We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Highbullen Hotel

Save
Share
Chittlehamholt EX37 9HD England
Lowest prices for your stay
$226
View deal
Free cancellation until 12/16/21
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Booking.com
View all 12 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (324)
Room & Suite (47)
Dining (43)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
Highbullen Hotel, Golf and Country Club is set in a 125 acre estate in the heart of North Devon, with far reaching views down the Mole Valley and across to Exmoor. Here you will find a warm welcome, comfortable and luxurious surroundings and the opportunity to enjoy an unrivalled selection of activities on site and nearby. Highbullen has been fully refurbished in 2013, including all the rooms, restaurant and all public areas. There is an 18 hole USPGA specification golf course and a extensive leisure facilities, including swimming (indoor and outdoor), gym, sauna, steam room, Jacuzzi and tennis. Nestled between Dartmoor and Exmoor and within easy reach of Exeter in one direction and the Atlantic coast in the other. Guests can take their pick of accommodation - from a luxury room in the impressive Victorian "Arts and Crafts" manor house, to a selection of peaceful rooms located around the estate. Nearby you can walk on Exmoor or the South West Coast Path, with breathtaking views, or enjoy all the activities and attractions of this beautiful part of North Devon.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Golf course
Tennis court
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Wifi
Hot tub
Indoor pool
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Sauna
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Facial treatments
Massage
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Safe
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
838Reviews9Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 500
  • 223
  • 63
  • 30
  • 23
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sallyhs55 wrote a review Yesterday
Worcester, United Kingdom20 contributions10 helpful votes
Whilst the accommodation may feel a little dated and perhaps a little shabby in places, the quality of the food served in the dining room in the evening was superb. I would absolutely recommend this hotel based on this alone. I have not experienced catering to this high standard anywhere else I have stayed. It was delightful.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: There are no lifts in the property, which we were not aware of at the time of booking.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Nicole C wrote a review Oct 21
Exeter, United Kingdom36 contributions30 helpful votes
We have stayed a couple of times prior to Pandemic and loved every detail. This was our first trip in a while and read with disappointment that the hotel had changed hands. Some reviews were very positive about the perceived changes. We found no changes ! The Welcome is as lovely as ever, we were lucky to have a free upgrade and delighted with our beautiful room. We had a swim in the pool which looks bright and fresh as ever. The Chef had been sent home sick so the menus were combined ...we still enjoyed a thoroughly gorgeous meal. The breakfast did not disappoint either - all top notch.Every single member of staff we encountered could not have been nicer . So relieved that nothing has changed and so we will continue to visit with confidence and pleasure.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Lots of options depending on what you want, we like all the options but favour the feature rooms...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Simon Bailey, Other at Highbullen Hotel
Responded 2 days ago
Dear Valued Guest, Many thanks for taking the time to post such a wonderful review. It was a pleasure welcoming you back for your first trip in a while, and we are naturally delighted that you found Highbullen as fabulous as your previous visits. We will be sure to share your kind words with our team, thank you. Our greatest reward is knowing that you will return with confidence and pleasure, and we look forward to welcoming you back. Sincerely, Simon Bailey
Read more
mm27760 M wrote a review Oct 6
Clevedon, United Kingdom13 contributions5 helpful votes
We stayed in a Deer View room separate to the main building. At first I thought I would be disappointed but we actually really enjoyed the stay, the room is large and comfortable we a great view. Be aware there is a steep slope to get to get back to the hotel we drove up for meals as the slope does lend itself to ladies high heels. The food in the main restaurant we thought was superb, stylish but also accessible.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Simon Bailey, Other at Highbullen Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear mm27760 M, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed your weekend break. Your 5 star rating is much appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back soon again. Sincerely, Simon Bailey
Read more
Rosanna H wrote a review Oct 5
3 contributions
I went to the Highbullen hotel recently on a Secret Escapes deal. I paid for the best room which was a four poster bed and looked absolutely beautiful. When we arrived at the room, the corridor leading to the room was dirty, light fixings were hanging off the wall and there were cobwebs all over the place. The room was the biggest disappointment of them all. The room was worse than a holiday inn room. Not the room we had paid the extra money for whatsoever. The bathroom was filthy - the loo had stains when you lifted the seat up and the shower had left over bottles from a previous guest that hadn't been removed. I felt thoroughly disappointed at the whole trip and wouldn't go back. It was such a shame because I was really looking forward to a lovely weekend away in the North Devon area. I would not go back and I do not recommend to other guests.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Simon Bailey, Other at Highbullen Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Rosanna H, I am not sure if your reservation was made under a different name, but we are unable to trace your booking in our system. Please may I ask that you contact me directly on simon@highbullen.co.uk I would truly appreciate an opportunity to discuss your stay. Sincerely, Simon Bailey
Read more
Lynherlynda wrote a review Sep 2021
Arronche60 contributions29 helpful votes
What a wonderful place! We were there for two nights on a golf break and thoroughly enjoyed it, having fantastic weather also helped. The hotel is on high ground but sheltered and has stunning views all round of the North Devon countryside. Our room was very pleasant and spacious and benefitted from doors onto a patio. The decor was a little tired with some chipped furniture and torn wallpaper. The food was excellent and the chef is to be congratulated, staff were very pleasant but did make some mistakes with orders but these were quickly rectified. My husband enjoyed the golf, a beautiful course although he considered the greens were not in good condition. I enjoy walking and tried some of the walks given but they were not all circular and usually included lane walking, some of which were not ideal for walking. A footpath around the golf course would have been good. The outdoor swimming pool was great, not large but quiet. I did not try the indoor pool. We were told that the hotel had just changed hands, so if the new owners did some room refurbishment and improved the golf course it would get five stars from us, We look forwardt o returning for another break another year.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Simon Bailey, Other at Highbullen Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Lynherlynda, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are naturally delighted that you thoroughly enjoyed your two night break. The hotel has changed hands as you mentioned, and I can confirm that there are exciting refurbishment, and development plans in place. Our greatest reward is knowing that you will be returning for another break, and we look forward to welcoming you back again. Sincerely, Simon Bailey
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$110 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
highbullen hotel umberleigh
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandDevonChittlehamholt
NUMBER OF ROOMS
39
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Highbullen Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Highbullen Hotel?
Nearby attractions include South Molton Pannier Market (5.0 miles), Cobbaton Combat Collection (4.6 miles), and South Molton Museum (5.0 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Highbullen Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and free breakfast.
What food & drink options are available at Highbullen Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Highbullen Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Highbullen Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Castle Inn, The Grove Inn, and The Bell Inn.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Highbullen Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Is Highbullen Hotel located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.6 miles away from the center of Chittlehamholt.
Are any cleaning services offered at Highbullen Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Highbullen Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Highbullen Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Highbullen Hotel?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Castle Hill Estate (5.3 miles), Torrington 1646 (10.0 miles), and St. Michael & All Angels Church (10.0 miles).