We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Chittlehamholt EX37 9HD England
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com
$90
View deal
Priceline$90
Hotels.com$90
Expedia.com$90
Travelocity$90
Trip.com$122
Agoda.com$90
View all 14 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (363)
Room & Suite (49)
Dining (46)

About

Location
4.6
Cleanliness
4.6
Service
4.4
Value
4.2
Highbullen Hotel, Golf and Country Club is set in a 125 acre estate in the heart of North Devon, with far reaching views down the Mole Valley and across to Exmoor. Here you will find a warm welcome, comfortable and luxurious surroundings and the opportunity to enjoy an unrivalled selection of activities on site and nearby. Highbullen has been fully refurbished in 2013, including all the rooms, restaurant and all public areas. There is an 18 hole USPGA specification golf course and a extensive leisure facilities, including swimming (indoor and outdoor), gym, sauna, steam room, Jacuzzi and tennis. Nestled between Dartmoor and Exmoor and within easy reach of Exeter in one direction and the Atlantic coast in the other. Guests can take their pick of accommodation - from a luxury room in the impressive Victorian "Arts and Crafts" manor house, to a selection of peaceful rooms located around the estate. Nearby you can walk on Exmoor or the South West Coast Path, with breathtaking views, or enjoy all the activities and attractions of this beautiful part of North Devon.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Golf course
Tennis court
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Wifi
Hot tub
Indoor pool
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Fitness classes
Sauna
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Facial treatments
Massage
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Safe
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
881Reviews9Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 525
  • 228
  • 66
  • 35
  • 27
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
MetalPigeon wrote a review Sep 19
London, United Kingdom114 contributions124 helpful votes
First thing to say is that the staff are great. Really friendly and working hard. The views from the hotel are magnificent. Tennis courts are good. The golf course used to be a lot better when it was 18 holes but is still ok. The food was either great or poor. Fantastic crab starter, heavy and over battered cod. The cellar bar / restaurant is also a bit dark and dingy. The rooms really do need a bit of work. Our room had a very bright green exit light over the door that meant the room was never dark. And in addition the tap water was not drinkable - this is a first for me ever in the UK! Anyway, the whole place is heading for massive redevelopment so in 12 months this review will be obsolete. I hope they hang on to the great staff who work there.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
lindyloo110653 wrote a review Sep 12
Taunton, United Kingdom2 contributions1 helpful vote
Having just returned from a family stay at Highbullen, myself, my two brothers and my sister and our partners we all had a superb stay. We stayed in the self catering Fairways accommodation which allowed us privacy in a very clean modern spacious way. With the added bonus of a hot tub which was a lovely surprise. We all dined in the Devon View, one evening in the fine dining restaurant, which was totally faultless in food and service. As it was my sisters birthday they made her feel very special. Thank you all very much indeed.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Simon Bailey, Other at Highbullen Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Dear valued guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are naturally delighted that you and your family had a superb stay. Your feedback on Devon View is much appreciated. We will be sure to share your kind words with our team, thank you. We look forward to welcoming you back soon again. Sincerely, Simon Bailey
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
David123 wrote a review Sep 5
Cheltenham, United Kingdom10 contributions6 helpful votes
The saving grace was the friendly staff. The room in the Courtyard was basic and tired. The leisure facilities are scruffy and in need of a spruce up. The steam room was out of order. We couldn’t fault the dinner and service in the fine dining restaurant, but the tired and worn out feel was once again reflected in the dirty chairs and sticky menus. We chose this hotel for a relaxing break because of its previous high reputation, but we were sadly disappointed and left feeling anything but relaxed
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Simon Bailey, Other at Highbullen Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Dear valued guest, We are naturally saddened that you felt disappointed. We truly appreciate your feedback as it is through the feedback of our valued guests that we have an opportunity to continuously improve. Your comments with regards to our friendly staff is well received, thank you. We do hope that we will have an opportunity to welcome you back. Sincerely, Simon Bailey
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Graham T wrote a review Sep 5
2 contributions
Once again, the dinner my wife and I had at Highbullen last night, to celebrate our wedding anniversary, was excellent and every bit as good as a Michelin starred restaurant we ate in just recently. The staff were friendly, but professional and they catered so well for my wife, who is gluten and dairy intolerant. Thanks everyone, it was another most enjoyable evening.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Simon Bailey, Other at Highbullen Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Dear valued guest, Many thanks for taking the time to share your experience. We are naturally delighted that you enjoyed your dinner, and pleased that we were afforded the opportunity to make your special day enjoyable. Wow, rating your experience at Highbullen every bit as good as the Michelin star restaurant you recently visited is truly amazing, thank you. We have shared your kind words with our team and we look forward to welcoming you back. Sincerely, Simon Bailey
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Tonia N wrote a review Aug 2022
Chittlehampton, United Kingdom34 contributions10 helpful votes
I was charged £6.50 to use the pool facilities on an adult swim session. When I got into the pool area there were children in there. People bobbing about on floats. It was impossible to swim. The Jacuzzi and the Steam room weren’t in use. I spoke to the receptionist who told me “ I’m just the receptionist what do you expect me to do about it” In short rude staff and a total rip off
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Simon Bailey, Other at Highbullen Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Tonia N, Our staff endeavour their best to ensure all our guests, hotel, and day visitors like yourself enjoy their experience, and we are deeply remorseful that you feel we did not succeed. We were truly surprised, that after spending an hour using our leisure facilities, and being refunded the £6.50 entrance fee that we received this review. We respectfully disagree with your comments that it was impossible to swim. Sincerely, Simon Bailey
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mark F wrote a review Aug 2022
2 contributions
We had no idea there was a major construction project in progress to build 58 lodges on the site. Very noisy and disruptive. The food was good, but breakfast service was appalling, we had to wait nearly an hour from arriving at the restaurant until finally getting our breakfast!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Simon Bailey, Other at Highbullen Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Mark F, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We have shared your feedback with our team, with sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused. Sincerely, Simon Bailey
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
linda h wrote a review Aug 2022
1 contribution
I stayed here on Saturday night14th August. It is really tucked away so be prepared for an interesting drive! We arrived to a building site. Large fences , construction scaffolding and not a very pleasant drive way in. We had booked an executive estate room , looking on line spacious, newly refurbished and with ac. We arrived at the Manor House and were told our room was now in the house , an upgrade! We were given the Dartmoor room . Very top of house three flights of stairs no help with luggage… But we were excited as it was a feature room… what a disappointment… it was small and not just dated but threadbare..… Like an oven more shabby than chic paid over £200 and have stayed at cleaner and more comfortable travel Lodge. The bathroom has an old micro shower and a chipped bath , the basin sealent dirty. The wardrobe space contained two robes… not needed due to the sauna status of the robe but one was such a shade of grey and dirty it needed to go into the bin. The drink on arrival was a miniature bottle of Prosecco .. two half glasses which was warm! The pool shut at 6.00pm do we unable to enjoy it. The cellar bar is a nice spot but this place is a holiday camp not a romantic getaway. The staff were pleasant but not happy.. our concerns were met with shoulder shrugs and it’s hot.. I know that’s why I expect you to have ice , water and fans! We booked the fine dining menu for dinner however the one on line is completely out of date. The one offered was ok. The food was good the only part of the stay I can compliment. The staff in the restaurant were polite… but a young chap called Jack was holding the team together … Two bottles of wine ordered were not in stock! The G and t with ice was more water than ice which meant both drinks were left. The restaurant itself has the potential to be great with the views but unfortunately the heat and construction of lodges spoilt the view. We asked for a door to be opened which was cheered by others in the restaurant! After a rubbish night sleep we had breakfast which was ok but not worth £17.50 each! Specify how many of each item you want or you will just get one! And the icing on the cake was at checkout they try to charge again for the room. All in all a disappointing stay. The house has the potential to be beautiful place but needs money spent on it and staff could d do with retraining.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Simon Bailey, Other at Highbullen Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear valued guest, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. At Highbullen, we pride ourselves on ensuring our guests satisfaction and we are deeply remorseful that our hotel did not meet your expectations. Your feedback has been shared with our team, with thanks for your mention of Jack. We appreciate your feedback, and we apologise for any inconvenience caused. Sincerely, Simon Bailey
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
SophieMarson wrote a review Jul 2022
Plymouth, United Kingdom48 contributions10 helpful votes
+1
Beautiful stay for my husbands 30th! We booked a package through luxury escapes which included a deluxe estate room, dinner in the Devon view, dinner in the cellars and an afternoon tea. I was a bit hesitant after reading some mixed reviews but the hotel is stunning! The grounds are beautiful, yes there is some sight of building work but this doesn’t affect the stay. We used the indoor swimming pool was great, it also had a sauna/ steam & jacuzzi. We didn’t use it but there is an outdoor pool. The gym was very big which was a nice surprise as the photos online don’t show that. All of the staff were very friendly and accommodating and we couldn’t fault it. We will be returning again in the future and will be recommending :)! If you want to leave the hotel there is a place called South Molton which is about ten minutes. If you’re happy to drive a bit further there is a place called Instow and Westward Ho.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Simon Bailey, Other at Highbullen Hotel
Responded Jul 25, 2022
Dear Sophieberkley, Thank you for taking the time to post such a wonderful review. We are delighted that you had a beautiful stay. Your kind words will be shared with our team, thank you. We truly appreciate your recommendation. Our greatest reward is knowing that you will return again in the future. We look forward to welcoming you back. Sincerely, Simon Bailey
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
charmaine b wrote a review Jul 2022
2 contributions
The hotel itself did not live up to our expectations or the hype on their website. The main building and arts and crafts decor was beautiful and set in idyllic countryside. However they had not made the most of this by creating a terrace where you could enjoy refreshments. The bar wasn’t unattractive but was lower level and the outside patio was unkempt and unattractive and although the hotel is surrounded by beautiful views you couldn’t see it whilst enjoying a drink. Our accommodation was in an outside building which had a balcony but from which you couldn’t appreciate the views. Areas needed a lot of TLC especially the balcony maintenance and outside grounds. It was also a shame to see the grounds taken over by extensive building work which did not compliment either the existing building or the setting. The views from the restaurant and the quality and presentation of the food served was delightful and well worthy of 5 stars.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Try and book a room in the main building.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Simon Bailey, Other at Highbullen Hotel
Responded Jul 25, 2022
Dear charmaine b, Thank you for your review which is much appreciated as much for its compliments as its constructive critique. Your review has been passed onto our team and remedies are in place. The 5 stars for restaurant and food is truly appreciated, thank you. Sincerely, Simon Bailey
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Preverenges wrote a review Jul 2022
Taunton, United Kingdom56 contributions42 helpful votes
Based on other reviews my wife and I booked to have dinner in this restaurant. Because they were apparently going to be very busy we were asked to arrive at 6:45. We we welcomed in the lovely restaurant and shown to probably the best table in the room with panoramic views over the country side, but then nothing happened for ages. We placed our orders and an amuse bouche arrived 30 minutes later, at which point we were still the only customers. Our starters were excellent, as was my rack of lamb main, but my wife's dhal main was flavourless and stodgy. We both had panna cotta deserts, which were good. The staff serving us were without exception very pleasant, but when we left exactly two hours after arriving, there were still several empty tables, so perhaps the insistence on a very early arrival was unnecessary.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Location
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Simon Bailey, Other at Highbullen Hotel
Responded Jul 25, 2022
Dear Preverenges, Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant. We rely on guest feedback in order to continuously improve on our guest experience, thank you. We are delighted that your starters and Lamb was excellent, with apologies about the Dhal. It is rewarding to read that the staff were very pleasant, thank you. We do hope that we will have an opportunity to welcome you back again. Sincerely, Simon Bailey
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$103 - $149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
highbullen hotel umberleigh
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandDevonChittlehamholt
NUMBER OF ROOMS
39
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Highbullen Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Highbullen Hotel?
Nearby attractions include South Molton Pannier Market (5.0 miles), Cobbaton Combat Collection (4.6 miles), and South Molton Museum (5.0 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Highbullen Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and free breakfast.
What food & drink options are available at Highbullen Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Highbullen Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Highbullen Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Grove Inn, The Bell Inn, and The Stags Head Inn Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Highbullen Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Is Highbullen Hotel located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.6 miles away from the center of Chittlehamholt.
Are any cleaning services offered at Highbullen Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Highbullen Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Highbullen Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Highbullen Hotel?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Castle Hill Estate (5.3 miles), Torrington 1646 (10.0 miles), and St. Michael & All Angels Church (10.0 miles).