to this Tuscan retreat. Unfortunately, our experience made us wish we went anywhere else.

In the lead up to the trip, the staff were incredibly unhelpful, and the management team completely non-responsive, which seems to be a running theme throughout others' reviews.

The food is outrageously overpriced and the rooms are in desperate need of some form of modernising (as is the majority of the hotel).

There are so many far better similarly priced options in and around Florence!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
steve wrote a review May 2022
Bardon Mill, United Kingdom1 contribution6 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
In June 2021, I booked and paid for a 10 night stay for my honeymoon in May of this year. In April 2022, the hotel contacted me to confirm both my dates and arrival. I informed them we were visiting as planned. 12 days later, they again contacted me and stated that because of compulsory building work at the hotel, they could not honour my booking and suggested booking alternative dates. I checked with my airline and was told it would cost an additional £900 to alter my flights. I informed the hotel and asked them to reimburse me. I had not sought to alter or cancel my booking with them in any way and it was they that had made the alteration. They declined to reimburse me stating they were holding me to the original terms of the booking. Hotel.com, the company through which I had made the booking, were equally as unaccommodating and passed the buck to the hotel. I received a refund only by going through my credit card company who took up my case. If this is the attitude of both the hotel and Hotels.com; they won’t be getting my money anytime soon. Beware.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Natasha Z wrote a review Sep 2021
2 contributions1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
As many hotels have had to refund bookings over the last 2 years, it is shocking that Villa Mangicane have not given us a penny back. We gave them several months notice and have not even heard back.

Also, the staff have made unprofessional errors in the past when they accidentally copied me into an email circulated to staff (which detailed many worrying issues about the cleanliness of the villa).
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Villa Mangiacane, General Manager at Villa Mangiacane
Responded Sep 22, 2021
Your statements are incorrect. Your stay was booked as part of an event which your host cancelled. Whilst we were able to fulfil the contractual obligation on the booked dates, and further still offered various alternative dates and plans to accommodate the event or credit a stay, your host had subsequently changed their plans and then decided to hold the event elsewhere. Deposits made were done on a contractual, non-refundable basis to reserve dates that could have been sold to other parties. Your host had then resorted to harassment by threatening to damage the property’s business through her guests negative social media reviews which you now been doing.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Diane N wrote a review Oct 2021
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Very disappointed with the customer service – or lack of it at Villa Mangiacane. We were due to attend a wedding there and when the wedding couldn’t take place due to Covid they agreed to refund our money but never did so and have since reneged on their promise to do this and now won’t even respond to us. Be warned if you are considering holding an event there or even wish to stay as this venue are not true to their word and their trust is unfortunately quite questionable. Such a shame.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Elise W wrote a review Oct 2021
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
There is a complete lack of honesty and customer service sadly. The wedding we were due to attend here couldn’t take place due to Covid. Villa Mangiacane agreed to refund our money for the nights we had booked, but like other guests, they have since back tracked on giving us the refund, and now won’t even respond to us!

Be warned if you are considering holding an event here or even wish to stay as this hotel are not true to their word and their trust is unfortunately quite questionable. Such a shame.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Charlotte C wrote a review Sep 2021
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We were staying here for a wedding that couldn't go ahead due to Covid19. We were initially told we would get our money back. Unfortunately all our emails thereafter were ignored and every time we called they kept saying someone would get back to us, but there was no response. We feel very frustrated by the lack of communication and initial promise. It's such a shame as we were so looking forward to staying here and if we had received our money back we would have rebooked to stay another time
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Villa Mangiacane, General Manager at Villa Mangiacane
Responded Sep 22, 2021
Your statements are incorrect. Your stay was booked as part of an event which your host cancelled. Whilst we were able to fulfil the contractual obligation on the booked dates, and further still offered various alternative dates and plans to accommodate the event or credit a stay, your host had subsequently changed their plans and then decided to hold the event elsewhere. Deposits made were done on a contractual, non-refundable basis to reserve dates that could have been sold to other parties. Your host had then resorted to harassment by threatening to damage the property’s business through her guests negative social media reviews which you now been doing.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
fast wrote a review Nov 2021
Phuket, Thailand3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We keep coming back to Mangiacane for these incredible events. This time it was an unforgettable Halloween party. The food, wine, service and decorations were just amazing. And the colors this time of year are just breathtaking, the vineyards surrounding the property in bright yellow. And the remarkable statue collection in the lush gardens are just out of this world, it's like African renaissance. They also arranged a perfect VIP trip to go and see the David of Michelangelo at the Accademia Gallery. Til next time.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Answer from traveler6543987
Maryland18 contributions17 helpful votes
If you are talking about the cooking class, I believe it was free because we were already taking up the whole 10 room villa.
Answer from Jackie O
107 contributions12 helpful votes
They will help you get a taxi. They do not have any taxi service on site. They have to arrange it for you. Ask them to call or setup your cars before you arrive or need them. I wouldn't recommend asking them to call at the moment you need a car. It takes at least 30 minutes for the cars to arrive because they have to come from Florence.
Somethingtoremember asked a question Jan 2016
Kent53 contributions63 helpful votes
What is the approximate cost of this destination per night?
peery asked a question Dec 2015
Oceanside18 contributions17 helpful votes
What's the connection to Machiavelli that I saw on one web site?
Answer from Adalgisa C
Florence, Italy214 contributions23 helpful votes
Hi Peery, the connection is with Niccolò Machiavelli (the famous writer). Machiavelli Villa's compelling history dates back to the late 14th Century. The villa was built by the Machiavelli family and designed by Michelangelo, the famed Italian sculptor, painter, and architect of the High Renaissance. Because of the historical significance of the villa's owners and architects, the original buildings plan for improvements are housed at the Uffizi Gallery in Florence. These plans include a grander palace with a new wing, designed by Giorgio Vasari il Giovane. On the occasion of the marriage between the Machiavelli and Strozzi families, the coat of arms of the two families (Machiavelli/Strozzi) was affixed on the keystone of the central arch of the loggia on the main façade. The same emblem is present on the fireplace located on the ground floor of the villa. Niccolo Machiavelli wrote "The Prince" at his studio in Albergaccio, which was connected to Machiavelli Villa via an internal path. In 1646, the Machiavelli family sold the Villa and the ownership was turned over to the distinguished aristocratic family of Mazzei. Filipo Mazzei, an Italian physician and a promoter of liberty, was a close friend of the 3rd US president Thomas Jefferson. The Mazzei family was the longest serving owner of the villa, spanning over three centuries until the mid 20th century, with 1956 marking the end of many generations of the Mazzei dynasty's ownership of the Machiavelli estate. Machiavelli Villa was sold to Guidi da Bagno, whose origins are from an ancient noble family. Bagno held the property for only two decades. During this period the ruins from the WWII bombing of the East wing were removed and the front entrance and piazza were modified. In 2001, the property was sold to the current owners, investing in a multi-million dollar renovation, restoring the villa to its former splendour. During 2007, the restoration was completed and the villa was opened as a Small Luxury Hotel. The classic beauty of Machiavelli Villa combined with its art and idyllic Tuscan setting guarantees a brush with the historic past. At Machiavelli Villa you will find modern day conveniences are seamlessly combined with the splendor of the Renaissance. Adalgisa Conte
HeidiSchroderus73 wrote a tip Sep 2022
Livorno, Italy1 contribution3 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don’t go to this hotel!"
Read full review
Josh U wrote a tip Sep 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Expect terrible customer service from the outset."
Read full review
Costa 001 wrote a tip Nov 2021
London, United Kingdom12 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Upstairs rooms with balcony"
Read full review
zce650 wrote a tip Aug 2019
Hillsborough, New Jersey14 contributions16 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Some rooms require a walk up stairs"
Read full review
stephen b wrote a tip May 2019
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom1,424 contribution229 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Loved our room! 38."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the San Casciano in Val di Pesa area.
ALSO KNOWN AS
villa mangiacane hotel san casciano in val di pesa
LOCATION
ItalyTuscanyProvince of FlorenceSan Casciano in Val di Pesa
NUMBER OF ROOMS
28
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

VILLA MANGIACANE

Frequently Asked Questions about Villa Mangiacane
Which popular attractions are close to Villa Mangiacane?
Nearby attractions include Tusci Car Service (4.5 miles), Florence American Cemetery (2.0 miles), and Certosa Di Firenze (3.7 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Villa Mangiacane?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Villa Mangiacane?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Villa Mangiacane?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Villa Mangiacane?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Villa Mangiacane?
Conveniently located restaurants include Cinque di Vino, Ristorante Nello, and Ciccia e Vino.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Villa Mangiacane?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Villa Mangiacane?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Villa Mangiacane?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Villa Mangiacane?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, French, Italian, and Russian.
Are there any historical sites close to Villa Mangiacane?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Florence American Cemetery (2.0 miles), Villa le Corti (2.3 miles), and Casa Museo Machiavelli (0.3 miles).
All San Casciano in Val di Pesa HotelsSan Casciano in Val di Pesa Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in San Casciano in Val di PesaHotels near Villa Mangiacane
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars