We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Highbullen Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Highbullen Hotel
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

491 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 491: English reviews
Chesham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

After a crazy drive down tiny lanes in beautiful countryside, we eventually found the hotel. It looks lovely, overlooking amazing views. Very welcoming, before heading to our room, with huge 4 poster bed. We then went straight to the indoor pool for a swim & jacussi & sauna. Just what we needed, after a long drive. Before getting ready for... More 

Helpful?
Thank robinsonpippa
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We booked Highbullen Hotel after seeing the deal on Great little breaks. On arriving we were told that our room was away from the main house but there was a parking space allocated to us outside. This was very unusual and extremely convenient. When we got in the room (the pass key we were given didn't work), we were delighted.... More 

Helpful?
Thank 110FMS
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Great location, lovely hotel rooms and facilities and friendly helpful staff. Enjoyed a swim every morning in the indoor pool and jacuzzi looking out over rolling green hills and the golf course. Tennis courts available too. A very relaxing break with plenty of places to visit nearby. Rosemoor gardens were lovely too. Well worth a visit.

Helpful?
1 Thank Angela R
RonnieOrr, Resort Director at Highbullen Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Angela R, Thanks for your review following your recent stay - great to see that you managed to make full use of the facilities during your break and get over to Rosemoor Gardens. Hope to see you back very soon, regards, Ronnie More 

Wembworthy, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My wife and I stayed at Highbullen during our first time away together and have very fond memories of that and subsequent visits The last was many years ago, so now we live in thr area we decided to take a stroll down memory lane to celebrate our 37th wedding anniversary by having dinner there....and it was the perfect choice.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank roseandcrowninfo
RonnieOrr, Resort Director at Highbullen Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Roseandcrowninfo, Fantastic to read that you were tempted back to Highbullen now that you are back living in the area - and I am so pleased to read that it was the perfect choice - how fantastic. We are so fortunate to have such a great team in our Kitchen and front of house, who were recently awarded 2... More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We booked this 1 night break as part of a Travelzoo deal to celebrate our 1 year wedding anniversary. We upgraded our room to the Louis Seize in the main manor house. When me and my husband walked into to room it was WOW! The best room we have ever stayed in. The room was huge and looked over the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank ReanneHoney
RonnieOrr, Resort Director at Highbullen Hotel, responded to this review

Dear ReanneHoney, I am so pleased to read that you had such a great short break with us; "the best room we have ever stayed in" - what a lovely compliment. It is a very special room. Thank you so much for your great review, kind regards, Ronnie More 

Crediton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Wow fantastic. Had eaten at high bullen before and food was good. But this was 5 star visit. Arrived and got taken through to restaurant where we're put so could see view, which is fabulous. Service was friendly, personal and professional. Food was excellent. Staff attentive. It was my mum's birthday and they made her feel special. She had fruit... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Stella A
RonnieOrr, Resort Director at Highbullen Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Stella A, Thank you for your lovely review following your recent lunch in the Devon View Restaurant, and that Mum was made to feel very special on her birthday - that`s what we are here to do and what we all enjoy! Hope you will be back very soon, best wishes, Ronnie More 

Hampshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We booked three nights here: two as part of a Telegraph offer and a third night as an extra. Good points: courteous staff, wonderful views from the terrace, excellent breakfasts, pleasant public rooms in the Manor House, a huge bathroom attached to our cramped bedroom. Bad points: small,cramped bedroom over the restaurant kitchen with limited storage space and a TV... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank senseandsensibility
RonnieOrr, Resort Director at Highbullen Hotel, responded to this review

Dear senseandsensibility, I am so sorry to hear that you had a disappointing stay at Highbullen. I do know that the room allocated to you "the snug" is quite small, as the name suggests. Unfortunately as we were fully booked we were unable to relocate you to another room. The snug is classifies as a standard double bedroom, but we... More 

Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The restaurant has a very nice ambience with a view across the golf course. The service was efficient, although it has to be said that the restaurant was practically empty at 4 'o' clock. The food was nicely presented albeit a little less than one might have expected, nevertheless overall it was a pleasant experience.

Helpful?
2 Thank 495pietro
RonnieOrr, Resort Director at Highbullen Hotel, responded to this review

Dear 495pietro, Thank you for your recent review following your visit to Highbullen for afternoon tea. While you have written that the overall experience was pleasant, I get the feeling that you were not completely bowled over, which is reflected by your three star rating. Sitting in an empty restaurant certainly would not have helped the atmosphere, but we do... More 

Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were visiting Rhs garden Rosemoor and found this special offer in the telegraph. We were in one of the lodges which was comfortable and spacious. The food in the restaurant was very good,as we're the staff. Breakfast was also very good. Although out of the way,it was worth it and very good value.

Helpful?
1 Thank Ann B
RonnieOrr, Resort Director at Highbullen Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ann B, Thank you for your recent review, I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your trip to Highbullen and that we delivered good value. Hope to see you back again soon, regards, Ronnie More 

Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
189 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Enjoyed a few days here surrounded by glorious views. Meal in the Devon view restaurant was excellent and the accommodation was very good in one of the cottages. Spent all day on the golf course/ leisure facilities in view of dodgy weather. Recommend

Helpful?
2 Thank Neil D
RonnieOrr, Resort Director at Highbullen Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Neil D, Many thanks for your kind review following your recent short break at Highbullen. I am delighted that you had a great stay and that you will recommend us to others. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future, kind regards, Ronnie More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

218 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (195)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (46)
Viewed
View from Room (17)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (29)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (73)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chittlehamholt
0.0 mi away
Northcote Manor Country House Hotel
0.0 mi away
Lewtrenchard Manor
Lewtrenchard Manor
#1 of 1 in Lewdown
5.0 of 5 stars 337 reviews
0.0 mi away
Watersmeet Hotel
Watersmeet Hotel
#1 of 4 in Woolacombe
4.5 of 5 stars 654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Gidleigh Park Hotel
Gidleigh Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Chagford
5.0 of 5 stars 920 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bovey Castle Hotel
Bovey Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Bovey
4.5 of 5 stars 1,985 reviews
0.0 mi away
Fox and Hounds Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Golf course
  • Tennis Court
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Highbullen Hotel, Golf and Country Club is set in a 125 acre estate in the heart of North Devon, with far reaching views down the Mole Valley and across to Exmoor. Here you will find a warm welcome, comfortable and luxurious surroundings and the opportunity to enjoy an unrivalled selection of activities on site and nearby. Highbullen has been fully refurbished in 2013, including all the rooms, restaurant and all public areas. There is an 18 hole USPGA specification golf course and a extensive leisure facilities, including swimming (indoor and outdoor), gym, sauna, steam room, Jacuzzi and tennis. Nestled between Dartmoor and Exmoor and within easy reach of Exeter in one direction and the Atlantic coast in the other. Guests can take their pick of accommodation - from a luxury room in the impressive Victorian "Arts and Crafts" manor house, to a selection of peaceful rooms located around the estate. Nearby you can walk on Exmoor or the South West Coast Path, with breathtaking views, or enjoy all the activities and attractions of this beautiful part of North Devon. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Highbullen Hotel

Address: Chittlehamholt EX37 9HD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Chittlehamholt
Price Range: $154 - $303 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Highbullen Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Highbullen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highbullen Hotel Umberleigh
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay