We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Strada di Montalto 16, 53019, Castelnuovo Berardenga Italy
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Hotels.com
Expedia.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
View all 9 deals
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Traveler (168)
Room & Suite (26)
Dining (5)

About

#1 of 54 Specialty lodging in Castelnuovo Berardenga
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Montalto Castle offers vacation villa rentals near Siena in the beautiful Chianti region of Tuscany. Villas and apartments range from 1 to 4 bedrooms, and even a wing of the castle itself is available.The estate has a swimming pool, bocce ball court, laundry facilities and private garden areas. Enjoy the independence of a self-catering villa with all the advantages of a concierge's assistance.The area of Tuscany around Montalto Castle is beautiful and peaceful but also very rich in history, art, good food and good wine. With its rich past dating back over one thousand years, the castle provides a truly unique setting for your vacation in Tuscany.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Bicycles available
Tennis court
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Car hire
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Table tennis
BBQ facilities
Non-smoking hotel
Show more
Room features
Kitchenette
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Hidden Gem
Great View
Languages Spoken
English, French, Italian
153Reviews6Q+A37Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 138
  • 11
  • 3
  • 1
  • 0
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Jamie S wrote a review Jun 2020
1 contribution
Castello di Montalto was the most beautiful setting for us to marry in front of our family and friends. We loved hosting our guests all weekend, it was a truly relaxing and joyful time. The castle was the perfect retreat with plenty of space for the children to play and enjoy the pool. Chiara was the most amazing host; she helped us plan every aspect and was so kind and welcoming. She made the day run so smoothly and effortlessly organised every detail, we couldn't have done it without her! From our ceremony in front of the olive grove, to aperatives under the castle's shady tree and dinner and dancing in the fabulous courtyard, every aspect was so magical! We will never forget it
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Torre del Vescoc is fantastic.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Kelly T wrote a review Oct 2019
15 contributions2 helpful votes
+1
After speaking to and visiting several venues within the region, we held our wedding at Castello Di Montalto from the 19th - 21st July, 2019. Castello won our hearts for two reasons; 1. The pictures don’t do it justice. The grounds are stunning, the buildings are covered in beautiful vines that make the Castle the perfect setting for a golden hour wedding. 2. Chiara the venue manager put us at ease. She was incredibly accommodating and allowed us to create the wedding we wanted. She suggested fantastic people to work with for the ceremony, catering and her staff looked after the grounds and cleaned up so well. Everything felt easy. We started our three days with a pizza party in the courtyard. A local chef cooked the wood fire pizzas for our 95 guests. The ceremony was held on Saturday, overlooking the castle. We worked with Dream Chefs from Florence who catered the appreitivo and outside wedding dinner in the courtyard for us. Chiara suggested great people for live music and to work with for sound system and DJ equipment. On the Sunday we had a pool party recovery. We work up every morning to a clean venue, the staff were brilliant. Only things to note; The WiFi connection is not great (not that it mattered because we were having too much fun) The rooms are rustic Italian style .. if it’s not your thing it’s not a venue for you but we loved it! Thank you for the most incredible memories Castello Di Montalto! Jason and Kelly
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019Trip type: Traveled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from Montaltointoscana, Direttore at Castello di Montalto
Responded Oct 29, 2019
Thanks Jason and kelly ! You are very kind! A big hug to you both!
Read more
Emily S. wrote a review Oct 2019
8 contributions
+1
We celebrated our wedding in early September by reserving the entire castle for our friends and family. We live in California, and we rented the venue after finding it on Trip Advisor without ever having seen it in person. It was the best decision ever. The pictures and reviews do not do this gorgeous spot justice. The grounds are stunning, the castle is beautifully rustic and charming, the food is sensational. It is an oasis with very comfortable, yet authentic and reasonable apartments. This is not the spot for those looking for a luxury hotel with room service, but it's absolutely perfect in every way. Chiara, who runs the castle, is a hidden gem. She took over for us when our planner dropped the ball. She is an absolute professional who offers everything from vendor recommendations, to day of coordination to driving myself and my parents through the olive orchards to walk down the aisle. The woman is a planning genius. She's smart and she's tough (in the best way) and gets the job done right. If the outstanding views, large pool, and trails are not enough to keep you on the grounds, the venue is also situated in a lovely part of Tuscany, close to quaint little towns and wineries and a short drive to Siena. And the family who owns the castle was so welcoming -- as was their adorable dog Arielle, who greeted us. We will never forget our incredible wedding at the castle -- and neither will our guests. We can't stop talking about it! Highly HIGHLY recommend this spot and Chiara for a destination wedding in Italy. Thank you for a spectacular experience!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019
Rooms
Location
Service
Room Tip: Every unit is excellent, but we loved San Martino (most charming, intimate), La Scuola (most...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Montaltointoscana, Direttore at Castello di Montalto
Responded Oct 8, 2019
Thanks! You are very kind ! Hope to see you again in the future ! CHiara
Read more
Francesco D wrote a review Sep 2019
1 contribution
Castello di Montalto is an extremely charming and beautiful medieval castle which is perfect for a super fun wedding. We had our wedding here in early September and it was truly amazing! Everything about it, from the lack of ‘rules’ which other venues usually have, to the beautiful gardens and buildings and then to the extremely helpful manager - Chiara! Chiara and the castle helped facilitate our perfect 3 day wedding...including recommending amazing caterers, florists, band/s, and then helping to ensure everything went smoothly! The scenery is simply wonderful and it’s impossible not to be in awe of the history of Castello di Montalto. A special thank you to Chiara! Without Chiara it would not have been possible!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Montaltointoscana, Direttore at Castello di Montalto
Responded Sep 9, 2019
Thanks guys! You are amazing !!!
Read more
hopkinsr wrote a review Jul 2019
Melbourne, Australia2 contributions
This is a great place for a wedding, I’m sure. The buildings and grounds are lovely. We are a family who has travelled a lot and stayed in wonderful hotels, Airbnb’s and glamping tents in outback Australia. This was a pricey hotel and did not live up to website expectations, for a ‘non- wedding’ guest holiday. It is a beautiful setting, but we were disappointed with the amenities and the (absence of) staff. We have always received better service from Airbnb’s. At a 1/4 of the price. So please be aware of this before you book. The staff member who greeted us was rude, rushed and could barely show us around ( no relaxed tour of the castle for us). She was in her car and departed from the premises within 15mins of our arrival. She gave us a 2 bedroom apartment when we had paid for 3 bedrooms. Luckily, I caught her before she disappeared for 2 days and she apologised. We got our 3rd bedroom. There were no easily accessible staff around for the 3 days we stayed, only at the start to check in and at end to take money for an extremely basic bland breakfast ( eg over ripe bananas, rotten peaches). There is a private apartment that we could ring the doorbell for help if we really needed it. We did do this to enquire about ( lack of) wifi. They were unable to improve the wifi status. The wifi does was extremely poor. Surprising, given the rating and cost of this hotel. No cleaning of rooms, no fresh towels, no removal of rubbish. We had 3 days of waste pile up in our kitchen, as we couldn’t see any external bins to dispose of it. Lack of atmosphere. I’m sure with a wedding the atmosphere would be wonderful. For us, when there is no wedding on, the external garden lights were not even turned on in the evenings. We returned to the castle in darkness every night. Nothing like the photos. It is a shame that more effort is not made for the period when ‘non wedding’ guests are staying. I would not recommend this place for a ‘normal’ vacation. It looks like attention to detail is provided to weddings. Which is wonderful for wedding parties. Not so good for us!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Montaltointoscana, Proprietario at Castello di Montalto
Responded Jul 25, 2019
We are very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay here and that you thought Montalto was a hotel, which it is not. As clearly stated on our website, we offer self-catering homes. Extra services such as daily cleaning or extra changes of linens and towels can be arranged for a fee if booked in advance, and Chiara, our beloved part-time concierge, cannot be present all day 7 days a week. We realize that when you arrived you were upset by the fine you got before coming to the castle, but the house was as booked and Chiara was there to wait for you even though you arrived outside the normal check in times: she explained everything to you, including the location of bins, and the following day she replied to all your whattsapp messages even though it was her day off. She is not a rude person and the people that stay at Montalto cannot say enough good things about her. As our area is not served by DSL or cable we rely on a point-to-point antenna connection for internet access. Unfortunately a windstorm damaged our provider’s infrastructure just prior to your coming, but the connection was still possible even if slower than normal, fine for browsing but insufficient for HD video streaming and video calls. We apologize for this inconvenience and we are arranging for the installation of a new generation antenna that hopefully will reduce the likelihood of similar problems in the future. Finally we intentionally keep the outside lights subdued, not only to maintain the atmosphere of former times, but also to limit light pollution and show the stars. But steps and pathways from parking area to courtyard and front doors are sufficiently lighted for safety. While Montalto may not have all the advantages of a hotel, neither can a hotel provide all that Montalto has to offer for families on vacation. We hope you come back some day.
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$148 - $292 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
castello di montalto hotel castelnuovo berardenga
LOCATION
ItalyTuscanyProvince of SienaCastelnuovo Berardenga
NUMBER OF ROOMS
10
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Castello di Montalto
Which popular attractions are close to Castello di Montalto?
Nearby attractions include Borgo di San Gusme (2.8 miles), Chiesa di San Pietro di Badia a Ruoti (3.3 miles), and Villa Chigi Saracini (3.1 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Castello di Montalto?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and free parking.
What food & drink options are available at Castello di Montalto?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Castello di Montalto?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Castello di Montalto?
Conveniently located restaurants include La Bottega di Duddova, La Bottega del 30, and Enoteca Bengodi.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Castello di Montalto?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are pets allowed at Castello di Montalto?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Castello di Montalto?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, French, and Italian.
Are there any historical sites close to Castello di Montalto?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Villa di Catignano (1.6 miles).