We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Peppers Bluewater Resort

State Highway 8, Lake Tekapo 7945, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Peppers Bluewater Resort
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

1,179 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Peppers Bluewater Resort
See the most recent reviews
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Quite disappointed given the price we paid - especially disappointed with the support we got during town-wide power outage from 9pm - 2am. It is surprising that a hotel to this standard and quality does not have emergency torches in each room for these unexpected outages. The reception also didn't give out any lighting instruments - all they did was... More 

Helpful?
Thank chowac
andrewmfreak, General Manager at Peppers Bluewater Resort, responded to this review

Kia ora chowac, Thank you for your feedback about our resort. We appreciate your comments about the power outage across Lake Tekapo. We do appreciate that we could have done a few things better, and we will without doubt use your suggestions to ensure we are better prepared for such an instance in the future. We really appreciate you taking... More 

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Lovely king size bed and great shower BUT The problem was the noisy air conditioning shaft that ran right above the head of the bed. We complained to reception and the noise stopped at 11.30pm after reception banged on our neighbours door requesting them to turn off their fans.Second night after complaining again the noise stopped at 12.30am.There was only... More 

Helpful?
Thank lynn17_12
andrewmfreak, General Manager at Peppers Bluewater Resort, responded to this review

Kia ora lynn17_12, Thank you for your comments about your recent stay with us. We have certainly noted some of your concerns, and appreciate your honest feedback. Many thanks, Andrew M Freak General Manager Peppers Bluewater Resort More 

Travelers are raving about these Lake Tekapo hotels

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Very nice hotel in an extremely nice part of NZ. We stayed in a 2 bedroom lake view apartment and it was well furnished with plenty of living space. The location is awesome and we had a great time in Tekapo. The resort is close to shops, bars and restaurants which are all within walking distance.

Helpful?
Thank Col I
andrewmfreak, General Manager at Peppers Bluewater Resort, responded to this review

Kia ora Col I, Fantastic review! Thank you so much! I know the team will be very excited and proud to hear your positive comments. We are thrilled to hear that you found so much of your time here, to be to your liking. We hope to see you again. Many thanks, Andrew M Freak General Manager Peppers Bluewater Resort More 

Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

The service was very poor. We have been in New Zealand for 7 days, Peppers was the only place that we could not use internet. The staff was very rude. It took around half hour to check us in. Instead of greeting us, the staff was very rudely to tell us that we should leave the kitchen alone and should... More 

Helpful?
Thank jun c
andrewmfreak, General Manager at Peppers Bluewater Resort, responded to this review

Kia ora jun c, Thank you for your recent comments regarding Peppers Bluewater Resort. We are disappointed that there were aspects of your stay that should have been much better. There was a significant power outage across the region, which damaged our internet modem and needed to be replaced. We regret the temporary loss of this service, but assure you... More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

I came from Australia. My review of this hotal: Very nice totel! Of course you pay a dear price! BUT you will disappoint it once you walk into a reception room 1). you need a chair to sit and wait because the service is so veeeeeery slow check in; 2). if ask hoese keeping for assistance they abuce you; 3).... More 

Helpful?
Thank Helenche
andrewmfreak, General Manager at Peppers Bluewater Resort, responded to this review

Kia ora Helenche, Many thanks for providing comments about your recent stay with us. It is disappointed to hear a number of issues with your experience here. There are some matters here which are a little concerning, and I would welcome the chance to clarify with you. If you would be so kind as to contact the resort, I would... More 

norfolk england
Level Contributor
70 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

The room was perfectly adequate if not spacious - it was not too small but only suitable for short stays. Others had large apartments which did look very spacious. We have two main complaints. 1. Lack of privacy - large windows fronted public areas but no net curtain for privacy. Had to keep curtains shut. 2. Soundproofing was terrible -... More 

Helpful?
Thank wal4d
andrewmfreak, General Manager at Peppers Bluewater Resort, responded to this review

Kia ora wal4d, Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay. We are disappointed you did not have a more enjoybale experience at our resort. We will certainly have a look at the items you have raised above. With thanks, Andrew M Freak General Manager Peppers Bluewater Resort More 

Singapore, null, Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

The lake is beautiful and we loved the view of the beautiful blue water. Peppers was a complete disappointment. The room was small and cramped. The service was poor. We asked for an adaptor and never got it because they ran out. Everything we asked for like Internet was chargeable. I would not return to this hotel.

Helpful?
Thank Delara L
andrewmfreak, General Manager at Peppers Bluewater Resort, responded to this review

Kia ora Delara L, Thank you for your honest comments. Whilst it is disappointing to hear, we appreciate your concerns and your taking the time to let us know about them. We will certainly have a look at some of the matters you have raised, in our endeavours to improve our overall service levels. Warm regards, Andrew M Freak General... More 

Hobart
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

We based ourselves at Peppers for two nights and thoroughly enjoyed our time at this resort. We had a two bedroom apartment with a big kitchen and dining/lounge area. We had a great view of the Southern Alps over Lake Tekapo. The living and bedroom spaces all had airconditioning (the one and only hotel during our stay in NZ that... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Tracey M
andrewmfreak, General Manager at Peppers Bluewater Resort, responded to this review

Kia ora Tracey M, Thank you for such a lovely review of our property. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your apartment, and the amazing views. We would certainly welcome the chance to have you return and stay with us again in the future! Thank you so much, Andrew M Freak General Manager Peppers Bluewater Resort More 

Brussels
Level Contributor
92 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012 via mobile

Just as others have written their hotelroom is just good for to sleep. There is even no place for one chair! Other rooms in this resort are just enormeous big and do have a Greta view on the lake. Thus be warned: Book never their hotelroom!

Helpful?
Thank Over-en-Naar
andrewmfreak, General Manager at Peppers Bluewater Resort, responded to this review

Kia ora Overijsenaar, Thanks for your honest comments - we do have standard hotel rooms, they are quite compact, but functional depending on your needs. Our deluxe hotel rooms are considerably more spacious, then of course we also feature 1,2 & 3 bedroom apartments. We think that we have a nice range of rooms, that can best suit every discernable... More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012 via mobile

No heating at all on the ground floor of 2 storey apartment. Heaters were broken!!! Walls were so thin that i was woken up every time the air-conditioner started spinning up. Air-conditioners are mounted on the walls outside of the bedrooms. No lake views at all, picture in advertisement is of a tiny man made pond in the middle of... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dukem2010
andrewmfreak, General Manager at Peppers Bluewater Resort, responded to this review

Kia ora Dukem2010, Thanks for taking the time to comment on your stay at Peppers Bluewater Resort. We're disappointed there was an issue with your heating during your stay, and apologise for the inconvenience this may have caused. We are pleased to hear you found the resort to be so clean, we certainly pride ourselves on this. Thanks again, Andrew... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

447 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (403)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (73)
Viewed
Room/suite (89)
Viewed
View from room (32)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (162)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (44)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (21)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Tekapo hotels
0.1 mi away
Lake Tekapo Village Motel
Lake Tekapo Village Motel
#2 of 4 in Lake Tekapo
4.5 of 5 stars 499 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lake Tekapo Lodge
Lake Tekapo Lodge
#1 of 11 in Lake Tekapo
5.0 of 5 stars 132 reviews
1.0 mi away
Three Rivers Lodge
Three Rivers Lodge
#3 of 11 in Lake Tekapo
4.5 of 5 stars 223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Mantra Lake Tekapo
Mantra Lake Tekapo
#8 of 14 in Lake Tekapo
4.0 of 5 stars 160 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lake Tekapo Motels & Holiday Park
0.0 mi away
YHA Lake Tekapo
YHA Lake Tekapo
#5 of 14 in Lake Tekapo
4.0 of 5 stars 160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay