We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Teach Cruachan

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Teach Cruachan
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"]},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

112 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Teach Cruachan
See the most recent reviews
Showing 100: English reviews
Washington, DC
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2016

Of the five places I stayed on my first trip to Ireland, Teach Cruachan was absolutely my favorite! The room and common areas were very clean. The hosts were friendly and welcoming - and they offered suggestions for places to visit and assistance when I needed it. Breakfast was yummy, too! I would highly recommend Teach Cruachan for anyone going... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank sschla_731319
TeachCruachan, Owner at Teach Cruachan, responded to this review

Hi Stephanie, you're very good to write such a nice review of Teach Cruachan. We were glad that you made the most of your visit, even seeing the first Fife and Drum Band to play in Dooagh for over 70 years. Now you're part of our village's history! We hope to see you again some time. Best wishes, Roisin and... More 

Galway
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2016 via mobile

Thanks to Roisin and Michael for such a lovely stay. We stayed 2 nights, slept so well and room was comfortable. Everything is provided and use of hot drinks station at all times. Breakfast was delicious seated looking out on to the sea. Will definitely stay again.

Helpful?
Thank Dav M
TeachCruachan, Owner at Teach Cruachan, responded to this review

Hi Davina, Thanks a million for reviewing Teach Cruachan. So glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and with any luck we'll see you again sometime in the future. And we'll make sure you get a room with sea view :-). Best wishes, Roisin and Michael. More 

Riom, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2016

We have spent one night on this wild and windy island. The family room is great but the double is very small and the view is poor. The owners were kind and helpfull. It was a short stay but we enjoyed the dinner at the Chalet (fresh lobster)

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank blch2014
TeachCruachan, Owner at Teach Cruachan, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. It's too bad the weather wasn't better when you were in Achill. It actually turned out to be a lovely day later on, but that's Irish weather for you! The double room you reserved (King Room) isn't described as having a view but the other rooms are, and its price reflects this. We're... More 

London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2016

We do not usually stay in B&B but there is a lack of hotels in this area of Achill Island. We are glad we picked this B&B it is a REAL GEM The hosts Michael and Roisin were great made us feel like one of the family. The breakfast was great and freshly cooked The view from our room looked... More 

Helpful?
Thank Davey12
TeachCruachan, Owner at Teach Cruachan, responded to this review

Hi Dave and Ann, we're delighted you enjoyed your stay, and thank you so much for the lovely card! We hope you'll come back to see us again. Kind regards, Roisin and Michael More 

Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2016 via mobile

It was a great experience in Achill and this B&B was one of the best I've ever been. Great breakfast, very friendly hosts who do everything to feel you like home. Also nice and clean rooms. They even made us a spontaneous meal when the pub Restaurant closed. Absolutely recommended.

Helpful?
Thank kloppo1909
TeachCruachan, Owner at Teach Cruachan, responded to this review

Hi lads, thanks for your great feedback. We're delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. Don't forget to email us some of the beautiful photos you took from the top of Croaghaun and on Minaun Heights - we can't wait to see them :). Hope you made it to Dublin airport in plenty of time for check-in. Kind regards, Roisin... More 

Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2016 via mobile

This was a perfect welcome to Ireland. The room was a cozy and comfortable retreat, which was welcome after a long journey and several days of walking around the island. Roisin and Michael are very friendly hosts and make sure that all your needs are met. Roisin makes the most fabulous French toast, the best I've ever tasted, ordering them... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kmmhappy
TeachCruachan, Owner at Teach Cruachan, responded to this review

Hi K, thanks so much for your great review. It was a pleasure to meet you and we're delighted you enjoyed your first few days in Ireland. You've been blessed with good weather too, which always helps :). We hope you enjoy the rest of your holiday and that you'll come back to Teach Cruachan sometime. Best wishes from Roisin... More 

Hamburg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2016

We stayed two nights at Teach Cruachan and had a great time. The room was very clean and cozy, and the breakfast was very delicious. I would definitely recommend it to anyone visiting Achill Island. Thank you Roisin & Michael!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank johnmuller417
TeachCruachan, Owner at Teach Cruachan, responded to this review

Hi John, thanks so much for your review, and sorry for the delay in responding to it. We would love to see you again in Teach Cruachan in the future! Best regards, Michael and Roisin More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2015 via mobile

We stayed here earlier this year for a bankholiday weekend. Our hosts really made us feel at home- nearly part of the family! Clean, cosy and great location. Breakfast was good too. Highly recommend to anyone staying in Achill

Helpful?
1 Thank SquidgyDuck
TeachCruachan, Owner at Teach Cruachan, responded to this review

It was very kind of you to think of reviewing Teach Cruachan, thanks a million. We have no excuse for not responding before now except that we were away on holidays at the time. You know what it's like - if it doesn't get done on the spot it gets put on the 'long finger'. Thanks again, Roisin and Michael More 

SC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2015

Breakfast very good. Owners were very helpful. Pub close by, good pub food, close enough to walk. Beautiful view from breakfast room, Looking directly at ocean. Don't miss drive to beach, road narrow but worth the drive.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank emily B
Keelwest, Owner at Teach Cruachan, responded to this review

Hello Emily, Thank you for taking the time to review Teach Cruachan, and for your kind words. We hope you'll make it back to the West of Ireland in your future travels, and you might even make it back to Achill Island! Best wishes, Roisin and Michael More 

Cologne, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2015

Nice quiet room, though a bit small. Excellent Irish breakfast. Very friendly hosts. We came without a car, and our host took us to a restaurant 5 km away when we arrived after 8 pm. He also took us to a beach where we could relax an walk around.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank manfred279
Achillbnb, Owner at Teach Cruachan, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind words - we enjoyed meeting you and your family very much. Here's hoping you'll be able to come back to Achill Island some time! Best wishes, Roisin and Michael. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

69 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (35)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (30)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (34)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Achill Island
15.1 mi away
Mulranny Park Hotel
Mulranny Park Hotel
#8 of 15 in Westport
4.5 of 5 stars 846 reviews
4.8 mi away
Achill Lodge
Achill Lodge
#5 of 12 in Keel
4.5 of 5 stars 92 reviews
1.9 mi away
Ferndale Luxury Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Pure Magic Achill
Pure Magic Achill
#1 of 3 in Dugort
4.5 of 5 stars 129 reviews
2.5 mi away
Achill Cliff House Hotel
7.8 mi away
Achill Water's Edge
Achill Water's Edge
#7 of 28 in Achill Island
5.0 of 5 stars 83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Beachfront
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
Room types
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Teach Cruachan Bed & Breakfast overlooks Dooagh Bay, where pods of dolphins and basking sharks often visit. You are welcome to make yourselves entirely at home in our home on beautiful Achill Island.Free wifi Internet, free tea/coffee/herbal infusions, cocoa, etc, 24/7. Comfortable ensuite rooms with TV, clock radio, private bathroom. Local produce used in our varied breakfast menu, including fresh fish when available.Guided tours and passenger transport in our own 16-seat minibus, and bicycle and accessory hire available.Céad Míle Failte isteach. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Teach Cruachan

Address: Keel West | Dooagh, Achill Island, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Achill Island
Price Range: $93 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Teach Cruachan 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Teach Cruachan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay