We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

La Begude Saint Pierre

Traveler (99)
Dining (14)
Room & Suite (9)

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Finding an ideal charming hotel in Vers-Pont-du-Gard does not have to be difficult. Welcome to La Begude Saint Pierre, a nice option for travelers like you. Free wifi is offered to guests, and rooms at La Begude Saint Pierre offer a minibar and air conditioning. During your stay, take advantage of some of the amenities offered, including a 24 hour front desk, a concierge, and sun umbrellas. Guests of La Begude Saint Pierre are also welcome to enjoy a pool and breakfast, located on site. For travelers arriving by car, free parking is available. While visiting Vers-Pont-du-Gard, you may want to try some tapas at one of the nearby restaurants, such as La Grange de Vers. If you are interested in exploring Vers-Pont-du-Gard, check out a historic site, such as Pont du Gard. La Begude Saint Pierre puts the best of Vers-Pont-du-Gard at your fingertips, making your stay both relaxing and enjoyable.
Read more
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free parking
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Breakfast Available
Concierge
Laundry Service
Meeting rooms
Multilingual Staff
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor pool
Wheelchair access
Show more
Room amenities
Air conditioning
Minibar
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS

Location

Full view
48Car recommended
Grade: 48 out of 100
59Restaurantswithin 5 miles
3Attractionswithin 5 miles
224Reviews
1Q+A
8Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 88
  • 87
  • 31
  • 14
  • 4
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More languages
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
We had an perfect one night stay here. The hotel is adorable. It's in an old (16th century i believe) building that has been renovated. So many cute spaces. The outdoor area near the bar, the pool area, etc. Room was comfortable. Staff was very nice and accommodating. Dinner in
Read more
Very nice and relaxing place with swimming pool and nice restaurant. Meeting rooms also spacious and well maintained. Servie a but slow but very flexible. Very clean. Vintage style. Nice location for a walk to the famous bridge.
Read more
We were here for a wedding and I adored this place! The only reason it is not 5 stars was the bar (which no one seemed to be at ever). Otherwise, it is an old abby and is on truly beautiful grounds. Worth a wonderful stay!
Read more
My recommendation to anyone travelling through France - book a room at a hotel "Relais" - these are old postal way stations where the mail would be sorted or handed off to a new coach and horses (not sure but I think this is where the English word "relay" comes from). Many of
Read more
Response from La Bégude S, Assistant General Manager at La Begude Saint Pierre
Responded Oct 6, 2017
Dear Mr 'Euroyankee', Thank you so much for this amazing review of La Bégude Saint Pierre. You know what, we absolutely agree with you: a glass of pastis is one of the best way to enjoy it ! We look forward to welcoming you back in Provence ! Best regards, Charlotte
Read more
Maybe you have read my previous reviews of Bégude? We have stayed three times and each time was truly magical, especially the food. It's changed. I assume new management has come in - if you are reading this Mr Manager - you are ruining the palace - stop and go back to how it
Read more
Response from La Bégude S, Assistant General manager at La Begude Saint Pierre
Responded Aug 20, 2017
Dear Mr Sand (and Mrs Ludlam), We have read your comments this morning in detail. Our guests’ reviews are always really important to us, as our main goal is to make our guests enjoy their stay, and we are always on the lookout for ways to improve. As a result, it is our policy to offer compensation when we have technical issues in the allocation of rooms, and we were delighted to see that you appreciated the bottle of wine (value 34 €), the drinks (value 10 €), and extra bed (value 30 €) for free. We were however surprised to find that you are under the impression we price our rooms at EUR 300-800 per night as our prices never exceed 450,00 EUR for our largest room (60 m²) at the highest season. As a matter of fact, you paid 254,00 EUR for a family room (40 m²), which is just below the status of a Suite. As you may or may not understand, the price of the rooms is meant to cover the rent, maintenance, repair, and cleaning of the building and external amenities but not the service. We pride ourselves on what we believe to be the best value for money in our class of hotel in our region. Equally, we reserve the right to charge for extra services as a means to inform our clients that freshly pressed orange juice is not the norm for our reasonably priced breakfast (we however have fresh local juices included in the price of pear, apple, and apricot). In addition, we try to limit, what is a labour intensive and wasteful service, to those who clearly appreciate it. Regarding the restaurant, we take seriously the comments you made about the dirty mugs and tables, and warm coffee. We apologize profoundly for this error. Equally, we are very sorry that you had to request the bread for your meal. It is our policy to serve the bread at the beginning of the meal and as much as our guests want! We have spoken to our restaurant staff, have shown them your comments and taken the time to reinforce procedures and training. We do believe some of your comments may have to do with the expectation you had set for our restaurant. Sadly, we have recognized over the years that, in the main, the demand of our guests no longer is a Michelin starred restaurant (and consequent price), but rather a desire to dine in a regular gastronomic restaurant with nice service, great location, ambiance and at a reasonable price. That is exactly what we are trying to provide. You may have noticed the menu you had Thursday evening as your half board is only 39,00 EUR per adult, and this price is hardly the price of a Michelin starred restaurant, nor is it meant to be. One third of your comment is about the smoking policy at our property. As it is written in every confirmation email, our establishment is smoking free. But we cannot forbid our guests to smoke outside. Even in 2017, we have a lot of guests that would not frequent our establishment if smoking outside were not possible. We are however sensitive to your comments and we do intervene politely and respectfully when asked by customers. It is a shame that we need to communicate using this forum as you could have let us know your grievances during your stay or even during your check-out. I am the one who did the check out with your wife Friday morning and unfortunately none of these issues were reported, even after extensive questioning. As you have been so liberal in your review, we would like to take the opportunity to reciprocate some advice: the words you chose to describe what you think is our policy:  pathetic, greedy, madness, sheer stupidity and short sighted, could easily be interpreted by some as disrespectful or down right impolite. We suggest that refraining from this sort of language would increase the credibility and acceptability of your review. Best regards, Charlotte G
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$108 - $258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
FranceOccitanieGardVers-Pont-du-Gard
NUMBER OF ROOMS
25
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing